(2008/11) November 2008

haru,

envy u leh...i super lousy i dun even know how to swim! only know how to sink! hahahaa

Oh for PD, i chose Dr Ngiam. He is really good and kind. I chose him for my gal time too during the hospital delivery. I suggest for u to go for single bedded so that ur hb can stay over. I find it was impt to have my hb with me thoughout the whole time even after delivery, to give me support, help me on the latching, talk to me, help me get up, get a drink etc etc... also, if u stay double bedded, and u suai suai next bed got someone also, when they have visitors etc, hard for u to rest loh... anyway, thats my 2 cents worth.

peachypeach,

yah loh, last preg i also very siong...cough up cash a lot. but with Dr Chan, rest assured u are in very good hands. However, I was unable to stomach his attendance fees when i saw the bill...it was juz too ridiculous. I was put on CTG only once at week39 checkup... so bo pian pay loh...coz must think about it...how many times are we planning to give birth afterall? money can earn back...but if anything wrong.... no joke.... my colleague's wife also expecting her number 2, also going back to him.

me also not any better, i put on 2kgs in 4 weeks

Jo,

ur company coverage also very good leh... u plan to sign bond with them?

Jenn,

that is absolutely UNFAIR dismissal!!!! do u know u can sue them or at least make a complaint to MOM!! *angry*

amore,

i tot attendance fees is common? my other gfs all got attendance fees leh...ranging from $300 to $500 for those with c-section... so thats why i was so upset that time when i got billed $1K from my gynae...felt being "ripped off"...

Jenn, i also joined my company half a year when i told them i'm pregnant, then i'm only 6 weeks pregnant and 1 to 2 week before my confirmation. Its not fair that they should terminate you wo. so sorry to hear that.

alibaba, e boss is a terrible person lor.. alot of my colleagues cannot tahan him and quit after i left.. i'm a confirmed staff.. after i mentioned my reasons for MC - pregnancy, the next wk he gave me no notice period to stop working (called me to his office just when i was leaving for home at 6.10pm) told me will give me 1 month conpensation and i dun need to go bk le.. was totally caught off surprise.. haiz~ den after that i still had to chase him for 2mths to get my compensation.. sianz~

lovedogs, peachypeach
Hi, i'm oso with Dr Chan, our weight-watcher!

I'm visiting him on Sat, wat qns u forgotten to ask?
My hospital bill (Oct 2006) came abt $3.6, normal delivery w epi. But mine is double bedded. Really regret coz not enuf rest, got to endure loud snoring & 'forever-seeking-nurse-assistance' moms. (had 2 diff for 2 nites) I did chk w the admin before checking out, the cost if I were to chose a single bed, she told me abt $1k diff. So I guess single bedded a better choice coz once we get hm, got to 'fight battle' esp if breastfeeding.

So prices really increases yr by yr.. Although under him not cheap, prob coz many doc sees him too, but in case of any complications (touchwood!!) to bb or us, we can rest assured that he will not be at a lost! Hee, I'm self comforting on his high charges!!
But how did tat CTG monitoring went up so high? mine only $20/hr..

maternity package : mine only got 3 months maternity leave and $150 voucher and nothing else. Luckily my hubby company can claim some medical fees for spouse cap @ $600. Which i had already fully utilised. bo pian.

lovedogs, dreamyjo, ya~ that time i was so caught off guard... met my husband and couldn't control myself and just burst out crying.. haiz~ just to blame myself for choosing a wrong company to go into.. the boss still can tell me that i'm a business development exec so my job is very impt.. nowadays the company not earning and i also have to be on MC so have to ask me to leave (so obvious it's coz of my pregnancy n he dun wanna pay my maternity lor) I did think of going to MOM but like my frds say, i too gd tempered liao tat's why i did not.. well, i was having bad MS also, so treat it as rest at home ba, just that kind of boring though..

owen, are you still going to spa haven for waxing after you are preggy? are you talking about brazilian and how much is the cost? amoy st is pretty near my office, thus i'm kinda keen. Went braziian once but normally i diy. stopped long time after discover pregnant. Itching to go soon since gynae already given the green light. How is spa haven, hygenic?

sorry to bombard you with so many questions.
hope you dont mind.

