(2008/11) November 2008

Olwen, glad your scan was good
so no need to worry la. so many boys! they better dont bully your girl girl hehe..
are you keen to go for some exercising classes? maybe can strengthen your body for the coming birth.

Auggy bear, me taking nerogain fish oil prescribe by my doc. it is in a capsule form. i didnt take the syrup. must take some fish for bb. good for your bb.

hi minkybear,
sure! i'll post it up when i load up the pix from my cam ya?=> its the bloody bear, u are rite!heheeh..

Olwen,
so happy for you,glad that all went well!=>

morning ladies,
hope you all had a good weekend. here's to another smooth and great week ahead ya? me woke up early coz wana have brekkie with hubby.waiting for him to get ready now, think i'm going to have veg bee hoon.=P

minkybear,
here's the pix for ya!
1520831.jpg

hi ladies..
sorry for not logging in lately..i was moody..kinda troubled over some family matters..sigh..duno if i shd quit my job aft giving birth to take care of both #1 & #2 or shd i get a maid to take care of both of them..really feeling down over this..hope i get a solution soon so that i can get over this gloomy period..

Haru:
Wah you can tarhan watching movies like Wanted ah. Now I cannot watch anything violent, scary, etc. If I try to watch, my baby will kick me so hard that I feel very painful. So now only cartoon or chick flicks. Lolx.

Olwen:
Next time muz send your girl for some girly classes. Else with 3 bros, sure become a bit boyish de. No offence ok. My cousin is the 3rd amongst 4 kids. The other 3 are boys. She behave like a tomboy sometimes so my aunt sent her for piano classes in the hope that it will make her a bit more girly. Lolx. But she retains the girly part of wanting long hair.

wtan:
Dun gloomy. Dun stress. Consider these few factors lor. (1) If you compare your earning-working expenses to the pay+expenses+food for a maid, is your earning more? (2) What are your working hours like? Do you have enough time to spend with your kids at night and weekend? (3) Can you trust a maid?

I decided to get a maid to look after my baby coz (1) The expenses for the maid is a portion of my salary. After accounting for my expenses, my pay still allows me to save money which can be spent on better things for my baby in future. If I give up my pay and we survive on my hubby's pay, we would need to scrimp and save & i dun want to have to scrimp and save on my baby's needs. (2) Having a maid to help me cover things like housework enables hubby & me to spend all of my non-working time with my baby. We can spend our weekends bring baby out or playing with her at home. (3) My working hours are usually very regular (830am-6pm) so I would still be able to spend enuff time with my kids (actually nothing is enuff lah... just that I find it should be still sufficient time).

morning ladies, Im down with running nose

wtan, cheer up, look at the pro and cons and consider what arrangement is best for you and bb.

wtan,
Juz check up and c what is the best arrangement for you and the kids. If your work allows you to go home early, then u can consider #1 to cc and #2 to nanny then housewk to p/t maid.
Or get a maid, install cameras @ hm and cater for her expenses. Just my comments.

hey wtan,
maybe have a good talk with hubby to discuss? am sure something can be worked out ya? dun let this affect ur mood oh, if not baby can feel that mummy is moody.a happy mummy = happy baby.=>

Fifi,
haha,no leh! no protests from baby. =P but now when watchin dramas i cry at the slightest thing. very emo..hubby thinks its hilarious esp aft i cried while watchin My Best Friend's Wedding for the 10th time?

Haru, I got abit touchy nowadays too... crying over small things.

BTW is anyone thinking of buying diaper bag? Not sure if it is necessary to buy one leh.

Wtan, me same situation as you. mom still havent confirm taking care of kid. and my dad ask me why cant i quit my job to take care.talk to your hubby best way to sort out.

gd morning everyone~! tml gog for my gynea visit. hehe very excited. waited for a month to see baby...

mosh>> a few mths ago i oso cry easily.. now better. though a lot of problems.. but plan and solve slowly.. actaully i realised more pressure on my hubby...

i m oso looking ard for diaper bag. hopefully not too expensive..

wtan>> have to talk to your hubby lo. my hubby sometimes he is too stressed, he avoids the problem. he only talk abt it when he feeling better.

haru>> u must have a great time! i spent my sun cleaning my room..

haru:
You lucky. My baby is either a tan xiao gui or maybe too garang... get too excited. I can't tell she is kicking for wad. Lolx.

