(2008/10) Oct 2008

actually if the parents are good disciplinarians (like mine), only children can turn out fine (ahem).

and there are benefits to be reaped by the only child all through life. even now, I have the luxury of working cos my parents are willing to look after kate. (it's probably the most meaningful way to occupy their time haha) and no sibling's kids to compete.

having said that, I will not stop at one, cos there are other 'con' factors to the only child, like having the emotional and financial burden of caring for 2 parents in old age (of course if the parents are very wealthy then it's not an issue). but still the emotional burden esp since eventually ill health will take over.

koalababy

we are kidding lah aiyoh.

so fun... swim league. like little league baseball?

they must be enjoying the american sch system so much. so fun, so relaxing, so hands-on, so outdoorsy. my only gripe would be that I'd prefer my kids to have a british accent rather than an american one haha.

I don't mind bringing some stuff back depending on luggage space. We get 2 checked in bags per person and my luggage back to Singapore's usually pretty empty anyway. I usually start getting "bookings" for luggage space after I book my plane tickets.

The americans are pretty big on sports. This swim league thing is a summer thing. Most neighbourhoods have their own pools which we pay for with our dues (like condo maintenance) and the kids from the neighbourhood join the neighbourhood swim team and swim against each other. Different sports are played at different times of the year. Baseball is usually played in the Spring and Soccer in the Fall. I actually prefer the Singapore school system to the American one but I have been pretty impressed with the preschools I've seen so far. Very value for money and the kids have alot of fun while learning. I feel that Singapore schools are more well funded.

Lilbluey,
Not in cartons...haha! Just weekly consumption for hubby, Dylan and myself...

dimpletot,
We went to Tanjong Pagar Market last week specially to get the fruits but those that were "100% Sweet Guarantee" turns out sour...for both the grapes and prunes...

koalababy,
Shall check out Holland V 1 of these days...supermarket is most convenient but hubby complains about lack of varieties...

Cheerbear,
Where's Sunmoon?

<font color="0000ff">Elch,

There's a sunmoon here at Raffles Place, at the basement of Chevron House

Erm..I dun think there's always 100% guarantee sweet hee hee</font>

Lilbluey,
The fruit seller wrote on the board and also verbally guarantee so we expected the fruits to be sweet but who know the whole lot is sour...so cheated...shall checkout Sunmoon...

elch

aiyoh. next time must sample the grapes first. my best buy from tp market was boxes of persimmons. $2 and there were like 12 small ones inside! I bought 3 boxes for $5 such a steal. and all yummy scrummy.

koalababy

some UK visitors once said that our ITE facilities were so gorgeous that it made the imperial college labs look like bomb shelters.

i guess it's true that even our PCF schools are well funded and well equipped. but i suppose the lasting thing is not the equipment but the teaching, the atmosphere, the whole experience... there needs to be a minimum, but beyond that the marginal benefits are probably minor.

mommies, am back. well, dr say she thinks this week will be THE week lah, so i have 4 days to wait happily lor... bb s lost weight, so strange... so well, he wld probably still be about 3kg i guess

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly,
welcome back. tot your appt at 2.30pm?

hmmm baby lost weight. did gynae explained why?

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly,
is Rebby abt the same weight too?

aiyo... so excited for you. last week we juz had lunch. this week you going to pop liao.

<font color="aa00aa">Hello mummies!

Went for my jab this morning due to rashes again! Dont know why this time the injection is super painful!!! Also went to mothercare at PS to buy gift for my hubby's colleague whose bb is celebrating full month on this Sun. Start having some ME time now but my heart is missing my 2 darlings...

Last night wenmin bitten me on my hand again!!! I was very angry and warned her if she does it again I'm going to pull out all her teeth!!! The mark is can still be seen on my hand now! </font>

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

It's nice to have some free time to yrself isn't it?

Hope yr rash problem goes away soon!

<font color="aa00aa">Bluey
Maybe I have lost my freedom for too long liao cos when my kiddos are not with me, 我的心里好象怪怪的。

Sad to say my rashes problem is going to stay with me forever liao and usually it will come and go like once every 2-3 months. Sigh!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb,

Regine oso like to bite. My poor Rachel has alot of marks on her arms &amp; body.

Regine can even bites Rachel's toes. infact every part of the body.

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

Sooner or later, we just have to let go, think that's the most difficult part in being a mother, tht's seeing yr child grow up and letting go...

Did the doc say why such reoccurence of yr rash?

