(2008/10) Oct 2008

Karen, how come not bringing Jo?
Tot I could let Miki play with her!

mint,

Paiseh paiseh. Cause my maid thought ur hubby is coming on Thu as I have instructed her that. So when ur hubby came on Friday, she thought different ppl. Haha... Cant expect them to think logically. Instruction must be very clear and precise for maid. But at least for my maid, she follows our instruction, no such thing like she think, she feel that blah blah blah.

I have a discussion with hubby about Tong Tong's pre-school education and he suddenly feel that PCF is not good enough. Now, I got to vex over it. Any recommendation for good school around Bedok area?

ypg
so sorry. Have not transferred the money to you!

Your maid is rare. Yah both my previous and current maids like to say they feel/think. I kept on saying to current maid 'just to follow my instructions and you won't go wrong. Don't need to think too much.'

busy bee
hmm, it's her nap time and I think better for her to stay home or she will be cranky.

Karen,
$2.3K not ex ah? 3 times a week only leh... plus like what busy bee said, for that price can pay for JG's playnursery which is 5 days a week. Wonder how different is the curriculum for play nursery vs chiltern's.

You not bringing Jo? Then I won't bring Regina. Heehee! It's not everyday that I get to have the time-off for myself. kekeke!

ypg,
Ya, it's ok. Only when my hubby explained that he was supposed to come on Thursday but couldn't make it then she ah! have have... heehee!

busybee,
went back to look at the archives and found the list:
Monday's Talk plus brunch:
1. mint
2. Karen
3. Busybee + mini bee
4. Dimpletot + Kate
5. Joanne + Rianne (brunch only)
6. vanilla (joining us for brunch?)
7. XY + Marcus
8. Jellypurin (brunch only)
9. Buffy + Cate
10. Monyetnakal + Jonathan (most probably brunch only)
11. Wan Chuen + KJ
Have added wan chuen's name in.
Brunch venue: Tanglin Mall. Need a place that can accommodate 11 adults and 7 high chairs.

everafter,

Left a message at ur FB. My hubby is working around Sengkang area n he can send the HT stuff to u today.

mint,

Envy u all, can go for the talk. I want to go cause Tong Tong speech development really slow. She starts saying quite a bit in Dec (when I am at home). She even manage to say ah ma mum mum (2 different words) when she is feeding my mother some food. But now, she hardly even say ma ma (me) and she seem to only know how to say WOW. Me getting a bit worried.

Can u please email me the notes if they do give some? Thanks.

<font color="0077aa">hey mummies, after the talk, do u think it's a good idea to head to botanical garden for brunch pinic style? How many mummies are driving? If we have about 4 cars, we are good. Just a thought.

Mint: ya, planning to meet u girls there.

So long never post anything here. not sure if any of you do remember me cos I don't usually post. Its so nice to know that you mummies have established such good friendships and support.

Would be great to join you all here in discussion as well as your gathering but now I'm in Sydney. Life is different here especially being away from family. No one to ask when face with difficulties as a mummy. Like all of you my little girl is also starting to throw tantrums and there was a period of time really frustrate me and hubby. Was grappling around on how to help her but few around to ask as we just settled down here. Will be good if I could join you all.

Getting worried that most mummies here are already planning school for your little tots. Me haven't plan yet for her when we go back to Singapore. Like ypg need recommendations for pre-school in bedok?

Ypg the HT is here? I've paid but haven't heard from you.
when is a good time to collect from yr place? Weekends can? Thanks!

Monday's gathering: Mint, thanks for adding my name.

Possible Venues: cafe beviamo /oompatico / chilli's or Botanical Gardens

1. mint
2. Karen
3. Busybee + mini bee
4. Dimpletot + Kate
5. Joanne + Rianne (brunch only)
6. vanilla (joining us for brunch?)
7. XY + Marcus
8. Jellypurin (brunch only)
9. Buffy + Cate
10. Monyetnakal + Jonathan (most probably brunch only)
11. Wan Chuen + KJ (brunch only)

ypg,
I just want to assure you that kids really vary in their speech development.

