(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">icylemon: hmmmm... next Tues? :D Venue wise, i dunno leh... where is good ah?

as for Lor Bak. I only know how to eat... But my mum makes it this way: you need to buy that pork belly and then pour hot boiling water on it to rid if of that brown residue thing as well as the smell. Some ppl will then lightly fry the meat and then put in water, spices, garlic cloves, hard boil eggs and soy sauce (both dark and light). Then it is really simmer all the way liao</font>

Bluey, rain has stopped but miki is napping... looks like today is going to be a stay in thurs.

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee,
jialat! you are testing me. i oso dun know leh. i ate before inside got pork belly, got braise egg &amp; braise tau kwa de. and is dark in colour

busy bee, next week cannot leh coz 9 April i m taking leave liao. Child Care Ctr closed.

Stroller... anyone changed theirs? Now that they are walking I am not sure if its too extravagant to get a new one. But I am eyeing a all terrain type...

<font color="0077aa">oh yes, i forgot that i wanted to share something.

Hey mummies, one of my close friends just called me ytr to share that her son had 2nd degree burns! She made soup for him and placed it on the dining table and went back into the kitchen to get rice and cutlery.

Lo and behold, her son apparently has grown taller over the past few weeks and he managed to reach for the soup and basically scalded himself v badly - from shoulders down to chest. A&amp;E, hospitalised for a week 'cos the burn was really really bad. The entire skin came off. So, please be a bit careful with our things ok? Sometimes they have grown a bit such that we dun even realise...</font>

Mint mint... aiyoh u just got the aprica, now u eyeing a jogger? I was thinking the zapp, only downside not one hand closure.

R&amp;R, oh there is the sweet style which is super easy to make. Very Yummy too. Just add ur fatty pork (cleanse it like how buffy mentioned), a few cloves of garlic to equal parts light soya/dark soya and add water then simmer. If u like it with spices add star anise, cloves and cinnamon (optional- depends on ur tastebud) or variation is add sugar (the sweet style). I like the sweet style. Then I thicken the gravy with a little bit of cornstarch solution. Gravy becomes yummy when eaten with rice!

Mint, i use dermalogica... whn i am not lazy. Hahaha... The ultra calming lotion is good. And the booster... Gives u an instant glow.

busybee,
The jogger is to motivate me to go running to lose weight. Hahaha!

I use the precleanse and ultra calming cleanser. I also like the daily microfoliant.

r&amp;r mum,
i getting the word builder and alphapet explorer from angela tonite

xy,
i know alot of low fat yoghurt but ice cream low fat? hmm dunno leh.

ok give u COD for the Gap PJ k

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

The sun is shining brightly over here! hmm..nvm lar if today cannot go out, there's still tmr!

Buffy,

Tht's dreadful! Oh dear, hope your fren's child is recovering well. My cousin oso suffered quite bad burns when she was young, her mum made agar agar then just tsf from the pot to the mould. W/o realisation my cousin reached out for it and the hot liquid scalded her whole chest and till date it's still quite scarred.

We really cannot take any chances and muz be mindful at all times...

Buffy- I knw exactly how that feels cos I was burnt the same way when I was 2! My mum turned her back n I managed to drag a hot pot of porridge on me. Tkfully no more scar left. M extremely mindful of such things now cos I see Vic trying to reach for things. So everything is kept far away.

Mint, yes the micro-exfoliant is good too. But I using the estee one nowadays. How much is the ultra calming, i tried out origins after mine ran out and still prefer the clean feel from the ultra calming cleanser. Abt stroller, i want it more for taking her to beach/parks etc.

jjmom,
i am going to meet her at buangkok mrt to collect.. think she is staying at punggol as well so it will be easy for u to collect from her.

buffy,
aiyo poor child.. i think ur fren must be blaming herself.

<font color="0077aa">yah!!! and Aidan is only 26 months old! apparently my GF said he was quite badly traumatised. I think I would be too man...</font>

Stroller ...
Any mummies here know the stroller that have a place for older kids to stand behind? Saw ppl using it before but didnt see at the store

busybee,
It's USD39.95 for the big bottle.

