(2008/10) Oct 2008

buffy,
this lady i think is desiree called me ytd and ask me wan to sign mah but i told her will only sign when shawn is 18mth so she said if i am looking for wkend class then next yr they will hv new time slots so ask me to call again by then.

everafter,
u really onz leh.. but again thats bcoz we r single then and now our time = precious time with our darling.

chris,
ur ash is another fortunate one.. envy

ruffles,

can u image ASh is boy if i got girl, i think i will go bankrupt...hahahahaha

cheerbear,

some is bought by my mil... some are bought during sale.. like today i bought that is 50% off... so worth it....

<font color="0000ff">Chris,

U got the BBB virus instilled in you, wait for your No 2, if it's a girl! lolx ;p~

chris,
i think if ur #2 is gal, u really will go bankrupt with all the additional accessories which gals will hv/like more than boys... from hair bands, clips, etc.. too many to be named.

cheerbear,

ya loh... all my friend say so..hahahha but is veri good can dress them up.. boys always the same...hahahahhaha.. girls got so many things... from head to toes...hahahahha

Cheerbear : opps, you let out my lil secret..actualli he has more..i jus dug out more from the storetoom =p gosh.. can 'fight' with Chris already..

tok more later..ashton jus woke up..gonna bring him out for tea..heee..ahh..loving my off-days..tata~ =)

<font color="0000ff">Chris,

Wahahahaha ;p~ next time dun let me catch you ya *wink wink*

Dun say too early hor..

<font color="0077aa">Cheerbear: ohhhh... I din know desiree called you. she is the founder lah. about time they have new time slots man. seriously. this time slot sometimes is a bit tricky for cate 'cos I think most of our bubs nap around this time. Hence, thats why I am always late! Hahahahahahahahahaa... Always end up missing the warm up time.

Trace: oh, u waiting for forest ah. Forest gg this weekend I think... I go yahoo her and Kaypo... kekeke</font>

<font color="0077aa">Buffy
i m kiasu one hehe She nvr call me then i so scare after read yr post tat yr sat class is limited slot, then i called her to keep for me </font>

everafter
I will send out tml...thks.

Ypg
No prob. Its always good to listen to other ppl opinions. There isnt really a right and wrong after all, all parents and kids are different, and we are in different situations.
:) in these days, i dun comment much abt these things anymore. Its really difficult to understand unless im in their shoes. And i believe we all are trying to be good parents in diff ways.

sometimes perfect parents can produce notti and horrible kids.

<font color="aa00aa">Made another wasted trip to the kids clinic this afternoon. Was told they have stopped taking walk-in patients for today cos there are still many patients waiting to see dr allyson tan and she also rushing to go to the hospital. Dr lilian will only be back on next week.</font>

hi mummies - need to ask abt something. My son is only child, when we go for trial lessons or gathering w my frens' children, he does not know the meaning of sharing and will take away the toys other children are playing. I keep telling him no, must share... is he too young to understand or he is a spoilt brat in the making! Or making him attend more of such classes so he can mix w more kids is a way to help?

thanks.. i am pretty worried...

vanilla
I think all kids go thru this stage. ey has gone past this stage...and aless is at it now. He will scream, cry or bite ey sometimes. He thinks everything are his.

thanks EY, so even aless has sis to play w he is also behaving the same? Ok i worry it is a single child syndrome. thks

mousebb - why dun u see another PD? just bring along all the med that ur kids are taking now...

vanilla
I dun think so.Lol. Just hv to keep telling him that hv to share, hv to share,, hv to share. If they start to fight, the item will be confiscated.

thanks EY.. ya keep nagging at him abt sharing.. even grandma he also dun want to share..when my mum carries another bb, he keep insisting my mum carries him...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">X'mas Lunch Gathering
Date : 19 Dec 2009, lunch.
Venue : Jill's Condo Parc Emily, near Little India MRT station</font></font>
<font size="+2"><font color="119911">Proposed time : 11am, gift exchange at 1pm</font></font>

