(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">EY: Thanks! Will check it out.

Wan Chuen: Ya, my FB profile is limited. Saw your PM, will add you in shortly. U check in 15 lah.
Thanks for the compliment but Kai Jie is off to a good start with "Bye bye"!

Brown Rice Paradise is in Tanglin Mall. One box is like $8+ or so but it lasts quite long and well. After opening the box, I put them in a tupperware with a piece of the hand towel to seal it off hence making it tighter? So far, after 2 weeks, it is still crunchy.

OH, AND YOU AN JOIN IN ON SAT? eh, nice!

Phantus mentioned, if i recall correctly, that she is saying our pledge this Sat. So Bigflamingo and her will only be dropping in next Sat at Serene Centre.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Phantus\bigflamingo\Wan Chuen: I will be seeing Desiree on Sat anyway for my class. You ladies want to PM me your full name + bub's full name and I can pass to her on Sat for your session next Sat? If so, let me know lah. Dun mind consolidating.</font>

Good Morning all!!
Thought I log in to say hi while I wait for my hubs and minibee to wake up. The 2 sleepyheads are fast asleep!

Daisybuttons, dun worry your efforts at work will pay off and u will be rewarded accordingly I am sure. Opportunity will come again. Stay Positive! Oh if u want the Bellamy's Pasta I can pass to u. I have stock. Let me know.

XY, before u chuckle and laugh at me again abt the pasta, I will give u ur figure soon. hahaha. This Mummy busy sifting thru biodatas lah....

Whitepaper, your rate for LV is cheap! I was quoted $1000 b4 subsidy and GST!

CCC - all u mummies puting ur bubs at 18mth? full day or half day?

daisy,
u r another gd cook mummy.. shawn has been eating all the boring stuff and i hv run out of ideas wat to give him esp he dun like pasta.. sighz

oh yes.. jaz cake is so nice.. the princess is from precious moment right? put on the cake wont it be too heavy?

blur,
let me kpo and answer for whitepaper.. she is not working in NCS.

blur
PMed you
CC is one of the perks... but depending on which department you are in, it could be hard work (like mine)

LV price
I confirmed. I'll be paying $170.80 per month... really cheap

good morning mummies.

whitepaper,
happy for you to have your kid in LV. LV is good. my coy used to have LV. but now change to MMI. alot of parents have complaints against them. haiz...

Buffy/montessori
sorry..i am currently engaged in doing book reviews..lol

Children actually go through stages of intellectual interest and curiosity. I realised that myself in my time spent with EY and every kid is different really. In normal classroom, all kids are pushed to do the same thing with the others. Some who have no interest will be forced to do it. Thus, may result in poor performance. They might be laughed at by other kids or criticised by the teachers. Hence, resulting in low moral, no confidence and they might grow up thinking they are stupid which is NOT TRUE at all.

Come-on, I think all of us know this when we were in school. Those at A classes are good, E classes mean they are stupid. It's not true at all. During my school days, I moved from A class to E class. I wasn't stupid, I merely have no interest, I was more interested in other things (or I have not found the things I like to do) but I felt stupid cuz people thought we were.

However, in montessori teaching, parents and teachers recognise that each kid is different and respect their kids, and learn to support their kids learning and development. They help them to develop daily skills and talents. In the process, the kids learn self Discipline, confidence, responsibility and independence.

In montessori classroom, the kids are free to choose whatever they wish, and to work with.
They can move about freely and select work that interest them. The teachers will be there to help them to choose activities that have new challenges/ inquiry and to guide them along.
The kids have to put the material back where they belong.

Sorry for long post. There are many montessori schools in sg. You've to sit in for a class or 2 to see what they teach. Don't blindly jump into any montessori schools. Me and my friend (a teacher) had been discussing this for some time and she actually went to sit in with numerious montessori classes for observation.

I personally went to sit with the one at beauty world centre.

random post
was reading my fren's blog and her bb who is going to turn 5 mths can leperd crawl and she flipped from back to tummy at 3mths! fast man!

ey
gosh... this mtv is bad ...

lenny, you got PM.

busybee thanks for offering, actually i have the colourful macaroni pasta...was telling joanne coz she said she didn't see it before. thanks thanks.

cheerbear think the cake also heavy enough to tahan. :p

jelly
it's one of my favourite..! :p
actually you hv to watch the ending..they become normal carefree happy kids instead of robots

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning!

Just brought wenmin for her first bus ride with me and she likes it. Maybe I should bring my kids to take public transport more often

<font color="0077aa">EY: I read the second book before and I really liked it. Thats why I mentioned there are some activities which I feel makes total sense and I do understand the basis of montessori style.

I saw your blog and I have bookmarked it! I am a speed reader so I love to read. Just not much chance since I staeted driving and then after Cate came along.

Perhaps you can also share in your blog some good parenting books? Just a thought</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">whitepaper,
received your PM and busy looking now.

Hi EY,
Have thought of MMI before but most MMI centre are costly.</font></font>

buffy
Thanks for your suggesstion..will do dat...i rarely hv time to log on ...and to write book reviews..very tough..need to use brain.ahaaahah. ..i love to read,...hv read too many books to remember anyway.

Ps. Im very selective in children books and education, by the way. I have bought alot junk books, expensive but unuseful story books. Haiz.

