(2008/10) Oct 2008

busy bee,
imagine i carried Regine on my left arm. then squeeze her & myself among ppl. we got knocked a few times. yesterday was only the 1st day. today & over the weekends will have even more ppl.

IT fair
I heard my friends said it was very crowded.

argh. My maid washed my juicer motor part this morning! It's rather new some more. I took out all the parts and threw them into sink and told her to use cloth to clean the motor part which I didn't put in sink. And she still washed it. She yes yes yes and still did wrong. Asked her if my instructions were not clear and she said no. How how????

<font color="0000ff">Interested parties who want to get anything at the IT Show might want to check out tis site for its offerings/price w/o squeezing with the crowd

http://www.bootstrike.com/itfairsg/itshow2010/

I went to toy fair yesterday, not that many things leh..quite disappointed
i only bought a calculator toy from FP. I wanted to get the GPiano, the 15 dollar ones are defective, the ones in the box are 30 bucks but i thought may be bit late to get since our kids are around 18mths liao. the age range is from 9mths. the little people was quite nice but u got to spend 50 bucks for the nicer bigger toys, I bought those little pple farm house from ELC beforebut more expensive at ELC so i thought i could consider the FP one, but then i decided not to coz I'm saving for a good kitchen set.
they also have the zebra spin thing for 100.
its really dusty, prepare to get ur hands bit black!

JJmom,
my total damages is only $60.00.

but i manage to get my dream camera. fisher price digital camera.

and a barbie laptop for Regine.

there are really alot of little people products meant for 6mth - 36mths. but these items for such pricing abit not worth. for example the little people doll house, $50. inside nothing much for the kids to explore &amp; doing role play. i din buy.

there are alot of those tables &amp; chairs for our kiddos. prices are around $25.00.

btw the place is a warehouse. if possible dun bring kiddo along. very very very dusty. bring alot wet wipes. the items are dusty &amp; dirty.

<font color="ff0000">Karen</font>, you have my sympathy regarding maids. mine also drives me up the wall every single day. say yes yes yes, but can do wrong. and her fav is one ear in one ear out. Example, there was once she was focusing on phrasing a question she wants to ask me, and i happen to tell her some instructions that happen to pertain to that issue. She will yes yes yes mdm, then proceed to ask me her own question which I have actually just answered!!! how infuriating is that!

then keep telling her to check and double check if cannot understand, dun geh kiang. but sometimes she still does. toys she clean every day but i can find much dust or dirt in some parts still..

Once hubby and I questioning her how come the floors so sticky even after cleaning. She actually told us its coz we changed floor detergent. i got so mad coz for the whole time since we moved into the house we have not changed detergent. i told her so, and she still can ngeh ngeh say "but bottle bigger???" alamak...bottle bigger means diff? maybe diff packaging or bigger bottle leh? anyway, its not her fault lah according to her. brrrrrr...

<font color="aa00aa">My gal is driving me crazy. She only took a short nap (about 30mins) this morning and refused to nap again this afternoon. She keep making so much noise trying to wake her korkor up to play with her. I have to use a cane to warn her. Dont know what happened to her too these few days she only drinks very little milk without taking her solid at all. Sigh!!! This gal is really very difficult to take care!!!</font>

karen, daisybuttons,
i can totally relate about maids. our maids back home are like that too. when they clean, it's only those visible areas only. then when i went back i have to keep reminding them to wipe the high chair after rianne's every meal (they never do), wash rianne's bib (they never do) and when they wash rianne's sippy cup they never remove the spout. just wash, put detergent, shake shake, rinse...done already. faint. i have to do it all over again. then hor.. when they cook, they keep the good portions for themselves. my mum cannot say anything cause according to her better to have maid than none. so they just keep quiet.

r&amp;r,
i don't mind the blue one. but don't think i can go to the toy sale le.. been procrastinating doing house work all week. so have to do them now cause all pile up already.

Joanne,
Sorry I won't be going back so soon to the Toys Sales. but will be going back maybe ard the end of the sales period. I heard they will even slash the price down further.

Woo.. the FP camera looks good. How's the resolution of the pictures taken?
Anyone going for the sale? Can help me get a blue one?? Jurong is sooooo far!

i just enrolled my son in Cherie Hearts @ East Coast. He is now in the toddler Playgroup 1. Reason y i choose this school, bcos SIL has good ratings abt this school @ thomson branch, that i give it a try. Its also just 5 min walkin distance to the school.

Curriculum not bad, food menu not bad, and they have daily walks at the beach n playground as well. But however, my son has been sick b4 he enters the school on 1st Mar. n if the teachers &amp; administrator see that he is not feeling well, they will tell me to bring him home.

I quite like this area, its juz above East Coast Burger King, its very spacious n fully airconditioned. Intake is still quite low now, as it just open in Dec 2009.

So those who are living in the East Area, you might wan to go down n take a look. They are having promotion of 15% for 3 months (full day childcare), even cheaper than their half day..

Happy searching.

<font color="119911">FP digital camera :
looks gd

mona, don't underestimate your boy, u will b surprise...heehee</font>

Daisy/Joanne
ha ha. Yah why are they like that? Anyway I am a very open person. Anyway. Long story. I asked her why so unfair to me, giving slipshod work and I am trying best to be nice employer. She said she could not concentrate cos miss sons at home and want us to send her back in may. As we expected. Just that I think she is not being honest cause she told my mum she wants to work in families with school going children so I think she wants to change employer. Whatever. Guess it's time for another change for us.

