(2008/10) Oct 2008

mommies
trying to take breaks by shopping online! hee...

better already after i ranted. sometimes i keep all these frustrations until i tak boleh tahan

vanilla
can syringe the meds and put i fridge like that? not afrid of x-contamination? maybe i will do that tonight. save me from a perpectual headache...

xy
ur ah lao v nice to you!

nicky
hard to nag cos i dun hv e energy to do that ... no gas liao after work... haha

dimple
i need to hang in there otherwise my kid is going to get worse not better!

jelly
*hugs* I agree with Vanilla. Maybe everyone is so reliant on you being there to do everything, that they are rather laid-back. Why not just straight-out delegate things for them to do?

dimple
Okay, the stickers are yours. Actually I don't need the points anyway. They are extra. Unless Joanne wants them. Update you again.

jelly

when kate is sick i also syringe the meds and put in fridge. idiot proof doses so whoever feeds her cannot say dunno or can't see etc.

can put in a 'cleaner' compartment of fridge (i just put normal one) say with cover. or just not next to any raw food.

dimple
i will do that tonight. i will pack in ziplock... hope no itch fingers or hands that would accidentally push the syringes! i'll "kill" them!

Jelly
Paiseh I didn't get back to you earlier regarding Pedipeds. I didn't see anything that I like, and the ones I like are not on sale, so go ahead without me.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name</TD><TD>Item description</TD><TD>URL</TD><TD> Price </TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Subtotal USD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Buffy</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 34.48 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nordic Naturals, Children's DHA, 250 mg, 90 Strawberry Flavor Chewable Soft Gels</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Children-s-DHA-Strawberry-Flavor-250-mg-90-Chewable-Soft-Gels/7053?at=0</TD><TD> 12.71 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 25.42 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Doggie</TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD> 16.81 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 33.62 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Liquid Vitamin C, Orange Flavor, 4 fl oz (118.5 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Liquid-Vitamin-C-Orange-Flavor-4-fl-oz-118-5-ml/6356?at=0</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dimpletot</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Everafter</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>9.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD> 16.81 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 33.62 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Liquid Vitamin C, Orange Flavor, 4 fl oz (118.5 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Liquid-Vitamin-C-Orange-Flavor-4-fl-oz-118-5-ml/6356?at=0</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Still short to hit USD240.

hi jelly - can.. usually i put it upright into a small glass bottle (those bf days which the hosp gave me)... for my mum and mil i will put into the milk bottles and they will mix w water or milk and give to E.

my first shelf in fridge is all the supplements and med.. so it is "clean" there.. we dont really cook so no raw food (except vegs and my kimchi)

hi XY - haha ya.. my clothes and hb are ironed by PT maid... but i iron E's clothes.. that day my PT maid ironed i told her no need... haha ... everything i will do for E.

jelly,
*hugs* stay strong!
u have to tell ur helper off.. make her understand she is there for a purpose not as a wallflower..
shop more to ease the stress! :p haha!

sax,
can pass to dimple. don't think i can get the trike. hubby is complaining that it's expensive.

jelly,
hugz! people are really like that sometimes. especially if they know someone will do it for them. hang in there. hugz!

Talking abt medication, i suppose all of u store in fridge, but if need to bring to cc how ah? Cant be taking in and out of fridge for such long intervals right?

Jelly,
Hugz... I can feel your stress n frustration. Sometimes when bryan woke up crying i hv to pacify him myself cos my hb will get irritated and want to beat him...So although im tired i rather do it myself

jelly
continue to shop! I am living vicariously through you! Seeing your names everywhere, shiok
I don't have the income so can only shop through you.

Joanne
Woohoo. You are living the mint-o-highlife too?

Dimple
Okay, let me go find those stickers and send them to you?

jelly,
i second saxo! hehe.. my fingers are itching every time. but since no income, can't shop.

saxo,
hahaha... trying to get as much as i can while i still can.

jellypurin,
Can sense the frustration in you. I used to be very helpless and frustrated when Regina was much younger. I would black face at my hubs until he cannot tahan and told me that I should tell him when I need him to do something. So nowadays whenever he doesn't show initiative, I would start barking orders at him so he gets the message. haha!

