(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies!

Vanilla,
really want to meet you man! most of the mummies already claimed that you are young &amp; chio. kekeke...

Tracy,
how's your aunty?

hi R&amp;R -- hahaha..they are being very kind to me...

Saxo - u take care.. i am ill too and so worried abt passing the germs to E. Sigh...i think it is matter of time cos he sleeps w me.

sax,
hope jo gets well soon. take care of yourself too! hugz to you both!

rianne is out sick too. suddenly had cough fri night. then sat we went to pd but it was too crowded with a lot of sick babies and kids. so we decided to wait till mon since it was only a slight cough and we still had meds at home. then after her nap sat she suddenly had high fever 38.6. quickly gave her paracetamol and it subsided fast. problem is when she was sleeping it went up again to 37.8. so sunday we went to gp. she was ok the whole day aside from her cough. then at night she started having runny nose. then while she was sleeping fever again, 37.6 this time. sigh. will go back to see doc again today. don't know why her fever keeps going up and down. and she keeps on waking up at 5am ever since she got sick. so tired and sleepy now.

<font color="0000ff">Mommies, shall we do thur, 17.06.2010?

Santouka Ramen (Central)

1. JJmom
2. Vanilla
3. Bluey
4. Jelly
5. XY
6. Daisybuttons
7. Jolly
8. Joanne
9. Busybee
10. Wan Chuen

Buffy, wanna join us?</font>

Mommies

Need to rant. Very upset w my new maid.

It's been 3 weeks already and till now, she still mouses around. She is so mousy that even if she doesnt understand, she will say 'yes'. I've many times told her to ask if she doesn't understand, but till today she has not opened her golden mouth. So, end up many times i tell her to do something, she will say yes and not do it. Am v frustrated becos for each task, i specifically tell her step by step how she is supposed to do it, and even explain at least 3x in simplest english. Something even have to draw pic on paper. Becos of this, I can't be at peace each time I task her to do something even as simple as making an egg mayo sandwich.

A classic example was to pack a diaper bag for our outings. After 5 times of explaining with a list of things and physical show n tell, she can STILL stuff the contents of the diaper bag into the cupboard after we return from an outing! Last night's plain teochew porridge ended up like a goey mess and I had to eat maggie mee.

And I also think becos of her mousy quiet nature, she mouses around and speaks so softly, and almost like no strength no energy no life. ALmost sian to live. Not exaggerating.

I called the agent in last week to give her a pep talk becos I thought it was only becos she was homesick, but now, I think, it's her personality + homesickness + dun dare to ask or say a thing that it causing me grief.

Vic doesnt like her and till now cant warm up to her. End up, I have to bathe her, change her feed her + do the same for Jordan. I seem to be the maid here! And who gets to sleep through the night???!! Really am darn stressed out cos when I return to work, I cant have all these rubbish happening.

HOW!!! SHould I change the maid now? Sigh.. darn tired. I think am a VERY VERY patient person but this one really takes one off me.

seems like many bubs hvg viral fever or some kind... rebby's been sneezing and was probably running a low grade fever on saturday when we brought her to tampiness ikea. she was doing okie yesterday when we were at botanic gardens... today also okie, but still sneezing a lot...

Good morning mommies!
Hope all sick babies and mommies get well soon.

R&amp;R mum,
I am on ventolin coz of my short cervix and cramp. Besides bed rest, taking that to relax my womb to prevent any contractions and of course pre-term labour lo. Am in my 28w+ only, still long way to go...

Re: Gathering
I wish i can join, sigh....only met few of u here b4. *dreaming*

<font color="aa00aa">think lately alot of ppl are sick. strange leh. the weather seems better as compared to the past few weeks. at least is not that hot.

mummies, please take good care of yourself.

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus,
thanks for explaining to me. coz for my knowledge, ventolin is for me who has asthma. so i m curious why it was used during pregnancy.

jia you!! 12 more weeks to go!!

ruffles,
aiyo. like that very hard. especially with 2 bubs. i think better change maid if she's like that. you gave her a lot of chances already but still no change.

<font color="119911">Oh oh...seems there's a flu bug gng ard. Nat also out of the blue kena a little running nose + sneezing on fri nite.

Din bring her to the doc or give her any med yet. Wonder is it due to teething.

&amp; she was extra fussy, keep wanting to watch her leapfrog dvd &amp; b carried ard during the wkends

Drama #2 - Just spoke w maid. She admitted she is hard of hearing - literally deaf in her left ear. So she not only does not understand, she is also deaf..and I am not being rude about it.

Ruffles
now you know her condition, you will keep her? It's very frustrating with hellers who can't understand and follow instructions.

Jelly
I will do a few pages of father's day album. So I need to decorate a few pages of the album for his Sunday.

jelly / mint - Been texting the agent. Sigh. My mom and I was just telling her to wash some dried mushrooms w tap water. Our fren immed took the mushrooms and soaked them in a bowl of hot water. And my mom has a loud voice to boot. My heart damn pain.

The other reason why I dun like her lifelessness is becos she is gonna help care for my kids. I worry my kids will mirror her lifelessness as kids learn from their caregivers.

how come ur agent will give u a maid that is half deaf? thot they need medical report to certify maid is all well phyiscally?

