(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">mint: ai yoh, thats a very sad story... I cannot imagine how I will handle it if anything were to happen to C. There was one day when I was at home and my HB and I were watching cable. A father was interviewed on how he lost his son (very young then, like less than 10) due to surfing when he was attacked by a shark. It was very scary and now that I am a parent, I can feel so much more man... He was tearing and his voice was quivering when he was interviewed and you can hear the grief and regret in his voice on bringing the son there to surf despite that there were warnings on some shark sightings.

My HB has a colleague who was not at work for a few days last year. When my HB bumped into him again, they chatted. And apparently, his NB premmie did not survive and the wife was seriously depressed, etc. Ai yoh, my heart dropped when my HB told me that and I teared despite that I have not even met his colleagues before. Sigh...

Karen: wow, you are inspiring. I am still in a limbo as to whether to quit or not to be a SAHM. One of my friends is a child pyschologist and he said that there is a great difference between a kid who has a SAHM vs one that does not in terms of emotional development, confidence, values, etc.
And I do enjoy my time very much at home with C. But there are a lot of family commitments hence sigh... am weighing and calculating v carefully</font>

buffy,

i am really into being SAHM, but on the other hand i would like to work too... being at home with arielle is a real enjoyment to me. Esp during the whole week when i am on leave. I could see her growing day by day..n those new things she learnt. its a fruitful experiences for me. This is what i called quality time with her.....i enjoyed it so much! thats y this week am back to work, i totally do not hv the mood to wrok at all ..sianz

<font color="0077aa">Trace: Me too! I was enjoying my time at home for the past 2 weeks where I was working from home here and there and had the time to do more with C. Now C is able to sit down and patiently listen to me finish one simple board book.

It is things like this that makes it hard for me to come back to work though of course, having the moolah is good lah!</font>

hi buffy - so sad for ur hb's colleague. My fren's bb is also premmie (now 25 weeks in NICU). we are all praying that the bb will be strong and be discharge once she reaches 2kg or till full term of 40 weeks. this is my fren's 2nd bb which is premmie. her 1st daughter is 28 weeks. I understand how she felt cos when we mummies discharged our bbs dont go home w us and we are so worried we cannot bring bb home. at that pt i could not think of full mth celebration cos not sure if i can get to celebrate that w E. It is v v scary n sad.

<font color="0077aa">vanillapod: ya, and i think it is not easy for my HB's colleague also. 'Cos as a HB, he has to be 'strong' to support his wife but yet at the same time, he is still grieving. It was their first bb.
I think the wife is still depressed.</font>

to you find that your life changed when you are a mother now?

properly some of us here are really chiongsters to like to go clubbing. maybe drinking sessions with friends or movies or ktv.

but having kids really changed our lifestyles.

places that we will never step in more than 3 times in our life maybe now &amp; then we will go more often. places like the zoo, the birdpark etc.

<font color="0077aa">jelly: u here? i saw that you also ordered the gaia products. the lady stays v near me. if the BP is confirmed, do you want me to pick up for you and I can meet you in town rather than you having to travel to pick up esp now that you are preggie? let me know lah.

daisybuttons: hey babe. when you want me to pass you the cream?</font>

R&amp;R,

wad a vast change for me! hahahaha...but nw...boring lifestyles....everydae goes to work, home, play with arielle..sleep n goes to work nxt day...so routine!! but my hub still goes drinking with frens once a week though but i do not hv such luxury! y huh??? haiz...

hi buffy - ya..i understand how he and his wife must be suffering. If they have a religion, encourage them to seek solace in it. For my hb, he became closer to God. I think best have professional counselling for his wife too, or find a support group. her depression cld also b hormonal cos she has given birth. there is a mummy i know she had her bbs via IVF, never reach full term and she lost 4 babies...allpremmie. She gave up hope and almost give up God, but i found she had a healthy bb girl same yr as us. I think God has His plans for us ...in sad times we dun knwo why, but He will give ur hb;s colleagues a gift soon.

Hi R&amp;R - yes..i have no more "me" time all become "E" time..haha

R&amp;R,

and no full 8 hrs of sleep..last time was busy waking up to pump milk. Nw is waking up at nite to check on arielle's blankets. Make sure she is well covered..hahahaha..cos she loves to kick her blankets. Faint

Trace,
hahaha... you har. that's the difference between a mom &amp; a dad. mother will "xi shen" more than the father.

we are "wei da" de mummies.

Vanilla Pod,
Tat's why when i m on leave, i dun inform my hubby or mother. coz i want to have some "me" time too.

buffy
am here... been reading n no time to post... so damn bz at wk...

i know kylie_mummy. my bro goes BTP everyweek for dance so he can collect for me. thanks for the offer

re: sahm
maybe rebby is v demanding and difficult to control, i find it v hard to be a sahm though i know it is rewarding, but like many of u, i love the moolh that comes into my pocket!

trace
u n me "lao lu ming"... we care so much for the family we dunno how to hv fun anymore... my hubs is still out w friends occassionally and goes out drinking too

Trace

PM-ed you...

Tods sick

Kate went to see PD yesterday and got her first dose of anti-biotics. He said bacterial infection cos fever went down for 2 days then suddenly came back again. Now with meds he said should be well by tmw. Really hope she gets well!

it's so tiring looking after a sick kid! my hubby got a bit sick so very hard to look after her too.

so in some ways I was really looking forward to going to work today. :p

karen

wow big decision... yah nothing can be better for the kid than to be looked after by mummy. But these days I'm wondering what's best for mummy... cheap and fantastic child care I suppose.

