(2008/10) Oct 2008

Jelly, yeah i am keen to see how the M&D kitchenette looks like. But I also keen on pram and baby. Which did u get?

Dimple, yes go bug ur MCYS friend. Its ridiculous! Abt visiting 3 to 4 schools. It feels like house hunting then can compare and decide. Hahahaha

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Ash is currently with LNT attending a wkly hour class, they change their activities very fast but guess Ash juz get bored after a while...tht's why my hb has his hesitations when I say I wanna consider putting Ash into a half day program hmmm...

Oh thanks Ruffles and Buffy!
I will get off my arse and call Pats today

No one else considering Pats Ridgewood? I know its rather run down looking... but the reviews are good otherwise!

Lilbluey, my friend has the same prob at LNT. She concluded that her boy is too Vivacious for the type of lessons at LNT. So she is switching to JG. LNT has interesting lessons but i heard not high energy, maybe Ash looking for something more exciting. For us JG is like attending a mini rock concert. With loud music, lights and the works. I considered GUG/LNT too but my little ants in pants would prob not take well to the class cos very structured. Look for the right programme for preschool, one that will work for Ash. Dun worry, I am sure over time he will learn in the social setting.

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Probably so, will be stopping him after tis term becos they are oso moving their premises. Might look into other alternatives for him for the time being.

Thxs will give it some thot

Hello, don't mind if i join you all? I have a 2 sons 6 and 17 months old - born oct 2008. I have been reading this forum and found it very useful. Kudos to those mommies out there who has been doing such detailed fact finding and posting it here for all to share - about raising kids and finding the 'right' school. Not everyone has the time to do that or the energy to be so generous.
Thank you mommies for sharing! i have been reading all about the fact finding on schools and have found it so useful. of course we want to be as hands on as possible with our kids education. sometimes with other siblings around, it can be tough - not impossible of course. and i like the fact that mommies here take the time and effort to find the 'right' school. it gives us working mommies a peace of mind.. Thanks once again mommies for sharing!

Har? What about full day childcare? I meant whatever schools you send your child to, I feel the parent should reinforce whatever was taught at night or during weekends if parents are both working. Didn't mean home schooling is better than childcare /preschool

wow the thread is moving so fast!

busybee
thanks for your email.

Actually I went for the talk yesterday, mainly to know what the cause of concerns are. I'm expecting 100 words or so from Jo come 2 yo. Is that too much? Heh heh.

Karen, not too much! hehe, yeah hot topics today!! I think if given right stimulation the sky is the limit. I am aiming at the same mark too. I too attended the talk to listen out for concerns but am comforted, that minibee is doing alright and we are moving in the right direction. So time to buy Kitchenette! hyiak hyiak!

busybee,
I was thinking of renting the kitchen set (like the one in JG) then see if Regina likes it. If she does then can consider buying. If not, I can just return and save my $$. Haha!

purpleangel,
Sent to you the tips.

Re: notes for the talk
What I was told was we have to wait for them to send us the newsletter. The notes from the talk will be inside. They usually don't give out notes on the day itself.

mint
is tke skool house by the bay nearest to us? Wanna go together (then I can take advantage of your inquisitive mind)?

today thread is very active.
So much talk on preschool.

Slacker mum me cannot contribute. Will not read also coz i dun wanna feel even worst. Haha...

<font color="0077aa">XY: hey, I wanted to tell you that Marcus looks like a "little man" now!!! He gave me "give-colgate-ad-a-run-for-its-money" smile which was so cheekily cute! He looks so grown up now from when I saw him 6 months back. Hee....</font>

XY, u not slacker mum, lah! Dun say that...

Mint, u know how miki loves the kitchenette, she is always at the corner during every playtime. So no need to trial for me.

XY,
I think I'm worse off! I've only brought Dylan to 1 trial class at Bibinogs and that's it! I've not go into preschool search and etc! Just going to head to the most convenient one that's it. No searching high and low.

karen,
dimpletot said you siao... hahaha!

dimpletot,
Ya miss having the nice long lunches that we used to do. Haha!

busybee,
Actually Regina also always at that corner. haha! Ya, I should just get it lah. Daddy is so gonna nag at me again. I mentioned it to him before that we should get one and he said that she can go there and play with it. Haiz!

karen,
schoolhouse by the bay is in the east side. Under the same umbrella would be the learning ladder which has one in Bt Timah (Highgate Walk). Think it's at the Toh Tuck area.

zyandzc

welcome! you mean yr other is 6 yrs?

so you should have survived the whole pri sch registration madness?

Or 6 months, which makes you the Oct mum with the narrowest age gap between kids that we have here!

Jelly,don't think so lah. They normally love taking the play food in and out of the cart and transporting from one place to another! lots of rooms to buy add on toys.

Elch,
High 5! I only registered for the playgroup at my house downstairs. Haha... hope they are ok. If not, then DIE! Thinking if i really wanna send Marcus there when he turns 18 months. That's like only 2 weeks more.

