(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
wah...tat great! Julian is an easier nut to crack than Nat...hahaha

Nat fell asleep kneeling once

My fil also tried to discourage us from doing sleep train, always tried to peek in &amp; talk to Nat or ask us 'how' when we r at it *faint*

So we also avoid staying over then

I just reserved a place for a term at Bibinogs at Serene Centre starting January. Anyone want to join? Sat 3.30pm. They will give a 10% discount if 5 bubs join the class...

JJmom, totally understand!
Even my hubby keeps asking me if this will cause pyschological damage... I'm like, if you go and pick him up now, he only learnt that he has to cry hard to get attention, and that's worse!

jjmom,
Nat has her own room? Then can you hear her if she cries in the middle of the night?
I am planning to put Kai in his own room when we shift to a bigger place end of the month. If it doesnt work and he still end up in our room, think my hubby will smack his butt, going $100, $200 etc since we need to pay more rent to get him his own room. lol...

busybee,
I also enjoy having Kai in the room. Every morning after he wakie, I will have him on our bed and snuggle. Think it is a very bad habit though.

For sleep training, I read The Sleep Easy Solution. Actually before I started sleep training, Kai could already go to sleep himself. Then at 6months, he started the crying nonsense again and we started the sleep training. We changed our routine a little. Now after bath will be playing on our bed, milk, brush teeth, storytelling, songs, hug him tight, goodnight, put on bed and off the light. We decided to turn off the lamp we used to have, so the room is really dark and I think he finds it bored and goes to sleep rather than play.

bigflamingo,
Think tonight is the night, no more crying. Coz that was what happened to Kai, no more crying by the 3rd night.
Usually after holidays, we will re-train him and he will stop crying by the 3rd night.

But having said that, sad to say that I have not sleep train him for naps. Now I still need to hug him to sleep for his naps.

Hey Karen,
Yes, it's on Saturdays.

Jellypurin,
Cool. Hope to see you there! Buffy said she will probably still continue with the class too.

Pinkimum,
I think it's nice to snuggle in the morning. Yes, the naps are harder than bedtime for sure!

XY,
Keep latching him if you enjoy it...it's totally fine if he sleeps rightaway without protest.

JJmom,
good luck with tonight!

bigflamingo,
i'll be signing up bibinogs too.. but at UE square. i'm psychoing my colleague to send her kid there too :p

xmas gathering,
is this the final list? will be confirming catering soon.. cos xmas period better book earlier.. no more hubs joining us?

X'mas Lunch Gathering
Proposed date is 19 Dec 2009, lunch.
Venue : Someone's condo function room, Jillian said she'll try to book her condo. (we will know on 19 nov)

Interested:
1. Karen + Jowenda
2. Mint + Regina
3. XY + Marcus
4. Jillian + Zoe
5. Everafter + Bryan
6. Joanne + Rianne
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn
8. daisybuttons + Jaz
9. JJmom + Nat
10. Cheerbear + Shawn
11. icylemon + Regine (maybe bring Rachel)
12. ypg + Kai Tong
13. dimple + Kate
14. jellypurin + Rebby
15. Pildough + Abby
16. Jolly + Ashton + HB
17. nickypower + Kaelyn
18. rains + BB Caye
19. Ruffles + HB + Victoria
20. kylie_mummy + Mei Xuan
21. Penny + Claudia
22. Forest + Kieran(
23 EY(mummye), isabella, alessandro and hub tbc)
24. Mousebb + HB + Wenxuan + Wenmin
25. BBgoh + Seline

(hubby and elder kids? anymore to add? )

Food - budget set at $20
last checked, most mummies ok with a $12 cocktail menu from mum's kitchen (min 30pax).. after the ++ etc will be ard $15 per pax.

Secret Santa for Babies
xmas pressie (mystery gift) - budget set at $30

Pinkimum,
Should be able to hear frm next rm, my son slps in his own rm too, but every morn we're awaken by his cries. heng i din buy the bb monitor

$12 MENU from Mum's Kitchen (min 30pax)

COLD CANAPES
Orange Tuna on Tartlet Shell
Sour Cream Cooler with Tortilla

SAVOURY ITEMS
Vietnamese Spring Roll
Spicy Cocktail Sausage
Baked Mini Italiano Pizza
Chicken Quiche
Shepherd's Pie

SWEET TEMPTATION
Strawberry Romanoff (In Glass)

BEVERAGE
Pink Guava / Cocktail Fruit Punch / Coffee / Tea

Rebecca:
So sorry to hear the sad news, but glad you are strong and taking it well. All the best for the op tom and get more rest ok..

