(2008/10) Oct 2008

timeout,
i tried timeout on kaitlyn but failed badly.. she swings her legs and arms ard n wails like an unwanted child when i put her in her corner.. *faint*.. and when i scold her.. she just laughs.. i even smacked her on her thigh pretty hard when she was naughty once.. still she laughed.. super thick skin leh!!

Mousebb,
ur subsidies lower coz u are not working mum.

Back to my question on GST
So the GST is to by computed based on the amount after susbsidies? Wah.. $21 difference per month leh.

<font color="ff0000">Vanilla,
Your son is so cool, can sign "sorry"

Jelly,
Yeah she can understand simple instructions like passing Daddy the mug. Or sit down.

<font color="aa00aa">XY
No leh. i just went to make a declaration that I work more than 56hrs a mth and I gotten the full-day subsidy for both kids.</font>

actually on the topic of talking... i had a colleague who kept telling me that my monstar is slow... she only know words but cannot converse cos she still blabbers and occasionally, makes a sentence out of 2 or 3 words she knows...i.e. daddy shower... she claims her son at 18mths old can say things like "uncle, ur lunch ah?"... isit true that before they turn 2, our tods are suppose to make out sentences already? talking to my colleague is damn pressurizing lor!

<font color="119911">daisy dear,
thanks for asking, although m not really coughing but i tends to get phlegmy vy easily nowadays

juz kena at tea break after having a 'too sweet' bun, now my throat is itchy

btw i bought the ling zi capsule that u recommended.

missing u, so when's our next lunch date?

hi jelly - dun worry - every child is diff. at least Reb knows daddy shower. My son just said "mama" clearly and i am OVER the MOON! haha!

I give up worrying abt his speech now.. more worried abt his thin hair and lack of hair and hair dropping!

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Could be your colleague's son is faster in speech than other toddlers of his age? I remember my kids' PD mentioned if our kids can speak in sentence now, they are considered fast in speech cos most kids at this stage still cant speak in sentence yet. Dont worry. Rebby is doing fine.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Yesterday we went to thomson plaza to have dinner and my hubby ordered a plate of rice for the kiddos and a bowl of curry noodles for himself. However, my kids were more interested in his curry noodles and I was surprised to see that my gal also takes after me who likes spicy food. I teased my hubby that next time mummy and kiddos can go for spicy food liao cos my hubby doesnt like spicy food.</font>

<font color="119911">Jelly,
don't get over pressurize by these talks, there r many factors, not juz age mah.

Mayb her son is a 2nd child like WM &amp; Regina, who is speaking better coz they have a older kor kor &amp; jie jie, to copy from

So many of our toddlers here still can't manage sentences, Nat too.</font>

JJmom, oh you bought! did you eat? i think they are very good. but exp! lunch ah? anytime this week can....?

XY, you passed my iherb to buffy or is it still with you? I need to pay you, pay you cash when meet up can boh?
and so nice of you, u have not even been reminding me to pay!!! alamak.

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Ended up wenmin copies all the wrong things from wenxuan!!!! Hahaha!
My gal dont talk a lot too. She has mood de.
Yesterday I was hurrying wenxuan to walk up the stairs faster cos he was taking his own sweet time when he replied me "after you". Was suprised he uses such polite words cos we never taught him this before. </font>

mommies, ya, i hate talking to her lah. she will make mentions all the time and say my ger is slow. sorry, but feel like slapping her! keke.. am actually not v worried but when i talk to her, i start asking myself if rebby is slow... i got influenced!

but at times i do enjoy rebby blabbering leh... so cute and farnie... and the best part is that, we all sort of agree with her what she is saying but we actually dun! so silly, my hubby sp, always entertain her...

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly,
ignore your colleague lah. super brainless leh your colleague. all babies &amp; tods are different mah.

wat slow... ask her to use her butt to think before she talks.

hi jelly - when she say ur ger is slow - then u tell her 'so fast for what?"..see what she say...

my boy is lazy talker..he just makes noises in his throat..like "go go".. he knows green light the car is to go, so he will sign "go" and makes the sound " gogo" in his throat. ask him open mouth to talk like gold will drop out.

Daisybutton,
ur iherb is with buffy. She's nearer to u mah. So u get the items from her. Money pay me.

Let's meet up for lunch soon. Wed i'll be on leave to take marcus to CC. Hope all goes well.

