(2008/10) Oct 2008

Busybee,

It is so not true. I tried BF for 4 months. But had to supplement with FM. The supply never really got better. Ugh..i shudder remembering how painful the nips were...I even went to a BF specialist at Thompson, who was manhandling my boobs like she was making prata dough!

Vanilla, i told myself i won't return to Glen E after my experience there. After my loss, i went there for the d/c and the dumb nurse ask me "aiyoh why dun want to keep the baby, babies are cute". I was like crying and told her " read the damn file"!

Bigflamingo, yeah i pumped for 45 mins 3 hourly for 3 months and max i could yield each go was 25ml! And minibee was starting to prefer FM more so i stopped altogether, I just comfort myself that she got the colustrum and that teeny weeny bit of milk, better than nothing i guess.

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Tht's absolutely horrendous, how could the nurse say that???!!!!

Its storming big time here in NE region. Weather report one day late, I was all geared for the wet weather yesterday but it was sunny all day. Bleh.

<font color="aa00aa">thanks mummies!!

Karen,
I will sms Mint later.

I am helping my dear friend to look for a CL. her MIL cannot make it.

can't cook.

din help out at nite to take care of the NB.

dun allow my friend to bath till now almost 1 week plus.

bath the poor NB until the skin "po pi" can even see the flesh.

hubby cannot make it. din help in the nite.

my friend din get to sleep &amp; rest well.

MIL dun allow her to use diapers. my friend has to wash the cloth diapers &amp; baby clothes herself.

i dun know wat to say man.

i only know my dear friend called &amp; cry to me. i listen to her complaints until i oso want to cry with her.

hi karen and busybee - wah that nurse is horrible!

hi Karen - D&amp;C had to be done in operating room...

I have scolded so many nurses in GlenE - the Paed ward..until they all recognise me!

i rem a kind myanmar nurse at day surgery when i do my amnio - she gave me biscuits from pantry when i lay there for couple of hours cos it is lunchtime.

unfort my gynae and fertility doc is in GlenE leh..so no 2/3 wld be there.

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

The skies over here is getting ominous by the minute!

The weather forecast has been predicting stormy days for the next few days but yesterday was so darn hot! -_-""

Joanne &amp; Bluey, yeah i feedback abt the poor service to the Gynae.

R&amp;R, wah that's bad, bath till NB por pi. That is scary. Hope u can get a CL for ur fren soon.

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Sorry to hear about your fren's plight? did her MIL volunteer in the first place to do confinement for her??

Duhz~

busybee, vanilla,

Thanks for the console. I am generally a cheerful person but dunno why only things regard my role as a mother will affect me much. Talking about our kids as judge, think I should be passing with flying colours since Tong is always cheerful and laughing.

Wow! Seem that many of us dun have CL or have MIL or mother to do confinement for us.

Me too! Have my mum as my CL. A confinement lady who is not strict at all. Haha... So I was drinking water instead of Longan Red Dates Tea by my 10th day of confinement.

Vanilla
But I also did D&amp;C too lei. And it was in my gynae's office. My gynae has a tiny operating room.

weather
It's raining very heavily in the west now. I believe it's raining heavily islandwide.

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

I really pity your friend, wat kind of MIL is tis?

If I would her, probably would have kick her off a long time!!

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee,
ya, i have been looking for 1 for her.

Lilbluey,
yes! her MIL volunteer to do confinement for her. but my friend din know her MIL knows nothing. her MIL dun even know how to change diaper for the grandson!!

Karen, tat's exactly my problem. My cup size ballooned to a 'E' but yet no supply, how sad is tat! &amp; I hates big boobs hor!

Karen, but aneasthetist leh?

Mummies, a great resource i read from Kiasu Parents forum - Richard Scarry's Best Counting Video Ever. I find its a great way to introduce counting and numbers to our bubs. I picked up the vcd( figured no point splurging on dvd cos prob won't use it for too long) at popular. Only $6.90. I find it has helped miki learn to count.

Hi mommies, just back from counting $$$$, too bad, those $$$ not mine. Hee...

