(2008/10) Oct 2008

jjmom - ic. maybe increase each of her feeds?

everafter - you can try beef or chick? Bryan may enjoy them. I usually have 2 proteins (ie. 1 chic + 1 fish) + 1 veg in ea porridge.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Same here. Stuck with fish and pork. But since wenmin will be 1 yr old tomorrow, I will buy chicken tomorrow when I go marketing. Hopefully she will eat more porridge after that. </font>

<font color="119911">Me too, have been giving Nat pork &amp; threadfin fish (wu yu) nia.

Now worse, after her fever, she has false measles rashes &amp; we more or less confirm tat she is suddenly allergy to threadfin fish although she has been eating it since 8th mth

So now, although we still put in the fish &amp; pork in her porridge but we have decide to stop feeding her the fish for awhile

hi XY - only big fish will have high chances of mercy - like tuna, swordfish (those we avoid when preggie) if feed salmon, cod and threadfin shld be ok...

hi everafter, my son does not like pork..since he started on beef (i introduced rather early cos want him to beef up)..he prefers it to pork. Beef has more iron n protein too.. so i am ok w it. pork is only used to make soup stock.

For chicken - i will try when he is 1 (which is in these couple of days)..maybe make soup stock first....

no need feel guilty -- bb all have diff taste and eating habits... my son takes 1 hr to finish his porridge..which is v frustrating but still has to feed him....

<font color="119911">Ruffles,

we let Nat take the lead in how much milk she wants to drink.

&amp; yes, we did notice tat her milk intake b4 sleeping at nite has increase quite a bit but she still needs to wake up for at least 1 extra feed in the nite wor</font>

mousebb and everafter,
shawn also hv fish and pork and i plan to give chicken when he is 1yo
as for beef my mum dun like us to eat so not giving shawn at the moment eventho i know is the best red meat.

everafter,
at least ur co annouce this fri.. our axe list only out early nov.. think hv to faster find job liao.

xy,
dun give those high in mercury one lor.. i think sardine is one of them.

btw mummies are your bb still drinking from bottle? i read from somewhere they shld try to drink from cup liao but is really hard for me to train shawn. now train to drink from straw already so hard not to mention cup.

<font color="119911">Coz Nat suddenly has allergy to threadfin, i wonder what kind of other fish can we give her? any advise?</font>

XY, i think the big fishes has higher mercury level coz (higher in food chain) they eat smaller fish that contains mercury, e.g. shark, king tuna, swordfish, marlin etc. but the list showing fish with low, moderate and high mercury are limited to fishes found in ang moh countries leh, never really mention threadfin or cod that we eat. not sure if those are moderate or low level of mercury.

Some experts say the mercury usually contained in the skin so discard the skin helps. but another group say mercury usually in the muscle, not the skin. so i duno who's right!

Mint, yes i agree with u! cannot find a school with perfect teachers. anyway i feel most importantly, the teachers in pre-schools shld have warmth and genuinely love kids.
oh and they shld also have lotsa energy! hahahaaa....

cheerbear, oh dear.....hope everything will turn out well for you!

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
Dont worry so much. In the meanwhile maybe you can start to see see look look for a better job opportunity.

I find it hard to train bb to drink from cup leh. Recently my gal starts to be funny whenever I give her the straw cup. She would purposely spill all over her body and clothes and I have to clean her up. On same days I have to change 3-4 times of the clothes for her. So angry wor!</font>

<font color="119911">cheerbear, everafter,

sigh...times r bad, mayb shd start to look out elsewhere *pat pat*</font>

no worries - for cod try not to buy the frozen type smell weird...buy from the market type is good...i bot once alasaka black cod...smells eeeekkkss..haha but still make my boy eat it..

But cod and salmon also big fish mah. Treadfin also quite big leh.
Dun have mercury??

Cheerbear,
I tot sardines are quite small. high in mercury ah? So far, i only seen canned sardines. Never give canned foods to marcus yet.

Now MIL giving him promfet. Small fish, but damn mafan, coz have bones, must pick.

mint,

I spend $150-200 on average for each children day. I got too many students liao. About 90 per year.

Eating:

Kai Tong also eat only fish &amp; pork. My mum says chicken got poison. Haha... But she says after 1 yr old can eat liao.

daisybuttons,

Forgot to reply u on the artscow stuff. I take 2 afternoons to finish my 60 pages.