Jelly, ur colleague is one of those ppl who lack security and needs to always measure up to ppl! very irritating. I know of 2 such ppl in my life, and sometimes I feel pity for them because its their sense of low self esteem that makes them need to show off (they think they are showing off but actually its quite funny) and compare things. very very sad. ignore her is the best policy. dun be affected. *Hugs*.

XY, ok! hahaha me and buffy really cannot make it, stay so near yet never meet up in BP itself yet!

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla, ask you something can? A friend is going to Perth and hope to do farmstay. I rem chatting with u are Manhattan Fish and you mentioning that you also did farmstay,and another family whom you met in Perth went to another farm which you felt was better. Do you rem the name of that farm that you would recommend? Thanks so much!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
He is not. I guess he must have picked up the words from somewhere, maybe from the TV??? </font>

Talking about speech, when they grow up, they sometimes say the silliest things that u never expect them to. Just recently, I blogged about my 3.5yr old's "selective listening". cut and paste below.

<font color="0077aa">This is something that I have been meaning to blog for months.
Jovann can be totally selective in the things he "hears". If its something that agrees with him, he will hear it fine and well. If its something that doesn't benefit him, he will pretend otherwise.

An example from a few tele conversations with him months ago.

<font color="119911">Positive Example</font>
(Jovann called me)
Jov: Mommy!
Mommy: Hello Jovann, have you had your lunch?
Jov: Mommy! Can I drink chocolate milk? wai gong says I must ask you.
Mommy: Yes you can.
Jov: Ok!!! *turns to ah gong and yelled "我的妈妈说可以!"*
(He hanged up the phone)

<font color="ff0000">Negative Example</font>
(Jovann called me)
Jov: Mommy!
Mommy: Hello Jovann, have you had your lunch?
Jov: Mommy! Can I drink ribena? wai gong says I must ask you.
Mommy: Hhmmm. No you can't, because you already drank a lot yesterday.
Jov: Huh? What Mommy?
Mommy: I said, NO you can't.
Jov: What did you say Mommy? I can't hear you!
Mommy: I said No You CANNOT drink Ribena, Jovann.
Jov: Huh?? What???!!!
(He hanged up the phone)</font>

I can't believe it!!! }

<font color="aa00aa">Then just this evening, something similar happened again.

Scene: Jovann sitting at his table, and I was sitting 3 metres away. He just finished complaining to me that Ah Ma don't let him sleep on our King bed ("Daddy's bed") during this afternoon nap. He told Ah ma that Daddy allowed him to sleep on "Daddy's bed", so she must allow him too. Ah Ma was worried that he may pee on the big bed because nowadays he don't wear diapers to sleep.

Daddy, whom is standing 3 metres away from him, starts explaining.
Daddy: Jovann, you can only sleep on Daddy's bed at night. When Daddy is around. Ok?
Jov: Daddy, my ear very small. I cannot hear what you are saying.
Daddy: I said that during your afternoon naps you CANNOT sleep on Daddy's bed, you can only sleep on your bed.
Jov: Daddy! I told you my ears very small, I cannot hear you! You need to speak louder.
Daddy and Ah Ma was quiet for a moment, thinking how to proceed.
Me (deciding to "test" him, and using the same decibel as Daddy): Jovann, you can drink ribena. Can you hear THAT?
Jovann: No I cannot hear that.
Another pause from him.
Jovann: You should say..... (raising his voice at this point) "YOU CAN DRINK RIBENA!" then I can hear.

All 4 adults, plus maid, burst out laughing.
He was smart enough to pretend he didn't hear that first sentence about ribena, but yet not smart enough to really continue pretending he can't hear! So funny lah.</font>

<font color="0077aa">daisy, ya your loot is with me and yes, you should date me out!!! Oh, if u want to pay me the $, I dun mind too! Ha ha

jelly: yr coll read chart from which book? Road to kiasu-ism? Kids speaking in sentences by 2 is not common. I think it is more the child's choice if she wants to speak. If rebby can understand simple instructions, socialize well, etc, i think it is not an issue. She may surprise you over the next 4-5 months

vanilla: ai yoh, pls dun say that. C is not 'model' la, she just happens to be chatty that's all.

daisy/buffy
she's always comparing her kid to mine and fyi, she son is one year older than rebby and hiaz... he is a "ling dai yu", always sick and she often blame her MIL for not lkg after him well, but in the end, we realise, she could be the one who is neglecting him ...

daisybuttons,
haha, very funny!

jelly,
what a tactless colleague! Dont worry lah, Izzy cannot speak also. Her only words are "Papa", "Wah", "Oh oh". And she can call the maid "Sa". That's abt it. Forget sentences man! But she can definitely understand instructions when she chooses to!

good luck to all mummies sending their kids to childcare, keep us posted on the progress! I am only scouting childcare centres these 2 wks for Izzy - thinking of starting in August.

