(2008/10) Oct 2008

Forum is awfully quiet.
It's almost a week and we're still within 1 page. Haha...
What happen to our very "happening" forum?

Where is R&Rmum??

<font color="aa00aa">Cheer bear
Just read your post and know that you have withdrawn shawn from cc. Poor shawn! He must have traumatised liao. Maybe you can look for those weekend classes for shawn first?
Next Mon my kids are going to a play gym organised by the school. At first I din want to go cos scared my kids will "glue" to me but later decided to go there "quietly" and "hide" myself so that I can observe how my kids are doing. </font>

Cheerbear,
So how's Shawn now? Still crying? At night sleep got nightmares? Ur mother still helping u take care of him lah. Maybe when he's 3, then send him for those 2 hours class.

dimpletot,
Our class is every Wed and Fri. Yup only late lunch on those 2 days.

Mummies who have brought their toddlers on flight...
how do you all relieve ear discomfort caused by the air pressure during take off and landing? I read that sucking helps but Dylan doesn't drink if he's not thirsty...bringing him for his 1st flight overseas next Sunday and I'm both excited and worried!

elch,
I just leave it cos when she cries from the discomfort, the ears will just 'pop' to ease the discomfort. Heehee!

I'm getting the Letterland Living ABC software. It'll be $125 after discount. It's one of the products that the facilitator highly recommended for home use as it teaches not only phonics but handwriting strokes and there are songs and clickable scenes. Any one wants? If can get 8 orders, I can get a further 2-3% discount.

elch

i think not every toddler experiences it. kate has done 4 flights and most of the time she was sleeping at take off... didn't express any discomfort even when she wasn't sleeping.

mint

ok, how about Tues 7 Sept? say 1220pm. Shokudou if you guys are not sick of it.

elch,

I usually give her a bottle of milk. She will take it even if she is not hungry. Otherwise I prepare little snacks, so that they will keep eating and chomping. bring LOTSA toys etc to keep Dylan occupied.

mint,
anywhere we can view the software? Izzy's CC is using Letterland and my MIL managed to find the Letterland music CD with the same song that they are teaching in the CC.

cheerbear,
sorry to hear that CC did not work out for Shawn. Can always try Playgroup in a few mth's time?

Elch, I latch Jaz during take off and landing. As for my boy I get him to keep drinking water. eating also helps. Pls do be mindful to get nose decongestion drops from ur PD, its for IN CASE ur babe got block nose. if that happens, pressure cannot release and it may cause damage to ear drums. It happen to a friend's friend's child before. the drops will help clear it before take off. During the flight home last month, I was too engrossed in making sure my two kids are ok that i forgot I myself has a cold. end up during landing my ears were so blocked (can't release pressure) I panicked. no amount of drinking water or swallowing helps. a lady sitting beside my hubby taught me how to massage the points on my nose and cheeks to drain it, she said due to her flying during a cold last time, her eardrums were a bit cracked as a result. in the end, i kept sucking sweets and using hot towel to massage my sinus points, it finally cleared after a long time. but for a few days after that, i still hear popping sound in my left ear once in a while.

I think generally no cause for concern UNLESS baby having a cold.

<font color="119911">mint,
how's the letterland workshop? teach u how to teach using this software?

is the software call 'letterland living ABC'?</font>

mint,
Hahaha...that's an easy method to use! I'm concerned about disturbing others though...

dimpletot,
Not every toddler experiences it? What a relieve to know! Shall not be too worried about it then...

essana,
Dylan's very stubborn...if he's full he won't take any milk...he's not into snacking either! Especially when it's offered by me...he prefers 'begging' for food from others...eat abit and play with the food thereafter...

Guess I'll just not be too worried about it and let nature take its course! Thanks mummies for sharing!

phew.. today is so busy.. dun hv time to come in.. going to meeting in 10min time

mousebb,
ya looking for trial class to attend on wkend then decide again.
i think for ur case wx and wm can accompany each other in cc if anytime happen so not that bad.

xy,
better liao.. from crying 2-3times in the nite until now is 1 time nia..

elch,
shawn is the same.. drink only when thirsty so give him snacks and he will drink water :p

essanna,
ya lor.. me trying to plan now.

Elch,
Give sweets. Haha... i gave Marcus the Natural Confectionery gummy tapes. He loves it. Haha... i only give for very special occassions.

<font color="119911">daisy,
thanks for sharing your experience abt the blocked nose during flight with us. I din know tat =P

must take note on tat

daisybuttons, cheerbear,XY,
Thanks...shall heed all the advices and stuff all items in the backpack! Not easy to travel with toddler. Seems like 50-70% of the packing list is Dylan's stuff! I'm sure I'll be over-packed as it's his 1st trip. My mentality is to be over-packed rather than be sorry!

<font color="0077aa">Hey Mint, was that the same workshop that the letterland local guys did? I wanted to attend one on 21st Aug but hubs was outstationed and so, I could not go.

How was it? Anything that you can share? I wonder if they intend to have another one... And yes, that CDRom is v good.