I also same mentality with u. Try out many trial class so as to find out which one my gal love most. If I can "copy", I do it myself. If not, will have to part with my hard-earned $ lor. Haha...

Cheerbear, everafter,

Hope for the better but prepare for the worst. Dun worry too much. Perhaps it is time for u 2 to look for greener grass, I think.

XY, actually almost all fish have mercury, just how much only....

promfret is good! yums! i love promfretS! good idea...maybe can feed Jaz that too hahahaaa...

cod fish - dun give frozen one then hv to buy at wet mkt leh but near my hse no hv how? also unually i buy from ntuc and i give shawn salmon or threadfin so far so gd.

mousebb,
sometimes shawn also change alot of clothes jus bcoz is wet and i dun wan him to catch cold.

xy,
sardine u can find in wet mkt but dun bother la.. also y not give threadfin and salmon no bones leh then ur mil no need to pick and wat if she is not careful as some of the bones really small leh.

ypg....why chicken got poison ah?? what kinda poison? is it the hormones injection and antibiotics? If buy Sakura chicken, no antibiotics. If buy organic chicken, no hormones injection and not antibiotics.

wow 2 afternoons can finish 60pages! cool!

mousebb and mint, i agree with mint's comment about music and gym good for small babies development. phonics i worry about later hehehee. but Jov got try zoophonics (1 term) when he was 2plus lah. so what prog did ur hubby sign him up with? I can read?

Ruffles, the zoo has shrunk??? it still look pretty big to me! hahahaa....we can never cover all the things inside within a day. so many things to do. did you go children's world? got dino walk, carousel, flying fox, waterplay, pony riding there heeee. did u take the boat ride? quite fun.
did u catch the elephant show? feed the giraffes? hehe aiyoh got myself excited just talking abt it. :p

daisybuttons,

Stop making me gian about the Zoo with all ur desciption of wat we can do in the zoo. If not for the stupid rain, I would have bought Kai Tong to the Zoo on teachers day liao.

My mummy says chicken not good for body. Think got to do with the food they eat. Anyway, I avoid chicken when I am down with cough or flu. Cause everytime I eat chicken when I am sick, my cough get worsened. If I dun eat chicken, I recover from cough very fast.

I finish fast cause I upload photo b4 I sleep n let the PC work OT. Also, I done quite a number of photobooks so it is easier.

Polliwogs tmr? No one wants join me?

Cheerbear!! U can go to the wetmarket at Rivervale Plaza. Pretty near ur place if u drive. I just pop in to pick up the Cod and leave. I dun really shop at the wet market. As for salmon, I normally get at cold storage.

Mousebb, Good Luck for WX's first day of school!!! (tomorrow right???) How come on children's day!)

Enrichment classes... I guess at this point if the class is play centric and not academic drilling then I suppose more appropriate. Our little bubs are too young to be stressed out!! Whole student life ahead of them to get stressed!

Ruffles!! I can't wait to take Minibee to the Zoo too.

jjmom
Sorrim forgot to add in milk. Lol perhaps cuz he doesnt hv schedule for that. Its drink and run. Anyway his milk intake isnt high.

Thks, its much better. The chiropractor is juz super. Im so glad that i go to him instead of that $ sucking one at united square where i had paid $350 for doing nothing at all to my neck except trying to convince me to take up a $4500 package plus 7 xrays.

I got rid of the 95% of my severe neck pain in 2 visits with the current chiropractor. He is ex professional and works miracle. my hand has regained abit of strength and able to carry aless now.

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Thanks! Actually I wanted to let the boy starts his play group on next Mon but the sch said it is better to start on a fresh month. Din purposely plan it to start on children's day. I also feel bad to let him start on children's day when he supposed to enjoy himself but no choice leh. Hubby said the boy can enjoy himself in his playgroup where he can interact with other kids. We will bring him out after his class to celebrate wenmin's birthday tomorrow.

Regina's schedule:
6am - BM
9am - BM
11am - Breakfast: Cereals/cheese with bread/waffles with fruit puree
12pm - bath then nap
2pm - lunch: porridge (4 tbs of rice grains, 1 meat or fish, tofu or egg yolk and vege) The meat will be either pork, chicken or beef. Tofu and egg are protein food too.
4pm - BM and snack or fruit puree
7pm - dinner (same as lunch cos I will cook 2 portions)
9pm - BM

mousebb,
My PD told me that for breastfed babies, after 6 months, our milk lacks iron. We need to make up for it through fortified commercial cereals and other iron rich foods.

vanillapod,
All cod fish are frozen in Singapore. No such thing as fresh cod. If the fishmonger tells you it's fresh, he's lying. It has been thawed for consumer's convenience.

