(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">mint,
no no, tat's juz based on my own personal experience with 'ling yang' which is so limited coz my family don't really dare to use it.

Better to double check with bluey &amp; your TCM doc.

How's Regina now? Do u mean her fever comes &amp; goes for days? Hope she gets well soon, u take care too *hugz*

Btw how much do i owe u for the markers? Sorry i din keep track with the BP thread =P I trf the $ to u tmr, ok? Token not with me today =P Thanks

mint
We both have so many funds back and forth, I'm losing track. Let's close our ledger soon!!

Thanks mummies for all your concern. Hmm, don't want to jinx it but Jo woke up in the middle of night with 39 deg, so we fed her brufen. This morning till now, her temp is back to normal. I can hear phelgm in her but so far, nothing yet. I hope this is not calm before storm.

Just to share, my dad brought Dylan to a TCM practitioner last Fri and his phelgm and cough is almost non-existent since then...TCM sinseh told my parents that no avocado, orange, kiwi and cold food/drinks etc is to be given to Dylan...am glad that this bout of bronchilitis is 'dead' and didn't drag on for an average of 2 weeks as we're told by the PD...even skipped the PD review last Fri as he's 95% 'normal'...breathing, appetite and behaviour!

jellypurin,
yup i received the money liao. Thanks. I think easier for me to refund you. Heehee! Any news about pediped?

jjmom,
ya lor, her fever started on tuesday night and went on till sunday 1am. That was the last that i fed her brufen and paracetemol. So hopefully it doesn't come back again.

Your crayola total is $10.40.

Saxo,
yes we need to settle our a/cs soon. Haha! If the fever has crossed the 12hour mark, should be ok right? But like you, i also dun wanna jinx it even though it's passed 24 hours for regina's fever. Hope the girls get well soon.

Iherbs, please check
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name</TD><TD>Item description</TD><TD>Price</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD> Subtotal USD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vanilla</TD><TD>Childlife, Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavor, 50 g Powder (1.7 oz)</TD><TD>17.24</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 34.48 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Childlife, First Defense, 4 fl oz (118.5 ml)</TD><TD>16.86</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 16.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Sambucol, Black Elderberry, Immune System Support Liquid, Original Formula, 7.8 fl oz (230 ml)</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.74 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Saxo</TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dimpletot</TD><TD>Nature's Way, Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored, 8 fl oz (240 ml)</TD><TD>18.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD>XY</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mint</TD><TD>Sambucol, Black Elderberry Immune System Support Liquid, For Kids, Berry Flavored, 4 fl oz (120 ml)</TD><TD>11.19</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 11.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Sambucol, Black Elderberry, Immune System Support Liquid, Original Formula, 7.8 fl oz (230 ml)</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 18.74 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD>Childlife, Pure DHA, Berry Flavor, 90 Soft Gel Capsules</TD><TD>9.95</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 19.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Saxo, u still want your order?

mint,
According to my parents, the TCM specifically listed kiwi, oranges and avocado as no-no...can't remember the rest though...these days, I've been sticking to papaya and apples which the sinseh says ok...sneaked some blueberries into Dylan too, though I'm not sure if it's ok...

<font color="119911">mint,
jts, i normally try to avoid fruits when unwell esp cough.

abt my crayola order, is it all in? I saw some items OOS but i can't check back on my orders at the BP thread.</font>

<font color="119911">elch,
can share your TCM contact with us? thanks! always gd to keep a few gd docs' contacts ready

<font color="aa00aa">elch,
i know orange is a chop &amp; cfm fruit not to give kids. but i din know abt kiwi. i always tot kiwi is ok. noted. thanks.

JJmom,
I only know the TCM sinseh's around 70 yrs old and his clinic's located at Hong Lim area...will go and get his contact details from my dad tonight and share here...my dad says this sinseh specially sees women and children...his medicine is those 'ready-made' kind...no need to brew...Dylan's given 2 bottles of dark colored mixture to be taken 3 times daily, 5ml each time and he's ok with it...not ex too...paid $23 only...

Agree that it's good to keep a few good doctors' contacts ready...2 Saturdays ago wanted to bing Dylan to his usual PD who's Dr.Lilian but she and her partners are both away on leave, luckily I read somewhere in the forum that Dr.Zainal located at Rivervale Plaza's not bad too...saved me the trouble of trial and error to find a good back up PD...

icylemon,
Welcome! Avocado came as a shock to me as it's not a citrus fruit...my dad forgot to ask the reason why it's listed as a no-no but his guess is that maybe it's 'oily' and hence may be prone to cause phelgm...

mint,
just came from pd. confirmed it's viral. sigh. think rianne must have caught it when we went out wed. sigh.. hang in there. it's really though when our bubs get sick. rianne has been super clingy as well. all my effort to wean her went down the drain cause she only wants to latch.

jjmom,
Yup your orders are all in.

Was thinking that fruit has vit c which can help in recovering that's why i give lor.

