(2008/10) Oct 2008

busybee,
Just called aprisin. They're not bringing in the cook and clean set anymore. A similar one would be bigger in size going for $489 when it comes in. The festival kitchen ($179) is from China whereas the set that I'm eyeing is from USA. So I think I can go ahead and buy the 2nd hand one if it's in good condition. Heehee!

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">XY,

I like ur idea.....

Actually sometimes I'm thinking will it be possible if everyone of us purchase a different set of toys (I meant those big &amp; bulky ones), then exchange them after 1 mth or so, then all the kids can have different toys every mth. Hmmm... Wondering if I work something out from this idea.</font></font>

mint,
FP products still quite alot. was surprised the dollhouse still have quite abit.

most of the toys left now are mainly for older kids. for aged 5 &amp; abv. spiderman, batman, hotwheels, barbie etc...

mint

Dunno leh... I'm not going to buy a kitchenette so everything seems kinda pricey.

springles

which cherie hearts? I think different branches can be very different. i heard the raffles place cecil street one is not bad.

hi sorry to interrupt
I have a BNWT Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Stevie (Black) selling at S$288 only and Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Jillian (pink) selling at S$268 only. All items are BNWT, comes with original Kate Spade dustbag, care card and hanging tag. For fast deal, please email [email protected]. Prices nego. Thanks

Do you have any professional moving company to recommend? I'm moving house... and any idea how much it will cost? I'm just moving my daybed, king size mattress, PC, coffee table, about 15 boxes of clothes and other stuff...

Hey there BBgoh!

I think Seline has such a sweet smile...
Dont worry, she will be walking and talking soon. Just keep talking to her and she will surprise you soon! As for walking, try bringing her to fidgets.
I realised Julian's walking skill improved very fast when he was practicing by holding onto the sides of the baby play area. Didnt hurt when he fell down

Hi R&amp;R mum, are the doll houses the same one u have for ur gals? Do u know how much? I wanted to get the Elmo medical kit from the sale but already sold out.

Hi whitepaper,
We use Soon Seng Transport last Oct, they are pretty efficient and fast. Very professional as well. Their price maybe slighty higher than other movers who using foreign workers, coz they are using locals. They charged us $550 (after nego) for moving my sofas, TV consoles, coffee table, wardrobes, queen size bed, 50 boxes and etc. HTH!
http://www.soonsengtransport.com.sg/

Springles &amp; Ginapy, I saw on a business feature on Cherie Hearts that the school compiles all artwork and updates on ur child into a personalised annual yearbook. Is that true? I made an enquiry but principal whom I spoke with and took my number nver returned my call.So I just conveniently drop the school out of my list. Care to share any feedback on them?

hi busy bee,

so far i only saw 1 art book that my son has done last week. He only started his Playgroup 1 class on 1 Mar.

In that lesson, they teach my son hw to paint (of course by holding his hands to guide him along), n they do some arts &amp; crafts (cutting shapes of dresses &amp; shirts out) and paste them on the activity book.

My son has been sick b4 he started school and has yet to recover, so he has been missing school quite often.

I somehow quite like the fact that they are very strict on the health of the kids. the moment they find that ur kid is sick, they will call n ask parents to send the kid back hm. But of course that means he was asked to send back hm quite a no. of times.

There is a communication booklet (a small notebook) which parents &amp; teachers can communicate. almost every other day, i pen down the comments n watever i think i shld let the teacher know, and they will always reply back to me.

But it all differs from individual centre. The centre @ east coast which i enrol my child in, is quite new and the kids intake is still quite small, tats y they are able to do that.

But after school hunting for 1 year for my 18mth old boy, eventually i still feel that the proximity of the school is very impt. All schools are the same, their curriculum is also quite the same. Ask yourself, hw much do u want your child to learn? i just want my child to interact with others, rather than cooping up at hm n face the maid all day.

ginapy, similarly i have selected a relatively new centre so am impressed by the attention for each child and the facilities. anyway thanks for sharing.

dimple
haa but I think blur is right. Still doubt he's an Alice fan. But think he likes Jhnny Depp so hopefully there's a little consolation there.

kitchenette
Is the LT one so good? I like jjmom's idea of renting one first.

