(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff6000">jelly,
tat's what i was doing to Nat too when she does something tat i deem dangerous.

but now i m wondering could Nat have picked it up from me? m trying to avoiding doing this at least for this period.</font>

May I know what are you going to feed our kids during CNY visiting? Are you all going to cook and bring out their usual porridge or they just eat what we eat?

<font color="aa00aa">Hello, mummies!!!

elch
We will try to let the kids have their food at home before we go for the CNY visiting.</font>

<font color="ff6000">elch,
Nat is gng to have both but of course, it's her usual porridge 1st then some adult food tat's suitable for her

<font color="ff6000">salt, soya sauce :
any mommies adding a little bit of salt or soya sauce into our toddlers' porridge liao?

My own mom &amp; mil r telling me it's abt time to add a little for Nat. According to them, it will give more strength tat is needed for walking? hmm... (-_-)???</font>

Afternoon mummies!! ;)

elch- Hi five!! ;p I ve been thinking of this issue since last yr!! *LOL* Think not enuff time to cook porridge to bring out to feed unless I get up real early to cook the porridge lor but unlikely!! ;p Cos oso worry tat the porridge will turn watery based when ready to consume. Cos I think by late morning, we will be out of the hse liao lor... Think other alternative to try is to cook pasta/noodles bah... But hor I have decided on wat to cook and bring out liao.. ;p
Think I will make steamed tofu, mashed it with potato, some veggies like corn/pumpkin/carrot/broccoli etc, depending on ur bub's preference and viola!! Done!! ;) There's protein and carbo at least! ;) I tried it out and Kaelyn is ok with it and eats it!! So think will do tat and it's easy oso.. ;)
But I will oso bring some jar food/bread/milk out for her...else oso let her eat wat I'm eating but healthier choices.. ;D
Hope tat helps...

Else mummies can contribute their ideas!! ;D

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies, am having a blue start to the day. the stupid lemon unit of a laptop died on me again. its like my 5th time in my 9 months here and it is brand new! worst thing was i had a net conference at 715am and i could not log on 'cos the machine could not boot. so, brought it into the office and try again, could not do so either. turns out, boss sent an email from AU to request for finalised marketing budget for this year which is due at like 3pm and I was scampering like a headless chicken. sigh... just wanted to offload</font>

JJmom- I haven add any soya sauce/salt in Kaelyn's meal yet but if she's eating wat I'm eating, there's orie the presence of some salt in it liao... ;) So think I'm delaying the use of salt/soya sauce in her meals if not necessary lor. Perhaps until the time when I cook our meals tog and she's eating the same as us then no choice lor.. ;)

But hor sometimes I will use the organic yeast free veggie stock cubes to add in her porridge stock. Wil use this occasionally and if I haven make any new/fresh veggies stock. Cos this cubes have bit of salt content le..so at least occasionally I ve exposed her to bit of salt at least.. ;p
Like this veggie cubes cos the porridge oso turn out nice and fragrant.. ;) Heee at least it's gluten &amp; lactose free, no artificial additives and it's oso suitable for vegetarians! ;p

<font color="ff6000">nicky,
oh yes, u reminded me abt the use of better quality salt! i better get some healthier choice 1s for my inlaws place, to cook for Nat.</font>

mousebb, JJmom, nickypower,
I'll be out as early as 8am on CNY Day 1! How to cook/feed Dylan before I head out? Think I'll bring some jar food to mix with rice/porridge that's available at the host's place!

<font color="ff6000">elch,
oic, we will be at my parents &amp; inlaws place most of the time so it's rather easy for us.

other relatives places, mayb only after Nat has eaten &amp; napped.</font>

JJmom- Heee can try organic salt!! *keke* ;p

elch- Oh ok tats early... ;) Yalor can consider bring jar food out else eat watever there is at the host's place!! ;)

Nickypower,

u may want to be careful with tofu. I realise that tofu "stink" real fast.

CNY visitation
I'll just let him eat watever i'm eating. I , think Marcus is big enough. Afterall, we'll be having steamboat. Sounds and feel healthy enough for me. Keke... else, worst case, i always standby jar food and instant rice cereal packets.