Hi Jetudes (Wan Cheun),

Phtanus and I are going next saturday (7 Nov) to Bibinogs @ serene centre at 3.30pm. That is also Buffy's and Cate's session.

Just wanna share that I was soooo HAPPY when I saw Julian walking around unassisted last night! He was so excited and even broke into a run a few times!

<font color="0000ff">Bibinogs trial @ UE Square</font>

<font color="0000ff">Sat, 14 Nov 330pm @ UE Sq
1. jelly &amp; rebby
2. cheerbear &amp; shawn
3. nickypower &amp; Kaelyn
4. elch &amp; Dylan
5. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn
6. ypg &amp; Kai Tong
7. daisybuttons &amp; Jazreel
8. monyetnakal &amp; Jonathan

Mummies, I need your names and contact numbers pls. </font>

Staccato Musical School,
Sat, 31 Oct or 7 Nov or 14 Nov, 11.30am,
1)Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn (Prefer 31, 7 Nov 2nd choice)
2)Chua Wan Chuen &amp; Goh Kai Kiat (31st preferred, but 7 also ok)
3)ypg &amp; Kai Tong (14 Nov)
4)shortgal
5)
6)

As Staccato is very flexible with timing, can u all indicate which date u prefer so that I can arrange it. Paiseh for keep changing the date.

buffy
I hv a prob abt homeschooling ey... Aless comes to destroy everything...

blur
Yeah, i know.all good schools are ex. Thats y u hv to choose. Some makes u pay alot but teach little. The one at beauty world charges ard $900+ for a term if im not wrong, 2x a week. Its considered cheap compared to many others. But its really a very tiny class. Well equipped with things.

But in my opinion, its important to give kids a good headstart from birth to 4 yo cuz its considered a sensitive period whereby they are like sponges, they absorb everything consciously and subconsciously. Its the best period for learning the basic things....self discipline, confidence, etc... I personally feel there is no need to push them to do anything to be on par with other kids. After all, once they start primary school, the stress will come in. So ey is at home with me learning little things here and there from me. and again, i guess it depends on individual parent what is our expectation of them. I do not wish ey to be anything, genius or what. Only want her to be an upright person, a decent lifestyle and be happy. For people like me who spent so many years of education and high end career, in the end, im now at home looking after kids.

<font color="0077aa">Staccato Musical School,
4)shortgal
5)BBgoh &amp; Seline (prefer 14 Nov)
6)

As Staccato is very flexible with timing, can u all indicate which date u prefer so that I can arrange it. Paiseh for keep changing the date.

eelyn,
how much for above trial? </font>

Buffy,
Thanks, will pm u later.

Staccato Musical School,
4)shortgal
5)BBgoh &amp; Seline (prefer 14 Nov)
6)Phtanus &amp; Isaac (prefer 14 Nov)

jelly,
i feel like going too. but i scare i will throw out..

XY,
i heard is gross. my friend juz msn me said tat was this woman, in a womb there is a baby. ask me to go &amp; see. very educational.

hi mummies - any recommendation of car seat ? Finally my son seems to be too big (or rather tall) for his car seat (the rear facing) which he used since NB. Need to get another one..

vanilla
what do u own? cos even though not recommeneded, some of the car seats need to be front facing so that their legs can stretch. i own a britax and can sit up to 4yo.

Vanilla,
I bought my Maxi Cosi Priori XP 07 Series from Baby Kingdom. $350.

There is another brand I heard also not bad. Safe &amp; Sound.

icylemon
i on! will take leave to go cos i really want to see.

re: hello kitty at expo
there is a hello kitty exhibition at expo in nov

EY

haiz... yah study so much i also dunno for what.
but then again, if one can study, should go the whole hog! even if it's to be a wife and mother full time! it's an honourable profession. Society needs clever mothers what! haha.

I started believing during secondary school days (even though my sch v feminist) that if a woman chooses to start a family, her priority should be her family...

Yup... i saw that womb one also last time.
Feel kinda sad... i mean.. .where did they get this poor woman who died with baby in womb leh? Then go on exihibition. Even have baby foetus at the various months of growth!

thanks jelly - is ur britax is front facing? now i own a pregogo or something (haha i dont evenknow) cos pass from fren.

thanks R&amp;R mum - i will also check out maxi cosi ... i called Combi and they have 1 can sit till 7yrs old but cos me 799.. i am like ah.. i doubt my little worm will want to sit in a car seat till 7...i think by 5ys old he will using seat belt already...

R&amp;R mum,
Same as XY, went there few years ago. I find ok lay, not too gross, but interesting.

Vanilla,
I just bought a Maxi Cosi Priori SPS during Taka fair few months back @ $208. The UP is $398.

R&amp;R, nope i not going to that exhibit. dun have the heart or guts. :p

Jaz using her gorgor's Britax Royale convertible. Safe &amp; Sound is also by Britax if I not wrong. her gorgor now using booster by Graco.

bigflamingo...congrats on Julian running! WOW!!!!

dimpletot
Yeah...society needs independent and intelligent women. yeah, to be mother is a honorable profession but not housewife.

Mother/foetus
Sounds so disgusting. Remind me of that show Wax MuSeum whereby they tied the people up and poured wax on them literallY . That movie was real yucky.