Daisy, care to share the questions you asked during interview of maids?

<font color="119911">Daisy,
thanks dear *muach muach*

Take pics of Jaz with her hello kitty shopping trolley to show me ok?

Received the Gap PJs I ordered today. Now I know why u mummies like it soo much. Fabric is sooo comfy. Any mummies see any more BPs for the PJs? Its seems 4T is too big. I need to get 1 or 2 sets for her to wear now.

R&amp;R, the camera looks cool. Saw it on sale at SK Metro the other day. But got talked out of buying by my aunt who was with me. How much did u pay for it? I am still deciding b/n that and the little tikes digital video camera.

Karen, so sorry to hear more maid woes, but ur current one really a bit strange leh. U should consider replacing. Maybe switch Agency since their record so far hasn't been great in sending a good one to u.

Daisy, dun mind lunch. Minibee only has class on fri next week as its term break. She is progressing to Playclub.

Any mummies use humidifier in the air con room for your bubs? The haze has caused minibee to get allergies. Causing her to get a sltight rash and runny nose. Thinking of buying a humidifier cum air cleaner.

Karen and joanne, i dun think i am a good example as I thought my prev maid was perfect until that thing happened. so i think no set of questions is foolproof sigh. but basically i will lay out the scenario at home, the age of my kids, and ask her what does she think of taking care of small children. i will lay down ground rules like no hp, allow mthly call back, no off day, and ask her if she ok and observe her response very carefully. some maids say yes but dun mean it, can tell from their expression and tone. also, i will ask qns like does prev employer scold her often and for what issues, how does she feel if we correct something she does (again, judge her sincerity of her answer loh), what did she cook for baby last time, and ask her for her daily schedule when she worked for prev employer, to find out if she was very busy and hardworking a not. i will wanna know if she has friends in SG, how she contact her friends last time etc. then sometimes, if the timing is suitable, i will bring one of my kid along, and see how she interacts with them. once i interviewed a maid whom seem alright on the surface but when she played with my boy she seemed halfhearted, eyes roving everywhere but him. so no go. i dun need her to "love" him lah, but just have basic affection for kids in general.

What about you? mind sharing what questions you ask?

JJmom, yes i am so excited about the trolley, hope Jaz likes it! ok if tonight got time i take pics for you! heee!

Karen,
can lah. kids are pretty hands on de. you will be amazed!! my Rachel already knows how to use camera phone to snap pictures when she was ard 2.

busy bee,
i paid $50 for the pink &amp; $40 for the blue. i know recently metro has sales. i heard from a friend of mine, the camera is selling at $30. is a good grab too.

Joanne,
the FP camera is only a 1.3 mp camera. in internal memory card can stores 60 pictures. you can put in SD card to increase the space.

busybee, happen to have just bought a huge purifier coz of the haze, so learned something about purifiers that i tot can share since you asked. we were looking at the very sleek looking Sharp humidifer with plasacluster (purifier), very chio looking, and the sales person say dun bother coz the fact that they combine humidifier and purifer tog, the purifier components spoils easily coz of the moisture. kinda makes sense, so we didn't buy that.

R&amp;R, i think its a great toy. It would be wonderful to see what kind of pics our little ones take and see things from their perspective for a change. Now i shall check the little tikes one to compare. Yeah u are right SK Metro was selling the blue one for $35 but in really old packaging.

Vanilla. thanks!! I shall contact her. Ooh I know her, she bot from my bps before! hee hee.

Daisy, i have the delphin machine which works as a air purifier too. So I am thinking maybe just get humidifier. Dunno if those cute animal design ones are any good. Which did u get?

<font color="119911">busybee,
yeah! get to see miki soon again

yah, my colleague also talked me out of getting this FP camera, say his son is using the real thing &amp; tell me not to underestimate our toddlers, they know how to handle it properly de wor...

my sis bought a air cleaner, think it's osim, for her gal during the previous bad haze periods. She has gd reviews for it.</font>

JJmom, hee hee. I will load some pics of her at today's graduation party. She dressed as a bee! Thanks for ur feedback on air cleaner. But am looking for humidifier as it seems the dry air irritates her nose...

XY &amp; Pildough, confirm that Miki loves porridge cooked with dried scallops. She wallop 2 bowls yesterday! Normally I am lucky if she eats 3/4 bowl. But i was ks and got helper to wash it many times!

Busy bee
I agree creat is wonderful. Pricing is good too.

Daisy
wow so detailed. For me I usually only tell them what is expected of their jobscope. I don't need her to look after Jo so that is not a problem for me. As with my current one, I allow handphone and gave her off every Sunday so again no problem in that aspect. I just want an obedient one who follows my instructions with no attitude. And be hardworking. Like this also very hard to find.

Oh maybe go to the Matteo sale. Hee.

Joanne, the porridge was cooked in a slow cooker and we added brocolli bits, carrots, salmon and dried scallops. We put the fresh ingredients in last but place dried scallops in to cook with rice from the start to stew for flavour. Not sure if its this is the way to handle dried scallops cos its my first time using it.

Karen, dun scream but its on sale at Toys R Us now. I think going for $129 plus. Does it take still shots? It is not cheap but will wait and see if she is keen to use my old 2 megapix digi cam first. If not waste money!