Jenn,
omg~ how could tat be! but u're confirmed staff aready. they dun have the right to dismiss u wor! shld go MOM & complaint them. moreover no notice at all, ev one will know tat u're being dismissed.. kns.. hate tis kind of boss. mei you ren qing wei! my ex co oso sucks.. i resigned... cos i got an offer from my current co. current co willing to compensate my notice period.. so i could leave earlier... end up i got my pay from current co earlier than the ex co... sickening.. keep dragging my pay. HR told me either boss is overseas or in meeting. Afterwhich i heard the co dismissed quite a few staff.. Lucky i've left the co!

cookie, i think so. Cos she is only the instructor in the webby that provides the prenatal yoga. I check the schedule, i cant make it during weekdays cos class start @ 6:45 leh. From my workplace to forum quite a distance. So i'm thinking of going to the sat classes. It will be good if we can go together. I need someone to motivate me.. hahaha...

jenn,
Think they are right.you shld make a complain to the MOM.You are a confirmed staff.. hw can they dismissal u without valid reason????

meowie,
Leet me knw if u organising On spree too

olwenlim,
-_-" yes my company maternity package is good.. BUT PROBLEM IS I DID NOT OPT FOR IT!!! Had wanted to save from paying the premium until ready for bb, who knows bb jus come unexpectedly.. Really wan to cry whenever i tink of this..

olwen>>> the joke is very funny.. i read it somewhere but still manage a crackle..

Jenn (icyjen)>> see u on 22nd! i oso feels that it is weird to swim with a bulging tummy.
i have to forsake my maternity leave because there is no other childcare options. i hope to go back to work in a yr time..
your ex-boss is a jerk. it is better for u to leave!

haru>>> ur boss very nice!!! *envy*

Dreamyo,
I'm keen to join you. The instructress is Samantha...

Owen.
Here's the jobscope of a commercial controller
Job Responsibilities:

- Review and prepare quotations for incorporation of proper commercial conditions and ensuring proper costing to limit risk exposure of the company
- Manage tender process including preparation of documents, checking of offer costing, review and comment of commercial conditions
- Control projects including constant review of risks and costing, constant updates of project status summaries
- Perform month end closing of projects for computation of revenue
- Perform project administrative function including arrangement for bank guarantees, insurance policies
- Perform logistic function and liaise with freight forwarders for both inward and outward shipments to ensure timely clearance of goods from custom
- Handles both import and export L/C transactions for timely submission of documents to the bank for negotiations
- Prepare monthly cash flow projections for integration into the overall monthly cash flow forecasts to facilitate cash flow management

Jobs Requirements:

- Degree in business discipline
- Minimum 3 years’ of relevant working experience
- Experience in project business environment
- Computer literate especially in Microsoft Office
- Possess team spirit and good communication and organizing skills
- Self starter, independent will be an advantage

Alibaba,
My Gap.Old Navy spree is still on? u wanna join?

Jenn,

i really feel angry on your behalf leh... for me, i joined this company only mid Jan 08.. and i am already 5 mths preg. they have no right to terminate an employee juz because of pregnancy. that is unfair dismissal. And honestly, if u file a complaint, that boss of yours will really get into trouble. Since he is so nasty, if I were u, i sure will juz file a complaint to MOM (but wont sue coz very troublesome).... hiaz...u poor thing...

cookie,

thats really a lot of difference! i find that his price juz keep increasing every year!!! my CTG was May 2007 and i was charged $106 and i was still complaining to Ling at that time how come so expensive! I had another gf delivered end Apr 07 by him also and she already warned me abt the CTG monitoring charges. I am prepared to see total bill almost 6K this time as the hospital package increased since last yr and Dr chan's delivery fees also increased...plus GST another 2% higher than last year when i gave birth... must safe some $$ liao..

