jellypurin, little doggie (hehe... ur nick remember me of my wilder days),
Thanks. I done liao, with western union. Transfer today, within half an hour, my maid hubby can collect $ liao. Actually I loathe her hubby, everytime onli know how to get $ $ from her, why cant he go find a job.
Karen,
Here is more info on Erik Erikson 3th and 4th stage:
Stage 3 Play Age: 3 to 5 Years
Ego Development Outcome: Initiative vs. Guilt
Basic Strength: Purpose
During this period we experience a desire to copy the adults around us and take initiative in creating play situations. We make up stories with Barbie's and Ken's, toy phones and miniature cars, playing out roles in a trial universe, experimenting with the blueprint for what we believe it means to be an adult. We also begin to use that wonderful word for exploring the world—"WHY?"
While Erikson was influenced by Freud, he downplays biological sexuality in favor of the psychosocial features of conflict between child and parents. Nevertheless, he said that at this stage we usually become involved in the classic "Oedipal struggle" and resolve this struggle through "social role identification." If we're frustrated over natural desires and goals, we may easily experience guilt.
The most significant relationship is with the basic family.
Stage 4 School Age: 6 to 12 Years
Ego Development Outcome: Industry vs. Inferiority
Basic Strengths: Method and Competence
During this stage, often called the Latency, we are capable of learning, creating and accomplishing numerous new skills and knowledge, thus developing a sense of industry. This is also a very social stage of development and if we experience unresolved feelings of inadequacy and inferiority among our peers, we can have serious problems in terms of competence and self-esteem.
As the world expands a bit, our most significant relationship is with the school and neighborhood. Parents are no longer the complete authorities they once were, although they are still important.
I love the module on children educational psychology so I spend quite alot of times on the super thick book during my NIE times. I find his theory very true of myself so I believe. Another one big name to look out for in children educational psychology: Jean Piaget. Hehe... Do I re-fresh ur memory?
Jean Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development
1)Sensori-motor (Birth-2 yrs)
Differentiates self from objects
Recognises self as agent of action and begins to act intentionally: e.g. pulls a string to set mobile in motion or shakes a rattle to make a noise
Achieves object permanence: realises that things continue to exist even when no longer present to the sense (pace Bishop Berkeley)
2)Pre-operational (2-7 years)
Learns to use language and to represent objects by images and words
Thinking is still egocentric: has difficulty taking the viewpoint of others
Classifies objects by a single feature: e.g. groups together all the red blocks regardless of shape or all the square blocks regardless of colour
3)Concrete operational (7-11 years)
Can think logically about objects and events
Achieves conservation of number (age 6), mass (age 7), and weight (age 9)
Classifies objects according to several features and can order them in series along a single dimension such as size.
4)Formal operational (11 years and up)
Can think logically about abstract propositions and test hypotheses systemtically
Becomes concerned with the hypothetical, the future, and ideological problems
Hope I dun make all of u dizzy with these theory. Paiseh, I get carried away sometimes when talk about this interest of mine. Haha...
dimpletot,
U going Polliwogs tmr?