(2008/10) Oct 2008

trace
hee, it's okie. if can save lets save together mah! i hope she gives me leh...i told her i organising the spree within my thread...

<font color="0077aa">bigflamingo: i think i wanna be a Work from Home Mum instead. :p

YPG: is our Mdm Yeow here today? can advise me on Chinese books? :D</font>

flamingo,

haha same here...i am here too for 6yrs!

mint,

yr bp is up wor! but no details yet..am keen to knw the cereal

Hiya Mummies,

Been sometime since my last post, hope everyone had a good start to 2010. Hugs to babies who are unwell. Hope they feel better soon.

Mint, so sad to hear abt the child.

Pedipeds, read lots of good reviews too. Was really keen to buy them. Too bad we missed the Make A Wish Promo they had where some designs were only going for USD19.00!!

Gain IQ... the medical hall is retailing is for $49.30. Believe they try to outmatch the supermarket deals.

Huggies Ultra... Cold Storage promo 2 packets for $25 plus! Superb deal.

Happy New Year to all mummies and babies
May all our wishes come true.

For me, I hope that I can be more patient with my boy, especially now that he is getting notier. But of course health is most impt so take care all! Hope bubs who are sick (wx, aless) etc can get well soon!

Buffy,

Is it even possible to work from home? Unless you run an online biz. Everytime I try to check my email, Julian will grumble and try to climb up onto my lap so he can bash on my keyboard! haha

Wan Chuen, ooh being more patient is also one of my resolutions for 2010. But broke it already yesterday. I was stern with minibee as she was being cheeky and avoiding her milk and bedtime. She burst into tears when i reprimanded her. Calmed down when Daddy consoled her but burst into tears again when I spoke with Daddy. I think she gets really upset when she knows I am upset with her. Only when I cuddled her and "reasoned" with her and told her why I was angry cos it was late already. Then she cheered up with a big grin and cuddled back. I think I really need to be more patient and watch my tone to avoid any backlash on her psych (if it has impact!).

Jelly, try googling on discount code. Normally the discount code websites have codes for big brands.

Buffy, of course can share!! I bot from the Jin Tai Tang medical hall.

hi mint - for happy bellies cereal how much discount are u giving for oct mummies? Haha want to stock up big time if price is good

hi busybee - haha patience is something v lacking for me now worse when bb is getting more cheeky. my son has that "Shriek puss in boots look" - watery eyes when i raise my voice at him.

<font color="0077aa">hey busybee: where about is this medical hall located?
hey babe, there are some lesson plans which I previously used and relocated. u want me to email you so u can try with busybee?</font>

Bigflamingo, even if you run an online biz. From personal experience, I find that its hard to balance, child minding, chores and biz. I end up having to check orders, answer emails etc late into the night when bub is asleep. So it can get quite tiring.... I heard from friends a lot of the IT firms like IBM have great work from home packages for Mums. My old firm(bank) had a work from home option when child is sick or when one has to leave early but again hard to balance. Too bad they did not have a long term work from home option, otherwise I would have grit my teeth and stayed on. So I feel, being physically there but not spending quality time, defeats the purpose?

<font color="0077aa">big flamingo: whenever i work from home (which is allowed once in a while for my current job), I will get my helper to engage her while I finish the urgent stuff first. C will run around lor, touch things, terrorise the 2 dogs, etc.

when i am done, then i will read / do craft work / watching signing time dvd with her / sign / read rhymes, etc. she will disturb me once in a while lah, but with a helper there, it helps. Heh</font>

Vanilla, I know what u are talking abt. I call it Minibee's Puppy Eyes look. But my hubs and I will constantly remind each other to be more patient.

Buffy, it near my place in Sengkang, but I believe they have brances all over? Abt lesson plans, I would love that. Do u go to any particular website to get these plans?

Busybee:
Its difficult to keep our cool when facing our babies whole day. Especially when we know its for their own good, like my boy , he like to shake the fan despite repeated warnings! Not bad, mini bee can understand reasoning. I think our babies can detect the displeasure in our tone when we speak to/ about them. So let's hope we can keep our resolution!

Bigflamingo:
I learnt not to use my laptop when my boy is awake ha ha. There was a few times I placed it on the floor, he stood on it. Groan.. Anyway I agree Work from home Mums are not easy.

Busybee and Buffy,

Oh i see, i see... Hmmm. What I was thinking of doing is doing canvas paintings for kids rooms and selling online. Dunno if it is a viable biz. What does everyone think?

BigFlamingo... There are a few pple doing it already. Cos I am in talks to redistribute them on my Personalised Boutique. Honestly even for myself I would not say the income will be fantastic but its extra funds for BP shopping and for daily treats. Definitely not for paying bills ( i feel) unless u are huge distributing business. Hope I am not dashing your hopes. If u are keen I am happy to work with u to list ur stuff. Let me know. PM me !

Wan Chuen, yes we must. GAMBATTE!

Busybee,
COOOL! I will Pm you and have a look at yr website and get more details from you.

Don't worry, you haven't dashed my hopes...Artists are supposed to be poor and starving right? haha!

Anyway, I am not quitting my job yet. But I would like to start exploring options...

