(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">mint, last year it was at Hall 5 i think. i remembered clearly tat i need to q from Hall 3 to Hall 4 then reached Hall 5 to get in. the Q was like in zip zap. took me almost an hr plus to get in.

i wonder if i can sneak you in when i m still in the Q.

i already paid deposit le.
So... thinking thinking...

Hubby say send in June. Haha... His logic being he thinks now too soon, May we're going for Phuket for abt 6 days, means Marcus will miss CC and we'll be paying for nothing... So, start in June. Haha

<font color="0000ff">*Hugs* to Marcus!

XY,

Send Marcus oni when you think he's ready!

Mint,

Guess, we juz hv to wait...

XY,
Since your mil is looking after Marcus then just wait till he's 2 years old...I wanted to send Dylan when he's 18 months old but hubby doesn't want to...he says he 'bu she de', scared his son get bullied, get sick easily and etc...

icylemon,
Update here after you head to the Crocs Sales ok...I'm thinking of going too on Sat but only in the late afternoon...

Elch,
Looking at Dylan's size... i think he'll be bullying others. Haha...

Falling sick part is wat worries me most.

As for my MIL, hubby dun want her to think that she's indispenable. Sigh... heard many horror stories on MIL/DIL. At my home, it's between mother and son.

elch,
i'm thinking on going to the crocs sale too. but it all depends on hubby if he is workinga gain.

teeth:
saw rianne's 2 upper molars coming out last night.

bluey,
u take care and rest well

shawn is also another notti boy.. somehow i am really scare of the terrible 2 that is coming soon.

xy,
wish marcus happy 18th mth.. big hugz

i am sending shawn to cc when he is 20mth coz that when they hv the slot for me but now i am thinking again.. maybe shld delay until he is 2yo coz he still cant speak and teacher might not understand wat he wan.

XY,
That's what my mum and bros think too! Hahaha!
My initial thought of having Dylan start at 18mths is because I'm thinking of letting my mum have a 'break' before #2 'lands'...don't want my mum gets tired out looking after 1 after the other considering she's one who can't stay home previously!

Hi XY

Share your worries too about going to school. When I go back, no choice have to put her in childcare too. Cos both of us need to work and in laws too tight up with another grandchild to take care of her. Bu she de. Also worried she'll be bullied or she'll fall sick.
Even over here when I brought her to playground, the big-sized ang mo tots would push her (once nearly down the slide) and once this small tot hit her head. She only looked at him in amazement! Didn't do anything nor cry. My hubby thinks I'm too protective...

jelly,
pm-ed u my order. tks!!

xy,
happy 18mth to marcus!

does the preschool allow him to spend a few hrs in there before deciding when to send him in permanently? if u can do that it'll be good for u to observe how he reacts to the new surroundings etc.. maybe we need to give our bubs more credit

carpe diem allows me to send kaitlyn in for a few hrs one of the days to see how she copes before i sign up. and after i sign up, they let me go in every sat morning for a mth before actual day to let her get use to the surroundings. a big plus point.. hence most likely im sending her there. even tho its slightly above my budget

Karen,
Jo will turn 18 mos soon too right? I'm pretty sure you'll live to see the day. Haha!

Oh I'm not buying any crocs for Regina. Getting for myself actually.

icylemon,
If long q, then I won't go liao. Haha!

Jelly, I'll check her webbie to see if she has the items i want.

Mummies, I will close the spree and place the order for the name labels on sunday.

YBCR... mummies who have invested in this system, seen good progress? I have been reading that its good to expose a combination of phonics with sight reading(word recognition). My concern with sight reading of these words is it just pure memorisation or do the kids actually comprehend the word itself? That's holding me back from using flashcards. Mummies any comments?

XY,
if can wait till he's 2, then wait rather than expose him to getting ill easily. June to Sep is another 3 months diff also. Think 3 months won't make a diff to your MIL's impression of her being indispensable after taking care of Marcus for 18 mos liao.

busybee,
i used flashcards with kaitlyn earlier.. and she can "read" some words. imo, it is memorisation.. same way she recognizes the images. hence i stopped using them.

Eelyn, Buffy, are we sharing the sticker scenes?

Eelyn, yeah, I dun want to do it if its memorisation. I'd rather comprehension. Dunno if going about it right leh.

Karen, I think if its the maryjane type of crocs should be ok for our bubs already. The clog styled ones tho cute, are the ones which are constantly getting caught in the escalator accidents. My hubs forbids me from buying them for miki.

<font color="aa00aa">elch,
i try. depends wat time i come back. coz i seldom go online during weekends.

XY,
sick sure will fall sick. infact once a kid goes into CC @ such young age. the 1st 2 weeks sire falls sick. such matter happens pretty often &amp; will last even the most 3-6 mths. but have to bear with it lor. if the CC so called playgroup class is more and enough teachers to take care of them then not so bad. i heard of some CC having abt 20 odds kiddos but only 2-3 teachers.

for my case, i m delaying Regine until she turns 2 or latest next year Jan.

mint,
is super long Q &amp; super crowded. so if you are bringing Regina. i suggest you dun go. wat you want to buy? i m getting crocs for myself too. are you size W9??

<font color="aa00aa">karen,
sure. Regine has crocling, mary jane, winnie the pooh, hello kitty &amp; gabby. all are crocs. coz her mummy is a crocs siao. so is Rachel. kekeke...

busy bee
The way I see it for the method to work is ... the words will have meanings when the words are used in context. For example, mummy. So the toddlers can recognise the word 'mummy' and relate it to the word being used to call her mother. So the word now has meaning.

icylemon, usually how cheap the sale for crocs for kids? <$20? Only the old model or some new model also available? Currently lil Jo also wearing crocs.