Jelly - Our kids are supposed to be starting 2 word sentences at this age. Your colleague saying that her son can say "Uncle, your lunch ah" Doesn't really mean that he can make a coherent sentence. It might mean that he's good at parroting back Singlish. Basically, when our kids make sentences at this age, the important thing is what they mean by the sentence. For example "Throw ball" (action + object), "Daddy + up" (agent + action), stuff like articles come later.

I hope all the october babies starting childcare tomorrow have a good day at school. My toddler starts preschool in late August. I'm expecting lots of tears then because he really is a mummy's boy. We went to pick blackberries over the weekend. Everytime I went out of sight, he'd cry and start looking for me.

saxo,
lucky didn't pay there and then. I might not get my money back because of the change.

icylemon,
Yup, trying to load more stuff. very tedious cos need to do 1 item at a time.

eelyn,
yes, but I'm waiting for the shipment to arrive before I do the BP. I'm getting from the same supplier as the BP seller. :p

ypg,
yes, my vainpot's latest craze is getting my bikini out and trying to wear it then admire herself in the mirror. *faint*

jellypurin,
for time-out to work, it must be consistent and reinforced by every one at home.

Gio,
Regina also signs 'sorry'.

icylemon,
Your girl changed name? heehee!

Just to air my feelings - Am feeling a little sad now cos this is day 6 of my weaning Regina off the night feed. She now doesn't fuss or cry as much anymore as compared to the first few days. I know I can still continue to bf her but I think it's also time that I 'let go'. sobz! really feeling very down. I still do the morning feeds but only when she asks for it. I'm starting to miss the bonding. *cry buckets*

mint- Hugs... Like wat XY said, am sure Regina has benefitted lots from ur BM!! ;)
No sooner am gng to join ur club too!! ;)

Btw mummies who has weaned or started to wean off b-feeding:
Do u still need to pump out any milk though wun feel as engorged etc.
I'm oso slowly reducing the feeds from 4 times to twice now, hopefully to once and none!! ;p
Any advices/comments? =)

Oh yes, though am still b-feeding but not as exclusively, can wear wired bras now?? ;p
Thxs in adv!

XY- Will make my pymt soon and PM u!! ;)

Nickypower,
All along i have been waring wired bras. Support is very important imo.

Just pump to release engorgment, not to empty. Then stretch the hours between pumps.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning!

Facing new challenges today! My son will starts his full-day today. Hope I dont have to handle 2 crying kids at the cc today. Last night I heard my poor gal cried in her dream "mummy bao bao"! Feel sad. Have to worry for 2 kids at the same time. My "heart disk" is full liao!</font>

Jelly - Could it be an allergy to something? Yah.... health more important. First day of childcare can wait.

Mousebb - Good luck with both kids at CC today.

My older son has school vacation until mid-august. The house is a mess but both kids are having alot of fun playing. They've both gone through so much construction paper and copy paper in the past week drawing and making things. So many crayons and pencils lying around also. Really need to streamline their art supplies.

Good morning mummies...

Buffy, thanks for organizing the yoga and signing session...we really enjoyed ourselves...

Saxo, Eelyn, XY, sorry that Dylan's such a nuisance going round snatching and asking for snacks...especially to Jo whom Dylan terrorized and made her cry...

Vanilla/Buffy,
How to sign "sorry"? Bryan only knows how to sign please. Our toddlers are really smart in a way. Bryan usually turned a deaf ear whenever i ask him to keep his toys, then this fateful day before we're going out, i brought his shoes out and point to his toys and ask him to keep. He quickly packed everything to the usual spot and returned cheekily smiling at me.

Daisybutton,
Jovann is so cute!

<font color="aa00aa">morning mummies!

Mint,
kekeke... this JJmom always mix up our girls' names.

Jelly,
oh dear! i rebby will be better after seeing doctor. could it be some insects bites or allergy to something??

hiya mommies. me back in office

icylemon
dunno leh...my parents brought her to the PD liao... whole morning am just laughing at how my monstar created this drama... i had been outsmarted by a two year old. not bad at all for a little ger at her age.