(2008/10) Oct 2008

Morning mummies.

Mint
yah that's the one I was looking for. Curious.

Jelly come join us next Monday with rebby? Hasn't seen both of you since Christmas.

hello mummies - i am back from my perth trip w my boy! What a wonderful place and we had such a lovely time.

Re stock - i am still making my beef stock. tried chicken but it seems too bland for him. I use beef brisket or shin and boil w celery, carrots, onions till it is v concentrated and add to his porridge/rice. My mum makes pork ribs stock and my mil does alot ore varieties.

Another way for me to make his chicken porridge is to add the dried figs (chinese TCM type) in.

I m trying to make apples dried figs w almonds soup soon (once my beef stock runs dry)...

Hi busybee -- hope little busy bee is ok....u rest well too. Try giving her lots of water/barley/cooling stuff since she has fever. Porridge wise - blended till more liquidified which i find if they are sick, drinking it is easier..less chewing is good.

Morning everyone!

Thanks Jellypurin for organising the foodcutter collection!

Mummies, I have a problem I don't know how to deal with. My kid is very hyperactive and so he tends to run fast and fall down and bump his head quite often. No matter how much we try to save him from falls, sometimes it is impossible to get to him in time.

As my maid and I are the main caregivers, it is usually on our watch that these accidents happen. My husband is over-protective and gets very angry when he sees him crying after a fall.

He sometimes tells off the maid for not taking more care of him. And he said today she was quietly smirking because Julian fell over his pushcart and bruised his cheek today right in front of me. So it's as if she is smirking because we have no right to scold her if we can't even protect him ourselves.

I feel he is somewhat blaming me too. I feel he is being too overprotective and this is causing tension between us because i am on the maid's side. What should I do?

Busybee,
Hope Minibee gets better soon!

R.E. stock, I throw in some celery, carrots, parsnips, onions and leeks and boil it for 2 and a half hours with the chicken bones.

BiGflamingo
I guess you just have to explain to your husband. Behind every success lies many failures. It's good your son is so adventurous and willing to take risks. I think it's a good trait. With every fall, he learns to be more prudent.

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies.

elch &amp; tweety,
i normally dun freeze my stock. the most keep the stock in the fridge for a day only.

tweety,
shallot is small onions. you can put the bigger ones too. some claimed that shallots can removed the wind from stomach.

i oso heard from the old grannies that normally fish porridge will cause more "wind" in the porridge so I will normally add 1-2 shallots inside the porridge.

infact when i boil ABC soup. i love to put in alot of onions. tastes sweeter.

hi bigflamingo - i am in the same shoes as u! My hb is also over protective of my boy. If he falls, we are not taking good care of him to prevent that. We are usually me, my dad and my mum. I get irritated cos my belief is to allow my son to explore and walk away from me (w me in sight) to roam..but my hb is like no must be near him (within 2 steps) to catch him in time.

it is diff to talk sense to him...so now i dont tel him if my boy falls (those small falls).

the thing is ur hb being so fierce to the maid...she might vent her anger on J? That is not good too... must tell ur hb to lay off the scolding.

<font color="0077aa">Mint: Is that voucher still applicable even after C has registered herself?

Jelly/Elch/Vanilla: DVDs are en route. I think will be latest by next week. They are finally released from US 'cos there was some delay as the school did not include a commercial invoice. So, I had to go back and fro... Apologies.

And lastly, this is the blogsite for the signing. So far, I only have one video up. I took a few more on my iPhone but some US executives are here in SG this week and I am up to my eye balls hence no time to upload more. Will update when I can... http://www.littlesigninghands.blogspot.com/ JTS</font>

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
oh boy...a tricky situation u have got there, guess it's still abt trying your best to reason with him &amp; warning him abt being too hash with the maid since she is 1 of the main caregivers.

since she is already smirking when Jules falls, not a gd sign

better keep a watch on her too.</font>

Yeah Vanilla,
I really think our hubbies have to spend an entire day alone with their sons to realise how hard it is!

He isn't really fierce with her. He tends to just give the black face these days. I also make it a point to pull her aside and tell her its ok, accidents happen. Because I know she is truly a very caring helper that loves Julian like her own son. Luckily she is understanding.