My baby isn't saying much either. I just try to speak to her as and when I can remember. I am quite a quiet person even with my own kids, but with my first kid, I was more talkative as I compelled myself to talk to her for her benefit. As a result, she's rather linguistic. But for this baby, I must admit I haven't really spent alot of time talking to her as I often have alot of things on my mind and forget to talk to her.

I thought speaking and reading are similar in that when they start, they just go all the way.

I tried to get my first kid to read without success when she was in K1. She wasn't able to recognise the same word in the next line or the line after next. I perservered and continued to get her to read and read to her. Towards the end of K2, all of a sudden, she started reading ferociously and she finished Charlotte's Web at the end of K2 and started reading Harry Potter at P1.

By sharing this, I hope you will be assured about Kai Tong's speech development. Don't be too quick to think that she's slow in her speech development. Sometimes I can't help but think that babies who start speaking early are but the minority and are stimulated very early in their infanthood. I got a colleague who did flash cards with his baby at 3 months. At 10 months, she could read 'Apple'.

I have another colleague whose kid stammered very badly when he was 5. The PD merely asked the parents to give him more time and he outgrew it after a year.

My baby only started walking on her own these few days. To many, it's late, but I am not anxious (despite being a high-anxiety person) bcos I really believe that babies can and should take their time to develop all these skills ie. motor, speech.

rains,

Thanks for sharing ur experience. Appreciate that. But I supposed for all 1st time parents, it is simply easy to get anxious about our child development. Even if I am an educator myself. Haha... Besides the statement that a 2 yr old toddler should use 50 or more words really scare me out.

Also perhaps cause I am hearing impaired so there is always a constant fear in me that I worry Tong Tong will not be able to hear or speak. Haizz...

<font color="0000ff">nicky,
saw the report on last nite news, these 2 r really siao!!! Poor bb to b borned to these parents

buffy,
the botanical gardens idea is nice but with the horrid weather lately, i think some place with air con will be better. Unless halia is open.

<font color="0077aa">mint/Karen: no worries about the botanical garden idea, just thought that our toddlers may enjoy running around instead. Mint: u not bringing Regina ah?</font>

buffy,
I won't be bringing the rascal tmr. Let hubby 'suffer' for half a day. Haha!

icylemon,
are your girls in LV at IBP? Any feedback?

Just to check whether has another uses CB Cold &amp; Flu Bubble Bath before? want to find out whether good to get it or nt.

By the way, may I also check what are the body wash that you are using on your bubs now? I have been using seba med bubble bath due to bub's dryness in skin... so tot of changing her to others now... TIA!

Hi Buffy and Mint:
I have PM you my hp no, if there are no updates at this thread regarding tom time and venue, can you sms me to let me know? Coz I won't be attending the talk and don't have any mummies contact no. Thanks

ypg,
I always throw those 'what your baby or tod should do at (blah blah) age' out of the window bcos I feel that most of the time, it is written by ang mohs and not always accurate. It's not accurate for mine at least and I don't want to stress or fret myself out over all these. For me, enjoying the baby and tod is more important

I think it's bcos I think that babies are just about the only natural object in our human world so I feel that they can't go wrong in their development if they are normal babies. I believe Kai Tong goes for the physical assessments right? The PD or doc should have checked if she has hearing impairment. You don't 自己吓自己 lah. It's always like that lah - when you worry, usually it doesn't happen. My sister was born with cleft lips and the gynae said she had 40% to 50% chance of having a cleft-lip baby. We thought the chance of having one is very high since the gynae rated it as 40% to 50%. But all her 3 boys are perfectly fine.

