(2008/11) November 2008

pkum, then we can get together with alibaba.. 3 strollers might have discount?? $385 is the original price.. hahaz~ so when u planning to get it eh?

snowy
where u get combi stroller so cheap? $130 nia.which model.. tink the one we looking at handle oso reversible. but it's $405.

jenn> when u getting the stroller? by getting two would get more discount mah? keke.. i have not seen the orange color in real yet.. duno nice anot.. oso wanna see more stroller in market & compare 1st =)

haru> keep me posted re the hospital tour if you find out anything, okie? thanks a lot!

bear> i've gotten swollen feet and calves were tight last weekend coz i walked too much and stand too long. So i just massaged them and sleep with my legs raised. This week much better, it comes on and off. sighz...

strollers - hubby and i are still shopping around. we like quinny but they are so ex... =(

hello Mummies, sorry for MIA for so long.. been busy but also dunno busy with wat at home with my son... everyday like not very tired n not enuf time like that. btw I am having a Minnie. the detail scan here is not as detailed as compared to SIN. Less then 10 mins all done liao. But gynae say bb doing well, so I guess I shldn't worry too much.

Fifi, read that u wanted to get breastpump from US. U might wanna check on the power voltage first, cos its diff from SIN. SIN uses 240V, US uses 120V. Need a power converter to convert and can be mafah and waste money.

For strollers, I personally feel that younger bb needs a sturdy one for support, cos most of the time they are lying down. Mummies might also wanna note the ease of opening n closing of the stroller and the weight of it, especially for moms who intend to bring bb out themselves. Now that my son is older, I uses lightweight stroller to bring him ard. its so much easier and "painless", cos I find it painful to lift the heavier ones out of the car or carry up the stairs. the big and heavy ones are very sturdy but takes up alot of space in the car too. just some thots that you mummies might wanna take note when choosing a stroller.

alibaba, DH and I find that the orange colour abit on the dull side.. so wanna the blue one.. think we more or less buying that but just not too soon ba.. still early i guess, put there gather dust also =P

btw, how come u all put on so little weight one, what u all eat ah? I already put on 6kg at 21weeks lor

Yoz! backie from lunch! today company lunchie! bosses spent $900+ on the meal but eat liao not full wan!

Misaryeo,
how not to put on so much weight ah.. VOMIT lor.. bad MS for me.. i onli put on 1kg @ week 20..

olwen,
Gd luck to ur DS. Mine is next wed. I'll try 1 day. PWC to Amoy is not far. Sometimes, I walk to Hong Lim for lunch too.

Scrollers,
My hubby prefer the capella one rather than combi. Reason being combi is light and worried may give way as baby grows.

Fifi,
The $175 Capella is which model. The 1 that my husband and I are looking should be the same model. If I rem correctly, should be $17x dollars. He says the Capella looks stronger.

Leg cramps,
I encountered leg cramps @ nite. Guess need to raise legs on pillows when I sleep.

Hui,
I also put on 1-2 kg up till now. Almost 20wks. I've got a weighing scale @ home. Me 2. Vomited b4 lunch, no idea why.

Nowadays, I feel giddy and leg cramps @ nite. Don't know if this is common.

Sunshinekid
As mahy mothers here will say, we won't stop worrying. I think I'm worse. Even though my stomach will grow bigger, I worry if it's my silly body thinking there's a baby and hence grows even though the baby is not growing. Now that I can feel the baby's movement, it's better already. But if for a few hours I still cannot feel the baby move, I also worry. Hee.

Strollers
Is there a need to get a stroller? I'm very slow in pruchasing babies' things. I have yet to buy much except a pillow, a bumper mat and some clothes. I am thinking of adding a sling to my collection but not a stroller yet. Thought of getting a stroller when baby is about 6 months or so.

peachypeach,

the hospital tour is FOC so strongly recommend for u to attend it if 1st time delivering there. They will tell u the procedure for checking in, which lift to take if it is what time etc.. also bring u to the deliver suit....then to single bedded, double bedded etc...if u want to see their more expensive suite, think also can :p heehee... will also bring u to the nursery and some refreshments provided

cookie,

dun admire me coz i lousy and gave up at 5th mth
i take 45 mins to express everytime. Got me soooooo sick to express in the office. And there is no room for me in the office and few times, the only non see thru room is occupied by the cty mgr and i have to rush home to express. I suffered from bad engorgement also from constant expressing and the long hours due to work. giving up was not easy too.... suffered really painful engorgement and took me 1 whole month to stop the milk flow... hiaz... this time round i plan to ask for 3 more mths of unpaid leave so that it is easier for me to BF longer...

bear,

my peg is 8 or 9kg... abt there leh... i find it heavy
another good brand is aprica but i am not sure whether it will topple or not...

olwen,

which building r u in? me near raffles MRT station. sometimes will take train to tanjong pagar to eat in amoy with hb. However, hb office moving out of shenton way too... 2nd floor Snow Mountain huh? okie, I remember next time i order.

