(2008/11) November 2008

auggy bear,

SAHM = Stay At HOme Mum

haru,

yes, when you register for admission at the hospital counter, they will provide you all the medisave claim forms. So upon discharge, you will only pay the balance after medisave.

dreamyjo: how come in your state, u still ta-bao for colleagues??? they shd be offering to ta-bao for u. must not do it again. don't carry heavy things.

if u go to amoy, u must be working v near me. i'm at capital tower. which bldg r u at?

something gd & nutritious for u to eat from amoy = the avocado milk from the 2nd floor fruit stall called "snow mountain". my godson's mother drank tt twice a week w her 2nd one & the baby came out 3.6 kg, 1 kg heavier than my godson.

Breastpumps
I tried Avent, both manual & auto & also Ameda. Felt Avent more comfy coz of their massage pads on the funnels. I was nearly in tears when I tried Ameda, hee! But if u jus stick to 1 brand, your breasts will eventually get use to it.

Dreamyjo
Your hub so nice! Not sure if yoga really helps but my previous class who had their #1 all had short labours. Mine abt 4.5hrs. Do u feel more motivated now? Hee.. Btw, how will thyroid affect u now?

Haru
No worries, dun hav to reprint. u can use subsequent receipts as long they r from Dr Chan. We only can claim $450 under him, ezit har? I'm oso seeing him.. mayb we met before hoh?

JJmom
We are referring to Shambhala @ Forum. Meowie was kind to post the promo details early tis morning, mayb u can scroll up if u keen.
It is flexible, can go either thur nite (6.45pm) or sat afternoon(12.30pm) or even both days per wk. Dreamyjo can only make it Sat coz of work & I need my hub to take care of #1, so Sat is better for me too. But before register, hav to get green light from gynae ya..

I was out of office till now for some event.

Baby's Movement:
My BB also more active at night/early morning. According to the antenatal class teacher, she said this is usually the case as that's the time Mummy is free and resting. In the day, we are focused on other stuff so BB either move less or we just don't notice. But when we lie in bed at night, BB knows its the time he/she can "talk" to mummy.

PIS:
Bear, so you got your set already? 2008 version? Have you gotten the adapter? I want to confirm that got suitable adapter then I buy. I very kiasi one. Lolx. Cos 2008 version is 9V and not 12V like the 2007 version.

kakaka.. enne.. i wanna doze off liao.. mouth itchy.. see my drawer of snacks none attract me.. haiz...

hiyaz~ seems like everyone's really busy tdy.. hahaz~ alibaba, i search high n low also cannot find snacks to eat.. sianz~

hello alibaba,enne... I am here!Busy checking out online spree lar.. hand abit itchy liao.

Today's thrend abit quiet hor... hmm..tink without hui and bear to come chat chat lar...

cookie,

i was in tears when i tried the medela. same same, i suit avent pumps and no problem using avent. Thats why i think must try out first before investing heavily in a dual one. I did not invest in dual one. bought avent single electric but always end up using the manual avent instead as i take ages with the electric...

haha.. jenn> it's time to top up stock liao! am now eating abit "lao hong" wang wang biscuit.. not nice de.. haha..

happy> if got any gd spree lobang, rem to share hor. haha..

pkum & Jenn, yalor, sometimes also afraid become like Zoe... cos at home, nobody also lazy to doll up :p So must go out and walk walk at times and read some magazines so atleast still know the latest trends. Meetup with frenz will also help to kill the boredom at times.

btw meowie> i cant access to oldnavy's webbie from office.. tink i cant join ur spree tis time. so sianz.. saw so many spree on going in forum but cant join becos cannot check out their sites...

HI Mummies

I have been a silent reader of this Nov'08 thread for quite a while already, but too lazy to post, heehee..

I am expecting my #3 kid, due date should be around 25th Nov08.

Just wanna know if anyone has gained only about 2 kg todate (I am about 18/19 weeks?). Going for my detailed scan only next week, but cant help feeling a bit worried, though this is my #3. Sigh, being a mummy is a lifetime of worries. From day of conception till the day I deliver...

Sunshinekid-hihi welcome.. wow 3rd kid.. how old is ur 1st and 2nd??
I din gain much weight though but I look 'fat'. hee.. I think we balloon faster when going 3rd trimester right..