R&amp;R mum,
Have pm-ed you whitepaper's and my CL's no.

PND:
I had that too, for almost 2mths, quite bad til i always cried for no reason, and even called my mum to come and carry Isaac away, told her i dun want to see the bb, that was not the life I want! Hoho...am a very bad mum!

Bigflamingo, I also pestered &amp; begged Sis Kang from
Mt A to come to my place to teach me how to BF twice

hi....sigh...sick sick. so many pple sick...
now me also coughing n baby has runny nose more than a week...also had 2 injections last week but thank God no fever.
btw, i bought more pjs from shoppe...10 more!! faint...she has new designs. anyone bought? $9 each incl postage.

thanks for mums who were talking abt sambucol, i ordered some from usa. can u get it from singapore??

food cutter - when will it arrive? nvm..doesn't matter

shoes - oh..mint i'll have a look...was going to order some pedipeds before this..

JJmom, Onz!!

Karen, wah ur Gynae steady, help u save! OT already cost like $2k.

Springles, U can find Sambuccol at Vitakids. I just picked up a bottle yesterday.

Sambuccol vs Sambucus...

Mummies, I saw that the other brand, Sambuccus includes echinacea in its formula. Heard not too good to take too much echinacea? Might want to check it out.

I haven't been posting lately because my in-laws are visting and I've had alot more work to do as a result. Must cook traditional chinese meal for luncha nd dinner every day. So stressed!

Talking about DVD recommendations, Ian really likes "Baby Learns Chinese". He's actually picked up some chinese words from watching it. I put it on when I'm cooking or cleaning.

mousebb - I hope your kids feel better soon.

busybee - Thanks for the Richard Scarry counting video recommendation. We've been using the leapfrog DVDs for math. Have both but lost one so the kids are watching "Adventure to the Moon" and they really like that. I'll check out the Richard Scarry DVD when I get a chance to.

Breast feeding is the hardest thing I've ever had to do in my life. I ended up pumping for both sons. Thankfully I had enough milk but it was alot of work. I had actually only just stopped pumping when I got pregnant with number 3 so my body didn't really get a chance to rest. The good thing about pumping is that you can also give breastmilk to the older kid and my husband could take over night feeds so that I could sleep at night.

Koala, woah traditional chinese meals for both lunch and dinner, I can imagine ur stress. I saw lots of mums ordering the "Baby Learns Chinese" dvds on overseas sprees thread too. Are the chinese characters introduced simplified or traditional? Please share more abt the dvds, as I am always keen to get my hands on tools to teach minibee mandarin. As I am terok in it, so both of us need all the help we can get. TIA

Busy bee - I know what you mean about being terok in Chinese. My Chinese is super lan so I'm always looking out for stuff that will aid my kids learning Chinese. I have the first Baby Learns Chinese DVD and and 4.5 and 6. You can see the budget for making the DVDs improve in the subsequent DVDs coz the graphics get more sophisticated. I like it because it's simple, flashes the word (you can choose between jianti simplified or fanti traditional at the beginning) and lots of pictures. It's like flashing flashcards except in video form. My kids love it. A few months back I found Ian sitting on his playmat and counting from 1-5 in Chinese after watching the DVD. I suggest just getting the first DVD and if you like it, buy the additional ones. I'm planning on getting the second one in the series.

Wahlao.... in-laws SQ flight back got cancelled coz of volcanic eruption in Iceland. 2 more days with them.

<font color="0077aa">morning all. Yay, my boss heading back down under today. Yay!!!

Regarding DVDs, the ones I can order are here http://www.signingtimeacademy.com/store/dvds. For mummies who are keen, pls take a look. Generally single DVDs priced on the website are at USD21.99. As a rough guide, I will be selling around $25 but for Oct mummies, a slight discount.

