(2008/11) November 2008

bear
me jus back in office after checkup.. doc put me on contraction monitoring machine and things hav improved since last nite actually, but stil give me anti-contraction pills jus in case i need it. Said thin mommies feel it easily and usually caused by stress so rest more is the solution..

Scanned my bb and found her to be on a bit overweight side.. 600+gm at less than 23weeks, tummy v v round, looks strange to me.. Doc asked if i;m eating durian and YES!! my mil keep buying durians and nagging me to eat when i dun really fancy! today jus bought as well! Finally i hav an excuse not to take that liao..

Jynnsan,
oic..if bb on big size (more than wat gynae expect) they will recommand the test coz scared "tang niao pin", my colleague have it on her last preg also but heng bb and her ok.. no problem. U cut down on rice and sweet things..then if u eat durians then got to cut down or stop..

Hui
yah lor thats wat i always hear.. v bu one.. thats y his mum keep asking me to eat even thou she shd know i dun really fancy.. Then doc also say i can eat normal portion of food liao no need to purposely eat a lot for the bb, but tomm and fri having buffet -_-" I hope bb doesnt take over mil/sil's gene lei.. plump plump and short -_-"

Re :Durian
Noticed that each time after I eat durian, the next day, my tummy will become bigger. Told my mum abt it and she dont believe, but I really felt my tummy grow bigger lay. Tried 3x le and all 3x is like that. So its true!! I better stop eating if not wait my baby is too big...hee..

Ladies, I realise my tummy is not in a perfect shape one. Having a boy; sharp tummy. But feel that is slightly slanted to the left. Anyone feels so too? Is tat normal? I feel so weird abt it now.

olwen> so u mus eat more durian if u wanna ur bb to grow bigger. actually i ate twice so far aready..

Peanut> urs sound like abit big le. mine 382g at 20week. so u oso dun have to worry about ur weight gain liao right?

Peanut,
Durians have high carbo,fats & sugar i tink..
My gynae alwaz tell me dun ever tink of eating for 2..haa.. dun listen to wat others say, coz my boss keep telling i have to eat for 2 and push alot of food to me which i cant finish wan..

jynnsan: take care.

peanut: ahhh... good tt u r ok. peanut jr is sooo big! remember to take your medicine. this one cannot forget like vitamin.

alibaba: u r right! but must wait anor few weeks when on MC otherwise i got to lug even bigger tummy to work *faintz*. also, got sore throat today. throat bleeding. coughed out blood.

Jo,
when i have my boy my tummy slant left ( which means left side tummy higher than right side).. when i have tis one is right side slanting..

olwen, you having sore throat, throat bleeding and cough out blood ... not gg to see a doc now?

hui, so tat's normal ah ... I thought how come my tummy shape funny funny one ... hehe

alibaba
yah lor.. big until strange even the doc also puzzled cos i myself din put on a lot of weight, only 1.5kg since last checkup 2wks+ ago. My bb during DS then only weigh 300gm then shot up 1X the weight now!! Now i jus need to eat as per normal, dun hav to purposely put on a lot of weight i guess..

jynnsan-I will pray for u too.. do update us k. patz patz.

peanut-alamak, better cut down on durians liao.. I don't eat durians one.. bleah. Means all ur fats go to ur bb hor??

Jo,hui-true abt tummy slanting? I din realize that b4 wor..

olwenlim-some bosses not so much into staff welfare.. how u feeling now? sounds like quite serious sore throat better gulp more water.

olwen
cough out blood!!!??? remind me of those shows of people coughing out blood on hanky. Yah drink a lot of water.. then this fri u cannot eat spicy food liao.. mapo doufu not in ur list already..

enne
yah the doc say bb nini has been taking in all the nutrients mayb.. i'm going to spank her buttock for eating so much..

tummy slanting: think this is normal, bb changes their postion v often.. my sis also.. her bb on her right side, looks strange.

Peanut, glad that everything is fine! last night when i had 3 BH i was also a bit worried. i only seem to get it when i m relaxed watching tv!! if i m busy, i dun get it leh.. weird hor.. Ur bb quite big!

Olwen, hahah u can start a durian feast!

Thanks ladies for the tips to find the bb clothes.. i think i will try the Bugis St one then..
Haru, i agree with u, i think initial first couple of mths i will wear the front tied tops.. once the head stable then will wear rompers.

Hui, ur boss very nice hor...

alibaba, Jo, Enne: thanks for concern. ate starfruit & took manuka honey already. happened also tt my MIL cooked gingko nut w barley so i had tt in the morning. i'm not really sick. just tt like dr loh said, our membranes get thinner during pregnancy so tend to have bleeding. normally when i have sore throat, it goes away within a day or 2 but during pregnancy, the membrane bursts so will bleed. i get nose bleeds & gum bleeds nowadays as well. remember what enne & fifi said just now abt gums bleeding? dr loh said all this v normal during pregnancy & can just take plenty of vit c & water.

peanut, ur bb nini will b very chubby when born .. dun spank her lah ... hehe. Just eat as normal from now onwards.