Bibinogs:
Glad that to hear some more positive reviews. I also think they have a good balanced program. Bigflamingo, you must be really impressed by them to sign up so soon. I still don't know whether to sign my son up now, or wait til 18 months. If I do sign up in the end, most likely will be at UE Sq branch. But I like teacher Yani at Serene Centre that day. Anyway, is the discount available if the 5 mummies sign up at different branch/day/time? Eelyn are you going for the weekday or weekend class? Buffy, thanks for replying regarding the class size. How is Cate's rash now?

Positive babies:
I also wondering will it help my boy? Anyone signed up already? I am interested in the parents workshop actually. .

Ypg,
If you get some more of My Gym vouchers and have extra, can I have 1 as well. Thanks!

Last but not least,
Congrats ruffles! Don't worry, you past your 1st tri so its more stable now. Relax and enjoy your 2nd pregnancy, take care!

Christmas gathering?? wow.. good.. I wan to join..
but where?? U found venue?? u need me to check mine?? but at woodlands and abit hot if afternoon. Let me know then I check with management if it's available k..

xy,
yah la.. i know

wanchuen,
im signing up at ue square. discount applies to diff branch/day/time as long as we have 5 pax.. im intending to go wkdays.. u??
but class schedule for ue square is limited

UE Square
- Tue 4.30pm
- Friday 3pm
- Saturday 1.15pm
i've asked desiree if there will be more timeslots. waiting for her to revert.

icylemon
i try... bcos i really wanna go, otherwise, i may wanna tobang u or trace to see if there is mickey/minnie mouse clothings for rebby. she likes the characters

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks, mummies.
Last night at about 2.30am wenxuan kept calling me and I woke up to find his temp gone up to 40.3 degree. Immediately we gave him the stronger fever medicine and kept sponging him. About an hour later the fever was around 38.5 - 39 degrees. We almost wanted to bring him to kkh but hubby decided to wait for another half an hour to see how. Luckily the temp gone down to about 38 degrees. Brought him to see a PD this morning. PD said the fever should go away in 3 days time and if not we will have to go back to see her again. She is more worry for his cough bcos it has been a while le. In the meanwhile we will let him rest at home and send him back to his playschool when he is fully recovered. PD said this is a common problem for kids who just started school and the body system would probably take 2-3mths to get used to it.</font>

<font color="119911">pinkimum,
yes, Nat is in her own room next to ours, we keep both doors slightly open with the rubber stopper. hmm...our flat is small so we hear her loud &amp; clear, not sure abt yours

wah...u guys r doing great with kai's sleep training
it's the dream tat i m working on

yes, nap is another diff story again &amp; i also think it's toughter than sleep training for nite. i also din train Nat's nap time

mousebb
glad wx is better. actually, fever can be a good thing is well managed... it means the body is determined to fight the virus though it can be a scary experience for the parents and a tiring one for the tod

jelly,

let me know by tmr afternoon. sms me ok. I wont be ard tmr afternoon so cant log in forum.

mousebb,

yes. when rachel got into the child care. she will be sick for at least 3-4 mths. is pretty common.

mousebb,
Hope WX get well real soon.. Varner also fever yesterday mroning, has been giving him medi, today better, hopee he can fully recover.

JJmom,
Varner also another problem baby in sleeping.. Everynight make me so pissed off..

Eelyn:
If I do sign up, I will go wkday too. Hmm.. not much difference in timing for the Tues and Fri class. Probably opt for Tues then. U going start class soon or next yr?

<font color="119911">mousebb,

lucky WX knows to call for u, gosh...u must b so scared &amp; worried for the temp to reach 40.3 degree

glad tat he is beta today, hope he recovers soon *hugz*</font>

<font color="119911">jelly,
do u carry rebby ard a room or u roam the whole hse?

mayb start from walking in a smaller area without too much distraction?</font>

jjmom
when i carry rebby in ergo, i keep her head coverered and i will only sway fm side to side. i dun bring her to bright places or near tv...

ic...any ppl movement tat she can sense or chats tat she can catch?

coz Nat is like tat at my inlaws, if she hears them talking, sees them walking pass the room, she will fuss &amp; don't wanna to sleep even when she is ready to.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Sleeping

night time my girl able to sleep her own. but wkend then i ll have problem for her nap time.
only able to fall sleep easily with ergo </font>

jjmom
nope, she not distracted. my mom always says this abt rebby "ye xin hen zhong"... she just wants to play even though she is tired!

