(2008/10) Oct 2008

Jelly

PMed!!! Yippie, so excited

This trial came at the right weekend lor, coz 1 more weekend and I will be travelling to Hong Kong... hengz...

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">Hi blur,
I'm good just busy at work... just moved on to a new job 3 mths ago. hence MIA most of the time now.

how are you?
</font></font>

Hello mummies!! ;)

Rebecca- Dun worry, am sure everything will turn out fine!!! Hugs! ;)

mint- Thxs for the puffs yest!! ;) Wonder for this Thur's Little Gym class still onz anot?! ;p

ypg- Thxs for organisng the trial for Positive Baby! ;)

jelly- Glad rebby is better le!! ;)

elch- I oso ordered/bot the AKK from Ronnie!!! Their glutinous rice/AKK really delicious!! Think it was featured in Mankansutra b4!
Even my bro kept complimenting it!! *LOL*
I just did Kaelyn's Zhua Zhou ceremony!! ';p
She picked the abacus 1st(as predicted), followed by Pen and gold chain/money! *LOL*
But while we holding her to step on the AKK, she fussed and cried!! Machaim we forced her to 'do' something! But still it was fun lah... ;p

jelly,
gd to hear that rebby got better

whitepaper,
u still in spore this sat? coz i might not be able to attend the bibinogs as i need to see if shawn has fully recovered.

bbgoh,
wat is jibing? anyway i stop the chuan bei coz its not helping him and he got worse.

daisy,
thanks for giving me a call that day to teach me on boiling the chuan bei drink.

ok a little update on shawn - he got airway infection and it has gotten to his lungs and PD say i shld bring him to see her earlier.. (k i know is my fault to save $ to see GP instead) and now he is suffering.. waking up crying in his sleep for almost every hr and now i am zombie.. keng mc today again.. sighzz rented this machine from PD to help him breath better but he hates it and keep crying.. force him take med and he vomit out.. gosh i really dunno wat to do to make him feel better and GOD pls help to heal him.

Cheer Bear

I'm flying off on Friday night...

Gosh... do take good care of Shawn, am sure he will get well soon, dont worry. take good care of yourself too...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Oooo poor shawn

Understand the pain &amp; ache when u see ur little ones suffer and reject medication.

cheerbear,
don't worry. He will recover in 3 days time. Hahaha... guess PD ask u to use the nebulizer for 3 days ya.
</font></font>

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
aiyoh...poor Shawn, hope he gets well soon.
we also learned our lesson (GP) the hard way too

whitepaper,
oh u flying off on fri ah then maybe u join jelly bah. thanks.. really hope he can get well soon.

blur,
oh that machine is call nebulizer? i din really hear wat the PD is saying coz shawn is crying so badly.. and only use for 2 days coz initially she say 3 days one but scare it got worse if he dun wan to use so back to review after 2 days. btw, ur bub used b4? good? useful?

jjmom,
shld hv listen to u and mousebb earlier to bring him to PD instead.. anyway lesson learnt and i tell myself no more GP for him liao.. in future all will go PD instead.

<font color="119911">cheerbear,

which GP did Shawn go to? At punggol? &amp; in the end, which PD?

Nat went to kidslink at sk, Dr Vanessa. She is quite ok. Heard there is another gd PD, Dr Lilian, think she's at Rivervale Mall.</font>

hi Mummies,

So fun to read abt ur traditionary practices with ur little one for AKK and ZhuaZhou. Maybe I should just do it anyway for fun tho her Lunar Birthday has passed... hahaha for photo opportunity and for the fun of it! My hubs sure to say I crazy for "staging" her lunar birthday!

Karen,Dimple, Pildough great to have met u guys for tea on fri. Ur gals are so delightful! Pil, i really need to make a trip to Kino to check out their books. Love Abby's Chinese Board Book! Karen, can u let me know where to get the mini fork Jo was using. I looked at a few pigeon counters but did not see it. Miki loves to hold her own minispoon now and pretend to feed me. Think it will be great to get her a mini fork too.

Mint, I owe u money!! hahaha... Will IB to u in while k. Sorry...

Cheerbear, are u paying a lot to rent the nebulizer. Cos I saw that Guardian sells the OMRON brand one for slightly over a hundred. My friend was saying better to buy one cos its cheaper then renting. Hope Shawn feels better soon.