<font color="0000ff">mommies,

any1 free to meet up for a quick get together lunch later at Plaza Sing 12noon

1. Cheerbear
2. JJmom
3. Daisy
4. XY + Marcus
5. Bluey (mayb)</font>

Staccato Music:
I didn't go for the trial but I remember some mummies comment that it's not v gd and the teacher was inexperienced. But maybe the more experienced
teachers are better.

Vanilla:
Welcome back glad you had a good time!

Falling down:
My husband is opposite, scold my boy for not watching his way and not walking properly. I don't think I am being over protective but how are tods supposed to know what is proper walking or not? So now I demo my boy what is walking slowly haha. If he is not heading towards danger I will let him explore.

Mint,
How do you find it when u join half way?? Will it hard to catch up??

Vanilla,
Welcome back. Glad that you enjoyed the trip.

Bigflamingo,
I think you need to talk to yr hb if it's J who's hyperactive. I told my maid of few times coz it's my maid who is careless and nv look after Varner (My maid watching tv instead of looking after him and she step on my boy's feet).

When Varner is too active, I won blame her but just remind her to be extra careful.

R&amp;R,
small onion means those we normally used to fried in put in soup one?? If big onion, is it purple or yellow one huh??

thanks buffy - can u let me know how much i owe u? My whole trip to perth i keep my boy entertained in the plane + car w the you tubes signing videos! haha!

we saw bats in the wildlife park and i signed and sang the song to him. He was thrilled and can connect what i was saying haha

<font color="0000ff">Mommies,
any1 on leave &amp; alone with bb on coming mon 03.05.2010?

Wanna do a Jacob Ballas Children's Garden field trip gathering?

hi bigflamingo - yup.. our hbs need training too!

thanks tweety and wan cheun.. so happy to be able to spend quality time w bb n hb for 6 days straight!

<font color="0000ff">Bigflamingo,

Like some of the mommies here suggested, maybe u shd talk to your hb, we can't be too over protective of our kids else they will never learn the hard way. Like some, both of us are quite relaxed, we dun restrict our boy too much, of coz if we can try to pre-empt any falls we would but tis is not the case all the time. We dun want to hawk over our boy all the time, it can be really stressful, we dun believe it over protecting the kids. Someday they will grow up and need to learn it the hard way.

It probably a few more hard knocks before they realise it. And perhaps of their young age now they tend to forget things very quickly and can't remember how painful it is to fall and hurt themselves. Give our tods sometimes, it shd get better

<font color="aa00aa">Elch,
normally i boil the soup for abt 1 hr.

Tweety,
yeah! shallots is the small one that used to fried &amp; add in soup. onions. purple or those yellow ones oso can. yellow ones are mostly meant for soup more. the purple ones for sardine fishes dish will be better.

<font color="119911">bluey, cheerbear,
next mon leave is to make up for the labour day holiday on this sat.

u mommies, off on this friday instead of next mon? Or credit as annual leave?

Mine is actually a credit annual leave but nanny is taking the holiday off.

How how? go lah, think it will b fun to see our toddlers running ard the field together

<font color="0000ff">Jacob Ballas Children's Garden field trip :

sigh...juz found out tat it's close on mondays *cry*

cheerbear, it's at botanic gardens &amp; it's FREE
if u have daisy's blog, can check out the pics she took there.
http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo/openinghours.asp</font>

bigflamingo,
Haha...ur bubble wrap is so funny! Guess guys are the same, tend to be over-protective, my HB too, he said he wanna get a helmet for his precious to wear at home! *diaoz*

buffy
thanks. let me know how much to pay after you work it out

jjmom
i onz u for Jacob Ballas, can but subjected to rebby's condition after her jab.. keke...

<font color="119911">Jacob Ballas Children's Garden :

i have called botanic gardens to confirm, Jacob Ballas Children's Garden is close this coming mon

Jelly,
let's plan something else? Marina Barrage?</font>

jjmom
hee, i dun mind. wanted to go east coast as well... haha... hubby also on leave and we just discussing where to go.

re: monday lunch
not sure if i can join u all but will keep in view

<font color="119911">jelly,
oic, since your hubby is also on leave on mon then i think better to go for a family outing instead lah...heehee