if ur offices nearby, we can all meet for lunch one day

Karen, get stroller then u dun always hav to carry bb when out shopping or having dinner. Imagine having to sling ur bb when u r out dining?!!

stroller>> maybe getting it in end aug/ early sep. yah i dun wan to collect dust too.. haha maybe by then my hubby change his mind to another model.

baby play pen>> anyone bought this already?? baby kingdom is selling them quite cheap i wonder cheong choon price is better.

hui,

as long as ur bb is growing, i think its fine that u r not gaining correct? it will be easier for u to get back ur pre-preg weight as well.

for me, i put on more loh... sian.. although my gynae can still tell me putting on 2kg in 4 weeks is fine for me as I am skinny to begin with! warrao.. also cannot end up gaining 20kgs for whole pregnancy rite? hiaz... anyway, i dun care lah, i still eat and will headache after my confinement :p now thinking of the vinegar pig trotter i happy liao
i love it!

karen,

think u will need a stroller as it can get very tiring to your shoulders when slinging baby for long time. Also, u will need to have your meals etc... tough without a stroller.

Hui, what kind of lunch is $900 and not filling??! u eat gold flakes ah!

Peachypeach, i tot we only get swollen legs at our 3rd trimester leh... this morn i hardly walked only kena swollen legs liao.. i find it very weird lor... can't imagine if i put on more wt my legs will look like wat. i try slping with my feet elevated but always end up kicking the pillow away.

Miseryeo, don't worry abt wt gain.. at the end of the preg i m sure ALL of us will look big and beautiful! Thanks for the stroller tips! may be we all need more than one!

Lovedogs, i will go and take a look at Peg perego soon.. actually i like the maclaren's handles cos they tilt upwards. cos hb and i so tall, we tend to need to stoop when pushing most strollers.

lovedogs,
i love vinegar pig trotter too!!! but i tot if BF can't eat it? do i arrange the hospital tour w e hospital directly or with Dr Chan's clinic? think it will be quite fun to go for the tour w hubby. esp if we get to see the nursery..and see all the cute babies..aw.....

Jenn> so we dont decide so soon.. i need to do more research haha.. by then if confirm getting combi, we can get together. haha.. i not yet gg to buy so early.. gonna wait til later stage too.

bear,

yes must try out all the strollers and ensure suits u
shop ard slowly no worries. I personally find it is more impt to get a carseat first then stroller. heehee...

haru,

can can BF also can eat. I love it too but think my CL only prepared it abt 12 days after i deliver. heehee... if i remember correctly, i arranged with the hospital CS counter. Just call the main number and say u want to book a timeslot for the maternity hospital tour and they will put u to the right desk

miseryeo,

me sama sama as u...gained 5~6kg since preg till now...

Bear:
I dun have swollen feet yet. But I have leg cramps when my baby is in certain positions. I think its when she is facing back.

Pkum:
The new combi stroller cannot be found leh. Kiddy palace and Baby Kingdom all dun have when I was buying strollers. They say they haven even heard of it. Tai Sing webby oso dun have.

misaryeo:
Yah I am aware of the different voltage. Just need to use a different power adapter which can be bought quite cheaply if not getting the Medela one, i.e. just non-branded ones.

About weight, I put on 6.8 kg as at 20 weeks. Now 21 weeks shld be more than 7kg liao.

Yen:
Shld be S217 or something like that. Its $17x so I est abt $175. We went for the S705 model instead coz (1) S217 is till 3 yrs whilst S705 is till 4 years, (2) S705 is wider so more comfy looking, (3) S705 is reversible handle whilst S217 is only 1 way, (4) S705 when close is rolled along using the "dragging" way whilst S217 is by the "rolling beside you" way.

Karen:
It really depends on lifestyle. Stroller less tiring for mummy. Sling, you muz remember you are still bearing the weight. Stroller got basket below so can use to keep baby things as well. Less weight for you.

Pkum:
I got earlier coz I foresee that I would not have that much energy to shop in 3rd trimester. Also, my parents figured that following shipments might be more expensive coz of increases in fuel costs. Third reason is coz if no stocks, dunno when next shipment will be. Like the car seat that I got, the sales lady at BK told me that the next shipment might be in Dec or later & they dunno the price yet. The lady at Robinsons also told me that the local distributer has no more stock for that model and they dunno when next shipment will come. So I thought might as well get it out of the way.

Bear:
Some strollers the handle can adjust height de. Check it out.

Re: Gaining weight
According to some webby that my friend read, the BMI for a mother at full term shld be abt 22.3. So use that to estimate how much you need to gain lor.

Miseryeo,
aiyo.. no lah.. joking nia.. dun feel paisei
1516699.gif
来笑一个!

Yen & Lovedog,
shld be lah..