XY,
Instead of promfret give threadfin cos the bones of threadfin are big and few (fillet) so it's easy to pick out and safer for baby in this sense.

Salmon is freshwater fish so shouldn't have high mercury content. Only deep sea fish have higher levels of mercury content but everything in moderation.

Did any of you all feel the tremors today? My classmates and I all felt it during the lesson today. It was so obvious. My desk was shifting from side to side and the projector overhead was moving too. Haha! We brought it up to our lecturer who was too engrossed in his explanation cos we were hoping that we needed to evacuate the building. Haha! But he just brushed it off and said that it was a normal occurence and that the building will be fine.

mint- Wat kind of waffle u give Regina? ;)
For the cheese with bread, mneaning u spread the cheese on the white bread and gives her? ;p

Btw, ask u mummies... for those soft silken tofu, once we cut half to cook/consume, how do we store/save the other remaining portion to maintain the freshness and can keep for how long?
Thxsss!! :D

Kaelyn's schedule:
7am-11am: Latch (Cos usually she wakes up late ;p)
11am-1pm: Bath then late breakkie, cereals with fruit puree/bread/rice biscuits
1pm-3pm: Nap
3-4.30pm: Lunch depending on wat time she wakes up oso(Porridge with fish/meat and veggies)
4.30-6.30pm: Playtime &amp; Latch
6.30-7.30pm: Short nap
7.30-8.30pm: Dinner(Same as lunch portion)
8.30-10.30pm: Playtime and bath
10.30/11pm: Sleep/Latch
In between the day, will give her some snacks/yoghurt.

Think my girl isn't eating alot too!! ;p

Mint, waffles sounds yummy! home made waffles? wow! as for the iron content, actually its not our BM content drop, its the baby's natural iron reserves drop after 6mths. thats why they need to have other source of iron e.g. solids around that time. actually our BM, although it contains less iron than iron found in FM, is more easily absorbed in higher percentage (50% absorbed) than iron in FM (4-10% absorbed).

babies schedule.
Jaz eat a lot meh? but she not chubby at all leh.

bigflamingo, wow!!!! he drinks so much milk!

mercury in salmon - actually i read before that norwegian salmon has the highest amt of metals. maybe can avoid buying norwegian salmon and get those from canada or NZ instead. Japanese ones also but very very hard to come by.

nickypower, for tofu, the remaining portion shld be kept in a airtight container with a bit of water, and change the water every 2 days. can keep total 7 days only.

EY, wow ur chiro sounds good. Can you give me the contacts pls? my dad suffering from long term back pain....thanks so much! glad u r feeling better now!

daisybuttons- Ok ok thxs!! So just 'soak' the tofu in water ya...the water not neccessarily need to cover the tofu rite? ;p *Silly me*

nicky, busybee,
The waffles I bought from supermarket can't remember if it was cold storage or NTUC finest. They are organic waffles. daisybuttons, I not so clever to make waffles on my own lah. Haha!

For the bread, I spread with cheese (the laughing cow cubes) then break into small bite-sized pieces for her to pick and eat by herself.

On Saturdays or Sundays, I would make french toast for her using only egg yolk. Heehee!

Tofu: Just keep the remaining tofu in water. Usually I would fill the water till the tofu is completely underwater.

busybee,
Ya, breakfast is the most headache meal of the day. I want it fast and simple to prepare yet nutritious enough.

mint- Heee ic ok thxs! So it's those frozen waffles or normal waffles stored like bread in plastic packaging? ;p Wat name?? *keke*

French toastin egg yolk sounds great! How u do it?
Hmmmm think I shld learnt from ur mummies how to prepare interesting, yummilicious meals for my girl! ;D

nickypower,
It's called Nature's Path organic homestyle waffles.

French toast: 1 egg yolk (beaten), 1 slice bread and unsalted butter.

Melt 1 tsp of unsalted butter in frying pan.
Coat 1 slice of bread with egg yolk.
Place in frying pan till golden brown on both sides.

Can serve with fruit puree. Usually, I will spread it like jam on the bread then cut into small pieces for her.

Karen:
You said I am on a roll then I MIA again for many days. Hope Jo is better now?

Purpleangle:
Hope LY recovers soon.

Mint:
Heh I like your french toast recipe, shall try it sometime.