Interested:
1. Karen + Jowenda
2. Mint + Regina
3. XY + Marcus
4. Jillian + Zoe
5. Everafter + Bryan
6. Joanne + Rianne
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn
8. daisybuttons + Jaz + Hubby + Jov (11am start 12.30pm gift exchange)
9. JJmom + Nat (11am)
10. Cheerbear + Shawn
11. icylemon + Regine (maybe bring Rachel) 11am
12. ypg + Kai Tong + HB (if HB not going, maid going)
13. dimple + Kate (11am, gift exchange can 1230pm?)
14. jellypurin + Rebby
15. Pildough + Abby
16. Jolly + Ashton + HB
17. rains + BB Caye
18. Ruffles + HB + Victoria
19. kylie_mummy + Mei Xuan
20. Penny + Claudia
21. Forest + Kieran
22. EY(mummye), isabella, alessandro and hub (tbc)
23. Mousebb + HB + Wenxuan + Wenmin (11am)
24. BBgoh + Seline
25. tweety + Varner

Elder kids list:
1. Daisybutton's Jovann (3 years)
2. Mousebb WX (2.5 years)
3. Jill's Max (3 years)
4. R&amp;R's Rachel (3 years?)

<font color="ff0000">(hubby and elder kids? Anymore to add? )</font>

Food - Budget set at $20
Gift Exchange for Babies
xmas pressie - budget set at $30

<font size="+2"><font color="119911">Voting for food</font></font>

xmas gathering food (will close votes on wed night and order on thurs)

http://www.eatzcatering.com/menu-mini.html
will order 2 varieties - we seem to always have leftovers so i wont order so much

http://mumskitchen.com.sg/Menu1.asp
will order menu J.

eatzcatering
1. JJmom
2. daisybuttons
3. BBgoh
4. rains
5. XY

mumskitchen
1. dimpletot
2. kare2711

ruffles,
30% off published rates of $22.90 per pax for underwater world need to present anything? coupon? or for public? planning to go next mth :p

Helloo mummies! ;)
It's a long wkend!! =)

Weather's pretty bad these days, I caught a flu bug though mild one but alas Kaelyn seems to got from me!! Mild one plus occasional cough!! Hope wun get any worser!! *touchwood*

Sigh hope all bubs get well soon...!! Take care!

On a happier note, intending to go out for dinner with hub and Kae cos it's our anniversary but sigh cancelled cos of the flu bug...but hub surprised me with a bouquet of flowers and cookies for me... ;p *delighted* Cos been ages since I last received flowers! ;p *keke*

buffy- Yest Desiree called me too...I told her I will be signing up later when Kae is older, say 18mths!;)

Chris, jolly- Both ur Ash very good life soo many pairs of shoes liao!! ;)

vanilla-pod, no its not a single child syndrome. kids of their age (toddlers) now live in a world in which its only ME ME ME. they have no concept of sharing because the world revolves around them. Doesn't matter how many siblings they have. its up to us to inculcate, though sometimes we sound like broken record.... :p

I am currently reading the Baby Whisperer for Toddlers, what she reccomend is we MODEL the behaviour in daily life. She said that at 15mths, the babe will start to get the concept of sharing, but will still need a lot of help. for example, during Tracy's own 13mths playgroup, she will have 5 children and there is a sharing session. At the start of the session, she will bring out a plate of 5 biscuits and say "I wanna share my snacks with you". then she pass it around she reinforce the idea that everyone is takking JUST ONE. She also has a share basket, in which the moms will bring a basket of 5 snacks from home. and each toddler will be given the chance to help prepare that basket, and give out the snacks during sharing time.

I think only by demonstrating what is sharing can they learn what it means. buts is not easy. and if we only intervene when they grab toys and insist "SHARE", they also wun know what we talking about. but after going through the activities or examples mentioned above, when next time they fight over toys, and u tell them "to share", then they have an rudimentary idea what we talking abt.

She also mentioned that when a toddler see another friend playing with a toy, they wil tend to go over and grab it, NOT because they are mean, but because to them by watching someone playing with it, they found the toy looks interesting and THEY wanna try it themselves. so to them its simple act of just taking it over to play, they do not do it out of spitefulness.

I sure hope she's right, coz Jaz snatches toys all the time from her gorgor....sigh....

nicky
you are lucky..my hub doesnt even remember our anniversary by now....ill be lucky if i get a bunch of weeds.

Daisybuttons, thanks for sharing about sharing!! hahaha I sound mad! I too want to get my hands on that book.

Hope Mummies and Bubs who are feeling under the weather, to get well soon and enjoy the long weekend.

Mummies who are not brave enough to venture overseas with bub can consider a staycation. We tried that last weekend with Minibee. It was fun and relaxing. A nice break from the routine at home. Shangrila Singapore has a Family Fun Package at $200.90++ for 1 night stay (package includes dinner and breakfast!) Good deal considering its Shang!

ypg,
Well done! Deserve a pat on your back for teaching them well. Foundation class some more. Salute you!

