(2008/10) Oct 2008

Sigh just came back from pd, my poor minibee is down with viral fever. She was sluggish and didn't want her lunch, felt her then took her temp and to my fright it was 38.5! Scared the heck out of me. Last time her fever was 38.1 doc say high already! Gave her a dose of brufen then rushed her down to clinic. Doc said seems like its an infection. The poor bub was given antibiotics.

Ruffles, thanks for the article.

JJmom, just wondering why the sudden decision to move her to the mattress. She was sleeping in a cot right? We plan to move her to her own room when we move to our new place too. I am thinking of converting the cot to the toddler bed (cos she has been attempting) to climb over!

Steamboat, when is this happening and is it a no bubs affair? I am sooo craving ma la huo guo!

<font color="0000ff">XY,

Ooops~ shall see and decide again...

Busybee,

Hope Minibee makes a speedy recovery soon! Hugs...

Bluey, thanks. I really do hope so too. She has been ill quite a number of times in 2010. Actually even when ill she is her usual self. Still my little Ms Ants in Pants! Read abt ur preggie symptoms too. U take care ok. Maybe gaviscon can help. I had it too. It helped me.

any tods have one of those kiddy tricycles?

my mum wants to buy kate one but I'm not sure if it's age appropriate... it's those kind that has a handle at the back so the adult can push it if the kid doesn't wanna cycle...

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Really? Gaviscon is safe for us in tis condition? if so, am going to grab a bottle later frm the pharmacy thanks

Isn't it nice if we can have a sit down dinner w/o our bubs *dreamz*

Dimpletot,

Yes, Ash has one, given by his Gramps when he turns 1, it's useful when we can push them ard since they can't cycle yet.

Lilbluey, i think it was the only one which states safe for pregnancy but do check again to be safe. I took it throughout, cos had bloatedness and morning sickness up to 34 weeks when she came!

Dimpletot, i got miki a lil tikes tricycle, so she uses her legs to get around. But i think the kind ur mum wants to get is great too.

Bluey, just checked the bottle for u. Safe for pregnant and breastfeeding. So go grab a bottle.

Thanks Mousebb, Yeah she is. Meds really helped her. She is a trooper still playing when had high fever!! The PD clinic play corner is elc toys haven! She was sooo busy... Didn't want to head home.

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Glad to hear that mini bee is feeling better now. Speedy recovery to her!

R&amp;R mum
Wow! You thinking to have 1 more? Go for it!!! Jiayou!!!</font>

Busy bee
oh dear. Poor minibee. Hope she gets well for zoo. Or maybe by then Jo will be down *touch wood* but she does get sick when I have nice places to go to.

Gaviscon
I only discovered this quite late in my pregnancy but It was a huge saviour though I won't say it completely took away my discomfort. Busy bee, wah you still have yours?

Thanks Joanne &amp; Karen, meds helped her sleep better last night. She woke up for milk at 6 am cos hardly ate her solids yesterday, we snuggled in bed till she fell back asleep. Now I can't sleep! Damn!

Gaviscon, no lah the bottle I have in the fridge is a new one. Cos I have Irrritable Bowel Syndrome ( I always say its from my years in a crazy job! hahaha) so I need to have gaviscon on standby all the time. Gee. I Sound like a TV commercial... hahahaha

Mousebb!! Morning! looks like I am not alone here.

Question... when bub is down with fever, do mummies here take temp 4 hrly and feed brufen/paracetemol (even thru the night). Luckily so far the fever normally subsides in the night. But I was just wondering in case she is running a fever, do we wake the bub up to take the medication? I was thinking, wouldn't that agitate the poor child more and make the administering the meds sooo hard?

Ruffles, thanks for the sharing regarding teaching our kids numbers and ABC. My bub just keep saying no no when I try to show her numbers or count. She's not interested to count lei. Sigh.

busybee, I do take temperature 4 hourly and feed her paracetamol 4 hourly. But not throught the night. That is when she sleeps through the night, I don't wake her up for medicine.

Btw, would like to ask mummies here. Do you all give fish to your bubs every day? I do for every dinner whether in porridge or just bake or steam. But I have been reading about not giving fish everyday cos of mercury? So now a bit worried. For lunch, I try to vary with egg, pork or beef.
Any suggestions?