Best think u change cos u have less than 3 mths before ur maternity ends and u need to train new maid.

there is a maid at my plc who seems good she does not want to go HK w her employers (w twins)..but her conditions are v exp -- all sundays off +$500 pay. I asked a few frens who need maids and they say this is maid for the ang mo (haha cos only they can pay)....

joanne,
sounds like rianne might have viral fever. That's what happened to regina too. Fever comes back each time the meds wear out. Then shoots up really high at night so have to give her a shower. Now i know what saxo meant when she said 39 deg is not as scary as 40 deg.

Since regina was sick she has been so clingy and whiny. I know it's cos she's uncomfortable so i just manja her more. But it made me so stressed and tired and finally yesterday i snapped and screamed at regina for toppling the bowl and the whole floor was her dinner. Then i went to the kitchen to cry. Hubby quickly took over, gave me a hug and told me to go watch tv. Haiz! Felt so horrid for scolding her.

Jjmom,
can i check with you if can give our bubs ling yang if have fever? Hubby's friend suggested it to him but i was already so stressed out with her illness that i didn't dare to try it cos am afraid of adverse reactions then have to send to hospital.

mint
dun feel bad... i shouted at rebby so many times cos i was stressed out during my pregnancy and am still stressed... but i also need to learn to curb my temper... our kiddos still young and they need us more than we need them in a sense to help them grow. hugs, babe... hope u r feeling better...

<font color="0077aa">ruffles: Purebliss (Kristine) has a filipina who is apparently quite good. look her up on my FB and ask her about it. HTH</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mint,
*pat pat*

for wat i know from the medical hall. ling yang can only give 1/2 dosage to kiddos. coz of their age.

example 1 pack you have to divide by 2. boil it then give to Regina.

lets hear from JJmom's advise.

ruffles
yes, yes. i din dare to advertise but she also askedme to check her out... but i cant hire now... cos i had not move to my place and my parents hgaveme a "no no" to another maid at my hm now...

Mint
*hugs* lack of sleep plus sick darlings do that to us. This will happen. Since it's over, let it go and dot hold onto it to make yourself feel bad.

mint - sorry i kpo - how abt barley water or chrysathemum tea to cool her body down? make the barley more concentrated type?

hugs -- ask ur hb or mum to watch her for a few hrs while u rest?

vanilla - I also dunno how she passed the test. Still waiting for agent to call me. I nd to change NOW cos like u said, nd to go bk work in peace.

Mint - hang in there. Some days I also crack under the stress of taking care of the kids + now maid woes... we are lucky we have our wonderful hbs to quickly step in to help us and sayang us.

<font color="119911">mint,
*hugz hugz* i can totally understand that how u feel, i often lost my temper with Nat &amp; feel bad after that too.

abt ling yang :
my family will only take this under vy serious illness coz this is like extreme 'liang' kind. i think i only took this 2 times so far.

so my take is like what vanilla suggests, barley water or chrysathemum tea. I replace the water with it for all Nat's milk feeds.</font>

thanks mommies!

Icylemon,
So means ok to give even half dosage? Cos i know ling yang is quite potent in the sense that when i have fever and i take my fever goes away. That's why i dun dare to give.

Vanilla,
Yup, i did give her barley water. But heard that barley water will cause phlegm. Not sure true or not so i gave just to help for her fever to subside. She initially didnt want to drink so we had to put the barley into an opaque straw cup and bluff her it's water.
Can't ask my mum to help cos she's also down with cough. Hubby helped alot but regina just kept crying for me. We didnt want to make her condition worse so i gave in lor. Haiz!

oops! Just saw jjmom's reply. So luckily i didn't give then. Heehee! Shall tell hubby when he comes home tonight.

hi mint - can try chrysthanmeum water...sweeter in a sense.

i did what JJmom did - i make milk w barley water.

same here.. i am sick but E wants me only. if i wear mask, he signed he is scared...i had to pull my mask down to show him it is me - MUMMY...aiyo this boy has guts of an ant...

vanilla,
tried before... she also dun want. she's a funny girl lah... sweet drinks she dun like. only likes water but good for me also cos I no need headache about her drinking sweet drinks. Heehee!

<font color="119911">mint,
another reason y i don't suggest 'ling yang' now is coz from my own experience, too 'liang' too fast leads to cough easily &amp; this kind of cough is difficult to recover from. I believe this way is more harmful to the health, hurts the lungs.

if u r worried abt barley water will cause phlegm, can boil it with more water. Or use the chinese barley. Don't boil for too long, if not, it's no longer 'liang'. Once it's boil, another 10~20min will do.

Can check with bluey on her exp with 'ling yang' coz my exp with it, is really limited.

HTH

<font color="119911">vanilla,
no lah, pls double check with your TCM doc. I m just sharing based on my personal exp with 'ling liang' nia.

Abt our ramen lunch date, no 1 else except u, reply me on the date lei

end up, the 2 of us go for candle light lunch date??? kekeke...</font>

jjmom,
wow! really our tcm guru here. Heehee! *bow* I shall go tsk tsk my hubby for suggesting it. LOL!

Thanks for the tips about barley too. Chinese barley is the ugly looking type of barley right?

jellypurin,
One of your crayola items is OOS. So can pm me your a/c no. to do a refund? I also need to pay you for the pedipeds. Thanks.

hi..just to say..when my girl had really bad phelgm, so bad that she throws up coz food gets stuck with phelgm then cannot digest...

i started giving her rhinathiol 1 tsp 5ml x 2/day
got it from watsons behind the counter from pharmacist. pink colour for younger than 2 yrs old. its good.
and she got better really quick and she slept like a baby too.