Jenn, i dont know whether complaining to mom works, but imagine im in your shoes i would be totally lost too as i'm like you too good tempered. maybe you can heed the advice of some of the mummies here or just take it positively as a break. Hopefully after giving birth, you will find a better job in a better company. All the best.

alibaba,happy, he gave me the reason that pay drag coz they having financial problem.. after reading his email i was so pissed off that i replied him dun make ur prob my prob, when u ask me to leave did u spare at thought for me? =D tat's e first time i cannot resist to scold ppl.. eventually, my colleage went to MOM after she quit to get her pay bk, tat's when i finally got mine too.. I didn't wan to make things big and ugly tat point of time and i was busy with my BTO of flat and stuff..

dreamyjo
the previous time was thur 6.45pm & another slot on Sat noon, i think.. I'm oso looking at Sat, but they are flexible, can go either days or both, as long u utilise tat their package of 10 or 12 slots, cant remb alrdy!

jenn
sor to hear tat.. your boss really 'no heart' he will get his 'deserts'.. but should u intend to report MOM, make sure he dun make use of other areas like MC or work performance against u.

pkum, yup~ at least i dun need to go thru life with a jerk boss throughout my pregnancy =) see ya on 22th ya..

dreamyjo, ya.. i'm pretty fine wit it now le just tat can be boring at times and really have to budget else my hubby n BB suffer..

cookie, i have my gd sales track record so no problem.. and MC was only like 3times and even when i have 2 days MC i still turn up the second day.. (come to think of it, rather stupid of me)

Thanks all mummies for ur comfort =D at least i have this forum to spend my time n vent my unhappiness =D hahaz

peanut: haha. nvm. can use for the next one.

Jenn: tt is TERRIBLE! don't be frightened to make a complaint to MOM. take it from the legally trained person. legally, if u have passed 6 mths already, the v next day MOM can straight away take them to court. but the Minister said in Parliament last yr tt even for cases like yours they have ways to make errant employers like tt pay.

lovedogs, cookieoreo
thanks for your reassurance! anyway, i think i'll stick to dr chan la, coz we are quite comfortable with him and as you said, in case of any complications (touchwood!), i know i'll be in good hands. anyway, that was my first concern when i chose a gynae coz i have thyroid.

haru> my hubby shared lovedogs' concern abt two-bedder, that's y he immediately opt for single bed when asked.

jenn> so sorry to hear that your boss is so mean! since u r a confirmed staff, u shd seek redress by complaining to MOM. then again, it's also a good time to rest and prepare for your baby.

Jenn,
sigh.. thats e problem with being a woman, hav to be discriminated by some employers because of pregnancy.. Take it that u've made an early escape from an evil boss who may make life hell for you if you did stay on.

hi lovedogs,
thanks for ur advice! is Dr. Ngiam recommended by Dr. Chan too? i am wondering if there is a significant different in the rates betwn a single n double bedded. hoping that hubby can claim part of the medical bills too. i think like u said, its impt if hubby can be there with me aft e delivery. =>

am praying that i will have a normal delivery w/o epi. i know Dr Chan is a believer of epi, but i will try to gently tell him that i would like to go w/o epi. its amazing how much expenses is required just for the gynae and delivery isnt it? not forgetting all the baby supplies and shopping that i have yet to start on!

hey Jenn,
so sorry to hear bout ur unpleasant experience. well, am sure you will be able to find something even better when you plan to return to work. just enjoy ur pregnancy for now ya?

owen, thanks for ya info.. i'm e kind that u nice to me i will be grateful but u unkind to me, i will just avoid u tat's all..

peachypeach, now only wanna BB to be fine n give birth liao next yr can go bk to work le.. this time round will open my eyes big big to see boss and company =P

meowie,

Me and peachypeach thinking of going for pilates. I have nt taken yoga before bt i did pilates so i would rather prefer pilates.
You joining dreamyjo right?

