(2008/10) Oct 2008

jelly,
thanks i will give me a call soon

hi ypg u can let her try fresh milk and see if she is receptive...after 1yr old can drink fresh milk.

hi mousebb - teething will cause low grade fever...so shld be less than 38..actually i think slightly above 37.5. 39 is actually q high...

<font color="aa00aa">bluey, ypg
My hubby fed her mee sua once and he said she like it. Maybe tomorrow i go buy some mee sua for her. It's so difficult to buy food for my kids cos they have different taste!!! I'm always the dustbin to taobao all the leftover!!! How???

She also like the 猪肠粉 with the sweet sweet sauce! Without it she wont it de!!! She is very fussy!</font>

Formula Milk:
I'm feeding Dylan bm and goat's fm now but I've got samples of other fm, can I just switch to other brands of fm after he finishes his current supply and switch back to goat's fm after he finishes the samples?

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
Oh yes!!! You have refreshed my memory!!! Now i remember my kids' PD said teething will cause low grade fever, exactly the same thing which you have mentioned. She also mentioned fever cause by teething should go away very soon de. Am hoping my gal's fever is just caused by teething and not viral infection. Now i also worry she would spread the fever to my boy!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Is avocado nice? Have not tried it myself before. Maybe I should give it to my kids to see if they like it. Thanks for the suggestion.</font>

mousebb,
I won't say avocado is nice but it's definitely a good food. It tastes better when it's mixed with other food like milk, pineapple, kiwi, coconut juice, Healthy Times Arrowroot Biscuits and etc...

So teething can cause low grade fever. Must be me heard wrongly. Paiseh for the wrong info. Hehe...

mousebb,

My gal eat the 猪肠粉 without the sweet sauce. Think she just prefer something to bite on rather than drink milk. She loves biscuit type of food aka junk food (star puff, happy puff, pigeon 小馒头 etc etc) also but her poo very hard whenever she eat biscuit so my mum dun allow me to give her. Her feeding really stress me out!

mousebb,
I find it frustrating when I need to force feed Dylan thus I try not to by giving him wide varieties of food and etc. As long as it's healthy food, I just give it a try even if it's just fruits as a main meal. My thinking is, fruits which are unprocessed, fresh and natural can't be inferior compared to porridge. They actually gets absorbed by the body faster and thus causing our babies to get hungry sooner than having porridge that's all.

<font color="119911">Jelly,

what's the size of the huggies dry comfort tat u r selling? I m keen

ypg,
shawn is same as tong.. likes all the snack esp the pigeon 小馒头 and his poo is super hard and the best is he HATES water and only like juice etc.. faintz

jjmom,
let me be kpo and help jelly to reply.. think she is selling XL

Ruffles,
I started months back...I gave raw vegs to Dylan wheneve we eat out as a 'novelty' as well as for him to nibble on as those are readily available as garnishings!

ypg, Cheer Bear,
Do you all feed all those snacks daily? If so, how to fit them into the schedule? Till now, I've only bought Dylan the Healthy Times Arrowroot Maple Biscuits and that takes months to finish! I bought the Gerber Stars months back but still have not opened it! I only give him snacks when we are out and he's making noise.

elch - OIC> ok will try! I also started giving Victoria adult food now .. things like steam fish with rice, or if we go to a restaurant, i will give get the chef cook her a bowl of porridge with lean meat (no salt or seasoning). She eats v heartily now and these are on top of her milk feeds n her own porridge meals! AS for snacks, she is a snack queen .. she can munch on the happy puffs, apples, cantaloupes, organix rice cakes etc.....
eat so much still so small size! hahhaha.

elch,
i give 2-3 times per wk as his pm snacks and of coz when out coz is so hard to keep him quiet.

vanilla,
wat is china barley?

Foods she dun like include bananas, potato, and waffles!

Gonna try scrambled egg yolk and pancake soon....I better be a bit more hardworking n plan her a more varied meal! So far she's been happy with bread w cheese / unsalted butter for breakfast and jumps up n down whenever she sees her breakfast bowl. So funny/

buffy
yah I too love ladybugs, hee. So I am improvising it into Jo's birthday. LOL.

signing
err I am very half-hearted and not consistent when I teach Jo signs. I started when she was 6 months but she learnt little cos I was not consistent.

a specific type of barley (abit bigger) but not that ayam tin type - cos the latter is too cooling for bbs.. u can get it from Eu ren seng... i will boil for more than 1 hr and then let him drink in place of juice...

<font color="aa00aa">elch
I also find it frustrating to force my kids to eat but sometimes I have no choice leh. For example this morning I gave porridge to my gal but she refused to eat it at all not even 1 spoon and since i have bought macoroni for my son, i decided to let her try some but then she rejected it too. I bo bian but to force her liao. Some times I'm really very worry that my kids dont eat enough food!</font>

vanilla,
u buy from EYS? then how to tell the person? china barley? will they understand me? hahaha

phew.. finally finish update my blog for shawn bday

<font color="0077aa">ypg: thanks for the tip! I will work hard to brush up on my pitiful chinese... thing is HB is also not chinese so double whammy for me man. sure die one, i tell u.

dimpletot: thanks for putting the list together. Cate naps during noon time but she is easy to adjust. if we are meeting for lunch, i will just coax her to sleep a bit later for her morning nap. =) hmmm... where to meet leh, must be baby friendly wor. is it gonna be town for most mummies?

karen: ohhhhh.... *hi-5* yah, somehow i love ladybugs too... Cate even has the wall decal or should I say *ahem* I hv that wall decal.

