(2008/10) Oct 2008

Daisy
If you are not a heavy duty baker, can consider getting an electric hand mixer. Small and compact and must provide own bowl. And must hold onto the apparatus when in operation.

Kiddy rides @ T3
Mummies friend said that this has closed down. Sad. Jo loves the rides! Think really time to get a remote controlled car for Jo.

Saxo,
Yes, your friend is right. The kiddy rides at T3 had closed down when we were there over the weekend

Saxo, what brand will u recc and where to buy?

T3 rides - oh it closed down! what a pity!!! The kids love it that weekend we were there last month. we also took the Slide@T3 that is 3 storeys high....weeeeee....!!!

Sian, Jaz coughing so badly last night throughout the second half of the night that she woke up. gg to bring her see doc again....very persistent cough! very frustrating! scared she cough too much and become hyperreactive like gor gor.

morning mummies

rides @ T3 close liao ah? din know that but think they make lost since not alot of pple playing.. everytime i go is nobody one.

xy,
thanks for ordering iherb.. my orders are correct.
u can be the official iherb organiser for Oct 08 mummies

daisy,
jaz been coughing very long? did u try the chuan bei and brown pear method that u taught me previously? i find this is gd for shawn esp when the cough jus started.

Daisy,
Oh dear, poor Jaz. Hope she will get well soon *hugz*
Yah, i think better to see the doc & get it cure early b4 it gets worse. Vy scare of cough, can really drag for awhile & suffer

Rides at T3
Ken hates that place. He say looks and feel so unhealthy. So stuffy and at carpark where the real car fumes will be everywhere.

The uncle that i rented the cars for Marcus' Two Fast Two Furious operates at Toa Payoh Central. At the open space between KFC and Crystal Jade. It's just cars/Bikes. No big float kind like T3 that parents can sit together with tods.

hi elch, my gal has her dinner ard 730pm & she usually asks for milk before she sleeps at ard 9pm. but i will only give her abt 100ml just to satisfy her desire to suck the teats.

xy - marcus goes to bed late! can he wake up in the morning for sch? will he be grouchy in the morning?

Dinner
My reason for asking is because my mum feeds Dylan his dinner at 5+pm or 6pm. Some nights, I'll just give him 180ml milk and he'll tend to wake up at 4+am for milk again. Recently I tried to give him half a bowl of cereals with milk as supper at 8pm then his milk at about 8.30-9pm before his bedtime. He can sleep till about 6.30am.

As much as I want him to sleep through the night, I don't wish to overfeed him. Am I overfeeding and paving his way to obesity?

Elch,
Nat also has her dinner ard 5+pm. Then she will have some bites when we have ours &/or she will ask for bread/cake/cheeze at ard 7+pm. Have her last feed of milk ard 9+pm.

I think as long as he can still stomach his milk b4 bedtime, shd b ok. I think if he is too full by then, he will not drink his milk de.

Sigh...like what Nat is doing these few days, not drinking her last feed. Wonder is it bcoz she eat too much at dinner or something else

From what you mummies have shared, seems like I'm not overfeeding Dylan or paving his way to obesity. Shall continue giving him his supper so that I can sleep through the night! Thanks mummies for sharing!

Jelly,
I'm interested to bring Dylan to the Barney show to make the boy happy, though both hubby and I don't like it. Do share if it's worth going!

hi mommies, thanks. jaz been coughing for almost 2 weeks. in between she recovered for 2-3 days then came back again. tried 2 rounds of TCM this time doesn't work. so today starting neb. sigh. i didn't feed her the chuan bei+pear this time coz my dad cooked pear+nan bei xing ren twice for her which is also good for cough, and we also give her hua jiao. can't really say it doesn't work, coz she did have 2-3 days coughless, so we suspect cld be secondary infection after she got well. sigh....

XY, i agree with u that carpark playground is super unhealthy... both hub and I were shocked to find it there at such a place. but too bad there was once my boy saw it and his friend who was there also took it, so we gave in loh.

Elch, Snowy,

Marcus is a late sleeper, late riser as well.
Normally he sleeps at 12ish. Morning we'll wake him up to go to CC at 7.45am. He'll cry a bit but generally ok.

If weekends, he'll wake up later, ard 10am. Haha...

No choice, daddy works late. So Marcus will stay up to wait for daddy.

XY,
Then how many hours does Marcus naps during the day? Can't imagine having Dylan sleep past 10pm. I'll have no time for my own!