True. First-time parents tend to be more anxious. I remember myself getting anxious over everything including her height and whether she was still alive when she was sleeping. I checked on her a few times during her nap, and later on, I realised my mother and sisters also helped me check on her by shaking her during her nap times. So her naps must have been very disturbed ones. That time didn't have singaporemotherhood to verify with anybody somemore, so anyhow拉扯the baby up, and she's alright, saved for her asthmatic condition and weak lungs.

purple,
Usually I use Gaia body wash and shampoo and after that, moisturise with Gaia moisturiser but if my mother forgets to return to me, I use Anaku given by the hospital.

<font color="119911">purple,
i uses CB Cold &amp; Flu Bubble Bath whenever i find the weather cold or when i see Nat not in her 'top' form...kekeke

i believe it helps a little

For body wash I use GAIA too. wonder how much are they selling GAIA in Singapore. Thought its cheaper here. By the way, do you mummies use a different wash for the tots face?

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies. Mint, thanks. See u girls shortly. We are out real early today cos I needed to send my HB to work and he had a meeting at like 830. Will be making my way to Tanglin Mall shortly to just walk around a bit first. Hope she does not turn cranky and can last thru brunch. </font>

I still waiting for my boy to wake up so might be late.
Oh didn't know got cold and flu bubble bath. CB is California baby?

<font color="119911">calla,
yes, GAIA is, like any other stuff, more ex in spore
I don't use a separate wash for my gal's face.

jetudes, yes, CB is California baby

<font color="119911">ohh...thread will b super quiet today
with so many mommies on leave for the gathering...sob sob</font>

good morning mummies.

i m so outdated. juz read the news abt jack neo's affair on the new paper. my colleagues told me tat the news was out on saturday le.

so disappointed with jack neo. heartless man. his wife already bear him 4 beautiful kids. how can he do this to his wife.

actually i have another pov against tat model. not pretty somemore. kns!

morning mommies, its MONDAY! Bleh!

Mommies going for brunch, think Oomptico has very very few high chairs. they used to have only 1-2, but now a few more, but dun think can accomodate 7 kids heee. enjoy yourself at Chilis!

Purple, I use Buds for my kids when they small, then change to Gaia. But my girl cannot take Gaia, she seem to have quite sensitive skin and Gaia a bit harder to rinse off. so i use back Buds.

Calla, heee i dun use much soap to wash my girl's face, mostly water.you in Sydney now? How's the weather? when PD heard we going auss in July, she commented that that should cure my son's prolonged cough coz the air there is cleaner and dryer. she suspect my son's prolonged cough is due to sensitivity or childhood asthma. but she said better to go now instead coz weather good. I am very tempted but too busy to plan!

JJmom, you bored ah? join them loh....heheheee....

may i know how many of you with girls are using conditioner now for their hair?? i didn't bother at all for my boy, but find my girl's hair (coz long mah i think), tends to feel dry and will tangle. any comments?

South Korean Internet addicts let baby starve
AP - Sunday, March 7

SEOUL, South Korea – A South Korean couple addicted to an Internet game about raising a virtual child were arrested for neglecting their real 3-month-old daughter and letting her starve to death, news reports said.

The couple spent between four and six hours every day at Internet cafes in Suwon, a city just south of Seoul, and bottle-fed their baby only once a day, the Yonhap news agency and other South Korean media reported, citing police.

The couple found their baby dead on Sept. 24 when they returned home after playing online games at a nearby Internet cafe all night, Yonhap reported.

The 41-year-old father and his 25-year-old wife, both jobless, went into hiding at a relative's home north of Seoul after a police autopsy found the baby died because of a long period of malnutrition, the report said. Police arrested the couple on Wednesday, it said.

"I'm sorry to my daughter and hope she doesn't get sick in heaven," the father was quoted as saying by Yonhap.

News reports said the girl was born prematurely, weighing 5 pounds (2.25 kilograms), and had spent one month in an incubator.