Let me know if you need any help with artwork; have been in the marketing line for 12 years and I got one of my ex-staff who was a designer with us to teach me how to use photoshop 'cos she was going away on long leave so I had to learn it to survive! but having said that, i love doing artwork and graphic design. good for my soul; at least more interesting than organising CIOs roundtable discussions... -__-

Signing: ya, consistency is the key to any type of education I guess.
keep to it if you are keen. since Jo is older now, she should be able to sign back quite fast. Cate just did another new sign "Lights On" earlier.

I am constantly amazed at how their brains work and how much info they seem to retain!

Barley: Yup, I vote for that. Cate has been drinking that since a few weeks old and everytime she has a fever, the runs or constipation. It is very good!

Snacks: I dun give Cate snacks. I think it is 'cos I do not snack at all and do not have a sweet tooth. So, it is not in my habit to shop for snacks and hence, I do not have them at home lor.

Ruffles: I started giving Cate raw lettuce and carrots months ago too. So far so good. 'Cos when we dine out, usually she cant eat those stuff 'cos of MSG so I will just give her these garnishings lor. :p</font>

Joanne/Mona,
u ladies going for the JG trial class? where and by the way how much is it? so tempted to go after the comments made by karen and dimpletot.

Trace,
wah... found another HK drama lover... is that show nice? will go and get it to watch.

by the way, for those who have not watch '与敌同行', I strongly recommend it... haha... me and hb actually chased after the show till 3am to catch the last episode... (which end up we all fell asleep halfway thru) SCV will be showing it soon i think...

gd morning,

i reached office at 8.00 am... so early!!!! so sleeply.. All my blur ah lao fault... went back to sleep again after i wake him... make me have to take cab my auntie house... i am so tired now...

purple,

wat was the ending for '与敌同行'? I stopped at episode 11. i think it was ard last year or early this year. I watched it online.

<font color="0077aa">morning all!
today is a good day for me 'cos Cate slept well last night and I was sooooooo tired after the Hot Flow yoga during lunch + din sleep well 2 nights before that I conked out before 10pm. Woke up at 6.45 though. But Cate, slept for 10 hours which is a RARE feat! So, am well rested today...

Gathering: Town convenient for everyone? I am bad with where to meet man 'cos not sure where is a good place for kids. Was even thinking of having a picnic at west coast dog run so that for those who have dogs and wanna bring them along, it will be additional bonus. And we can do potluck also. I love to cook! So, I can bring Fried E-Mee or Thai green curry, beef stew or greek salad, etc. But I think not so practical 'cos it is far for some of you ya?</font>

Joanne,
If you had epidural during your delivery. Is common to have back ache.

Jelly,
Yes!! Yesterday featured Diana Ser de was very touching. Her baby girl was born during 35 weeks at only 1.8kg only.

<font color="0077aa">joanne, hmmm... backache. I hv scoliosis and had to use epi for my e c-sec. but so far, so good. as in usually when I have backache, it is because my back is out of alignment. honestly, when i was gg to the chiro 3 x a week initially, i did not have any back issues at all despite having scoliosis.

Yoga helps - forward bends and twists. I recently changed my mattress and that helps too.
Additionally, I also realised that my back aches when I carry Cate in the sling for long periods; that could also be the case for you. So you may want to just check on the mattress, posture and I personally believe strongly in Chiropractic.
HTH </font>

Good morning mummies...

Buffy,
I also have scoliosis! I opted for epidural and went thru emergency c-sect as well. I've got constant backache which I've somehow got immuned to it and accepted it as part of my life even before I'm preg...

<font color="0077aa">elch: ya, i know what you mean. my tolerance for backaches is quite high. hahahahahahahahaa... until i went for Chiro. really leh babe, it works. The relief is almost instant but on a long run, it actually helps with the degeneration of curve and in some cases, the spine actually "straightens". I stopped gg for a long while liao 'cos its so ex! Additionally Yoga helps also. Seriously. Thats why I am willing to forgo my lunch and head for lunch time Yoga 2 - 3 times a week. My spine needs the relief.

Who was the other mummy who went to a Chiro ah? May I ask how much per session, how long each session lasts? Thanks!</font>

r&amp;r,
nope. no epidural. they gave me gen. anesthesia during my delivery.

buffy,
my backache started when i went to ntuc and bought so many heavy stuffs + carrying rianne. after that it just keeps getting more painful. now it's difficult for me to stand up from a sitting position while carrying rianne and to pick her up from her cot/playpen/bed.
i have a chiro back in my hometown cause was involved in a car accident many years back which misaligned my spine but don't know if i can tahan till my trip home.

Buffy,
Same here, my tolerance for backache is quite high too since I live with it daily! I've heard of chiropractic and have always been keen to give it a try but the price puts me off leh...the other mummy who went to one is EY...

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

I watched it and it was so so sad that I can feel for her...I teared during the show...

<font color="0077aa">joanne: ya, accident will definitely be mis-aligned. I think better dun wait leh. I once tahan and waited for weeks before heading there and after I went, I was like DAMN STUPID LOR, WAIT SO LONG DUNNO FOR WHAT 'COS THE RELIEF... wah, cannot be dscribed.

Most likely the carrying that day misaligned the spine again. I can share my chiro with you but you should also check with EY.

elch: ya, no choice leh, for us. your curvature is C or S? Mine is S. I know it got a bit more severe because the right side of my tops - straps, always slip off. So, my left side is becoming higher. So, back to the chiro i would go... sigh... $$ fly off again</font>