I always telling myself I eating for myself and bb so tend to eat more ... got to change my mindset liao.

tummy slanting: I jus realised how come tummy shape abit slant loh ... round on left side and like a slope on right side.

peanut: haha. no lah, i no have TB. nvm. si chuan dou hua got plenty of nice non-spicy food. we can watch the china guy do the "choot pattern" thing w the tea cups.

Bear: definitely. once i go on MC, i will eat durians at least once a week. then after that throat will bleed even more. i only had one seed on sunday & now kena sore throat. yes, wear front tie or button during first 4 mths.

Carol:
Yah. Send me a PM coz i dun have your email. When i receive, I will email you the terms and conditions of the spree.

Jynnsan:
I have to go through the test next mth. My baby size is average but I had a bit of sugar trace in my urine + my family members have history of diabetes.

Hui, Jo:
Its a test for gestational diabetes. They will ask you to go for it if your urine has sugar traces or if your family members have history of diabetes. If your results are very high, then have to watch wad you eat. Will oso tend to have worse eyesight. GD will clear after you deliver. Its not uncommon to have GD.

Olwen:
Cough out blood? That's not normal right? Better be careful. Drink more water ba. And go see doc if possible.

Re : Weight gain
I think I put on 15kg so far le....I am so going to die!!! How come some of you are not even putting on weight?? My sis put on 20kg in her pregnancy and I think I am going to be the same lor. Worst thing is that I am heavily water retention...think thats where most of the weight gain come from?? I am very worried now lor. My gynea doesnt seems to care if I put on weight or not lay, infact, he didnt even weigh me at each visit de.

peanut> lucky the fats go to bb wor.. i gained like 5-6kg. & bb only 300+gm nia.. the rest on me.. fainted

Ya i noticed my gums bleed when i brush my teeth! have beeb making sure that i floss everyday now.. Yesterday i got this 1cm big blister in my mouth. this morning burst liao, leaving me with a 1 cm big ulcer.. super pain!!!

Olwen, my mum believes that if u drink water from the durian's covering, it helps prevent u from getting too heaty.. dunno wat logic lah but u can try.. heehee.. i shd eat more durians since everybody says my tummy is so tiny!

Peanut, dun spank ur Nini lah.. spank ur MIL for making u eat!!

peanut-Yeah lo.. Nini is innocent!!!

olwenlim-Yeah my gums tend to bleed too and sometimes it seems like 'drooping' a bit.

Carol-15kg?? wow.. that's a lot.. now u how many weeks liao??.. but as long as bb growing fine then ok!

Jo,
hehe..

Enne,
tink not all.

Olwen & Bear,
maybe small company abit like family bah..

Olwen,
wah.. u reali heaty leh.

Fifi,
ic ic.. thanks for the info

fifi: thanks for concern. no lah. just sore throat. can just take vit c & plenty of water.

enne, carol: sorry to be so evil but my godson's mother, when she had my godson, she put on 23 kg & my godson is only 2.6 kg! so not necessary tt your bb is big just becos u put on a lot of weight. got to eat more nutritious food which will go to the baby than fat-ridden snacks.

enne, Bear: ah, dr loh says gum bleed, nose bleed & what have u, all v normal in pregnancy.

carol>
mine ev gynae visit, the nurse assistant jus ask me to weigh & record nia. Dr oso nv ask anyting about my weight oso.. tink they're more concern of bb well being bah. lolx.

Thanks ladies...hope that GD won't affect bb

my ulcer worse, grow on my lips, so obvious and you can imgaine a red patch on the upper layer lip, really heaty lo

carol, before I was pregnant, I already have bad water retention problem. Think it's getting worse and until I deliver. Since your gynae never tell u abt weight problem, you ask your gynae instead loh. You 5mths+ pregnant - gain 15kg ... got 4 mths more eh ...
I'm also asked to weigh myself at the clinic before seeing the gynae. But noone tell me abt weight-related problems.

Bear, wat I know is drink salt water after eating durians to prevent heatiness. Not necessary must drink from durian shell.

talking abt ulcers, ever since pregnant me no gena liao *touch wood touch wood** Last time was very frequent like dunoe wat.. can hav a string of them one and damn painful.. cant even eat well.

olwen
the "choot pattern" with tea cup comes with extra cost one.. dunoe how much thou..

ok i wont spank nini.. if she comes out fatty bom bom i'll put her on diet wahhaaa... rice water instead of guni..

carol/jo
my sil have water retention problem when she preggie. she said immediately shed of 10+kg after giving birth . cos all water..

my gynae always track my weight cos initially she was worried i wasnt putting on a lot.. then now see bb fat fat she changes her stmt, ask me no need eat tooooo much..

Hi Enne,

I am in my Wk23 if I am not wrong. Even when I am vomiting like mad in my first tri and I am already starting to put on weight lor.

