(2008/10) Oct 2008

busy bee
I believe they do. Jo was like that last week. But, I also put on a new anklet for her so I don't know if that's a coincidence. When I took out the anklet, she sleeps much better. Erm, don't want to talk too much for fear of jinxing it. But mummy, hang on there. I know what you meant. I was so terribly tired last week.

jjmom,
shawn is like nat always like to waste that 10-20ml of milk. there is once he drank some and left like 60-80ml of milk and shake head say dun wan liao so i let him play awhile and 'force' feed the rest.. and told him "no, u dun waste the milk" and lucky he finish it.

jelly,
i totally agree with u on this "cannot tong also must tong... but i think can be done. i just need to adapt." i think we mummies are great.. we can do things beyond our capability.

JJmom, Jelly, Tweety,
Dylan will demand for milk as if he's starving and just drink 10-20ml! He's good at 'lying' too...he'll say "Milk milk" and end up not wanting any after I've prepared! So these days, to make sure that he's not saying for fun, I ask him if he wants milk and he nods yes...not wanting to be 'tricked' by him, I'll hang around him and not proceed to prepare his milk till he whines for it!

I've cut cost by giving him Mamil Gold instead of Gian IQ! Is there any FM that's cheaper? Are the nutrients and etc compromised?

tweety
my personal preference is that i will want to look after my kid myself at nite as long as i can. but i know w #2, i may hv 2 mk some changes. i believe in attachement parenting bcos the time i spend w my kids is v little due to the fact that i am a working mom. i realise that i bond w rebby at nite b4 we go to bed so those few hrs, though tiring and frustrating, it's my way to telling her that i am still there.

if i do hire maid #2, she will be there to help my mom take care of rebby and sydney in the day. nite time, i want them both back... keke...

JJmom, busybee, Cheer Bear,
Dylan is also one of those who'll leave at least a 10ml for most feeds! I'll try to coax and plead with him to "drink abit more, cannot waste.." but it doesn't work all the time!

elch
friso! hee... at this stage, i think food nutrition is more impt than milk nutrition... that is why i am guilty of over snacking rebby with unhealthy food like biscuits and cheese. but she likes them... haha... so i give in... keke...

for diaper bag i still drag one big heavy bag with thermos, bottle, powder, nappies, nappy cream, powder, xtra clothes, cutlery.. tink im too kiasu le. haha by the sounds of ur bags i shld lighten my load.. though its not gonna last long with #2 coming up. my shoulders will need to suffer soon again.

busybee,
kaitlyn has also been waking up at 3-4am asking for milk.. not as often as minibee but i was wondering if it was due to a growth spurt or whether its cos she's teething.. do teething tots ask for milk too?

fresh milk,
isit necessary to give low fat? tink our growing tots can handle full cream rite?

talking abt biscuit - hv u mummies try the laughing cow biscuits with cheese dipper. i bought shawn a pack and he loves it. at least i thot is better than normal biscuit as he will dip in the cheese but of coz compare to having fruits as snacks is still unhealthy la..

<font color="119911">milk abundance :
hmm...so it seems common amg our toddlers
but juz tat Nat won't do this to her nanny loh. She knows she can bully me...sigh

&amp; looks like quite a handful of us mommies have boycotted on Gain...yeah! I also changed Nat to Mamil Gold after the price hike of Gain

Jelly,
Shall get some sample from Friso or get a small tin to try if Dylan's still in a bad habit of wasting milk! I'm actually fine with Dylan not having his milk as long as he's drinking lots of water and fruits...

cheerbear
rebby's current fav is laughing cow cheese in 1x1 cm cubes. she can hv 4-6 at one go... scary... but is top giving her so much but at times, she will scream "cheese cheese"... i hv 2 give in cos aha, so noisy!

<font color="119911">eelyn,
no, our toddlers should drink full cream, no low fat diet for them YET...kekeke

elch
try writing to friso. they give out a generous sample of 10pks in a box which makes 180ml at one go. but i must say, the taste is more bland than dumex.

JJmom,
10ml is like v little to me.. I used to throw like 50ml of FM when he's fussy.. faint..

R&amp;R,
I will try to reduce the bag weight.. hahahaha..

busybee,
I agree with yr hb's said "chao kuan".. my mum said so too.. kee..

Jelly,
I got the same mindset as u.. But lately he's making me like Vampire at work in the day time. I also want him not super glue to me. I will still pat him to sleep before I go back my own room..

elch,
Mamil gold is cheap to u?? kekeke..my boy has been drinking this from birth.. hahaha...

jelly,
cheese considered unhealthy ah? oops! kaitlyn loves cheese n my dad keeps telling me to stop giving her cos its unhealthy but i thought it is nutritious :p im also guilty in feeding junk. i rather she eats something solid than depend only on milk.

tweety,
my hubs told me one package arrived but he hasnt opened it. not sure if its one of my sprees or the pjs. i'll get him to check tonite. i'll be back in singapore this wkend. will meet u to pass to u then k?

bpa free stuff,
last call.. bp ends tmr. just in case anyone else was keen.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3887395.html?1272337934

jelly,
wow rebby steady leh.. 4-6 at one go but is the the max for the whole day? if yes maybe still ok. if not i think is abit too much.

mummies giving mamil will it cause constipation? shawn used to take mamil and he constipate badly so i switch to gain and of coz now the price going up and up so thinking shld switch back mah.

jjmom,
tks for the advice.

does anyone give those flavoured milk?

fm,
i give bellamy's.. i make my parents bring back in bulk.. feel its worth it even after paying for excess weight.