Icylemon,
Like you i also know orange cannot give which even my previous gp told me not to take when having cough.

Joanne,
Let her latch. I find that it brings the fever down faster and instead of 4 hours that the fever comes back, it's about 6 hours instead for regina.

<font color="aa00aa">elch &amp; mint,

i dun know if you ever heard of the old wives tales. cannot eat chicken when having cough.

<font color="119911">R&amp;Rmom,
yes, my TCM doc also told us no chicken when coughing.

No eggs, i din know, must take note

anymore? kekeke...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">elch, XY &amp; JJmom,
seems like this "no chicken when cough" tale is pretty true. kekeke...

i oso heard of another old wives tale.

"no fish porridge when having running nose.

everytime cook fish porridge muz add a small shallot into into to avoid "wind".

heard of it??

nope, I have not heard of no fish porridge when having running nose, was only told porridge can cause wind easily. my mom says to add shallot/onion for rid of wind.</font>

Any 1 heard of no rice, no porridge, no washing hair &amp; no bathing only wipe body with warm water when having fever?

mint,
thanks! i'm letting her latch now. but both my nipples are pretty painful now from her bites when she was crying really hard and latching at the same time. btw, hope regina gets well soon too!

No fish porridge when having runny nose never hear before....

No rice, cannot bathe and must wrap oneself up during fever is what my mum still believes in...

Hey Mummies, miss chatting with all of u!! Will try to log on more once I settle in better at work.

Mint, hang in there. I know its not easy but u are doing a great job taking care of Regina! Gambatte.

Ruffles, oh dear, dun get too stressed. Hopefully
your agent can solve ur maid issues soon. Know how you feel about wanting to have peace of mind to return to work. Went thru that stage too.

Speedy recovery to all the bubs who are unwell.

YPG, I also ordered from the blur blur Bp organiser and was so disappointed she missed my posts 3 times. Sigh. Not fated to order them I guess.

Poohbear, thanks for sharing about Pink of Health at Millenia. I went down today and got my stash of supplements for my gal as preventive measures before she start cc.

Lunch on thurs, no promises. But its miki's first day of school. So if all goes well I can join. If not I will have to pass.

Busy bee, you're welcome. I also give my boy Sambucol &amp; Colostrum as preventive measures since he started school. So far so good. He only had running nose during the 2nd week, but nothing major. Touch wood...

<font color="119911">morning all,
hmm...seems like every1 is getting the sambucol &amp; colostrum to arm our kids for CC.

XY, can help me get 1 each to try out, thanks dear
let me know how much to pay u.</font>

Good morning all...

JJmom,
Didn't manage to get the card of the TCM sinseh last night from my dad...paiseh...shall try again tonight...

Buffy!
I didn't know you want to collect the tees from me. I've sealed it up already. I'm heading to the PO today. I can send it to you if you email me your addy by 11am, ok?

morn mommies

rainy day... want to slp in cannot...

yesterday, rebekah accidentally kicked me in the tummy and the whole nite i had been feeling v uncomfortable and my BH was v strong. tmr seeing gynae so i am gng to hang in there for 1 more day...

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning!

Seems like wenmin has settled down in school liao. For yesterday and today, she din cry when the teacher carried her away from us and she also waved bye bye to us with her smile. Yesterday only brought her home at 3.30pm and teacher said she was alright. Think I can bring her home at 4pm together with wenxuan liao.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">morning mummies.

JJmom,
no rice during fever i heard of. no shower never.

i tot shower during fever is good? cool the body down.

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
If you are feeling uncomfy, why not give a call to your gynae to check if you her see her today?</font>

Jelly

Don't worry it'll be ok. The babies are very cushioned.

mousebb

wow congrats! it's so nice that wenmin can look for kor kor when she's lonely.

<font color="aa00aa">actually when my elder girl has fever, i will normally give her either porridge or mee sua. softer in the mouth so that they dun have to use too much strength to munch.</font>

good morning mummies:p

so many mummies buying the sambucol, can anyone advise how long can we keep the sambucol after we open it? Think of going one small bottle too.

Jelly, dun worry should be ok one....as dimpletot mentioned bb are well cushioned. Cos when i was expecting my 2nd son, my elder son was sleeping on the yaolan and the whole yaolan drop on to my stomach cos i was sleeping directly below the yaolan,hehe...but my 2nd son still ok:p

But i have a bad scare and dun dare to sleep below the yaolan liao:p

Like Elch's mom, my parents believe in no shower, only wipe with warm water when having fever. Plus will cover up to expel the heatiness thru sweating.

Dimpletot,
my mom used to give us beehoon soup, macaroni soup, plain bread etc when we had fever.</font>

my mom will try not to give porridge to rebby too if she has fever but these days, when she gets bz, she would still cook porridge... easier for rebby to digest too and the water content higher...

<font color="119911">Jelly,
like mousebb &amp; vanilla suggested, mayb try giving your gynae a call to check if u can go in today instead?

take care &amp; try not to move ard too much, rest more.</font>