Olwen,
Now can go for waxing? cause i dont know if i can take the pain later in the 3rd trimester.or you think is better to do it then? Pls advise.

hi peachypeach,
hubby did ask me previously about if i would like to hv him stay over at the hospital too. at that time, i tot no prob la i can manage myself. but when i think about sharing e room with another stranger, feels weird.=P will have to discuss more with hubby before we see Dr Chan again. is there any downpayment required for the hospital booking?

jenn, think u should complain to MOM.... this is discrimination leh...

lovedogs, I did not see any attendance fee leh... i only saw delivery charges.. and my gal PD charges... so was quite surprised abt the attendance fee... maybe he deen charge me coz i was in the labour ward for 27 hrs and he was quite concern that i need to pay high hospital bill...

Jenn,

Just take it as a long break ba.
At least you think on the bright side you get to rest as and when you like now.
Don't get too upset over this kind of Shitty company.

peanut:
Got insurance that cover maternity one meh? Wad kind of insurance is that?

Jenn:
You can report to MOM. Dun let him off so easily. Make him pay for your maternity at least.

meowie: haha, v tempting but i better stay here & get my maternity leave.

dreamyjo: yes, the one minkybear & i were talking abt is brazilian wax. minkybear not back from lunch yet? spa haven is not bad, pretty clean but i have only tried one other place called spa valley which was downright horrid so no comparison. i only re-started after i passed 14 weeks & dr loh said ok
for better maintenance the therapists say shd go every 4-5 weeks since no more period

haru, when u do ur hospital pre-admission at ard week 32+, u need to pay hospital maternity package in full... at dat pt of time u have to decide whether u want single or double bedded.

Fifi
thats my company's medical plan.. cover for employee is free but need to pay monthly premium ~$30 to cover for maternity.

minkybear: yes, now can. i asked dr, said yes. if u want, shd try it now first becos u have more energy & higher thresh-hold for pain during this 2nd trimester.

Jenn: it is seriously not too late now to complain since only 2 mths have passed. but pls don't feel pressurised by us to do it.

mummies, actually this kind of thing occurs quite often. when i first told my boss i need to bed-rest 8 weeks before maternity, she made a face & asked if i can take part of my maternity leave for it. imagine, i already got the same 3 mths as others tho i have 3 babies & she still ask me to use my maternity leave. luckily i have quite a few weeks of annual leave from last fin'l yr so i sd i will use tt. then she asked whether i want to quit my job. of cos i sd no. but then i will definitely start looking around next year after i come back from maternity. some more this bank is paying me so little.

olwen,

oh dear...ur boss also said that? is ur boss local? they really do not understand at all hor... if u take bed rest can that be considered hospitalisation leave? coz we shd all be entitled to 60 days hospitalisation leave correct?

lovedogs, my gal is classified as IUGR, Intrauterine Growth Restriction, @ week 37 plus I have low AFI. so i was induce @ week 38. my induction is abit diff for other mummies. doc normally insert pressies and mummies can go shopping/home and come back the next day. but for my case I need to stay in bed during the whole induction. and each time doc only "dare" to insert half of the pressies. as he scare bb will be in distress. so got to monitor me lor.. and the whole process took 27 hrs b4 my gal is out.

hi olwen,
sorry to hear bout ur boss. guess, at the end of the day they think only of the company more than anything else. Thank God I have a very family-oriented boss so he gave me the assurance from the beginning that my job will definitely continue to be mine. and that any adjustment if needed can be discussed. i guess thats why even tho i have e green light to take time off whenever i needed, i still put in the full hours coz i feel that its the least i can do for my company and boss after all the support and encouragement from him. will prob start to slow down a lil in e last tri.=>

preg also problematic.. here pain there pain.. MS lah..

now worst.. Boss also no empathy.. hear liao very pissed..how can they do this..