Calla Lillies, thanks. I take minibee's temp in the night too and dun wake her up just sponge if the the fever is low grade. Touch wood but just anticipating if high fever again what to do. Sigh.

Bubs meals. I alternate between the various protein sources, egg, pork, beef, chicken, tofu and fish. So minibee prob eats fish about 3 times a week. Think as long in moderation dun worry.

Hi busybee

Thanks. What fish do you give? In singapore, i used to give "Nor He" but not sure what's the English name. So cannot find her lor. So I give John dory and salmon. Sometimes Ling. But that's the fish with high mercury I think.

Not sure about high fever through the night...maybe can check with pd. Maybe call the clinic? Hope minibee is feeling better.
It's good in singapore cos here where I am, need to book doctor's appointment about one day in advance. Also see PD must get referal then can.

Calla Lillies, u are in Aus right? I think "nor he"= threadfin. I give cod, threadfin, salmon normally. PD said if she sleeps let her sleep, discretionery. Of course too high need to administer brufen or take to a &amp; e. Hopefully, touch wood that wouldn't happen.

thanks busybee. I so blur ya, not sure if can easily find here though. I cannot find the kind of cod (smooth flesh kind) I get in Sg. The cod I get here bluecod etc, not the same. Yup, in Aus.

Busybee:
Poor miki! KJ came down w fever 2 nights ago, he was 39 degrees and whole body just shivered uncontrollably. Rushed him to kkh at 2 am. The doctor's instruction was to wake him up to take med as it have to be given round the clock.

Ruffles:
Thanks for sharing the articles.

morn mommies

busybee
i hope mini bee is better today. i dun take temp every 4hrs, but in the case of viral fever, will feed med every 4-6hrs, depending on condition. nte time is strictly a no go zone for rebby so i usually sponge her and keep her cool

Wan Chuen
Oh dear, hope KJ's better? Is it viral fever as well. Been hearing about bubs down with high fever. Poor things. My nephew also down with high fever and had fits. Was very scary. Need hospitalisation.

Wan Cheun, oh really. PD said if there's temp to wake her up too. But since no fever I just let her sleep... Hope I am doing the right thing. Is KJ better? You must have been so worried, is the shivering fits? They will ward the bb if fever results in fits right?

Jelly, thanks. Minibee is much better this morning. Waiting for her to wake up for her meds. I also sponged her on and off last night when there was low grade fever.

Busybee and Callalilies:
Thanks, his temp finally went back to normal
yest. I dont think it's fits coz when I asked him to call
mama and papa he still can follow my instructions. And he was still eating his biscuits on his way to hospital. His blood test was ok, so not viral I think. But x ray shows got lung infection so now on antibiotics too. Lucky no need hospitalized.

Anyway busybee, I think whether or not to wake baby to take med depends on the baby's condition. Maybe KJ's temp
was 39 too high so I was told to continue thru the nite.

busybee, lilbluey, elch

thanks for sharing... yah she's got an ELC trike (bday pressie) but grandma wants something she can pedal. hmmm... ok lah, since grandma wants to buy... something to entertain both of them haha... just gonna take up parking space...

Viral fever - think it's the terrible weather aggravating the usual viruses. Hope all the bubs get well soon.

Calla lilies - Vic takes fish once daily (ngor he, salmon and cod) with a protein &amp; veg. She definitely needs a different menu for each meal if not she wun want her food. I think the amount they take is so small to constitute any worry for excessive mercury.

Anyone started on cod liver oil? Used to take that when I was young and am thinking of giving her a teaspoon daily soon.

Gaviscon - Yep the gynae recommended this when I had heartburn and indigestion. So yes it is safe for preggies

Steamboat - I really love Yat Con's hainanese steamboat. When is the lunch on? Will see if I can join too.

<font color="119911">oh dear, what a morning...with few of our oct bbs down with fever

busybee, miki has infection? did the doc says where? I do take Nat's temp thru the nite &amp; if there's fever (>37.5) i will wake her for med. Hopes miki gets well real soon *lot of hugz*
So sad to have to miss her for lunch appt today.