But I most likely won't buy the stroller cos it's quite ex. Plus I already have 2 at home... heehee!

Coy insurance alot of restrictions and have cap. Pre/post op cap at only 500. I went to see the ENT specialist, 2x already spent 800!

Heng i bought hospitalisation insurance.

Mona,
There's buggy board that can attach to strollers. Else, get the Peg Perego P3. The one i'm using. Comes with the standing board behind. Haha...

mona

i think XY has that. hers is a peg perago.

strollers

I'm loaning a mclaren volo from my friend to bring to london. need a super light umbrella one...

dermalogica

i used it a number of years ago. got conned into buying an extensive range from facial person. now i use clinique 3-step. feel that effect is just as good at fraction of price.

Dimpletot, yeah the volo is really handy yet sturdy. Lady at the store demo to me that it could even take her weight! Clinique step 3 is good too. I started my whole facial regime with that, but somehow prefer a liquid cleanser to bar soap.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,
*bish* y u must tempt me to go look for food AGAIN! I m a vy busy mom who has no time to cook...argh...but now i must go 'ask' my mom to cook this fav dish of mine liao *drool*

not sure is this how it's done else where but this is my mom's way :

1. clean the pork belly
2. pour hot boiling water over it
3. cut into big chuck pcs
4. lightly pan fry it with garlic cloves, star anise, mushroom (presoaked), dry chilli. Add in light &amp; dark soya sauce, chestnuts (my dad likes this).
5. transfer everything into a claypot to simmer. Add in the hard boiled egg.

My mil also put sugar but my family don't.</font>

dimpletot,
I used to use the clinique bar soap too when I was younger but as I aged, I found it too drying for my skin. I liked it cos it cleared my pimples. Heehee! hmm.. wonder if the liquid soap is better?

Just to vent: Some mummies on the forum are real cheapskate to the core. I posted my Nepia diapers on the WTS thread with price and collection area. Had a pm asking for a reduction of $4 and to meet her at her preferred location!!! It's like WTH?!? GRRR!! Feel like asking her if she's too free to make such an april fool's joke.

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

Nothing new leh, always got such pple around trying to drive the prices much much further somemore muz cater to their 'convenience'..ask them to GTH lar..

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,
I m a cantonese mah
&amp; it's my family fav dish...yummy

oh i think my mom put a little sesame oil too.</font>

Mona, I think its really cool. If i were to have #2, I would surely get it too! So much fun.

Mint, these mums are just trying their luck.

<font color="119911">LF alphapet explorer :
i haven pay the shipping yet so don't know the full price, will update again.</font>

R&amp;R, u planning to cook this dish for ur family over the long weekend?

My mission for this long weekend is to make a cake. Found a recipe online which had lot of rave reviews and apparently similar to the Lana cake,so I wanna to give it a go tomorrow!

busybee,
Any plans to sign up for the JG holiday programmes?

I'll be starting a Jack and Lily BP next week. Let me know if interested.

lilbluey,
I mean the price wise, I don't mind if it's a dollar or two considering it's diapers. But still have to go and meet her?? Wah piang!!

busybee,
Wah, if the cake is a success, must bring some to let us try... heehee!

Talking about #2, I had a nightmare that I was preggers with #2. Woke up with tears in my eyes. What a horrid dream.

<font color="119911">mint,
wahahaha...y so drama? having #2 is a happy dream mah

thought i m the 1 who had a horrible confinement?...heehee</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

Ignore her lar, always got such pple around...*ooops* was it a sign for you??? hee hee

jjmom

pheeeeweeet. new swimsuit for Nat! show us pix.

any sexy new swimsuit for jjmom too? heh.

mint

dun be angry... just ignore her. or if u are really mad, send her a huffy curt reply.

<font color="119911">dimple,
Nat's new swimsuit is already at FB
&amp; sorry to disappoint u, no new swimsuit for jjmom =P</font>