The couple, who met each other through an Internet chat site, was reportedly obsessed with a role-playing game called "Prius Online" in which they nurtured a virtual girl dubbed "Anima."

Calls to the Suwon police team handling the case rang unanswered Saturday.

daisybuttons,
i m facing the same problem too. though i have let Rachel tried shampoo tat is 2 in 1. her hair is still very dry. now i have applied Dove conditioner on her after washing her hair. is much better.

as for Regine, i have no problem. her hair is pretty thick &amp; soft.

The tods not exactly 2 yrs old yet by May, but just to share.
<font color="0077aa">LEGEND OF THE MAGNIFICENT MOON Toto Tales (UK)
Recommended for Age 2 to 7

Long ago, when all was night, Moon shone with colours shimmering bright. But then his jealous brother Sun stole them all, yes every one!

Help Moon find his colours then create your own kaleidoscopic world.

Based on traditional African tales, The Legend of Magnificent Moon will give children a special chance to create something artistic to take home at the end of the show. Aside from giving her audiences a good time, Edinburgh-based Mara Menzies of Toto Tales is also dedicated to sharing the rich bounty of tales her heritage has to offer. ‘African stories are still often passed down using oral tradition, so accessing them can be quite difficult,’ she says. ‘These stories have worldwide appeal and I try to subtly introduce ideas through the scenery, language and characters. It’s a way of sharing my African culture in the most positive, interesting way I know.’

About Toto Tales
“Bringing African Stories to Life!” Toto Tales was founded by Mara Menzies in 2007 with a desire to bring African stories to life. Life began with a picture book entitled ‘Koko the Crocodile’ and storytelling sessions ensued as a way of promoting the book. Since then, Toto Tales has grown to become Scotland’s foremost African storytelling company and we work with artists, musicians and performers across Scotland. Toto Tales has been invited to Newcastle and visited Karnatak, South India on a story sharing initiative sponsored by Global Concerns Trust. To date, it has created three theatrical storytelling productions all of which have premiered at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Koko the Crocodile, The Legend of Magnificent Moon and A Most Curious Quest.

Date : 18th to 23rd May
Venue : The Atelier, National Museum of Singapore
Duration : 45 minutes including a 10 minutes workshop</font>

so sad to hear about jack neo's affair. i hope he understands that adultery is a very serious thing!

mommies going for lunch later
sorry, what time are we meeting?

jelly,
i can say tat mr neo's wife very wei da. she knew abt the affair a year ago &amp; she pins hope tat mr neo will get himself out of the shit. but sad to say... mr neo didn't.

lilbluey,
ya, tat girl is young. 22 years old only. i oso pity the wife &amp; her children.

i feel tat the so called model wants fame over this matter.

Hi Buffy!
Sorry bout the spam! So embarrassing! Had to be a Viagra ad dammit! ahha. I changed my password, hopefully that will do the trick.

Jules is still very clingy to me in class at bibinogs, so after this term I think I will take a break from sending him to class.

He get distracted very easily and still goes around trying to open the door or pulling the chairs out. And he doesn't talk at all, yet at home he is so chatty! So i reckon he is not quite ready for these kind of classes yet.

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Must be lar, wat else... but then I think she failed lar~ becos like you say, she dun even have it in the looks' dept, so wat she's a model?!

tsk tsk...jack neo oso bad taste wahahaha ;p~</font>

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R mum
The gal is almost the same age as Jack's eldest kid!!! Old enough to be his daughter instead!!!</font>

lilbluey,
ya! this jack neo really bad taste. at least look at tiger woods. all his women are at least chio. this one really CMI.

mousebb,
really?? his elder kid so big liao ah??

Oh and Buffy,
I had been quite slack in arranging pre-school for Jules.
I more or less have decided on Pats Ridgewood, based on reviews. But have not even arranged to have a look around, and it's within my estate..tsk tsk! i keep forgetting...actually i dont even know what age they are supposed to start nursery/preschool....