Re: morning sickness
Mine was evening sickness although I didn't really puke. Just felt like vomiting and no appetite for dinner. Other than that I was eating too much. Haha!

daisybuttons,
Yeah I read another book that says that at this age they still don't really understand the concept of sharing. According to educational psychologists theories, the age 0-3 is ego centric age so don't blame them if they can't share yet. But totally agree with you about setting good examples for them to follow so that they learn and pick up the idealogies faster.

nicky,
Lucky you! Like EY, I'd be touched to tears if I get a bunch of weeds. LOL!

dimpletot,
After our trip to Bintan I told hubby to join the triathlon in Bintan next year. Heehee! He just said,"Think I don't know your motive". Haha! If I were to suggest the staycation for the stanchart run, he sure glare at me. Haha!

Sharing
Hee, I think it's ok for them to not want to share at certain times. I don't know about you all, but there are times I just don't want to share, and I'm going to respect Jo's decision should she not want to share her toys on a certain day. But agree that I will model it in real life, just that I won't push it. I also will try to make her understand that others may not want to share their toys with her.

Karen,
Totally agree with you. I mean it'll be hard to explain to Regina why she has to share all the time but others might not share with her. bleh! Heehee!

there is always this tough part of parenting...why other kids are allowed to do this, that, while ours aint allow...ey always asks WHY WHY... Its a real tricky situation.

<font color="0077aa">morning elch.

babe, i think u missed out on some of our postings ytr. the rashes are what some ppl call fake measles. they get it due to viral fever and it is usually after day 4 - 5. when the rashes are out, takes a few days to clear. dun hv to do much with them unless he itches. with cate, she elephant skin lah, din feel any itch. :p good news is when the rashes are out, its the road to recovery

re: sharing toys
cate also does not share and i have also read that they do not quite understand the concept of sharing at this age. am cool with that. some days when we go for bibinogs, she does not want to return and put the toy back in the basket or share with the other kids, i will just ask her "do you want to share?" she'd usually shake her head one lah and i will just smile and tell her it is ok, not today while smiling apologetically to the teacher / other parent. they totally understand and so far, i dun hv any issues with any parents.</font>

Yeow Lao shi,

congrats! Xin ku ni le! But when efforts pay off then it's so fulfilling!

What is foundation Chinese btw? Last time cl1, cl2, then higher chinese, chinese, then mother tongue (got MT abbrev or not?) now....? Actually should be called mandarin right? EthnicIty is Chinese, language is mandarin right?

dimpletot,

Yap yap. Indeed very confusing. In China, it is called 汉语, in Taiwan, it is called 国语, in singapore, it is called 华语 (speaking language or speech) but in subject, it is called 华文 (language)

In Singapore primary school, there is Higher Chinese (HCL), Chinese, Foundation Chinese. Within Chinese, for P1 to P4, it is divided into Core, Enrichment and Bridging module. All these are supposed to make sure students are taking a module that they are most comfortable in. Very confusing right.

For Foundation Chinese, currently the focus is on speaking and listening the language. Basically the learning of language is usually divided into 4 main category: 听说读写, the focus has been shifted more from 读写 to 听说 as the govt think we will be speaking the language more than writing it in the future.

Hope din make more wu4 shui3 for u. Haha...

wah, thanks for clarifying!

so you can be in foundation chinese and taking different modules within one class? or they go through all the modules throughout the year?

core and enrichment i understand, but bridging is? harder or easier than core? or to bridge between core and enrichment?

dimpletot,

Haha... Foundation take foundation onli, they sit for Foundation Chinese paper for PSLE. Core module n enrichment n bridging are within Chinese. They sit for Chinese paper for PSLE. But enrichment pupils study 1 more passage more in the textbook n bridging pupils will study the bridging portion of the textbook which is supposed to help them bridge over to the core. So Bridging are for weaker students.

As for Higher chinese students, they sit for Chinese paper for PSLE and 1 more Higher Chinese paper for PSLE. So more work for them. They will study 2 more passages in the textbook as compared to a Core module pupil.

Dun need to be familiarize with all these cause dunno when MOE going to change this again. Haha...

oiccccccccccccccc.......

i think the impt thing is for kids to enjoy the language. then they will want to learn.

i really enjoyed chinese in sec sch.