R&amp;R mum,
Dun think so, coz we paid the deposit for boxes. But of course we got the $$$ back once we return the boxes to them.

whitepaper,
U r most welcome!

i din rent kitchen set for my girls coz i always tot tat girls should have a kitchen set. kekeke...

but i do rent other toys for them to play. slides, swings, little tikes houses etc.

Phantus, may i ask how early can u get boxes and start packing. I will be moving too prob in June, date not finalised. But was wondering if i can get boxes and slowly start packing

Karen, dun laugh, but i am just moving down the road! hahaha. Moving to a bigger place cos miki's papa want a bigger place for his princess. Or else cheapo me will be happy to stay put here!

<font color="aa00aa">Busy bee
My son is in cherie hearts too. Like what ginapy mentioned, there is a communication book for the parents and teachers to communicate. At end of the year there will be a personalised annual report for the student. Very frequently the centre will hold the parent-teacher conference whereby the teachers would update the parents of their child progress in school. LAst year, they also set a few goals for wenxuan to achieve. As what ginapy mentioned, this could differ from individual centre. One good point about the one which wenxuan is currently attending is the centre has given us the HP contact nos of the person-in-charge and every now and then, we can reach the person easily when we need to pass message to them. Sometime when I have to fetch wenxuan earlier or later, I just ring them up and they would get the boy ready.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
To add on, the centre has given each student a folio when the teachers will let the students bring back their works to show to their parents once every fortnight.</font>

Karen,hahaha. Nothing to shout about lah. Just moving down the road only.

Mousebb, thanks for sharing. I think the personalised annual report is a really nice touch. It helps document their preschool years, making a great keepsake.

Hi busybee
try moving ur clothes n minibee's clothes
first so less to unpack during main move. I moved last sec n boy there r so many toys! I think my boy has more stuff than me!

Vanilla, I was thinking of bringing our clothes last! So u recommend the other way around? Actually i am clueless on where to start, it seems everything is needed for everyday use!

Haha. I understand. Ask ur maid clean new plc cupboards first then u bring clothes first. Bit by bit like those mini bee does not wear often. So ur actual move has less boxes n u also less to unpack. Toys too if those put inside cupboards

<font color="0000ff">Wah seems like everyone is moving hse~~ hee hee..

Busybee,

How nice of yr hb to give Miki a bigger space, perhaps u can consider no 2 too! hahaha

karen,
renting the kitchen costs like $30-$35 per day. So more than 10 days of rental not worth it already. Can buy a brand new one with that rental money.

mint
but no idea if Jo likes it lei. But you're right hmm. Or shall I wait for you to buy then I bring Jo over to your place? :p we haven't had our playdate yet!

Vanilla, thanks for the tip! Now i am refraining from buying anymore things till the move. Esp bulky toys.

Bluey, well minibee is indeed Daddy's gal! I always say I demoted already since her arrival. So if there is a #2,I might become non-existent! hahaha. BTW how come u on MC? Hope you feel better soon.

Karen, U can bring Jo to Royce gym they have the works when it comes to kitchenettes.

Mint - I found a review of the kitchen you're eyeing online here. It seems that the original price point was usd $100. http://www1.epinions.com/review/Little_Tikes_Cook_n_Clean_Kitchen/content_247105752708
I think $140 isn't too bad a price if the kitchen is in good condition considering how marked up Little Tikes stuff is in Singapore.

mousebb - Nothing beats being able to walk your kid to preschool.
I'm actually considering Blossom Monte for my kids next year when I spend an extended period of time in Singapore because it's within walking distance. My son's old preschool moved to Sengkang so cannot send him back there.

Had an ob appointment last week and saw the new baby for the first time. I guess we really do have a new arrival coming later this year.

Koalababy, congrats! The first peek at the little one must have have been a special moment! My friend works at Blossom Monte as a Teaching Asst!

Karen,
Of course both you and Jo are welcome to play if I do get the kitchen. Heehee!

koalababy,
Thanks for the link. Just hoping that the seller will be willing to reduce the price further considering that it's an old model and preloved. There are no accessories so only kitchen structure available. Will be viewing the item this weekend to access the condition of it.