(2008/10) Oct 2008

Mousebb,
any phonics system will work. It just depends on what the individual prefers. But personally the only 1 that I don't like is Fitzroy.

Saxo,
Me slacker mum. I dun invest in educational stuff.

Lucnh today re-schedule to tmr
1. XY
2. Jolly
3. Buffy
4. Jelly

Anyone else? Meet where leh?

<font color="aa00aa">Mint
In that case I will let my boy start with jolly phonics since the school is teaching it now

<font color="0077aa">Mousebb: sorry for the late reply. A bit maxed out at work. *bleah*

In case you still need some feedback, I have so far only used Zoophonics and Letterland. Zoophonics, if I am not wrong, is from the US while the latter is from UK. Hence the accent is a bit different. Jolly is also from UK.

Like what Mint mentioned, they are similar where they teach letter sounds, just that the process and method that they use is different. For Zoophonics, they use animals and a multi-sensory approach (with a focus on kinesthetic part thru some actions). Letterland does have actions but that is on the side, not the main crust of the program. So, for Zoophonics, there is almost like a chant / rhyme to it to intro the sounds "Allie Alligator a a a", (with the action of the arms opening and close like an alligator chomping down on food, "Bubble Bear, b b b" (likewise with an action of the bear scooping honey from the hive, etc.)

It is catchy and because there is action involved, it almost works like a song and "dance" regime. Kids love animals so they will be able to relate fast. I did not pursue it for homelearning because there is a lack of homelearning materials and also, the letters are "intertwined" with the animals where I thought that the letter shapes are not as obvious as in Letterland.

Jolly phonics has a wide range of homelearning materials too and you can actually view them at ELC and at September 21. They have a systematic way of teaching the letter sounds + also focuses on other aspects such as writing, etc. Oh, I remembered they also have books on "sight" words too (not sure if it covers all of Dolch Wall) such as "the", etc. Letterland does not have a special focus on that.

C and I went ahead with Letterland because I like that the letters were obvious (though they are "blended" with characters) and there is a wide range of materials available for home use - DVDs, storybooks, CDROM, etc. It uses a song approach to teach letter sounds and on how to write the letters. As the kid progresses to digraph stage, the series creates stories to make it more interesting and also easier for the kids to remember the sound. For e.g. the digraph "sh" - when Sammy Snake stands besides Harry Hatman, his consistent hissing gives Harry a headache. So Harry turns around and says "sh". Stories like that help C remembers and makes sense of them.

Mint I think took a teaching course on letterland so hehe, she is the expert. Can ask her if you need any clarification.

Long post. Sorry about that. HTH

<font color="0077aa">Karen: LOL... XY is a v Zenn person. When we hang out, we basically eat and play with the kids so haha, dun really talk about "schooling" stuff. LOL

XY: C and I miss you both! C keeps thinking she is meeting M all the time *faint*. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Buffy
Thanks for the detailed explaination!!! Really appreciate it.
Will let my son stick to jolly phonics for now and see what's his progress later

<font face="georgia"><font color="0000ff">Jelly,
Sorry to hear that... hope you're better now.

Maybe you shd list down a time table for your helper what time to feed Sydney... and what to prepare. Stick in on the fridge big big so that whenever she walks past, she will sure see it.

</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Another question here: what do you think is the appropriate age for a kid to learn computer skills?
Currently I only put my boy in the creative arts &amp; English speech and drama enrichment classes. Am thinking to start him on computer course when he is in K1 next year but dont know is it too late or too early for him. </font>

Elch,
Definately!!!
I just went Bintan in Nov with Marcus.
We stayed at Nirwana Gardens.
He enjoy himself sooooo much.
We just do nothing but chill at pool, beach, room. Eat, swim, sun and sea.

XY,
Thanks for the info! Do you have any pictures to share? I'm looking at Bintan Lagoon Resort or Bintan Sayang Resort. Is Nirwana Gardens near to the beach? Shall find out more about it. Seems like Bintan's a better getaway than going on a cruise. Purpose of the trip is actually to do nothing but chill before #2 comes along...

<font color="0077aa">mousebb: you are welcome.
Dun mind me asking, where are you guys going to go for the home learning course?

<font face="georgia"><font color="0000ff">does anyone know where to get customised iron-on Ts ? need them urgently for my team event. </font></font>

mspiggy, sure! how long have u moved to MBC. maybe you can show me where can get nice food. so bored with the foodcourt liao

20 East...hmmm....u working at Unilever or HSBC

<font face="georgia"><font color="0000ff">doggie,
moved in since late Nov last yr... there's another foodcourt at comtech etc... i didnt explore much. we can take the MBC bus to Vivo too

tell u when i meet you in person where i am working
</font></font>

<font face="georgia"><font color="0000ff">doggie,
yes super crowded! cant imagine the other bldg is filled... the SAP one!

jelly,
yes... finally! i give up on CC... just registered her at learning kidz at AMKhub. just 2 hour pre-N class. but i think it's good enough since now i have decided to continue to have a helper.

need to expose her to sch... mixed with other kids etc</font></font>

Elch,
I have tons of pictures...
No time to upload.
Bintan is 5* hotel pricing hor, everything is in SGD and not cheap!

Haha... This weekend i'm going on a cruise. Hehe...

XY,
I read about the high pricing at Bintan too. Think I'll save quite an amount since water sports and massage is out for me. I looked at Star Cruise just now and it's not cheap as well. How much did you pay?

Elch,
Free. Only pay seaport tax.
My mum is member. got hell lots of points to redeem for rooms. Haha.. she keep asking us to go with her. So, ok lor, treat it as a staycation.
Haha... Superstar virgo... here we go.

jelly,
yah, i din c any thermos food jar BP now, only the jap elephant brand.

if u happen to c it again, pls help to give me a heads up ok? heehee...thanks dear

hi bigflamingo, you can buy letterland pdts from the BP (nic: babyling or xiaochuan)...my gal's CC uses letterland too &amp; i hv bought many letterland pdts from the 2...my gal simply loves letterland, will ask me to read letterland books to her or ask for the letterland's songs

if you need their contacts, can pm me

Cang join u all for lunch. My block ducts r back to haunt me!
Posted on Friday, January 14, 2011 - 8:16 am:       
Lunch 12.30pm

1) xy
2) Buffy
3) jolly
4)ruffles

Where are we lunching??

<font color="0077aa">My morning customer meeting got canned. Sigh... So detoured back to the office in cab.

Lunch, 1230. Shall we meet at City Hall? Watami?</font>

<font color="0077aa">BigFlamingo: G, I bought mine from Lingenius when they had a BP previously. Amongst the few BP sellers then, her pricing was the most competitive. She does not have ready stock and needs to place order so the wait can be anytime from 3 - 5 weeks I think. If you dun mind the wait, PM me for her details lah.

Mousebb: thanks for sharing. This homelearning series, what system do they use? I kaypo... :p</font>