I also touchy. Cry or feel very emotional for small things.

mosh:
I intend to just use a normal big bag. As long as can fit can liao. Dowan spend so much.

maid:
For me, I will be transfering my mum's maid to me. But I haven decided to transfer her as of 1 Aug or 1 Sep. Aug like abit early, but with her ard, I get nice meals. Can even pack lunch for me. But like extra expenses. Dunno worth it anot.

minkybear>> ur dad is like my dad!!! sianz! that's why i have to quit my job! then after some time, i also agree that i should spend some time with my baby.. before i pass the child care job to my mom or anyone...

Mosh, didnt think it is necessary since i already have a backpack.

Pkum, enjoy your baby viewing
we mothers are always happy to see gynea cause can see bb haha.bt really one month is such a long wait dont you agree.

Pkum, i would like to spend time with my bb bt how can with the raising living cost? i knw it is unfair to weigh bb n money bt hav no choice. even hubby is nt supportive of me quitting.. so have to see.

minkybear>> i waited till long long neck lo. getting blues.. i oso wanted to work. if only hubby is working alone, we have to forsake a num of things. i plan to tk cr for 6mths to 1yr. then convince my dad that we need a maid to help out with housework, then my mum can help me and then i can go to work!!!! i understand if we work, we can buy better things and provide better life for baby too right???

Pkum, normally from what i understand once you start staying home you will not want to leave your kids and you will spend many years at home.
That is what happen to my sister in law. since her first kid she say she want to come out to work bt now already have her second kid she still at home leh.

So hard to say la. best can work from home.

morning gals~ I have been having reddish rashes like spots all over my tummy area.. spreading since sat.. anyone have encountered before?? i have been using the cream i got from GP and have called my gynae up.. he say if continue, he can check up for me and intro me to skin specialist le.. he said till to preggy, but doesn't affect the BB =/ hubby very concerned over this too.. haiz~

jenn>> a friend of mine had rashes. gynea says due to hormone changes. she had a boy. after giving birth, the rashes faded. wonder if it is the same for u??

minkybear> my concern is like yours!! my mom has been a home maker for years!!!!

good morning mummie! wow, so many ppl came in yesterday & r in today already. i'm on MC for 2 days. nothing actually just tt dr loh gives me MC v readily if i say i'm tired of working. in fact, he asks y i'm still working when so fat already

Jenn, fifi, minkybear, haru: thanks for the kind wishes. i know all of u will say "ya, told u it was nothing to worry abt."

pkum, did ur frd do anything to the rashes? I mean, it's kind of disturbing right? if have to just wait till i give birth, i have to at least wait for 4mths more =/

minkybear, pkum, think it depends on individual household's expenses. If u & your Hubby are comfortable with the finances, then being a SAHM is not so stressful.

I also abit worried about finance as I dont want to end up fighting with my hubby over finance matter. But at the same time I want to spend time with my bb. If everything go according to my plan, then might be able to take on a part-time job after 6mth or 1yr.

Jenn, are you under lots of stress? cause stress is also a factor for this. one of my friend got rash from the cream she use to apply on her tummy when she stop the rash disappear.

When i am stress i will scratch and rash will appear so maybe you like me? hee..

Jenn, you when to view bb last sat right? how was it?

Olwen, ya la told you nt to worry mah. so good i like your doc now really no mood to come to work! haha... if only i can take mc :p Been feeling so tired so easily.

I miss my kick boxing classes! aarg...

gd morning, it's monday blues! really blue.. gotta some issues when i step in the office.. almost got heart attack.. tot it's my fault..

olwen>
glad to hear ur gd news over ur DS. hehe.. CONGRATS for ur boys!

wtan>
sit down & discuss with ur hb. there's definately a way out. i realise nowadays hardly hear that the parents will help out on taking care of bbs.