For the med syringes, maybe can put inside clean containers so there won't be any accidents as compared to them being in ziplocks.

vanilla,
Need to iron the uniform meh? The uniform looks wrinkle free type to me... Haha! This lazy mummy just wash and wear.

xy, phantus, dimpletot,
Got the $$. Thanks dears!

saxo,
oi, what mint-o-highlife huh? heehee!

Joanne,
Yes go.... I went for mine today. ultimate bliss! Haha!

jellypurin,
Let me know if you're starting the babymallonline spree. Wanna get some tees and shorts for homewear.

Saxo

ok thanks much! Just need 2 green stamps. Will PM you my addy.
hoping to get my hands on the caterpillar for mei mei this weekend.

Jelly,
Oh dear, I can understand what you are going through altho I never had so many people around and still not helping.

I had to wipe the floor manually (I don't mop becos I think mopping is not exactly cleaning) when my bleeding during pregnancy just stopped. I had to climb on the chairs to wipe the main gate and put in the mattress protector and bedsheets in my top wardrobe when I was 7 or 8 month pregnant. I often cried to myself after sweating all over, after doing the tedious housework. Thro out my 2nd pregnancy, my elder kid would come out of her room and put her hand on my back and asked me why I was crying becos she heard me weeping.

After my delivery, I don't care so much liao. I persist on giving instructions to my husband - write down on paper step-by-step instructions to prepare my kid for her school in the morning. It takes some time. We fight over the things he doesn't do properly or forgets (didn't let my kid take her breakfast, didn't iron her uniform, forgot to give her pocket money, forgot to make her use her puff, forgot to let her take cardigan, or consent form, or books) but it gets better as time passes. Now I leave it to him to do these things. He now pleads with me to take turn to wake up at 5am to prep her. But I don't care lah.

You can write down the different timing for the med to be taken and stick it on the refrigerator and tell your helper this is the timing she needs to adhere to. At first, you may need to call your father from workplace to check if your helper has fed Sydney already. Your helper is probably being lazy since no one is monitoring her. Remind your parents you paid for her service. If she don't do work, your money is wasted. Sometimes we need people to remind us EXPLICITLY and SPECIFICALLY.

Jelly,

I can feel your frustration. Even though I have a great helper, i still feel like running the household is more my responsibility than hubby's. Every little darn thing from checking if there is bread for breakfast, to making toddler meals to freeze for the week, to planning family meals to renewing maid's contract falls under my job scope, on top of a full-time job. It's very very tiring.

I'm having my bp for shooshoos and jack and lily this wee. There's a new collection for jack and lily and some of the shoes are sooooo sweet (for the gals lah). For those whose gals have smaller feet sizes, can consider getting. Heehee!

Yes I'm on! Buffy says she may not be able to come cos she has a presentation...

Tmr lunch at PS on?
1. XY
2. Vanilla
3. Dimpletot
4. Jolly
5. Jelly
6. Buffy (tbc)

Where shall we eat?

<font color="0077aa">sorry girls, I think I cannot meet tmr as I have a presentation tmr - impt one as it is either "make" or "break". Am good to meet on Fri though.

Vanilla: Can I meet u on Fri?

Lennie: How can I pass u your bag?</font>

i can't meet you all for lunch. have to go home and neb sydney... last dose tomorrow noon

buffy
i dun need it so soon. until we meet for lunch next time?

hi buffy - fri i cant - just arrange lunch appt w some friends... next week? I can meet u and Jelly tog. (haha the not - so - secret lunch...)....all the best to ur presentation tom!