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
was it step 2 or step 3 mamil gold tat shawn had &amp; constipated badly? If it's step 2, mayb u can get some sample of step 3 to try again?

elch, u r right, our kiddos should take full cream of everything, milk or yoghurt

Karen, thanks. Hanging on here. U know the lack of sleep has led to migraine yet I still need to soldier on. I think i almost finished 1 pack of panadol extra in 3 days!

Jelly, did rebby take on to the change of fm easily? I tried to give her pediasure, she took one sip and refused the rest. I am thinking of changing to cheaper formula too. But its something I need to consider carefully since she is not as keen on solids so her main nutrition is still milk.

Buffy
Our toddler tees are 10 1/2 inches for the 2t, 11 1/2 for 3t and 12 inches for the 4t.

By the way, Oct mummies can discount so don't transfer yet.

Cheer Bear,
The cheese dippers sounds nice...shall get it for Dylan to try out when we want peace during dinner outside! Hope he'll find it 'fresh' and keep still!

Jelly,
Shall write in to Friso! Thanks!

Is cheese too saltish for our tods? Dylan likes cheese too but I'm quite skeptical to give him too much as I think it's too saltish...

Tweety,
Mamil Gold is 'cheap' to me as I've been giving Dylan Karihome Goat's Milk for months before starting him on a tin of Gain IQ! Haha!

FM,
so many mummies giving gain iq....mmmmm....i swear by enfa...haha.....which is very expensive.

btw i have a $3 off gain iq voucher to purchase 900g can, redeemable at fairprice...anyone wants? maybe can pass to u at next mon lunch meeting.

Little Doggie, minibee was a enfa fan (mummy likes it cos of its high dha levels) but she couldn't adapt well to step 3 milk. She got bad reaction so I had to switch to gainIQ.

Cheer Bear,
Dylan's been on Mamil Gold for a few months and no constipation issue thus far...he poos an average of 2X daily...

eelyn,
I've tried giving Dylan strawberry flavoured fresh goat's milk before...not going to try any other flavoured milk though as I find them too sweet...

phtanus,
I give pediasure too. And I thought we are supposed to give it cold?

So I don't bring thermal flask when we go out, I just use normal temp water for the pediasure. Anyway, I stopped bringing milk out since he doesnt like to drink. Sometimes I will bring one packet of UHT milk but end up, I am the one drinking and growing fat. Sian.

jjmon,
If my boy leaves only 10ml of milk for every feed, I will be super happy. Haha. He seldom finished his milk. 30ml leftover is the norm, sometimes even 80ml. And pediasure is so expensive, not to mention we have to 'fly' our pediasure over.

I wonder if my boy the only one who doesn't ask for milk.

Busybee, what bad reaction did minibee has? i juz started gabriel on step 3.

pinkimum, my boy dun ask for milk too. but when he sees the milk bottle then he realised he is hungry...haha....my elder one is worst...nvm had ask for milk till when he is 3 years old. Thats was the time when i give up trying to force him to drink his milk. i give him pedisure bottled when we are outside.

springles,
HT has some items that are oos so waiting for new shipment to arrive late next week. Are you in urgent need of the cereal?

i hope the hugg bear biscuits are nice.. never tried. but i like the tiny teddys by arnotts..not really healthy tho..so not keen to give baby...i eat okay la...hahha

oh ..hahhaha..okok...my girl loves the baby bites. if she sees and u don't give...she will scream n cry until very jialat...so i keept it away from her n use it when we go out to eat and i need her to be occupied with something.

oh...can mail me or where do u live?maybe i can get from u. i would like to bring her someplace next week coz my parents are away and i need to think of how to entertain her , so this can help if they have space. i have to ring them rite

springles,
My place at Bt Batok. I can mail it to you. Pm me your addy.

Joanne,
Safina gave it out to us at the end of last term.

busybee
yes, i had given dumex and friso to rebby on various occassions. she is okie with all of them. it seemed that dumex is probably the most suitable for her as i think the smell and taste is similar to gain. friso is too bland for her

springles
i owe u the JG trial coupon. just mailed it to you. paiseh!

re: freshmilk
yesh, i agree it must be full cream at this stage.

eelyn
cheese is abit salty so i refrain from giving her too much...

pinkimum,
Give it cold? I never knew that, can it dissolve well in normal temp water? Like jelly, I have problem dissolving them even in lukewarm water, so I assume it will be even harder in normal temp water. My son prefer pediasure than his usual enfa FM, so I have no choice to stick on this FM.

Sama as many toddlers here, Isaac used to take very long or few times to finish his milk, until I read a tip from mommy here, think whitepaper? I cut his teats to make the hole bigger, now he can finished all (most of the time la, sometime also "chao kuan") in 10mins. U may wanna give this a try?

okok..i tell u, my daugther started to drink faster using hte Piyo piyo teats..
they are cross cut, so much easier to suck and drink. i tried it myself. then after a while when the hole gets bigger coz they always bit it somehow...then they drinnk super fast. but if they don't want anymore like my gal, she will get up and say..NO MORE..then she will take the COVER and cover the bottle herself! faint...