Maid>
my gf 's maid recommend me her fren whose contract is ending. so if i'm interested, i can meet her up for an interview.need u gals for help liao... what are the qns tat i need to ask & look out for?

haha minkybear,
e bear is a lil violent, so i can understand. but its quite cute. i had one of its purse during my school days, hehehe..

mosh,
hubby already bot me a diaper bag, as a Mothers' Day gift. => i think e diapers bags nowadays are really cool and nice. do look around mothercare and some other maternity stores. the designs are quite nice.

pkum,
talking about cleaning, i think i need to wash my bathrooms soon..=P

ok, enough of myself.

fifi: your baby likes the sonographer so keeps making u go back lah!

auggybear: i agree w minkybear. i think most ppl r taking neurogain. tt is what kkh prescribes. i alternate between tt & usana's omega oil. but neurogain is tried & tested & specifically for expectant mothers.

wtan, minkybear: i agree w fifi. u have to weigh everything before u decide. if u really like being at home w the baby during your maternity leave then by all means, go back to the office after 3 mths & tender on the first day. but if still not sure, try going back to work for a couple of mths & if u want, u can still quit then.

an alternative u can consider is part-time. i did part-time when my son was 2 to 4. the pay is usually much less but at least it's something & u get to spend much more time w your baby. i think v few local companies offer it, probably govt bodies & US MNC.

minkybear, hmmz~ no stress leh.. everyday eat n sleep.. only stress is how BB is doing? hahaz~ I went to a normal GP on Sat to get the cream, nv scan the BB.. I went to Detail Scan on last monday, everything was fine but, I didn't develope the rashes then..

haru, your hubby so sweet, bought u a mothers' day gift. My hubby told me not to buy one leh, he says not necessary

pkum>
i saw the new combi stroller from motherhood mag. haha. the aqua color indeed look nice.. hubby comment nice too.. haven seen the real ting yet. u know the price yet? hopefully not too exp!

jenn>
my tummy sometime have some reddish dot. but not itchy.. so i ignore it.. cos i know preggie hormone changes these are normal.jus hope it dun get any worst...

last weekend i met my fren she commented.. my skin is more to the redish & sensitive type so bb will be like me.. -_-""" got rashes!! omg! so sad to hear tat..

mosh>> its good that we have support here in the forum. else i think if we purely become SAHM, we will go crazy. i think my mum used to be quite lonely last time.

jenn>> i think GP gave her a cream to apply. the gynea says ok. but i see she scratch, i oso became itchy. i think she oso apply powder to stop the itch bah.

olwenlim>> yah lo, u shld rest more. next time, u have to spend more energy to take care of 3 babies... what kind of part time did you do? data entry?

alibaba>> yah the aqua is very nice. go tai sing to see. my hubby go there to ask all the doubts he has.. i think he quite expert in combi stroller liao.. i think abt $300+

haru>> ytd quite angry with my hubby, i was cleaning like crazy and he was playing online game with my dad. there are some boxes which are quite heavy, i was waiting for his help... sianz. clean toilet can get ur hubby as the floor can be slippery... be careful!

alibaba: thanks. for your maid, i think most importantly is whether the girl can look after newborn bb. & must be willing to wake up at nite to help cos your hubby will not be on leave like u. also willing to take orders from your caregiver. whoever it is going to look after, your mother or MIL, best to bring them along & give her the once-over together w u. my first maid ran away after 3 mths cos she refused to take orders from my MIL who she sd is so uneducated. sigh.

Jenn: u also had your DS on saturday? how was it? i also knew somebody who had pregnancy induced rashes. hers were not v itchy so she left them alone & they went away after they gave birth. but if they annoy u a lot, can u try agnesia powder? it's in a red can & helps to relieve the itch. i've tried it before. can ask your gynae if it's safe but i think shd be cos ppl use it on babies too.

minkybear: u used to do kickboxing??? wow, pei fu pei fu.

i used to be v fit till my son was born. then all the free time is just spent w him. your pilates/yoga class sounds v tempting but i'm worried abt pre-term labour so i guess i have to remain unfit till i give birth.

Jenn:
On the whole, rashes/itch is common during pregnancy due to hormonal changes. I have some rashes now and then.

Other than hormones, some creams can also cause rashes. I got rashes from the Palmer's stretch mark cream & a J&J Shea Butter Cream. I stop using then improving. Dun scratch and keep the area clean lor. To clear the rashes fast, what I did was to use my facial wash to clean my tummy where the rashes are instead of using shower foam. Clear very fast.