Vanilla,

this morn i am doing weird things. haha..usually arielle will wakes up ard 7.45am to 8am..but today she decided to sleep in. Ard 8.15am..she still sleeping soundly. U din see hw often i went to check on her...and to see if she is breathing..hahahahahahhaha......silly huh?

jelly,

no choice...dats y i always i complained to my hub. Hw i wish i can just go out like u..so siao sa...but i cant. when i am out with frens for dinner. I make sure i am home as early as possible

trace
i consider it a luxury when i can go for scrapbooking classes and a 2hour shopping trip in town w/o rebby, but i miss her when she is not with me of course! but i seriously miss catching up with my friends. i feel almost guilty that i hv 2 leave rebby to the care of my mom all day!

morning mummies

Mint
So sad to hear what happened to the gal.

juz came back. Brought aless to pd for review.he is clear of bronchitis. Still got alot of pheglm but lungs ok. Victory. So happy.
And oso sent ey to school and sent hub into taxi to go to airport. Haiz. So lonely now

Tweety
$500 for a term. Mon to fri, 2 hrs.

Icy
My life changed 360 degree. I used to go dancing every weekend and movies 2 or 3x a wk. Luvd my freelance job.

re:pediped
i can organise the spree but i must try cecking out using my SG CC.

how many of u r interested? i need 3 pairs for free shipping

trace x 1
karen x 1

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: i do not know the couple personally so will have to ask my HB to perhaps talk to him a bit.

R&amp;R: i du have a life now. and because my HB does not have a driving licence, I am the official 'ahmad' for the family hence any drinks is out of the question and i used to drink quite a bit to chill. sigh... these days, i will schedule some 'me time' during lunch time when i go for yoga. i am so dying to have a massage and a pedi/mani plus heading to the salon to do my hair.

jelly: no worries and you are welcome.

EY: glad that he is OK now. I just recovered from my bout too so I can only imagine how bad it would be for such a young tot. Lonely ah? Update your blog? paint your own nails or just relax with a good book!

jelly,

for me is..usually i goes shopping esp aft my client's appt. haha..dats a luxury to me! :p

let me knw if your pediped spree is on... u not getting? :p

<font color="0077aa">rains: are you the same rains that ordered the gaia products? i din see it till now. i work in Raffles Place area so if it is more convenient for you to meet around this area, i can pick up for you too. Let me know lah.

trace
i have to get if it's just u n karen interested ... btw, i am gng by borderlinx, so i cant estimate the shipping. but base on sg-us rate, think each pair may come out to $60-70. u n karen okie?

hi R&amp;R -- haha..."gao cao"..must learn from u
but when i at home i will do housework...

hi trace - haha.. it will be a good suprise if my boy sleep in.. if wkend he sleeps to 745 i am damn happy...i also do breathing test on my son when he naps more than 1.5hr..haha..at least not as bad as my fren she uses a small mirror to see if got vapor..haha

Now my shopping is buying clothes for my son.. i have no new clothes...even my mum cant standit and ask me to buy for myself (a big surprise cos my mum also frown on my shopping ability)

hi dimpletot - hope Kate recovers soon. If she is on augmentine she will have runs so more water for her

vanilla,

wah use mirror? haha...she still refused to wake up when i am leaving for work. So today she haven see mi yet
sad

<font color="0077aa">hey mummies, i have been looking around for simple chinese story / board books and I realised that the selection is actually quite linmited as compared with English books which has tactile stuff, wiggly eyes, etc.

Do you mummies have any suggestions on where I can get interesting and simple ones? The Popular bookshop at my area has only one shelf for preschoolers and half of it is was too advance for C + it carries a lot of flash cards instead of books. Any recommendation? Thanks!</font>

jelly,

thks! i go bk take measurement 1st. hv decided on the design already..hahaha...am tiking if i should take the original or flex..original seems to fit arielle just nice...hmm

<font color="0077aa">Re Pediped: mummies here find it good? Any feedback on it? I have not bought any for C from this brand but I have 2 pairs of Jack and Lily for her - My shoes range. Is Pediped better?</font>

hi buffy - haha i bot 1 pediped for my son.. haha..stocking up his shoes but he cannot walk yet! for walking now shoos shoos still the best..pediped and jack and lily is good when the bb can walk unassisted

<font color="0077aa">Trace: ohhhh... ok ok. Pls let me know 'cos the 2 pairs that C has are both till 18 months so I will need to buy her another 2 pairs when she outgrows them.

The Jack and Lily ones are quite good so far: flexi soles and non slip too. Here's the link in case you mummies are keen to see: http://www.jackandlily.com/c378006187.2.html</font>

buffy
Im not a mani/pedi person unless got special occasion. Im too cho law.

Pediped sg
Its overpriced by the sole distributor. I used to sell a pair at $45.

Buffy
I dun really like pediped but the designs are very nice. The velcro is a headache. Ey loved to play witg her pedipeds...opening and closing the velcro until spoil. Then they are so ex.

seems like most of you really missed those "me" time. hehehe....

as Trace said lor... is a routine for me now too.

Jellypurin,

I think I would find it hard to be a SAHM too. Mine is also very demanding. I am totally exhausted on weekends by him, esp since he only takes one nap of 1 and a half hours a day Yet I also feel guilty being away from him.

A half day job would be perfect!

buffy
think for chinese books, best to ask ypg but she's happy being a teacher again!

Jelly
Yay, I think I want Nadia. Been eyeing that for a long time. I will go take measurements and PM you before 3. Need to go for lessons soon. Zzzz.

Pediped
Never tried before but seems like a fave among Americans. It's a hit among US mummies I know, unlike Shoo Shoos. But I do like Shoo Shoos.

karen/pedipeds
The designs are very nice and quality is very good and it comes with a nice box. Its those movie stars, advertisement gimmicks.
personally i dun really them.

i did a v shameless thing. i asked the spreer to give me the discount code for pediped... hope she gives me, cos it will save us alot of moola...