<font color="aa00aa">mona,
is between $20 - $30. i remember is abt $25 a pair. those very vew model wont be on sales. but those common ones which you can see in the shop mite be on sales. those jibbitz will oso be on sales. the year before i manage to get mickey mouse set, winnie the pooh set &amp; princess set.

eelyn,
It's not exactly memorisation. It's more of a recognition of the shape of the word and the association. So it's actually early/beginning reading. Do continue with it. It works. If it's memorisation, then they will not be able to associate.

busybee/eelyn
can order again from OTC if you want but do send me ur order soon. shd still be able to get you all the 15% discount w free ground shipping. jus let me know.

Hello mummies.. ;)

jellypurin- Am fine with ordering online too..=)

Btw wats YBCR = ?? ;)

Flashcards/memorisation:
Share with Karen's thoughts. :D
JTS, I dun use flashcards on Kaelyn to teach her words. I talk to her/verbally teach her the words, i.e I say eyes and I will point to my eyes to teach her etc... and now she understands wat I say and will do the actions to me etc.. Until recently I teach her using word cards...On the card reads Eyes and I will teach her this is Eyes and point to my eyes...and now she's able to relate the words shown and show me/say it out if she knows.... errmm guess this is wat I means by saying words have meanings and the child is able to relate to it and not thru pure memorisation.. ;)

busybee,
Yes reading is a way to teach word in context. And if you're looking at comprehension, reading and conversation is the best.

Did you see nickypower's video of k reading in fb? That's not memorisation. And she uses hand written flashcards. Cheap and good.

icylemon,
I email you my list and my friend's list can? I can't don't bring Regina leh. Thanks in advance.

mint- Heeee u said wat I wanna say..keke!! ;p Yup not neccesary to buy flashcards..just buy some white plain cards and write urself..cheap and good! ;p

ruffles,
tks for update.

jelly,
xie xie!

mint,
oritey.. tks for the advice.

busybee,
yea i would like to share.. which are u keen in? im keen in the 3d butterfly. n i know buffy was keen as well. lets just add on and see how it goes?

Design Your Own! 3-D Butterfly Ornaments With Stickers - $7.99/12
1-3. Buffy
4-8. Eelyn

Design Your Own! Giant Jungle Sticker Scenes - $9.99/12
1-3. Eelyn

Design Your Own! Flower Garden Sticker Scenes
1-3. Eelyn

My own teaching is via multisensory approach-flash cards w images/words-show actual items (if possible for touch/sight/smell approach)-sound (mimick the sound where applicable). With this approach, I don't see Vic memorising anything because she can easily associate the same item, say, 'flower' in dfferent medium such as in different books, actual flower, wall decals etc.

kinda envious some of ur tods can read. rebekah is not interested in flashcards or video... maybe bcos i din start her off right. she is learning her ABCs and 123s verbally from me or thru books. i see her dancing n singing more often than wanting to read!

busy bee
I like nickypower's way of teaching. Remember I was looking for chinese flashcards? I do intend to put the words all over the house, so that Jo can associate the house objects to the words. But I can't find huge Chinese words

I agree with what you have read though. I do believe whole-word teaching is not exactly 100% perfect for teaching English. I am a strong believer of phonics and I think when used together, it will be ideal. Okay, now it's putting all that into practice. So Leapfrog helps us in phonics and all these right brain thingy will help in the whole-words.

nickypower, kaelyn is brilliant!! thanks for sharing your method. ybcr=your baby can read.Your efforts wt Kaelyn puts this sahm to shame. I feel guilty i am not doing enough! hahaha

mint, i have mainly been reading and have role playing sessions (as in kitchen play, pretend cook). I know its passive learning but i want to do more with her.

teaching bubs,
think im the most inconsistent mummy. im only enthusiastic for the first 2-3 days after i buy the "new toy". after that i give up. i have no patience at all. my MIL n helper are the ones teaching her. when i'm home with her we play more than anything else. otherwise i bring her out. kudos to u all.

karen,
if you have chinese software, type, print and laminate.

busybee,
you can also paste the words all over the house. Soon miki not only can read, she can spell them with her eyes closed. My only flashcards time are mainly pictorial though the words are there. So I'm not sure if she sees and recognises the words cos I haven't assessed her on that.

<font color="119911">mint, karen, ypg, mommies,
can share your thoughts on 'open concept classrooms' for N1 to K2?

most of the cc tat i visited, have this low cabinets partitions to form a separate classrms.</font>

Ruffles, yes i do that too, and yes miki also recognises objects in different contexts but just have not incorporated flash cards so am asking mums here how to do it, just afraid it ends up like memorising and drilling which i am not keen on.

XY, kisses for marcus!

Jelly, i think each of our bubs are learning in their own ways, all we can do to help is share methods to help provide a more stimulating environment for them.

Karen, I like Nickypower's method too!! Looks like i'll try that too!! abt chinese flashcards, i saw them at popular and at the book store @ b1 of forum.

busy bee
I believe in the principle that when there's meaning in learning, learning will be meaningful, more enjoyable, and stay in the mind more.

<font color="119911">eelyn,
i m stressed by nicky's great teaching with Kaelyn too =P

jelly,
Nat too, not showing keen interest in her flashcards, only wants to throw them around (-_-)'' &amp; hi5, Nat likes to sing too...kekeke</font>