I can order the DVD sets, board books or flashcards on this store too. Please PM me if you are keen so I can let u know the rough price (that is if shipping hits thru the ceiling) as it would be impossible for me to list down everything here. I am placing them this weekend. Thanks</font>

hi mommies!

vanilla,
actually i wouldn't have reprimanded E if i were you cos it was not his fault right from the start. What he was trying to do is a good thing and should encourage him. So you could have thanked him for wanting to keep the toy and said he could do it the next time. As for him screaming, he was merely voicing his displeasure about being 'bullied'. So just carry him to calm him down. Just my suggestion.

busybee,
agree with you about Richard Scarry's video. I used to use the multiplication one to teach my class multiplication. Kids loved it. Think i still have it somewhere. Heehee!

karen,
Our appt for monday is such: pibo's garden at 11am and learning ladder at 3pm. I'm not sure how to squeeze Pat's in if we're going for lunch so haven't called Pat's yet. We could do Pat's on Tues before our swim date? Learning ladder can only accomodate us at 3pm so can't change timing. Sms me cos i'll be out whole day later.

Koala, thanks for the feedback. I got a set of Wink to Learn Chinese for Minibee which are also flashcard based but with real pictures instead of animation. I have not been as discipline to play the Chinese dvds tho. Hahaha... But I think its great that ur kiddos picked up quickly from the dvd system. At the moment, chinese still seems really foreign to my gal. PS, good luck with the extra 2 days wt the inlaws!

Mummies, think most of you should have received your Name Labels! Hope u like it!!

icylemon,
wah your friend so poor thing. Such a useless MIL. I sms you my CL's contact but i dun think she can do for your friend cos she just completed 1 confinement on tuesday. I know cos she was doing for my friend. I was so happy to see her again when i went to my friend's place. Heehee! Think get from the agency will be faster.

RE Sambuccol at Vitakids, how much are they selling there? i considering to buy one too. but can u all share if ur kids develped phglem after drinkg it, my collegue told me her friend's son has lot of phglem after drinkg it.

Re: meet up
so is there any meet up @ cityhall? i m keen.

<font color="0077aa">little doggie: sure, can do lunch meet up at Cityhall. Quite a few mummies can meet:

- Icylemon
- Dimpletot
- Joanne
- Karen / Mint?
- Buffy

Who else? Tues good for next week?</font>

<font color="0077aa">Oh, I wanna add that for the Signing DVDs and stuff, on the site, it is in USD. But I am charging SGD!

Jelly: which one would u be looking at?

XY: u better? Din hear from you lately leh</font>

busybee,
i didn't check the rest out but i would assume the maths ones would be good? Heehee!

what happened to the mummies yesterday? There was a self-beating session? Heehee! Think i'm really the psychotic mum here on the thread. Firstly i was so determined to make breastfeeding work that i refused to even hear the word formula. I lashed out at my hubby for even mentioning the word. During confinement, everyone got the brunt of my pnd incl my mum. My mil came to see the baby almost everyday. So irritating. By the 3rd day i just couldn't take her coming anymore so i didn't bother acknowledging her presence and would carry regina to the room on the fake pretext that i needed to feed her. I locked ourselves in the room till she left. Heehee! By the 5th day she gave up coming. Lol! Basically i was treated like a queen and if something was not right at home, it was my way or the highway. It still is now but at a way much less tensed situation. Haha! Let's just blame it on the hormones.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Morning Ladies

Yeah...TGIF!!

Really busy with my work. Catch with u ladies later...</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">little doggie, where do you go for lunch time yoga? I do mine mostly on Tues and Thurs too if I can at Pure Yoga.
Maybe you are in the same class where that lousy ang mo wore the boxers to class! LOL

Wed and Fri, I believe some of the mummies cant due to their JG class. But let's check anyway...

Mint: That makes you and me! But I had to use FM because C was almost dehydrated. *bleah*</font>

Little Doggie, I bot the sambuccol for $24.95 at Vitakids. Not sure abt the Phlegm part cos I use it as preventive supplement rather then medication when minibee is unwell.

bigflamingo,
The ipod touch is more for Regina than me. Hahaha! I wanna keep my own phone then she can use the ipod touch to watch her youtube or meddle with some other apps while I can safely have my phone to sms and call. LOL! It's too much to give to a one year old kid but I shall give myself the lame excuse that it's for me.