XY,

i love steamboat. i think for Marcus. he can eats fishball, slice fish, minced meat balls. should be ok lah. ai yo... i m drooling le...

heya mommies
will just feed rebby with food b4 visitations... she can hv steamboat as well...

jjmom
my mom believes in seasoning the food, so rebby had been hvg food seasoned with salt or soya sauce...

My MIL also season the food. She claims that Marcus won't eat things that are bland. So w/o fail, every morning she will boil soup/stock to prepare his porridge or rice or noodles. Steam fish, she will add abit of soya sauce or marmite or brovil, or with tomatoes etc.

When i alone, seems like anything goes for Marcus leh. Haha... but since MIL enjoy preparing, i'm not complaining. Keke...

r&amp;r - Lunch was nice, short &amp; sweet. Only myself, jelly, dimple &amp; joanne + rianne joined. Rianne is sooo sweet &amp; teh

CNY food - Will go out only after her morn nap; then she will eat mee-sua w chicken soup &amp; egg at my mom's place. Dinner - back home; noodles. It's easy for us now as she takes the same food as us some days. Just need to ensure it is soupy with some tofu / egg / meat.

jjmom-1st time i hear of salt / soya providing 'strength' to anyone! hee. More like sodium leh.

XY,
You reminds me that I should prepare those instant cereal packs! Mine's not kapo-ed one but buy one though...haha! I'm going to get the Rabbit brand brown rice cereal that comes in individual packs!

Naps:
Are most toddlers here still taking 2 naps? Sometime last month, Dylan started consolidating his 2 naps into 1 nap which lasts about 2 hours...

hi elch - i think some toddlers now just need 1 nap of around 2hrs... i do that w my boy during weekends..weekdays i let my mil and mum impose on 2X nap cos the old folks need their break and cook his meals.

as they r older they nap lesser cos they want to learn, play and absorb more things... oh of course roam about...

gina ford said to let them lead in dropping naps...

vanilla,

as our kiddos grow bigger, they will sleep lesser.

Regine used to nap twice a day. now only once. in the afternoon.

good for me. coz during weekends morning, i will bring my girls for swimming. then afternoon they will sleep like piggy.

r&amp;r - Vicky takes mee sua, mee tai mak, bee hoon, kway teow, jap udon noodles. She is an Asian baby. Hates pasta.

Nap - I force her to zz twice in the day cos I feel it helps them grow. But some days she wins .. and ends up damn grouchy by 7pm. Night time she zz 8-830pm.

<font color="0077aa">re sleep. wah, this one is close to home. C sleeps v little since young. by little i mean since infancy, her naps can be 20 mins type. and lately, at night, she refuses to sleep at 9+ anymore. for the whole week, she has been sleeping at 11+ despite me coaxing her from 9+. can die..... grrrrrr

re mee sua. its cate's fav. hands down. she does not like porridge or soft rice anymore. she finishes a whole bowl (the ikea kids plastic type?) when we cook it with that shredded chicken, carrot, celery/onion stock. bee hoon, she does not mine but mee sua is her fav.

i also use the same stock and cook it with the baby pasta? she will finish like 3/4 bowl but no where as impressive as mee sua...</font>

R&amp;R - haha...then mummy got sleep too or not? not pig but sleeping beauty?

ya weekends by the time our morn activites end, bring him home makan lunch then he sleep... so no need rush him back for morn nap...

dimple, jelly, ruffles,
great seeing you all!

ruffles,
hihi.. thanks! good thing she was in a good mood earlier.

mph at raffles city got renovation sale. up to 90% off. bought some board books for rianne. will go back again,

hey buffy - forgot to thank you for trying to co-ord the Gap pjs. No worries it can't pull off

I CANT WAIT TO GOOOOO HOME!!!!!!!!

ruffles
me too... esp aft seeing rianne, i miss my monster at home
gd thing, we r gng shopping w my parents later so am damn happy abt it!!!

<font color="ff6000">buffy,
i was juz abt to ask u how long does Cate toss abt b4 she sleeps coz i m running out of patience coaxing Nat to sleep (-_-)***

she took nearly 1&amp;1/2 hr last nite!!!

experienced mommies, will they get worse as they r older??? coz tat seems to b the case

elch? what abt your boy?</font>