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear
jibing its dry tangerine can be found in medical hall i thk chinese write in 吉饼

my girl tried nebuliser when she was abt 5mth old bah, she used it for 3days. queit good to get rid off phelgm but i thk PD only recommend when has a lot of phelgm &amp; stuck in the lung bah </font>

<font color="119911">busybee,

hee...the ZhuaZhou is juz for fun so no harm doing it after minibee's bday too

been wanting to ask u abt the blank board book tat u got for minibee when u showed us at the last gathering. How r u gng to do it up? Write/draw directly on it or paste the finished pgs on the board book?</font>

hi mummies!!

sick mums n babies..
take care! hope everyone gets well soon.

reb,
*fingers crossed for u*

purple,
jelly is delaying her bibinogs trial till 21 nov, so we have one more opening on 14 Nov if u wanna join us. but need to make payment soon. if u can PM me i'll call desiree n liaise for u k?

positive babies trial,
nice meeting all the mummies! sorry kaitlyn was quite distracting.. she was much more fidgety than normal..
think she was too active and had too much fun yesterday.. she did not sleep till 2am.
and was very restless the whole night.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">cheerbear,

ya, Dr only used when lots of phelgm cos our tods airway too small. If there are too much phelgm, there will be a danger that the phelgm is stuck in the airway, preventing them from breathing.

The nebulizer will not reduce the phelgm, it open the airway for easy breathing.

If possible, no air-con for the time being. If air-con really needed, try to keep the air fresh with the help of air-cleaner. I don't have a air-cleaner but I leave the door slightly open. An enclosed air-con room is very dusty, especailly for tods with sentitive airway.</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
Hope Shawn will get well soon.
Am bringing wenxuan to see dr lilian tonight. He is still having bad flu and cough. Now wenmin also starts to have flu liao. Guess the weather is really bad! </font>

Dr lilan gives wenxuan a medicine to clear his airway cos he is having lots of phelgm. The medicine is quite effective! </font>

buffy
Aless is also 20 oct. Wat a coincidence.

Cheerbear
He got bronchitis? Poor shawn and mummy. Hope he gets well soon.

reb
Good luck to u.

hi cheerbear - hope shawn gets well soon...

rest of mummies - need to ask u girls something.. i am not sure if my son is being a fussypot or it is a development phase... since yesterday he developed this really bad habit of pushing his food w his tongue out of his mouth. Initially i thot it is becos he suddenly does not want to chew (i fed him pasta which he took rather well previously. He ate the pasta 5-6 mouthfuls v well, then decide "my tongue can push food out" game is more fun. Then i fed him rice (which he ate well on Fri evening) but same thing..he just push food out. It cant be cos he is full cos he hasnt had food. Same thing w his porridge (i blended it till smooth).. but not as bd..just a couple of mouthfuls.

I wonder if ur bb is doing it or has done this....wonder if it is a phase thing? I cant b blending his food this way cos he needs to chew right? cos they say it is good for jaws...hmmm maybe that is why he is not speaking right...

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
My gal will use her tongue to push out the food whenever she is "full" liao or she doesnt like the food. I always scold her for having this bad habit!</font>

BiBinogs:
I went to the trial class on sat. It is indeed more educational. i was actually very surprised to see a live terrapin in class! and they are generous in serving the snack as compared to Playdays. However, my girl started walking around and climbing chairs and tables... she wasn't entirely not interested too as she do watch watz happening on the floor mat from her distant view... i'm also wondering if she is juz simply "KL"... cos during the arts &amp; craft session, my girl didnt want to paint the tiger... she wanted to paint the table! *faintz*

i do want to bring my girl for more trial classes..

ello mummies,

Cheerbear : hugs..hope Shawn gets well soon =) you take care too !!

YPG : thanks for org the +ve bb trial..and of cos, nice to meet up with the mummies and buds =) all busy walking and crawling around..hee..see how fast they grow..

AKK : ahhh..all the talk about it is making me drool..i need to get my hands on it..droolzz...

jjmom,
the GP clinic is a few blks away from my hse and his PD is Dr Lilian.. same as WM and a few oct bb.

busybee,
i dunno how much is the rental fee but the total cost is ard $140 which include the rental, consult fee and med.
btw, i hv already email u the details for the personalised story books.. u go check ur email k.. thanks

blur,
thanks for the advice.. think shawn is too used to sleeping in air-con liao.. tonite when i on the aircon will leave the door slighty open... ya i know is to help him breath better coz once is congested he is breathing so hard that he cant sleep well.

mousebb,
think u better call the clinic first to book coz is super pack this morning and only dr lilian is ard.. another dr.. think is dr tan is not ard today.

ey,
wat is bronchitis? in fact jus now the PD might hv mention but as i said earlier.. shawn is crying so badly that i can hardly hear wat the PD is saying.

jelly,
thanks.. i got he will recover fast enough for this sat bibinogs.

vanilla
same... rebby was doing that as well last week! she's also rejecting foods that she had well loved before she turned 1! my gut feel is that they think it's just FUN

vanilla,
thanks.. and shawn is same as WM..use his tongue to push out the food whenever he is full.

jolly,
thanks.. u take care too.. jus read ur blog and discover that ash and shawn both have the same romper.. grandpa spoils me :p

Cheerbear
EY(my older) once had been coughing for weeks. I tried many TCM methods, but din work. I went to her pd DrLee Bee Wah at MT E. She gave us a medicine which was very effective but slightly ex. the phelgm almost went away in 2 days time. but hv to continue the medicine for 2 weeks to make sure it doesn't come back. If bronchitis isn't treated, it will lead to pneumonia that can be very serious for kids, even for adults.

babies/tots under 2.5, are very vulnerable to sickness esp those who go to playgroup, childcare. my neighbour's son can cough 365 days. if not, fever, flu etc. so hv to be careful .