Cheerbear: sorry to hear that. Did you notice if Shawn was treated roughly? C also cried big time and also din wanna go to her playgroup initially. Took her a while to settle... I heard from some teachers that some kids do have nightmares so hopefully Shawn would be better soon.

elch, the last time i went Perth w E, we had 2 big luggage - one is all his stuff while the other is shared bwt me and hb. I had to bring his bolster along!

this time round i will have to bring his bolster and mickey mouse stuff toy!

vanilla,
Wow! That's alot! For this trip, hubby and I are going to pack light for ourselves so that we'll have lots of space for Dylan! His pillow, bolster and etc got to fit in as well!

vanilla,
Haha! Same here. Our last trip, 1 whole large luggage was R's stuff and hubby and I shared the other luggage. Hers was full and ours still had space. :p

cheerbear,
actually izzy also started crying at night. i dunno why cos she seems to enjoy CC. Every morn will put on her uniform happily and now even know how to say the word "school". Only a whimper when she goes into the CC and according to the teachers, not a cry afterwards.

vanilla, mint,
Luckily it's just Hong Kong for me! Haha! I've yet to really start packing but I do hope I don't have to cater another suitcase just for hubby and I while Dylan's stuff occupy the other!

Elch and Vanilla, yes indeed! when we went to aussie during winter we had 2 big luggages, 3 full cabin bags, and 2 diaper bags to lug onto the plane! Thank goodness my BIL was there and on the flight back he helped us keep 20kg worth of stuff so that we can still meet the weight limit, coz we bought things mah! He just sent the stuff back to us recently heee.

jjmom,
My supplier doesn't supply to retailers. He only supplies to schools. So I think we get from BP better. See if we can nego for a lower price with the BP seller if more of us gets it?

mint

ok great! there's a cedele at tanjong pagar (former temasek towers - the stack of coins building). Shall go recee to see if they have bb chairs.

hi mommies. i know most of you are offline already, but still, came in to say hi while expressing my bm...

hope everyone is doing well and i miss you all lots. kinda looking forward to going back to work so that i can start chatting w everyone

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

cheer bear
Am sure shawn will start to like attending classes again. Give him a bit more time.
Wenmin doesnt stick to gorgor since long ago and she also doesnt want gorgor to stick to her. Teacher feedback to me that each time when gorgor go look for her, she would say "no no" to him. I have to "warn" wenxuan that if he continue to do so, I'm going to transfer wenmin to another school cos I do not want him to rely on his sister. Yesterday I was told by the teachers that wenmin is the 人气王 in school now. No wonder she doesnt need her gorgor anymore.

<font color="119911">Jelly,
we miss u too *huugz*

Rains,
what r u doing up so early? *yawn*

Mousebb,
wenmin is the '大姐大' in school liao...kekeke! At least u can rest your mind abt her at school
so she doesn't cry at all when gng to school?</font>

morning mummies

mummies wld like to check any1 attend GUG b4? is it something like bibinogs?

mousebb,
ya lor.. bo bian hv to give shawn more time coz i dun wan to scare him then make him scare of sch which is not gd.. at this age, they shld enjoy sch

wow.. wm is 人气王 then she must hv LOTS of fren.. in fact this is gd which means she is more out going type of person.

hi elch and daisybuttons - ya i was abt to say must bring luggage w extra space cos sure buy stuff back one!

Elch esp if u going disneyland.. sure will buy Dylan toys...

hi dimpletot - i am going to Mel next mth... u may want to check out if there is the Perth Royal Show..it showcase animals, funfairs and pretty decent fireworks at night. When i am in Mel in sep there is a Mel one.. not sure when is Perth..but usually it is in Spring

hi jelly - wave!

mousebb

so cute! so young can see that she's 人气王 already? wah - she goes round hugging ppl, or sharing her toys and food? lil miss popularity.

next time wenxuan can be the strong and silent type whereas his lil sis can be the cheerleader type. are you going to send them to same pri school?

vanilla

oh interesting... I'm only there for a short while, so might miss it but thanks! will keep a lookout.

eelyn

congrats! kaitlyn and kayla! so cute!

jelly

hi jelly how's everything going?

jelly!, belated congrats!!

eelyn, congrats to baby Kayla! Lovely name..

re: Letterland, I should be getting the CD-ROM too. Just going to find out what is inside...

Congrats Eelyn! Welcome Baby Kayla!

vanilla,
Before packing the clothes in, I've already packed a big folded bag into the suitcase for the shopping loots! Haha!

congrats eelyn and welcome bb kayla!

Dimple
Me okie if minus maid-mum woes...

Mousebb
Way to go for wm! She's a cool kid!

Cheerbear
I heard gug more like jg instead of bibinogs...

Latching sydney and typing on my mobile at e same time!

how is everyone??
Am back frm Perth..tiring but an enjoyable trip for us esp Arielle! She enjoyed herself so much at the farmstay....all well worth it!

Congrats to you Eelyn and welcome Kayla!!!

Trace,
which farm u went? Was it a F&amp;E trip? i told hubby i want go farm stay in Aussie, he tell me... aiyah... so far, M'sia can liao. Faint.

<font color="aa00aa">Eelyn
Congrats!!!

JJmom, Cheer bear, Dimple, Jelly
Wenmin likes to go school. Every morning she would not allow anyone at home to carry her cos she scare we would keep her at home. The moment we reach school she would quickly open her arms big big to let the teacher carry her.
Everyday when I'm there to fetch her and wenxuan, the older kids there would say "bye bye, wenmin". At times some of the kids would sayang her by touching her head or cheeks before she go home. Dont know what she has done to gain her popularity. This morning one of the teachers told me a parent wants to "kidnap" her home to become her daughter-in-law. So funny.
Intend to let them go to the same Pri school next time so that they can accompany each other. Keep wondering how come my 2 kids characters are so different. </font>

XY,

I went to sunflower farmstay at Margaret River..its was good..! free pony rides and free feedings...

Yes it was a F&amp;E trip...we prefer that..cos can go anywhere we want..moreover i used to stay in perth for 2 yrs..so more or less, know the plces of itnerest.