We r thinking of moving Nat to the floor mattress coz she has been banging herself crazy on the cot railing when she tosses &amp; turns in sleep &amp; wakes herself up, think the cot is getting small for her

ruffles

my dad is a cod liver oil fan (also gave me when young) so he's been giving her a tablespoon daily.
we started with the orange one (cos I couldn't find the plain one) and she LOVES it. bought a second bottle of plain one and waiting to see how she takes to it heh heh.

<font color="0000ff">Busybee/Wan Chuen,

Glad to know that Miki &amp; KJ are getting better

Gaviscon,

Thanks for the feedback, will go grab a bottle during lunch later..hopefully it doesn't taste too yucky haha ;p~</font>

Wan Cheun, glad KJ is all better.

Ruffles, dun remember who, but one of the mummies from the thread told me that pharmacist mentioned that its too early to start them on Cod Liver oil. Maybe can check wt PD? Let us know what u find out.

R&amp;R, yeah I love ma la huo guo. But I can't have it too spicy. Xiao la for me! hahaha. I will need my gaviscon after each ma la huo guo meal. Too oily but sooo yummy. Recently my friend brought back the beef &amp; tomato soup base for steamboat from hk. I had it for cny, sooo yummy. Unlike the usual ones we normally have in Spore. Its like borchst soup.

Mummies pardon my ramblings, me mega sleep deprived but cannot sleep! sigh. Helper relieving me to watch over minibee now. So here i am surfing away!

<font color="aa00aa">Votes!! Proposed Date: Either 23 March (Tues) or 25 March (Thur)

1. <font size="+1">麻辣火锅</font>(Suntec City) - icylemon

2. COCA (Ngee Ann City) - icylemon

3. Seoul Garden (Ngee Ann City) -

<font color="119911">jetudes,
KJ's fever sounds quite bad, wonder how did he gets the lung infection? I can imagine it must have been a scary moment for u when he has the shivering fits. hope he recovers soon.</font>

Jelly, pardon me for being kpo but which bp organiser?

JJmom, throat infection. Started out with allergies and then I think along the way she caught a cold and then sore throat and now this. Sigh.... So u managed to get ur play yard yet?

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee,
i never heard of that. though i love to eat century egg. but in soup base, i wonder what it tastes like.

steamboat
"liu kou sui"...

busybee
poshbaby... she is v slow. she just replied to my query after posting about 4 times on her thread and emailed her 3 times to get an answer *qi*

<font color="119911">busybee,
yah, juz sealed a gd deal but yet to collect

&amp; tat will b the 2nd set of playyard, my hse is so full of Nat's stuff *rolling my eyes*</font>

<font color="119911">cod liver oil :
oops...juz start Nat this week, she is ok with it but not a huge fan thou, we give her the plain yucky 1...kekeke

mommies, pls update us if it's ok for our toddlers to take cod liver oil now if u happen to check with PD, TIA

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee

Glad to know mini bee is feeling better today.

For me when my kids esp wenxuan is running a fever, I will take his temp very frequently like very half an hour. This is bcos whenever he is having fever, his temp would shoot till very high and it can go above 40 degrees (already happened twice liao). I will give him paracetemol (unless fever go beyond 38.5 will give brufen) every 4 hrs even thru the night. We have no choice but to wake him up. But then we only set alarm to wake up every hourly to take his temp during night time just to ensure his temp is not going too high.</font>

long time no post..in my 37 weeks leow.. Guess it's anytime soon..=)

Cod liver oil: we started ash on it. He hated it initially but now readily opens his mouth for it. Gives him 1 teasespoon after lunch and dinner. He loves it and so far so good =)

congrats Eelyn!! One more princess =)
congrats bluey!! One more addition =)
hope I din miss out any mummies.. Plus bb dust**to the rest tcc.. R&amp;R.. #3.. peifu peifu

ruffles; thanks for sharing the article. Nice read.

<font color="aa00aa">Jolly
Feel excited for you!!! I heard pple said the 2nd one would normally come out earlier than the 1st one. Get your bag ready. Should be anytime liao.</font>

<font color="119911">Jolly,
woohoo...it's time! how time flies...can't wait to c ash's didi

have an easy &amp; smooth delivery