Buffy,
Haha.. little man? Hmm... i think he looks like a baby still. Lack of hair. Cate is sooo advanced in her speech! Impressive!

hi bluey - think ASh knows u have a baby so extremely clingy to u...hmmm why bbs all the same har?

wah.. yest i let cry - aiyo cry until nose dripping w mucus my bed wet w his tears and saliva..i keep thinking aiyo aiyo nose later blocked then whole nite he will toss and turn and fuss...

hi dimpletot - nice to meet u too, ya i recognise u from ur FB pic. Oh Kate is cranky too?

hi purple - i use the spritzer by spraying on his pillow and round the room... i think i need the calming one too!

hi busybee- i just bot the chamomile extract - is it a bottle? hope it is the same as what u have....

thanks busybee-- ok correct one! thanks!

hi purple- yes i am waiting for it to buy home clothes for my son! haha..he is still wearing his 6mths top ..

<font color="0077aa">daisybuttons: u looking for regular one issit? u sms me? my HB used to use one and they'd come and collect wor...

XY: yah lah, last time when I saw Marcus, did he have more baby fats? Of course he still looks baby-ish but a bit more grown up. And then he gave me that smile and showed me his set of pearlies. Heee.... so cute. hahahahahahahaaa... Cate ah, God's gift lah. Though sometimes her chatting gives me a headache. But cant complain 'cos my mum said I was the same as well... *karma*?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies
How many of our toddlers here are wearing size XL diapers? Recently have "upsized" my gal to XL diapers. She and wenxuan are wearing the same size now!!! Imagine the gal is 8.8kg and wenxuan is 12kg! The gal still look small (for her age) to many pple but then she is very "you liao"!!! </font>

Mousebb,
Marcus is around 11kg, still wearing Huggies Comfort size L leh.

Buffy,
Yup... marcus only grew taller. Fats all gone. Look thin now. Haha... except for maybe chubby cheeks!
U can really talk to cate. And she responses to u also. Well done!

XY,
I intend to put Dylan in the childcare when he's 2 years old which is in Oct so I've yet to sign up any. Am I late?

mousebb,
Dylan's been wearing XL before he's 1...he's not called 'Dua Pui Dylan' for nothing by my brothers!

Hello mummies.. ;)

On kitchen toys/trolley sets, heee recently I oso gotten Kaelyn a Hello Kitty shopping push cart!! ;p Soo cute but have yet let her play..soon soon... ;)
I oso gotten her a Cleaning set as well!! *LOL*
Hub was saying me soo bo liao, even wan to teach her to clean up!! But the set soo cute...got mop, brush, trolley to push oso...so hard to resist and I told him why not?!! Can teach Kaelyn to help me clean up next time!! ;p

mousebb- Kaelyn still wearing Fitti diapers size L, she's 10kg.. ;)

XY, elch- Me oso a slacker mum, not doing any search on pre-schooling yet...;p

<font color="0077aa">purple: i am heading down tomorrow 'cos I have a late lunch time conference call so will eat in and then use the lunch time to visit the fair 'cos I have been in touch with one of the exhibitors there and I wanted to pop by in person to ask about some stuff before committing to purchase.

Additionally, am hoping to look for some wooden toys for C to play with. I think the damage tomorrow would be HUGE. Anyone heading down like 2+ or so?

XY: Ya, strangely, Cate and I do have "conversations" and the signing helps I suppose 'cos when I do not understand some of the things she says, I will tell her "sorry baby, I do not understand. Can you show me the sign please" and then I get it. Last night, she said "white" which was a totally new word and I was not expecting to hear that so I could not decipher and then she clarified it by signing to me - she pointed out that the curtains are white. Am actually looking into taking up and being properly certified in signing. Maybe I can be involved in church again where I can share my experience and the benefits I had with other new mummies in baby signing and teaching them that.

I think you'll be great at teaching people signing Buffy!

I didn't really teach Jules many signs, but he cracks me up when he shrugs his shoulders and has his palms up to say "Where?"
Most of the time when he wants something, he just points and goes na na na, na na na...

XY,
I'll be placing Dylan in one of the childcare centre near my mum's place at Bishan instead of Punggol. From my mum's 'observation' when she brings Dylan for regular morning walks, most likely will enrol him in YWCA but I've yet to enquire about vacancies yet though...

Buffy,
I'm inspired by Cate and you signing thus I've been searching for Signing Times songs via Youtube since months back when you once mentioned about the Signing Times discs you let Cate watch. In the midst of searching there's this sign song titled 'More, Milk, Please' or something which Dylan likes and picked up those 3 signs after watching it 2-3 times...that's about the only 3 words he signs...haha!

<font color="aa00aa">Actually my gal can still fit into L diapers but then I observe when she wear L diapers, each time when she poo, her romper would get stained so I tried XL for her for a while and it is ok. I only tried drypers. Have not tried pampers and the pull up pants. Wonder will it be too big for her. As for night time, she is still wearing L size mamy poko. </font>

<font color="0077aa">yay! i finished my last meeting for the day!!!

Bigflamingo: thanks for the nice comment and the vote of confidence!

Elch: u should try buying the disc. wait till u watched the whole thing, u will see dylan signing a lot more and in cate's case, the signing actually did help with her speech development. Just to share, I have been teaching Cate colours for months and just started showing her the DVD on colours perhaps a month back? She can now sort out colours when I give her the stacking rings. It is just amazing how much she benefitted from it and that we can have conversations around topics such as day to day things to animals to colours to farms to fruits, etc. personally, it has been a wonderful journey for us