You may also want to consider the clothes you are wearing. Some preggy woman cannot wear anything other than cotton during pregnancy.

alibaba:
Ask her age, single/married, family status (how many siblings, parents, kids & what they are doing now - any in singapore too). What's her working history in Singapore or HK? Why does she want to change employer? What kind of tasks did you do with previous employer? What does she do on her off days? Does she like children? What are her eating habits? How much pay does she expect? Can she sacrifice her off days when you and the baby need her? Basically get to know her & what motivates her to work in Singapore. Important is to know why she is changing employer (and how many past employers + duration) - issit coz she cannot make it or the employer dun need maid anymore.

Dun worry so much abt wad your friend say lah. I read before that almost all babies born will have reddish and sensitive skin. This is regardless of what kind of skin the mummy have. Just take care lor. If babies take after the mummy then mine will be jialat lor. My skin ultra senstive de & coz I am quite fair, any sensitivity comes out as red marks (abit like rashes), esp on my face. But it all goes away after a while. So dun worry.

mosh,
you can use a normal bag as long as its large enough to hold the essential stuff. but you will have to make sure u have ur own mat. the good thing about diaper bags is that they are normally compartmentalized to hold small stuff and with a solid base. anyway, look around and see if you find anything nice that you like ya? most diapers bags are so nice that it can be used as normal shopping bags. =>

Re: strollers
went to mothercare and saw a nice and affordable stroller, a brand thats starts with 'V' going for under $300 (under promo now)and a 3-wheeler! hubby and i kinda like it but e warranty is only 6mths so if we buy it now, e warranty will be over by the time we use it.

combi only has 4 wheelers?

pkum,
my hubby is addicted to his PSP too, but if i ask nicely (w puppy eyes) he'll normally help just that sometimes it takes days before anything is done. haha..but better than no help at all! now when i wash e bathroom i just make sure i dun use those strong cleaning agents coz the smell is quite strong.

sorry mummies, my IE crashed. don't u just hate tt?

pkum: i did just my normal job but my buddy who brot me into tt bank arranged it such tt i work 3 days a week. it's really quite nice if u just need the money for extra & not to support the family. but it won't be an option for me anymore, what with having to move to a bigger flat & getting maid. even this mth, i already find myself counting the expense of the 2 meals we had at restaurants becos of father's day & my husband's birthday. ouch.

combi stroller r v nice. pkum, where is tai sing? i have a hand-me-down capella from my sis in law, yippee! so now i need to find a twin stroller. does combi make twin ones?

fifi: your list on what to ask the maid is so comprehensive.

has your family always had a maid or u learnt this from your mum?

minkybear: don't work yourself too hard ok? i learnt this when having my son. worked so hard & never took MC but the avp who was i/c of me never appreciated it all. so now i'm more relaxed. if i need to rest, i just ask dr loh. u shd ask your doc if u need to rest.

I had my detail scan done yesterday.The DS nt like sin,nt really detail as compare to sin.But gynec said everything is Ok.So i only can trust him then.
I put on 3kg within a mth and is too much!haiz...
I got monitor my weight gain every nw and then.

Jenn,
Is it itchy?If nt, monitor a few more days and see hw. Think might be hormone changes that cause it lar.
I do hav some rashes too but i ignore it as it is nt itchy.

wtan,
Dun get stress over who to take care of the baby nw.You jus weigh it during your maternity leave like wat olwenlim mention.

For me,i prefer to work.I looked after my #1 all by myself during the ML.I cannot stand the stress and will get frustrated easily during the 3 mths..So my hb encourage me to work instead which i tink is good for both me n the baby.
Now,i dun have a choice but being a SAHM looking after my gal.Hb posted oversea to work,so i got to bear with it for awhile

Think you knw yourself the best!
Being a SAHM is nt a easy job.There are pro and cons of being one.Weigh it and see at a later stage.

Olwen,
Ya use to take up kickboxing i don't like gym so i go for this kind of more high impact class with variety of moves. i get bored running on machine haha. besides it is our sister bonding time because we go together for the class.
i guess you are right you need more rest then exercise
bt i thought light stretching will do you good. i will probably be like you after i have bb... no more free time.

Pkum, was angry with hubby yesterday too. over bedsheet changing and dinner. told him i need to eat he still do his work. in the end i had to cook if nt i get nothing to eat. although i was tired. :x

Olwen, my gynea obviously feel that i was fit enough to work haha cause when i went to see her regarding my cramps she ask me "never go work ah.. tsk tsk" :p

So i guess no escape from work for me. My work nothing much just stare at the screen and draw lines and put colors. haha dont hate it la. just tired sometimes.