(2008/10) Oct 2008

jjmom/tweety
You mummies are lucky. If I were to get black for my CNY clothing, my MIL will not give me peace. There was once I put on a black shirt for Jo, and she was already so sarcastic. She commented, "Today in black eh. So nice ah." I knew better than to take that comment at face value. But I ignored her. LOL!

hi mousebb - my bb had a throat infection and the doc gave this herbal medicine - syrup form called Kloba...v.v good. took 1 week and it helped. u can ask ur pd. I mixed into his juice and let him drink. Maybe u try giving WX juice? apple juice not oj cos he has phelgm.

if he does not want milk, try some chicken soup? add some carrots for him -- can give him some Vit C as well... dun worry abt the weight, he can put on fast and loads when he recover.

Hi Pil - hope abby has recovered....

CNY Clothes - same as Karen....i hv bought so much clothes it is a matter of discipline not to wear some now for my son --> to keep for CNY. for myself --> Yeah can fit back to normal size for dresses but pants still need 1 size larger..the perpetual fat around my waist is there for good..sigh!

jjmom,
where did you buy your CNY clothings? thinking of buying some for my friend. i already bought rianne one but in HK. not sure where to buy here though.

<font color="119911">karen,
no lah, i can't wear black for CYN too, even if i don't care abt my MIL's thinking, my own mom will nag &amp; insist tat i change.

i meant i did buy new clothings for myself recently but most in black colour so not suitable for CYN = nothing for me for CYN yet =P</font>

<font color="119911">Joanne,
u mean for Nat? I bought at the BP thread &amp; fox

i saw mint's regina's CYN dress, vy sweet. Mayb u ask mint where she bought it

JJmom,
Poor Nat and mummy.. Hope she can go through this stage fast..

I don't know if ok to wear black for my side. But I doubt they dare to say anything abt me coz I'm too fierce.. hahaha...

mousebb
how is wx

re: cny clothes
me also bought some, all maternity de... rebby's cny's clothes also bought liao since 2008...so actually they are all old clothes not worn at all!

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks, mummies! Wenxuan temp has gone down today and hopefully it will not go up again *touchwood*. But he still has no appetite for food and can see that he is very restless cos he keep telling me that he wants to sleep. He drank 140ml fm this morning. Hubby said in fact if the boy wants to sleep it is better for him cos ample rest is still the best medicine to recovery. He is still having a sore throat so whenever he is feeling uncomfortable his tears just flow down his cheeks. I feel so heartpain and helpless whenever I see this. Sigh!!!</font>

MOrning!

Hi Mint and Karen,

I still need yr details tho...hahaha. Help me out by choosing your own FB pics lah...I have so many mummies on my list I am afraid I might just put the wrong baby photo with the wrong contact details!

<font color="0000ff">Hi All,

Mousebb,

It muz be tough on you, hope WX gets well real soon! Hang on there ya, if there's too much phelgm I suggest you go to the medical halls and buy the "Hou Ning San" it's quite effective in reducing phelgm. Too much western medicine is not gd for the health. My boy previously had tis issue when he was sick and when the western med isn't working I put him on it + pearl powder and I do see the improvements after a few days.

Most imptly, give him as much fluids as possible.

Jelly,

We just practically buy and buy dun we?! Wahahaha ;p~

<font color="aa00aa">re: cny clothes

Already settled the kiddos' ones. The kids have so many sets of new clothes which I think can last them from 1st-15th day of cny. But the problem is most of the clothes are still too big for them esp for wenmin. Now that wenxuan has lost a lot of weight I'm afraid those jeans and pants will be too loose for him.
As for myself have recently bought 2 tops. Still have a few new tops in the wardrobe but I guess those are too big and if I wear it, the relatives may start to ask if I'm pregnant again! Hahaha!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Bluey
Wenxuan has lots of phelgm and sometimes he could cough until he vomitted the phelgm. This boy only likes to drink ribena and no other drinks! On Monday night when we brought him to the GP, the GP told us since the boy only likes ribena then just give him plenty of ribena to prevent his body from dehydration.

Today my boy has another problem. He is having diahorrea. Wenmin is down with flu. Have given her the flu medicine and hope she will recover fast cos I really have no energy to look after 2 sick kiddos.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
This is bcos you still have plenty of time to short for #2!!! When I was expecting wenmin, i also had not shopped anything for her during the 1st trimester. It was only around end of 2nd trimester when I started to buy the gal rompers and dresses for her. </font>

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

Probably the buying for #2 has not yet started lolx ;p~

Guess after CNY when you confirmed that 99% is a boy, it will start heee...

Mousebb,

If WX is having alot of phelgm, go easy on Ribena. Give some warm water at intervals is the best.

Looking after a sick child is never easy, jia you! Try to get some rest when your kids are napping.

<font color="119911">mousebb,
it's actually gd for WX to cough out the phelgm, he will get better quicker this way. Really have to let him take more ribena since he is also having diahorrea.

Sleep is gd for him, feel less painful &amp; recover faster.

oh dear, WM also down with flu. Must b tough on u mommy, take care yourself too, take vit C &amp; more h2o *hugz*</font>

bigflamingo,
ok will select and email you the pics this afternoon. Thanks.

karen,joanne,busybee,
friday is on for me. Next fri wanna meet again also can haha!

jjmom,
the dress i got for regina was from the bp by cuteeland. Heehee!

cny clothes,
My hubby just went to shop for his cny clothes last week, regina has hers so left with me. Haiz! Damn sad lah. Feel like a cow so any top/dress i put on just reminds me of my jiggly bits then no mood to shop anymore. Worse some size xl i cant even fit. Urgh! In times like this i wish that i'm uk or us where i still might be able to squeeze into an m size.