lovedogs: yes, my boss is local & lady some more. but it's not tt the co is bad becos it depends on the boss. i know of another girl in corp banking who just got promoted before she told her boss tt she is pregnant. then she also had to bed-rest 8 weeks at the end due to some other complications, not multiples, donno wat. her boss so kind, sent her off for the 8 weeks hospitalisation leave plus maternity leave. then when she came back, she immediately asked for transfer to anor dept. said she did not want to do running around anymore. AND this boss is japanese male. so if my boss insists i use my maternity leave for bed-rest, i will cite the case of this girl lor.

haru: i agree tt sometimes male bosses can be more understanding in this aspect. my boss in comfort-delgro was v understanding. during my first pregnancy, i NEVER took leave to go for check-ups. he forbade me to. & he sat me down to tell me all my maternity benefits when i first told him. plus u c in my bank the other girl in corp banking also has such a nice boss. some more japanese man. tt's y for my first pregnancy, i don't mind working a bit harder for tt boss. but here, i cannot finish, still will go home by 6.30 cos i got to catch my pte bus home.

during the second mth when i just came back after the bleeding stopped, i took one full day's annual leave for my check-ups every fort-night. i also wanted to rest one day at home mah. my boss doesn't like it hor. she said "is it really necessary for u to take one whole day's leave?" so i stopped taking lor. anyway, now tt she said don't use so much HL, luckily i still got so many days AL tt she stopped me from using.

hm.. hear you guy say so many scary bosses i wonder abt mine... cause my colleague just given birth and i will be next.. my position not that important in the company wonder if he will axe me before maternity just to save money...

Olwen:

Lucky my boss quite understanding for maternity. In fact for my medical checkups now, I am taking time off and not my mc or leave. You shld take hospitalisation leave instead. Its your entitlement & you are doing something for the country lor.

Bear:

How come your PIS cost S$380? Include adapter? I calculated $315 only wor.

alibaba,
It's a private spree. U can PM me to know more

Minkybear,
I'm okay with both yoga & pilate. Where is the pilate lesson held?

owen,
Haha... I stayed on in this company because of the maternity benefits...

Fifi: the first 3 weeks of my bed-rest, i will take AL then the rest will be HL. it's my entitlement, man! 3 yrs in this bank, i never use ONE DAY of HL until now then when i want to use, she is so ngiao.

minkybear: impt point to note is once u pass 6 mths, it is ILLEGAL for them to terminate u. if so, inform MOM straight away & they will take action immediately. i got worried after hearing those things my boss said so i went to check up

Jenn: don't be so sad. go read my joke for the day. it was told to me by my 22 yr old para-legal. this boy spends so much time reading these things on the Net, i told him his brain is crammed too full to put in his subjects for his exams

meowie,
ok has pm u liao.

yup some co doenst have gd benefits but pay is gd i tink still acceptable. but if pay low & benefits sucks.. will not be acceptable. unless bonus v gd... not ev ting will be perfect, co might be gd but colleagues no gd oso sianz.. haha.. sometime jus have to bear with it. pro & cons.. tink most importantly the boss mus appreciate ur contribution.

olwen,

yes it is boss dependent and not company dependent. I actually bo chap lah, i juz leave office when i go for any medical, dental appt, which includes maternity leave. Overhere they bo chap our movements but expect u to deliver the end results. I also juz changed a new boss. This boss is american. Still yet to find out more abt him but he is a workaholic. Ex boss was british and was super bo chap and chin cai one... for me, i dropped my new boss the bomb last week when i told him i would like to take 3 more mths of unpaid leave after maternity. He has yet to say yes or no. He asked me whether i will consider working from home instead during that period. I told him that will be the last resort loh...

i believe for gynaes, they can issue hospitalisation leave leh...so u shd be able to use hospitalisation leave for your 8 weeks bedrest instead of ur AL. Cmon..u r expecting triplets and i am surprised ur boss being a lady shd be more understanding... has she given birth before?