Dreamyo, cookie,
I maybe able to joinu ladies if the yoga lesson is @ 12:45pm. Shall check with my hubby again
The duration for the lesson is 1.5 hrs right?

Alibaba,
Sure no problem. Ur company block the websites ah?

lovedogs-don't envy.. put on weight is good ma.. if most of the weight goes to bb la else we cham after birth hor.. I haven't lose finish my first preg weight then preg.. I think I cannot go back to my pre-preg weight one lo..

welcome sunchinekid!

mosh,jenn,pkum,
Haa.. one of my worry is becoming 'Yellow wife'!I feel like a aunty now ley.
Is true tat after being a SAHM,very lazy to doll up.So i always make an effort to do facial,hairwash and mani/pedi at least once a mth before my hb complain.. keke

alibaba,
Of coz i will share if there is any gd lobang.
But nw searching high n low cream for my gal.She gt alot of mozzie bites.I dun wanna see those ugly scar on her leg lar... see liao veri heart pain oso.

Welcome sunshinekid,
how bout ur coming one? mickey or minnie? dun worry too much. weight gain dun really determine bb growing de.. as long doc said it's normal can de.. i so far tink gained 2-3kg bah.. have not weight myself recently.

Meowie
yup lor.. banned alot of sites.. Jshoppers oso cannot access... so far can access is Gap.com but i didnt see any of my likings.

Enne
i nv heard of bing bing leh...

Re: breastpumps
hmm..i'll go check out the avent breastpumps then.

lovedogs,
so you think manual will work better? is that time consuming to do?

thanks for the warm welcome yah. I sneak in here to chit chat, my co. is v strict, open concept, and bans many websites.

I shld be expecting a Mickey.
#1 - boy (2002)
#2 - Girl (2006)
#3 - Boy (Nov08)

Glad to know that some of u here also gained little weight like me. I am such a paranoid person, all day long just Worry.. worry.. worry..

mosh,jenn,happy>> i supposed 4 of us will be SAHM?? anymore? we can meet up mah!! then we will not be 'yellow face women' already i dun put on make up since pregnant le. my MIL even ask me to put on lipstick! i will still go for facial like now. mani/pedi sometimes do at home myself.

enne,

i try not to think abt it now loh...juz let this to be a concern after confinement period :p

hui,

envy u leh...only 1 kg? wow!!

fifi, haru,

really depends on individual as I have many frens who loves medela. that's why i bought it in the first place. I was lucky that a fren gave me an avent manual. So after i delivered, I tried medela, i cried leh... i wanted to give up liao..then 2 days later, tried, same thing...so painful and made my nips sore... then i remembered the avent manual, tried it and it was very good and no pain loh.. very good to stimulate my letdown. So i went to buy avent single electric. But in the end, always end up using manual as my hands are like faster.

Hospital do renting. So maybe can rent from hospital to try medela first. If suitable, then invest in the medela PIS. If not, then can try avent manual first. If suitable, then invest in the Avent dual ($799 leh...so must sure try first)...

oh i know where to try le... the breastfeeding dunno association or organisation. Call 63370508 for appt. Try on thigh for expecting mums.

Hello guys!

Olwen, this bb wasn't really planned. when i got the offer to further my studies, i talked to a lot of my married female cols. i asked them wat's more impt, studying or starting a family. deep down inside i want a kid more than anything. but all told me to just get my MSc and then start a family. Who knows, co offered me a chance to do PhD. then everybody started telling me i m stupid to study halfway. Now really no mood to study. cos i always wanted a bb. Plus i m the first in the co to be on such a programme so i really worked like hell. So tired of it all, and i still got 2.5yrs to go. sigh.. i feel miserable everyday. Its like knowing u have to deliver a BIG proj yet u don't have time or resources to do it. When we work, aft work most of us can switch off, go home and spend time with our families, watch tv and such.. i still have to study, clear work emails, draft presentations/ papers, do my own research readings blah blah blah... i feel very depressed.

Fifi, adaptor can just get anywhere. just bring the pump to any home fixed shop and ask around.
I guess its really up to u. for me if really cannot then i will sell it away lor.

Haru, i think u can afford to wait on the breastpump.
i KS mah.. cos fren in US so just ask him to buy for me.

Re: yoga/pilates
Eh, wat's happening? are we starting this wk liao? can somebody enlighten me?

