(2008/10) Oct 2008

Mummies, I need some advice on formula milk for age 1 above. I am partially bf now and intend to stop soon. Any comments/advice on the various brands? Currently I am supplementing with Pro Nan 2 and he is ok, but I just read that it tastes sweeter and other brands like Similac is more bland? What about brands like Enfapro and Enfalc, Mamil?

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning

<font size="+1">Happy Children's Day to all babies!!!</font></font>

Mint
wow regina's breakfast sounds great! Hard for me to make brekkie for Jo. After she's up for a couple of play hours, she goes down for first nap. No time for brekkie. Maybe I use your ideas for lunch. Wah the thought of it makes me hungry. Ha.

hi mint - thanks..ya but the frozen one i bot from a supermarket -- it was not like the cod that is thawed and sold at wet market...also not so oily.

yup, think can alternate fish types for bb to makan or not they also bored...cod 1 week, threadfin another week and salmon the next week...

Cheerbear,
Buangkok NTUC got sell threadfin? i dont see it in cold storage so i only give salmon as codfish he dont really like.

Mint,
Wow..your breakfast really sounds delicious! how many pc of bread u give? wholemeal bread?

busybee,
i dun drive leh so to go rivervale plaza is not convenient unless my hb ard and he drive.

zoo - i have not been there donkey yrs.. will bring shawn there soon maybe the wkend after his bday

tofu - din know hv to soak in water as i jus keep in fridge but will consume within 48hrs.. so now i know if soak in water can keep longer

mint,
where u buy the Nature's Path organic homestyle waffles? ntuc hv?

everafter,
yes buangkok ntuc got sell threadfin but u must choose carefully coz some got more bones.. i din know first time and end up got to buy another salmon as i give up picking the bones.

Nickypower,
Yup, it's the frozen type.

Karen,
The french toast i can only do on weekends when hubby is around to entertain her.

Waffles is easier. Just pop into oven and voila!

Cheerbear,
Threadfins bones are big and easy to pick out.

I cant remember if i bought the waffles from ntuc finest or cold storage.

Wan chuen,
I think for breastfed babies, they can take whole milk after 1 yo. No need transition with formula.

MIL say marcus is rejecting EBM.
HOw huh?? Sigh... EBM is fresh one leh, not the frozen ones he also reject.
But when he sees me, he like latch on for dear life.
MIL suggest that i get Formula. So... step 3?

Everafter,
I only give 1 slice. Sometimes she cant finish it. I give both types of bread. Depends on what i have at home lor. Haha!

my building was shaking jus now too.. i thot i not enough sleep and giddy but my colleagues felt it too.

mint,
i think the side got some small bones so be safe i rather i eat then give to shawn.

wat brand of unsalted butter u buy?

hi XY .. i think it is comfort sucking...my colleague did something v drastic to stop her daughter from direct bf...her daughter is 2 yrs old and will refuse to drink milk and cry and wait for my coll to come home to latch on direct. so when my coll has to work OT, she go home bf her and then came back to work... so she fed up and put wasabi and chilli on her breasts and her daughter took the chilli and immediately reject and drink from bottle that day onwards. cruel but works..

Karen,
Wah... can start giving fresh milk now ah? But fresh milk is cold right?

Vanilla Pod
cannot lah. I can't bear to do that. But i do agree and think that it's comfort that he seeks too. I like the BFing bond... but, i have to wean him soon. Can't risk having him exposing me in public!

actually i m envious of u mummies that do direct latch. Since day 1 i pump for my son...now i try direct latch he looks at my breasts like "what are those??"

xy
u n marcus are experts bfing buddies! if u still hv it, then can continue. i agree w mint that u might want to give him whole milk...but maybe u wanna warm it up.

mousebb
pls help me give wm a hug! today it's her first bday!

Xy,
Regina now will just pull my shirt and look inside and say 'mare mare'. In public somemore. Sigh!

Like u, i also enjoy the bonding.

Good morning mummies, can anyone advise how to help my bb get rid of the phlgems. my 2 boys has been coughing for 2 weeks liao, taking PD medical like singlar or Fluimucil together with cough medicine but the phlgems still a lot leh...heartpain to see them coughing...sighz...pls help.

mint, how do we cook the waffles? sound delicious.

mousebb, happy birthday to Wenmin.Dun worry abt wenxuan going to playgroup he will gets use to it very soon :p

<font color="119911">is fresh milk better than FM?

Vanilla, LOL at your 'what's those?' statement

jjmom
no milk is better than bm and fm. heh. the stuff they provide are not so critical for toddlers though. So can substitute with cow's milk. if can continue with bm and/or fm, no harm. ex though. bm is ex in its own way.

you mummies read about how bm cures cancer?

hi jjmom

FM is better in the sense of the added ingredients - like DHA, iron etc....but fresh milk is good in the sense no "preservatives"...cos those dha etc our bbs can get from solids.

<font color="0077aa">hi all, i am back! waiting for playdays for the confirmation of trial and how many pax they can accommodate.

hey, can i check with u mummies on something? i am making a small goodie bag for the kids who come to Cate's party and I only have organic lollipops + bubbles so far. any other suggestions on what other small favours i can add in?</font>

Mint,
Same lor. Marcus also like to pull my top to self service. I scold him by saying : U think mummy is ur buffet counter or wat??

Oh well... boys, the obessession with boobs start young!

Jelly,
ur logic of tooth decay is funny.
I grew up drinking FM and milo and all the sweet stuff. Proud to say i dun have any decay. Strong healthy teeth, never had any fillings done before! *huge wide grin*

<font color="0077aa">Karen: I got them from another mummy who bought them in bulk. The brand is Yummy Earth.

XY: wah, yr goodie bag sounds ex! LOL.. noisy toys such as? Also, what sorta baby biscuits? Was toying around with biscuits as well 'cos I printed personalised stickers and labels toe be stuck onto the goodies so small bags of biscuits are easy to do...</font>

<font color="119911">Karen, Vanilla,

thanks for the impt infor

Jelly, tat's y lots of moomies practice giving plain water after the milk feed, to 'rinse' the mouth =P

XY, i can pic u with the huge wide grin LOL</font>

happy birthday to wm

Daisybutton
Yeah he is good. Ive pmed u his contact. His schedule is very tight.