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name</TD><TD>Item description</TD><TD>URL</TD><TD> Price </TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Subtotal USD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Buffy</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 34.48 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nordic Naturals, Children's DHA, 250 mg, 90 Strawberry Flavor Chewable Soft Gels</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Children-s-DHA-Strawberry-Flavor-250-mg-90-Chewable-Soft-Gels/7053?at=0</TD><TD> 12.71 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 25.42 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Doggie</TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD> 16.81 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 33.62 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Liquid Vitamin C, Orange Flavor, 4 fl oz (118.5 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Liquid-Vitamin-C-Orange-Flavor-4-fl-oz-118-5-ml/6356?at=0</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dimpletot</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Colostrum-with-Probiotics-Orange-Pineapple-Flavor-50-g-Powder-1-7-oz/10630?at=0</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 17.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Everafter</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>9.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Nature-s-Way-Sambucus-for-Kids-Berry-Flavored-8-fl-oz-240-ml/9342?at=0</TD><TD> 16.81 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 33.62 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Liquid Vitamin C, Orange Flavor, 4 fl oz (118.5 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Liquid-Vitamin-C-Orange-Flavor-4-fl-oz-118-5-ml/6356?at=0</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowy_08</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Pure-DHA-Berry-Flavor-90-Soft-Gel-Capsules/12573?at=0</TD><TD> 9.95 </TD><TD>4</TD><TD>39.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Liquid Vitamin C, Orange Flavor, 4 fl oz (118.5 ml)</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Liquid-Vitamin-C-Orange-Flavor-4-fl-oz-118-5-ml/6356?at=0</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 6.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Natural Factors, RxOmega-3 Factors, EPA 400 mg/DHA 200 mg, 240 Softgels </TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Natural-Factors-RxOmega-3-Factors-EPA-400-mg-DHA-200-mg-240-Softgels/4251?at=0</TD><TD> 29.9700 </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 29.97 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Allergy Research Group, Nutricology, Pure Vitamin C, 100 Capsules</TD><TD>http://www.iherb.com/Allergy-Research-Group-Nutricology-Pure-Vitamin-C-100-Capsules/3449?at=1</TD><TD> 11.71 </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 23.42 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Iherb closed. Pls check ur orders.

Everafter, sambucus u want Nature's Way? Ok?

Hi xy,

My orders are correct! thanks!

Jelly, have the same problem as u recently. Can understand ur frustration. I did what the mummies suggested, call home when it is time to feed bb medicine or get the maid to call me when it is time. i called home like every 2 hours! faint rite...cant really work in peace, but no choice.

<font color="0077aa">Lennie: am ok. just let me know la 'coz I have a customer meeting at 10am so am still good for lunch.

<font color="aa00aa">Hello mummies!

May I check what is the different between jolly phonics and zoo phonics? Thanks!</font>

mousebb
quoting from wikipedia...

"jolly Phonics is a systematic, sequential, phonics program designed to teach children to read. Children learn 42 sounds of the English language, rather than the alphabet. They are then taken through the stages of blending and segmenting words to develop reading and writing skills."

from zoo-phonic website:
Zoo-phonics is a method developed to make children strong readers and spellers using a “phono” (hearing), “oral” (speaking), “visual” (seeing), “kinesthetic” (moving), and tactile (touching)—whole brain approach. Students actually learn the sounds of the alphabet and advanced phonemic concepts through an easily understood, concrete method of presentation.

Zoo-phonics uses animals drawn in the shapes of the letters for ease in memory. A related body movement is given for each letter. This concrete approach cements the sounds to the shapes of the letters. Lowercase letters and their sounds are taught first (needed 95% of the time in text), capital letters and letter names are taught later.

Zoo-phonics also provides a springboard for all other academia such as math, art, music, cooking/nutrition, social studies, science, grooming, physical education and sensory/drama.

Every aspect of the program has been field-tested and found to be effective. Educational research repeatedly supports the focus of phonics in early reading programs, as well as the educational benefits of pictorial mnemonics and kinesthetic approaches to learning that are unique to Zoo-phonics.

Currently Zoo-phonics is used throughout the United States and internationally as a highly effective language arts program.

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Thanks very much!

My boy is learning jolly phonics in school now and my hubby has intended to enrol him for home-based phonics lessons in end Mar. I need to find out which type of phonics is that.

Any ideas if a child is learning jolly phonics and zoo phonics at the same time, will it cause confusion to the kid?

Thank you so much

mousebb
i think will leh... cos i know the approach of each phonic system is different.

like R is now using letterland in sch. if i teach her zoophonics, she will get the alphas all mixed up...

buffy
care to correct me?