<font color="0077aa">jelly
i thk rebby same with seline, i have problem on weekend as she dun wanna take nap altot how tired she is.
lie her down she ll turn &amp; crawl away to the door</font>

hahaha...Nat too lah &amp; she is more jialat, don't even drink her milk or eat her porridge properly if there's distraction, super 'hong sim'...

think it also coz they r at the stage of learning things ard them
tat keeps them vy excited &amp; can't afford to miss any LOL</font>

<font color="119911">bbgoh,
seline sleeping on the floor mattress? i don't even dare to think abt trf-ing nat to sleep on floor mattress, surely another sleep training again

Bigflamingo:
Good that your hubby is supportive. Mine is the opposite, saying his friends did not send their kids to class at such an early age. Another consideration is that my boy still fond of putting things into his mouth (I noticed Julian and Cate don't do that) And because he is still crawling, sometimes bits of rubbish from the classroom floor ends up in his mouth. He kept licking the mirror in both Playdays and Bibinogs classroom too yucks! I am worried coz I didn't bring him for pneumococal jab yet. Anyway from what I see, Julian sure will enjoy his class

wanchuen,
i actually want to sign her up for twice a week. so its tues and fri..
not sure if i have to wait for a term to start or can start now. i wanna start asap cos she enjoys it and so do i. waiting for desiree to reply my email.

i used to pat bryan to slp also..but nwadays, i jus pull the curtains, switched off lights and lie on mattress, he'll crawl awhile then eventually come slp next or lie on me! hee..

bigflamingo,

Glad to hear that ur last nite attempt is better. Ur hubby say will cause psychological damage, I dun agree cause it is too exaggerating but hor, I dun quite agree tat if you go and pick ur baby/toddler up now, he only learnt that he has to cry hard to get attention.

I feel that if their need is satisfied, they dun have to cry hard to get attention. If their needs are constantly been ignored, of course they need to find some more extreme ways to get their needs satisfied. This is wat I observed from my students. Also, they may keep quiet and behave but they will form this distrust in ppl.

Hope u dun get me wrong. I am not saying ur method is no good. Just want to let u know there could be other possiblity of how ur action of CIO may head to other direction even though the goal of getting them to self soothe or confidence of sleeping alone is achieved.

Actually children will grow up, they will CHANGE. After sometimes, they will value their freedom to have the room by themselves alot and will be glad if they are left to sleep alone. Some may take longer but soon all of our children will long to have their own room, their own space or their own freedom. So hang on, the dream of ur child kissing u goodnites will not be reality soon. 1 point to support my viewpoint: those kids on TV who kiss goodnites are older kids. Haha...

Hope u dun get me wrong. I feel that u r very heartpain to see ur baby crying so wish to share with u so tat u dun stress urself too much over it.

<font color="0077aa">JJmom
yah i put down 2 single mattress let her tossing :p nw the cot is too small for her alrdy even at ifc She also not using baby cot liao

<font color="119911">everafter,
heehee...tat's nice hor

seline, jelly,
yah eventually our bbs will outgrow the cot &amp; we will have to move to the floor mattress
hope Nat will b like Bryan then *crossing fingers &amp; toes*</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Trace</font>,

You mentioned:-

===========================================================================================================
i went to check Gain IQ at <font color="ff0000">this medical shop</font>, it cost $28 for 900g. And there's no huggies ultra, huggies dry comfort cost $15.30 for 60 pieces.

saw NTUC having promo for huggies jumbo pack, i saw ultra, but limited for certain sizes. It cost $14.35...

===========================================================================================================

Which medical shop are u referring to??</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">FM</font></font></TD><TD>Pasir Ris Ren Yi Tang</TD><TD>Rivervale Plaza Ren Yi Tang</TD><TD>NTUC</TD><TD>AMK Mart (Blk 639 Punggol)</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gain IQ Kids 1.8kg (for 3yr &amp; above)</TD><TD>$48.90 </TD><TD>$48.90 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gain IQ: $51 for 1.8kg</TD><TD>$51.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$49.90 offer ends @ 18 nov)</TD><TD>$53.50 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enfagrow: $51.80 for 1.8kg</TD><TD>$51.80 </TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$40.25 offer ends @ 18 nov</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamil Gold 3 (2 x 800g)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$43.90 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamil Gold 1.6kg (tin)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$37++</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamil Gold (2 x 1.6kg)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$79.85</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamil Gold 2.1kg (box)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$53.50 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamil Gold 3 </TD><TD>Dun buy from Malaysia</TD><TD></TD><TD>About $83.00</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Friso Gold 3 (3 x 900g)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$68.80 offer ends @ 18 nov</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Cereal</font></font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nestum Rice Cereal (Just add water)</TD><TD>$3.90 </TD><TD>$3.90 </TD><TD>$4.90 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nestum Brown Rice Cereal (Just add water)</TD><TD>$3.90 </TD><TD>$3.90 </TD><TD>$4.90 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Diapers</font></font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Comfort (Blue packaging)</TD><TD>$14.90 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Comfort Dry (Red packaging)</TD><TD>$14.90 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Pull Up</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Ultra</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$14.35 limited sizes)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></font></td></tr></table>