Bear,
9 dishes..got shark fins etc those ex seafood!

Fifi, thanks for your info

Can only really start shopping once my new place is done. Recently seems like too many things to handle at one time...sometime get very emotional and short-tempered. Sigh. Can't focus too!

bear> really ah?? dun scare me leh... =( haha.. i also end up kicking away the pillow.

minkybear> i think u might be right also... too much salt will also cause water retention.

lovedogs & haru> thanks again re hospital tour. hehe... will call hospital CS to check.

weight gain> is it true that we will gain more and more weight in our 3rd tri?

jynnsan:
Dun stress dun stress. Anything you need help juz say here. We all can help give advice. And its normal for us to be short-tempered and emotional. Preggy ladies syndrome. Heehee.

peachy:
Yah. 3rd Trimester is when baby is more or less formed (organs, etc). So mainly is to gain mass. Hence, we tend to gain more weight in 3rd tri.

Afternoon ladies! Tomoro another weekend

Bear,
Hope you are feeling better. Yeah! Jus stay postive. Cheer up!

Re:leg cramp
I do have leg cramp occasionally and happened at night time only...Funni!So I tried to raise up my leg using a pillow.
Now i can onli pray hard that i dun hav any swollen legs near the end of 2nd trim.Last preg,i have v bad swollen leg,just like a 'pig' leg.

Karen,
I personally prefer stroller than sling.I have problem slinging my gal as she grows heavier.Really depend if u can bear the weight at a later stage.

peachypeach,
We will gain the most wt at 3rd tri.

i need a new bottle of toner, just wondering any recommendations? i just finished my bottle of origins but thinking of getting another brand..

hahah hui,
maybe what you need is just a simple hawker dish like a plate of char kway teow (ok, maybe not that coz its a lil too oily). How bout kaya toast??=P

lovedogs,
your office is near to Raffles Place MRT? Me 2, actually bet Tanjong Pagar. I'm near to PWC building. Olwen is located @ Capital Tower when I browsed the threads above.

Fifi,
Wow, u really make comparision. My hubby look @ capella model S217. Maybe we will check out again on other models.

Yen:
I tend to do a lot of research before I buy any "big" items. Kiasi kind of person. But hor... often at the time of buying, I don't always buy wad I decided. Lolx.

haha Enne you bored ah or just no mood to work cause Friday liao.

anyone know where to go for good chocolate cake? feel like having one later.

minkybear, can try starbucks.. e oreo cheesecake is nice though.. *drooling* I will be meeting hubby go Lao Pa Sat to eat.. stringray, satay etc.. all e unhealthy food =/ oh no..

Fifi>> the combi new model i saw it at Baby Kingdom. the auntie told me just came on last sat(something like that). i think more spacious, more striking color and reversible handle. then i went to Tai Sing showroom. I think BHG also have. but the features not much is a affordable range.

car seat>> still considering to get car seat or not. maybe after confinement then see how.

fifi>
sama sama. i oso same lor.. decided on a wat i wanna get, end up change my mind cos of other better choice or the sales asst promote better on others.. heehee

minkybear-BOTH.. haha.. really really TGIF lo.. counting down liao.. hee..

Do u mummies watch movies?? I read that our bbs can hear quite well ard week 19? so me and HB gog to catch our last movie this weekend.. coz after that afraid the sound be too 'deafening' for the bb inside.. For my first preg think I din really watch movies too..

Minkybear, i dun think i took a lot of salt. may be last 2 days walked a lot so feet swollen. But today nv move at all leh. shd be ok wat.. i lift my legs up until my butt also cramp!!

I like the Boo Boo cake from NYDC and the choco cake at Coffee Bean.

Thanks for all the stroller tips! Lovedogs, i agree, car seat more impt.. any carseat to recommend? heard that Britax is gd.. any other brand?

Enne, the forum is working well.. wat are u testing for?

Enne i am a movie junkie me and hubby will watch movie every weekend must make a last movie ah... i tink i cant so i will still watch hehe..
wat show you catching?

Bear-hehe.. no la.. nth just to ATTRACT UR ATTENTION.. hee...

minkybear-thinking of kungfu panda or hulk2?? HB suggesting zohan or getsmart?? any recommendations??

Enne, why need my attention leh? keke.. u very bored issit?

Fifi, other than Britax wat other brand? i keep hearing abt this brand only.

Gastric pain! or issit heart burn?

Bear-... coz... ONLY YOU.. can make my heart flutter... ok.. I am BORED. hahaa..

Auggy Bear-hi.. she's no more girl.. she's a woman. hehehehehe.

Enne> u are indeed really sound BORED!!! haha.. anyway gg knock off soon.. hurray! gg eat hao liao again tonight. eat hao liao almost the whole of tis week for my bday.. wahaha..

Maxi-Cosi I heard is good too.

Some of the brands hor... is different name but actually the same de. Britax and another name is actually the same.