Big Flamingo, yes check my site out. Webbie not mega updated tho. I need to get my act together!! Hahaha. Still in festive mood.

Fake vs Real Laptop.
Sooo true. Minibee knows. She will be playing with her Vtech lappie and will start kpo-ing mine when she sees me working on the laptop!

Hellloo mummies!!

Am so tired lah...
Yest nite Kaelyn was sooo notti and fussy!!
She wakie in her sleep and started to fuss and cried from bout 2am+ till 5pm then she KO!! *faint*
In between she wanna play and keep calling Papa!!
Sigh hope tonight not another episode! ;(
Else I will lay flat on the floor!!

busybee/Wan Chuen,
I need to remain my cool &amp; be patience oso!!
busybee, same as u, when I scolded Kaelyn and raised my voice on her, she cried and when I complaint to my hub on her, she cried again! Sigh!
They really get upset when they knew we are 'angry' with them and need our cuddles to calm them down! =)

hi jelly - oh dun feel guilty - i have smacked my son's hands/palms, thighs and buttocks so many times. Smacking on palms sometimes have o effect cos he thinks i am playing w him.

jelly- Heee yalor dun need feel guilty.. ;p I oso smack Kaelyn's hands etc when she's notti. I feel the need to discipline/teach her now, else she's getting notti and riding over/bully me!! ;p
Nowadays kids are smarter hence I just feel the need to start teaching them the Yes and the No.. ;)

rebby's character is v strong... she usually just cries and fusses if i dun give in so smacking her helps sometimes... but she nv learns... goes back to the same old
i have a v hard time disciplining her...

<font color="0077aa">busybee: i reply to you separately 'cos MIS needs my lappy to upgrade a security software since previously my hard disk crashed.

I dun really use the lesson plans wholesale, actually only started recently realising that there are some nice souls out there who would post them up to share!

My theme for the past month was fruits. For this month, it is animals which is loads easier - Books can be Brown Bear (by eric carle), some zoo sparkly books that I have got, and then craft work could be paper plate lions, etc. I also ordered from OTC with Jelly for some hand puppets (12 of them) which are also animal based so this comes in handy when I explain to C that Zebra has stripes (she calls them "bra" hahahahahahahaha... how obscene is that?) and point out that elephants have a long nose that is called a trunk / tusk, etc.

For chinese part, will sing to her "Liang Zi Lao Hu" lor when showing her some flashcards / board books and naming the animals in mandarin. Hope that helps.

Buffy, dun laugh at me. But I dunno lyrics to Liang Zi Lao Hu.Really share share the sites. I feel now they are like sponges. Great time to engage them in as much as we can!

Jelly,am reading a book, Positive disciplining now, I believe consistency is key. Dun worry, many of us going thru the sme thing, our toddlers are now discovering more and are trying ti assert themselves. I believe in setting boundaries too. So dun feel bad. Spare the rod and spoil the child!

<font color="aa00aa">Was "fighting" with my son the whole day! His butt is so sored due to frequent pooing and each time I clean his butt, he will scream and struggle and even ran to hide. Feel so tired!!!</font>

Big flamingo, now that u mention, i think we could be all wrong??!!! Oops... I can't remember the lyrics. but was it San Zi Lao Shu? hahahaha

dimpletot,
Hope Kate gets well soon. Like vanilla said, augmentin causes the runs so keep her hydrated.

icylemon,
I also have no more 'me' time let alone 'couple' time. Sigh! My 'me' time is very restricted to just a few hours. No more sleeping for 10 hours in a row, massage, facial, etc. I now get to do mani and pedi once a month after throwing a tantrum to my hubby cos he always has his own time but I don't.

In the past, hubby and I would just walk to West Mall on a weekday evening on a whim and buy tickets for a movie. And since Regina came, my last movie at the cinema was Transformers 2. So looking forward to my movie date tmr. Woohoo!

vanilla,
Have pm-ed you.

busybee,
Talk about disciplining, Regina has horrid tantrums. She would scream and cry if she doesn't get her way. But she does know that I'm angry at her. Usually I'll just walk away and go lie down on the couch and pretend to sleep. She would come over and rest her head on my chest. Sigh! How to stay angry like that? But she will really know how to test my patience... cos when I warn her not to do something, she will turn, give me a cheeky look and try doing it again. Really full of antics.

I have also smacked her on her butt a couple of times cos she just simply refused to change her diaper.

mint

are you watching avatar? we also sneaked out to watch it heh.

yah it really makes a difference to have some me time. for me, even 30 min massage once a month would be a good break - not to mention my aching neck and back really needed it.

discipline

for me the dangerous thing that I don't like kate to do is to stand at the base of the standing fan, cling onto the trunk and keep pressing the on off speed buttons on the trunk. i worry that as she gets heavier, one day the fan will topple on her.

i think my solution might have to be to build a barricade around the whole fan.

hi all ... just came back from my 3 weeks holiday

cannot catch up with what going on in the thread.... back to work already, missed the time spending with my boy during the holiday.

mommies
pediped discount expired on 31 dec like what dimple said, but if u all dun mind, u place order first. i ask the people from pediped if they can offer me a discount should i buy over x number of pairs.

interest for pediped
karen x 1
trace x 1
lennie x 1

anymore?