<font color="0000ff">Revival of the Venues for Bday Bash

1) Grace Kids - Mint / YPG /
2) Art Boot Camp
3) Build-A-Bear ($25/kid, bring home a simple bear, no food)
4) Royce Kids Gym ($37/kid, cake only) - <font color="ff0000">Too ex</font>
5) Little Gym @ Marina Square
6) My Gym
7) Gogobambini
8) Mac

Votes please!! haha

jelly,
feel so excited for u too.. can hv the feeling of carrying the nb again.. i love the feelings

mousebb,
shawn also always bite me but funny thing is always me and my mum kanna only my hb and my dad never. oh yes i do beat his leg for biting me coz is super duper pain and like urs can see the teeth mark one.

jelly,

i noticed that you have bought the Benbat travel headrest pillow. Which one did you buy? Im thinking of buying 1 for my son, but cant decide if i shld get 1- 4yr old or 4 - 7 yr old, cos the diff is 3cm?

do u tink i cld use it on the airplane/

mummies vote pls and i think we hv to finalise and book the venue latest end of this mth if not hard to get a wkend slot.

Venues for Bday Bash

1) Grace Kids - Mint / YPG / cheerbear
2) Art Boot Camp
4) Royce Kids Gym ($37/kid, cake only)
5) Little Gym @ Marina Square - cheerbear
6) My Gym
7) Gogobambini
8) Mac

<font color="aa00aa">Cheerbear,
got! Rachel will cry buckets. Regine is too fast. sometimes really hard to stop her. but i did ask Rachel to push Regine away if i am not ard to stop Regine.

Sometimes really angry with Regine. will give her a small slap near her lips area.

<font color="aa00aa">LilBluey,

i lost track of all the details of the bday bash. i am ok with anything. will juz go with the rest.

<font color="aa00aa">erh... suddendly i think of this Oct thread mummy. Diana.

anyone still in contact with her?

did see her post here liao.

ginapy
1-4yo is good enough for our tods and rebekah is happily using it now... super useful for prams and carseats as well but i shd let you know, it's not super soft but is v plush

Venues for Bday Bash

1) Grace Kids - Mint / YPG / cheerbear / jelly
2) Art Boot Camp
5) Little Gym @ Marina Square - cheerbear
6) My Gym
7) Gogobambini
8) Mac

jelly

thanks for the info. cos Remus' head quite big, so i m thinkin if i shld get 1 -4 yrs old, or 4 -7 yrs.

is there enough allowance since rebekah is using the 1 -4 yr?

ginapyhee, rebby also has a big head. the thing is that the pillow part is sort of strapped round the neck... however if you are concern, i dun think the 4-7yo pillow would be a problem. in fact it could be v roomy

<font color="0077aa">hi ladies, popping in here to ask my blonde question for the week.

Since my near accident yesterday, I wanted to check if anyone here knows / have any experience with Car Booster Seats?

Can our bubs use them yet? What's a good brand? Are they too short?

Thanks!</font>

Venues for Bday Bash

1) Grace Kids - Mint / YPG / cheerbear
2) Art Boot Camp
5) Little Gym @ Marina Square - cheerbear/Everafter
6) My Gym
7) Gogobambini
8) Mac

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R mum, cheer bear
Wenxuan never did that to me before. And hor, the gal never bite daddy when mummy is the one who look after her most of the time!!! Damn angry with her!!!

bluey
The doctor said it could be due to stress and/or insufficient rest. The problem has been with me since I was a teenager and I had been to skin centre before which did a series of tests on me but still no solution to cure it.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Venues for Bday Bash

1) Grace Kids - Mint / YPG / cheerbear / Jelly / Bluey
2) Art Boot Camp
5) Little Gym @ Marina Square - cheerbear/Everafter
6) My Gym
7) Gogobambini
8) Mac

buffy
regular booster seat starts with seating weight of 15kg. until u hit that weight, think the booster seat is not safe for ur tod unless she is used to be strapped down by the safety belt. hvg said my colleague's son who is going to turn 3 is sitting in one cos he is about that weight and will not unbuckle... so all depends on C.

now, what i did is place rebby in a carseat that you can remove the parts as she grows. bought mine from Graco - Nautilus model.

mousebb,
think our tod only likes to bite the caregiver. for my case, me and my mum kanna lor.

r&amp;r,
if u refer to ethan's mum then i hv met her twice only. 1st is during our ML the gathering at my hse and 2nd time at buangkok mrt.

Venues for Bday Bash - think is easier to decide between the 2?

1) Grace Kids - Mint / YPG / cheerbear / Jelly / Bluey
2) Little Gym @ Marina Square - cheerbear / Everafter

Hi BUffy!

I am using a childseat that's also a booster for Julian now, since he is almost 15 kg. It's the mothercare brand, so was quite inexpensive, think around $200. I don't think our kids can use the booster seat on its own, in case they wriggle out of the adult seatbelt, but if you get this combination seat, you can remove the top half and use just the booster seat portion on its own later...