Elch, yes we did!!! Thanks so much! and it worked for Jaz back then for 2 bouts of illness!! thats why this time we went back to him again twice but somehow this time didn't really work for the 2nd bout of coughing.
by the way, did you go back to him again after that one time u mentioned?

hi diasybuttons - usually cough so long the tcm does not work and need neb. i learnt that the hard way... E coughed so long + fever doc say sec infection and neb. i regretted didnt bring him in earlier for neb.

vanilla, actually we started TCM once she started coughing. after 3 days she seemed to recover coz no cough. then few days later came back again (suspect secondary infection lah), bring her see TCM again. but this time didn't work, cough got worse until she coughing until wake up last night. just like me for the past 3 nights. i think she got the secondary bug from me although i been wearing mask at home.
i cough until my ribs hurt, really dun want them on her....

ur doc usually recommend what med + dosage for neb for E? i realise diff docs very diff. this time jaz is 1.0ml ventolin + 1 ml pulmicort...

daisybuttons,
Yup. We brought Dylan back a few times when he got ill and also for 'maintenance'. Dylan loves the physician whom he calls 'Gong Gong' and also the medication which he calls 'Gong Gong Medicine'...

elch hahahaaa....so when u went back for "maintenance" does he gives you in the usual bottle of med or he prescribed herbs? yes i find the phycisian nice but hor, he quite temperamental too. sometimes friendly sometimes not heee......

daisybuttons,
It's always 2 bottles of different medicine, be it for 'repair' or for 'maintenance'...

I've only seen the physician once or twice as most times it's my parents who bring Dylan to visit him. Didn't know he can be temperamental. Dylan's always calling him 'Gong Gong' from the time he lays his eyes on him till we leave the room and the physician has to keep acknowledging by saying 'Ermmmm...'. Make us feel so paiseh for having such a long-winded boy...

hi daisy - my doc gave neb after E coughed for 3 weeks and fever for 6 days... we went to him first and i continued the usual zytrec and prospan... thot ok lah... then i was coughing and for mths.. only until i called back to complain and when E had fever then doc say too long sec infection liao so neb.
his neb is just ventolin.. after neb for 5 days he got a step down oral med - call zenolin or something.. which works like milder ventolin.

i regretted didnt go back earlier after a few days when his cough didnt get better...

hi vanilla, E was given only ventolin for neb and how much was the dosage? since only ventolin, did he prescibe saline to add to the vol? did he take antibiotics while on neb?

elch, thanks.

hi daisy - just ventolin for neb..and there was something to add - not sure what it is ..all in a package when i rent the neb machine.

he is on antibotics daily so doc did not give addition.

i must go home and see dosage on ventolin.. cant rem..

Jo has also ben coughing for a week plus or so. She had fever for three days and still remaining phlegm cough. I have been only feeding her Prospan. It is slowly getting better but very slow. Should I bring her go see doc, though I'm reluctant to give her more meds.

does jo cough at nite till vomit? i went back 2nd time after E coughed till vomit for 2 nites running.. i almost took down PD's signboard. lucky after neb he ok or not Glen E has 1 less PD

LY also coughed for abt 2 weeks... took prospan and pi pa gao (by my mum) but still can hear her phlegm so i brought her to see doc last fri... was given oral ventolin, neolin and antibotics...

Saxo, meningitis u talking about PRevnar jab issit? it covers meningitis. yes i gave both kids that. as for flu jab, i gave only before aussie trips. so jov got 1 when he was 1 before we went melb, and both of them took it before we went gold coast in july this yr. otherwise no. anyway it only covers certain strains and depends on flu season. so happens before gold coast trip there was a jab containing this brisbane strain so it was appropriate.

vanilla, yes my 2 kids got cough until vomit before. its really tiring, sometimes can change bedsheets twice in a night.

She has since stopped coughing at night. Maybe once. Daytime about once in 6 hours or so. But can still hear her phelgm, though very dry now. but no vomit.

daisy
yah lor, her pd was pushing all these jabs and i thought mmr was the only left for her.

flu jab - only if u are travelling...but if jo is sick now she cannot take the jab.

daisy - ya i had to wash the mattress protector at 4am and really no joke.

Saxo,
could it b the dryness & the phelgm tat is irritating Jo's throat to cause the occasional cough?

Nat had tat after recovering from her running nose. Her pd gave her something juz to clear the phelgm.

Let me go back to check the name of the med.

Anyone gv other lobang for huggies diapers
at northeast/east area? Fed-up of the tampines auntie..been calling/sms since last wk, no response at all!!

saxo, prevnar better take. anyway now its made compulsory leh, how can u not take prevnar (pnemoccocal jab) leh? compulsory also means can claim frmo CDA. last time when mine took its not made compulsory yet.

Yes, I also highly recommend taking the pneumococcal jab cos I've seen cases of pneumococcal pneumonia causing complications requiring surgery in children. Better be safe than sorry.

Daisy
I look at the health booklet again. The jabs are influenza #1 & 2, and Meningococcus. Not Prevenar. The latter must be taken at 3, 4, 5 months & Iyo right?

Saxo, MOH recommends catch-up vaccination for all children under 5 years of age. Baby Bonus, CDA and Medisave can also be used to pay for the catch-up immunization.

Dimple, it covers meningitis caused by pneumococcus, but not other types of meningitis.

everafter,
For the Tampines auntie, I realized that she won't response to sms or call when there is no stock. When stock arrives, she'll then call us back. That's what I experienced. There's once where I smsed her but no response for 1-2 weeks. Thought of giving up and get it from somewhere else and that's when she suddenly called saying stock arrived.

If you do not want to wait, you can try Ang Mo Supermarket at Punggol. Their diapers are cheaper.