Karen, yeah Minibee has lots of new clothes too. But I wanted to get her something oriental. I think tea tomorrow is confirmed. Mint reminded me yesterday.

jjmom,
my mom also like your mom will sure say why wear black on cny etc. My mom is not the pantang sort of person but her reasoning is it's a festive occasion so wear something bright or cheery. Plus she added that there are so many other days in the year to wear black. But she's ok if it's black background with some other colour on the fabric. Haha!

mint
Sigh I know. I am so fat now, all clothes look ugly on me no matter what. Sigh. Why bother. So my only consolation is to dress Jo up nicely!

<font color="119911">mint,
yah loh, actually think my own mom will react more than my mil. My mil likes to act tat she is the modern aunty kind + she won't really 'dare' to scold me direct like my mom will. Think at most my mil will make some comments but she knows my character quite well by now, 1 ear in the other ear out if i m in the better mood if not, will cannon back =P</font>

<font color="119911">mint, karen, busybee,
aiyoh...y u mommies think so -ve abt yourself. U guys look fine to me lah, all sexy mommies (^_-)v</font>

JJmom, I hate the muffin top look i have now!! Mid section woes...
I can fit back into pre pregnancy jeans but not w/o looking like a muffin top lor. I need to get the flowy tops to hide my flaws.

Abt shopping. I saw the most luxurious baby shoes ever yesterday at the Cole Haan boutique!! So nice, but they only have up to size 4!
My consolation is that that detered me from even considering! hahaha

Karen, class ends at 2.30. Do u guys want to meet at Forum or maybe we can go dempsey?

busy bee
By the time I get home and such, I will only reach town around 3. Plus I need extra time to coerce Jo to get into her car seat now
she's so against being in the car seat, all of a sudden. So stressful.

I'm fine with both Dempsey and Forum.

On clothes

yah i prefer dressing kate up and enjoying getting compliments on her clothes. haha. no time to shop for my own anyway...

kate's first day CNY dress this year is gonna be the pink cheongsam I bought last year but was waaaay too big for her. this year just nice! second day and third day just anyhow pick out one of the new ones bought long ago but haven't worn yet.

<font color="119911">busybee,
guess most of us have the same problem, my tummy is still like 3mths preggie if i don't tuck it in *cry* no more body hugging tee for me =P

sometimes i wear a thick belt to 'disguise' it.</font>

<font color="119911">karen,
tat's the problem, only the tummy sticking out, look like preggie leh!

I so scare tat ppl will give up the reserve seat for me on the mrt so i have to breathe in &amp; tuck it in like dimpletot said...wahahaha</font>

ooh, dempsey sounds fun. Been ages since i last went there.

Anyone planning to celebrate valentine's on feb 14 which coincidentally is 1st day of new year?

karen, mint, busy bee,
where in dempsey? i'm ok with forum.

jjmom,busy bee,
me too. hubby kept on asking me if i was still preggy. grr. i slimmed down, but my tummy is still sticking out. plus my boobs aren't that firm anymore. arggghh!! no more tight fitting clothes for me.

mint,
no valentine's day celebration for me. haven't celebrated it in years. frankly i hate the crowd when going out on valentine's day. most likely will just celebrate cny and valentine's day at home.

Ooh.. interesting topic this few days. My bra size also became shrink. Pants size increase. So now more like a pear figure..

Babybites scissors:
JJmom, thanks for the link last week. I only managed to place an order this week, lost track of who is sharing with who. Anyone who wants a pair let me know.

Biggflamingo:
Will look out for the motherhood mag when its out. Can I PM you my son's pic and details to try?

My 1st 2 lessons at Bibinogs were also not good, KJ cried and whined at every little thing that even the teacher asked me what happened. Hope tom, the 3rd lesson will be better.

Babysitter:
Just to ask anyone got contacts for part time babysitter? As in ad hoc kind that can come to my place.

Babyvicks:
Did I rem correctly that it is not available in spore? What is the other brand that works the same?

<font color="119911">jetudes,
u can get babyvicks thru the spree or WTS thread in this forum

i juz bot 2 tubs from spree to standby.</font>

CNY clothes:
Do you find that now with a toddler on hand, its more restrictive to buy clothes for ourselves? I must find those with higher necklines, so that I won't get exposed when I bend down to pick my son, or when he pulls my top. Bottoms, also cannot go for skirts above knee lengh, difficult to squat. I don't know what I can wear this year.

One sua ku question:
What kind of cheese should I buy for cooking? I don't eat cheese at all, what is the difference between cheese cubes (blue cow brand) or the cheese blocks, and those at the gourmet counter? I don't know which one to get, even cheddar cheese has so many different variations.

<font color="119911">jetudes,
yes, i m facing the same problems when buying clothes for myself too. Have not bought any tube/skirt after giving birth to Nat.

Plus having a kid beside me, i don't want to dress 'too young' in case ppl said i try too hard to pretend tat i m (-_-)'' but neither do i wanna dress too old since already looking so haggard *cry*</font>