Dun need to thank me for the trial la. I feel paiseh. Yesterday the person in charge thank me in front of all, I feel so paiseh.

Vanilla,

My gal do that if she dun like the food or when she is full. Also, she like to smile sometimes while eating n all her food will flow out when she done tat. Quite disgusting lor.

Her clinic is always packed!!! Was told w/o scheduled appt have to wait up to 4 hrs or more. Have told my hubby to call the clinic to book appt liao cos I dont know his schedule so it is difficult for me to book the appt.

EY
Last month when wenxuan was down with fever, my hubby said since he is already 2 yrs old le so dont need to bring to PD clinic liao and we brought him to a GP clinic (which is one of my hubby so called "company clinic") near our place. But then the medicine given was not effective...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">EY
It's true lor! My son only starts school last month but already got sick twice liao!!! Today I let him rest at home. Most probably I will let him rest at home until he is fully recovered. The boy kept coming to me to tell me "wipe wipe" his nose!!!</font>

mousebb
yeah, i know I tried gps before. going gps for babies or tots is like throwing money in the drain. One time, my friend's son was very sick. she brought him to gp. after some time, he din recover. by chance, she went to google and found that the drug given by the gp is not suitable for kids at all. and they sued the gp. dunno what happened after dat.

mousebb
my neighbour after many months, was sick of her son always sick. she removed him from the playgroup and he then slowly recovered. he stayed at home until 3...now he doesn't get sick that often anymore

Vanilla/ flamingo
Aless is the same too. Otherwise he will use his fingers to dig out the food. it can be very frustrating.

<font color="aa00aa">EY
Oh dear! That's very bad!!!
The medicine given by the GP has very strong medicine smell which made me wonder is it meant for adults or kids. After taking the medicine for 2-3 days and my boy condition became worse, I told hubby we better bring him to see his regular PD instead.</font>

Jellypurin,

I dunno who. It is the lady who is sitting outside. 1st time trial class got the person-in-charge thank me in front of the whole class. A bit weird. Hehe...

I find their attitude is really great. They even wait for 15 minutes for latecomers. Paiseh, bbgoh, if it start early, perhaps it wun clash with ur gal nap time.

mousebb
that's why I became so choosy about pds.
I will go to only good pds. they really make a lot of difference. EY's pd is ex good but to get appt with her has to wait a LOOOOOOONG time. but for less serious case, she will tell you to go there, she will come out and check your baby for a few mins, so there is no need to wait or pay at al.

Aless's pd is also very good. Aless was down with a viral fever on his birthday so I called the pd up at nite and asked her. She gave me instructions of what to do, and next day, she even called back to check if aless was okay. She has an emergency number she can call after office hours in case you are really lost of what to do in the middle of the nite or during weekends.

thanks mummies.. i fed him biscuits (his fav) and he also can spit or choke (he just swallow)...1st time his daddy also dun help him and told him this time mummy can scold him!

hmmm will monitor his behaviour - cos he does not doit when he is full and the food is usual. once they turn 1 they have alot of "funny" ideas in their heads huh...

hi ypg - haha..she smile ok lah...so cute...my son push out the food and can give me the "ee i dun want" face...scold him jia lat jia lat..give me the poor thing face...

cheerbear, if shawn must sleep in aircon room, maybe u can invest in a air HUMIDIFIER. it gives off moisture. aircon is very drying, and that makes blocked nose, phelgmy throats worse. humudifier helps with that. else if he can tahan non aircon, just off aircon these few days and use a fan. save money on humidifier.

hi EY - haha ya..for me spit already i so frustrated if use fingers to dig out i think i need to feed him w a cane beside me...

re PD / docs...for me i am v scared so stick to just 2 which i know and has my son's history. when he is hospitalised, everytime the nurse give new med i will be v scared and remind them his conditions. like i rem ibufen is not good for bbs w kidney prob... he had v high fever, i remind the docs abt it so they gave him something else. also he cant take sulphur products well - he will vomit so if need to change antibotics i will remind the docs again - no sulphur. Augmentin also i try to avoid cos it will give him runs....

<font color="0077aa">bigflamingo: babe, i am from Oct mummies thread just like u ladies mah, so cate also oct baby lor. though i know some mummies popped earlier in sept. kekekekekeke

chey, I thought you wanted to match make Julian with Cate. Hahahahahaahahahahaha</font>