Hi Olwen,
I dont think my baby is big lor...so most of the weight is on me, I guess. I am not even snacking on unhealthy food. INfact, I dont even have good appetite. Havent been taking potato chips / choc / unhealthy titbits since my pregnancy, so I seriously dont know where my weight come from. I am only taking my 3 normal meals + snack at around 3.30pm. My snacks is normally a bread / jollybean pancake....not fattening lay. Haiz....for my family hor, breath in air will also put on weight de lor!! So sad!!

Hi Jo,
I know!! Which is why I am quite worried...dont know how much weight I will need to shed after delivery!!!

peanut: oh, extra cost? alamak, so sad. maybe only one table order it then the other one watch? u & i can just watch since we had it before.

don't starve peanut jr lah. shd be happy tt she's chubby. i also wanted my son to be chubby but he came out like a lollipop, head big big on a stick body.

Gd afternoon.. It's tea break time..

<font color="0000ff">hui</font>
where did u get tat spray? so advanced siah! me so silly, use those bb powder until it sticks to my scalp..

<font color="0000ff">dreamyjo</font>
no wonder u mentioned earlier u cheat during d squats, hee, i supposed we can cheat if we hide 1 corner .. but it's gd tat she push us to d limit as gynae ever told me we use d muscles around there to push bb out, haha, now u won't cheat right? think she can remb cos my hub works under the same company. u heading there tmr? how abt the dinner, u not goin ah?

<font color="0000ff">peanut</font>
glad things are getting better.. hope it sets your mind at ease. any chances to stop tat medi should u get lesser BH? bb's weight gain quite shocking ya, haha round tummy..

<font color="0000ff">wtan</font>
i bgt most of my cards, hee but itchy fingers, tot of making some but yet to 'venture' out! working is tiring enuf &amp; wkends shld be reserved for family, can understand.. i was outside the room for first 2 days where we cant see each other. he cried ard 1hr+. i guess the crying out phase cannot be avoided &amp; i hav to let go too. now contacting another agency for new helper, luckily still hav time. u still headache over your issue ah?

<font color="0000ff">happy</font>
but i pei fu u, diy is time consuming, especially so when need to balance child &amp; housework. during the end of the day, i jus feel like relaxing, hee.. tat forum vy informative, i especially like tat grandpa who teaches his granddaughter &amp; he's vy generous in sharing his resources.

<font color="0000ff">lovedogs</font>
hee, not me.. me slogging at home..

<font color="0000ff">olwen</font>
pls take care, sounds vy serious leh..

carol: oh dear. cld u be having hypo-thyroid? i heard tt it can also erupt during pregnancy like hyper-thyroid. mine is hyper so i have difficulty putting on weight. i'm also hitting 23 weeks &amp; i put on abt 5 kg. but i need to put on more cos i have 3. plus i only have 12 more weeks, unlike the rest of u.

Olwen,
Take care ya! Betta cut down on heaty food.

Bear,
I also practise drinking salt water from the durian shell everytime after durian feast since young. It helps to reduce heatiness. Try washing your hands under running water passing through the durian shell will help to rid off the durian smell on your fingers! It works!

cookieoreo: thanks for concern. not serious actually. just those common sore throat. only tt during pregnancy the membrane bursts easily so will bleed. nose bleed, gum bleed, dr loh said all v normal.

carol, maybe it's all water retention problem ... hearing wat alibaba said abt her sil .. we dont have to worry too much le.
If I will to lose all my water thru sweating during confinement, I dun mind but I will bathe everyday with herbal bath/ warm water. Dun care!
I also eat 3 normal meals + snacks in the afternoon (bread/pancake).

I really dun dare to weigh myself at home nowadays else I will try eat alot lesser!

nikki: thanks. think it's the durian seed &amp; yesterday's jagabee. i didn't eat tt much but guess i'm just more prone to sore throats during this pregnancy.

Hi Olwenlim,
Hmm, not sure abt it , will check with gynea on thurs. He seems really unconcern with weight gain de, wonder why...haiz!

GD afternoon mummies...

any gathering for mummies here??

Milderina, Enne, Hui and those 2nd or 3rd time mummies.
Check with u all, what diapers are your child wearing for night? seems like most of them will leak when towards morning.. Any suggestion?

Alamak,u gals are talking abt wt gain nw and i am eating a pack of famous amos cookies!

I am trying to eat lesser rice these days for lunch and dinner.Err.. but dun seem to work for me ley.I will feel hungry after 2hrs ley.Sigh... Wanna wat the gynec will say at the next visit.I dun dare to weigh myself too!

Bear bear,
Nt v sure if they open at sat.But sun they are closed.

peanut,
Aiyo.. u dun spank your nini lar.
Err.. rice water oso quite fattening one ley.

olwen,
drink more water if u wanna eat more heaty stuff.

cookieoreo,
Yes is time consuming but worth it lar.Can be use at my #2 too.
Errr.. the grandpa one? under which cat?

Hi nikki,
me too, even till now will drink salt water from durian shell, cause i scared too heaty after eating it.. It works wonder right?

Carol,
not to worry now about the kg... if u breastfeed, it will shred faster for sure. Think i shred abt 4 kg during first 3 months when i was on total bf.