Hello Sunshinekid, welcome! technically speaking, i haven't gained anything. lost 3kg in 1st trimester and only managed to gain back 2.5kg.

hey ladies, I got a mamalove baby carrier/rocker from my fren but the seat belt is broken. Anyone knows where I can find a replacement?

Robinsons got additional 20% for cardmembers this week. Happy shopping. I intend to go and get a steriliser. Probably the pigeon one. Pigeon one can use for avent bottles too right?

peanut: Me also feel more giam now..esp buying Bb stuff and everything cost quite a fair bit..manicure/pedi, I do myself much cost effective..even cutting my hair, trimming normally costs me $40 per one time, now I even feel like going EC house to cut only $10 can save me $30!! Haha...dunno is giam so more thrify...not sure anyone else feeling like us too?

Lovedogs : How can we 'test' the different brands..from hospital..? I am also adverse to buying one breast pump now bcos I scared not compatible with my use or I little milk...

P.S: Anyone knows the average cost of BB cot at Baby Hyperstore..?

olwen, i'm working in the SIA building very near you
Ya, i heard about the avocado drink, some of my colleagues like it. But i had yet to try. will try it someday. Today just so happen my colleague is busy and couldnt tabao for us. In the end, the old admin auntie volunteer to tabao and my colleague ask me to go with her. I had to help her carry lor. One hand carry 6 tou huas, another hand carries 3 porrige, quite heavy leh and the auntie walks so fast. It hard for me to catch up. i kept falling behind her.

cookie, tat's what i heard too. 4 hrs of labour natural w/o epi somemore. Are you all natural for your prev birth. 4.5h is really fast. I'm very motivated now cos i want an all natural birthing experience and hope it be a smooth and quick one.
Regarding the thyroid, i had hyperthyroid previously. Heart beat fast and hands will tremble. So just now, a bit concern as my hands are shaking quite badly and afraid that thyroid condition will relapse. But i think its because i over exert myself this afternoon that's why my hands shake bah. I had to think positive. Anyway, maybe will ask for a blood test again to clear things up.

Sunshinekid, welcome!

Breast pumps : I stubmle on this webbie while surfing the net for bp. They have demo units for you to try out the different breast pumps and you decide which best suits you. http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html. The catch is if you have not given birth, you can only test it on your skin and not your breast and personally i think it defeats the purpose lor. So recommendation is try after you had given birth. I have been doing alot of thinking. I think i will not buy at this point cos like lovedogs say you never know which suits you. My dh friend lend me the avent electric and if its not suitable may try the demo set after giving birth before deciding which brand to purchase. or perhaps like lovedogs say rent from the hospital.

bear, for the yoga, nothing is finalised yet. i'm the only one going to the trial class this sat. If i like it, i will continue to go next sat. cookie may be going next sat. Meowie may join next sat but not sure yet. i will email you the details in case you interested. As for pilates, im not sure le.

cookie, for your previous birth, when you start your pre-natal yoga? 4.5hrs labour really short leh, and i hope mine is like that too. Do you practice @home or only on once a week basis. If i will to start now and continue @once a week routine, do you think its enough, i'm in my 21 weeks now? prior to my pregnancy, i did practise some yoga but not regular lah.

Sunshinekid,
Welcome. my edd is same as yours and so far onli gained 900gm but dun worry cos baby's weight dun realli depend on weight gain. Your DS is so soon? My gynae only schedule it on my 23 weeks.

Enne,
You are early bird. hehe.

Gd morning Enne.

Bear: don't feel so bad. altho u r our guru, u can still count on us for comfort. i posted a joke 2 days ago. donno where it is already but u can try reading it for some fun & laughter. or go borrow kung fu panda when it is out. super funny. my whole family had a good time at the show

dreamyjo: SIA bldg? yes, v v near me. i have a friend, used to be from my bank, now she is working in SIA bldg too. but u must be careful when u cross the road, ok? i c lots of ppl including oldies & pregnant women dashing across. i don't dare do tt anymore when i'm going opposite, i go to the traffic light.

my DS this afternoon, so nervous
& it's my husband's birthday today. my son calls me EVERYDAY to ask me to buy cake. i told my husband, c how much your son loves u. i really hope he can get a good birthday present today from the result.