(2008/10) Oct 2008

JJmom,
Just saw your email and replied!

Jelly,
Ai Tong still need to take transport from my mum's place leh...how about Kup Chuan Presbyterian Primary? Good or not? That one just walking distance and Dylan will have priority so I no need to volunteer as I'm their ex-student...hee...

pengz.

ginapy,
i called schoolhouse by the bay, i've read good things about them but while staff are mostly english ed, they have a good team behind them to advise them on program development, the curriculum sounds ordinary. But at $529 per month for toddler class, $508 for playgroup, $642 for hald day kindy and $1064 for full day. abby's mommy can eat grass liao.

like little doggie's kiddies, abby is probably going into pcf or NTUC.

i think nursery programs across the island are standard, dependent on teachers and environment. Instead of the best, i think of distance. Essentially i just want her to develop social skills, experience routine, pick up verbal language bilingually, have friends of different races, religions, cultures and abilities.

mousebb,
i feel your pain. We bought a highchair from toyogo, good, wide and spacious, sturdier than ikea. she likes it.. but food she's not so fond of. turns out, she has developed an intolerance to cow's milk and now she is damn sian of dao huey jiu. past 2-3 weeks, retrying foods, cutting out foods and find cause.. now back to cereal and soy milk only. she lau sai until anus bleed. not pretty.. sigh.

so mousy JIA YOU.. i think with two kids, you're doing fantastic!

Hmm... My friend's philosophy is that the school matters less than the parents... Esp if it's a few hours only... I kinda agree. so if I get to stay home when my kid starts school then just put her where conv lor... some of these schools are really expensive!

Jjmom

Dun stress lah... Most impt they healthy and happy rite? U stress finding school, they stressed attending that school, vicious cycle. Of course it becomes ironic when the more fun schools are harder to get in.

Maybe I should let my gal attend a neighbourhood heartland school so she got chance to get the UWC scholarship haha!! That school also very fun. but freaking exp.

elch
how does dylan get priority at kuo chuan pes? his add is registered at ur mom's or one of u old boy/girl?

jjmom
that is the nearest school from my parents home where i had my ic registered. even it is within 2km, i know i hv 2 parent volunteer 2 years... so it's really bcos i dun hv a choice... my hubby not keen to send rebby to chij even though he was sji old boy... so no choice lor

Pildough,
How's abby? Poor thing. PD not able to identify what went wrong? Need FBM? I have some. Keke...

Monday lunch date
Mummies, i'm on leave on monday. Anyone free to meet up?

pildough,

i haven ask SHBTB about their pricing yet, cos im more intersted in their playgroup rather than nursery/kindergarten.

Need to read up on their info which they gg to send me soon.

din know that their playgroup is ex $508. haha. Thanks for checking.

pil

Aiyoh, poor abby. My kate was constipate till bleed. Opposite But last time lah. Now on porridge better. Katie gives abby a beeeg hug.

Got yr SMS. See FB, I got recent pix.

Mousebb

Hope u guys manage to move. Nothing like yr own house lah. Wm and wx everyday so drama!
but she so guai can eat her own biscuits. Katie can eat tissue but not her own biscuits. Can pick up but put everywhere but her mouth.

Pigeon biscuits

Wah I din know bedok ntuc sell at 3.80 only! Bought from robinsons at 4.90 tho got 20%. My ntuc dun have cheh.

<font color="ff6000">XY,
no lah, i meant it as a joke
asking u to check out the primary school while i check out the university lah... =P

dimpletot, i know too but if everywhere is gng to b a waiting list with bbs q-ing for 2010 class wor...sounds urgent LOL but having said tat, i lazy lah...will c how it goes. Dunno what's the plan for Nat after nanny yet...</font>

Jelly,
I'm an ex-student there...in Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Pri &amp; Sec...so I guess that will give him priority right? I no need to do 'extra work' by volunteering right?

jjmom

After pri sch we no need to check oredi. Depends on their own 'power'.

Ginapy
yah, the range of prices is very wide. Astounding. Sometimes wish I were expat. Company pay everything.

Pappy
if u r still reading, my gal scratches her head too. Not her neck though. I find it kinda cute. My mum finds it worrying. But that's my mum. Worries abt everything.

Jelly
u and busybee win prize for pri sch preparedness! She also confirm know where to send minibee liao...

Xy
ok onz! Where?

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
So sad to hear that abby LS until her anus bleed. Hope she is getting better now. So young can drink dao huey jiu meh? I dont even dare to give wenxuan too much for his age.
I'm not doing a ggod job lah. Many pple said bcos I anyhow let wenxuan eat that's why he lost so much weight!

dimpletot
I also hope to move asap cos my 2 kids need more space otherwise everyday they would give me some "heart attack". Wenmin puts eveything in her mouth lah!!! Haha!</font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies
tdy so stress ah initially is only pre-school nw go Pri &amp; Sec??

elch
must do volunteering de meh?? nowadays parents really hard sigh
i thk i got to send my girl to Indo study le lolx </font>

<font color="ff6000">Jelly,

but i kiasu too lei, juz not as gd mommy like u lah, lazy mommy, all talk nia =P
Punggol a lot of bbs 1 lei, wait really no where to go, have to go far far away to attend school, i will faint lei...heehee

Yes! I showed him the finished work liao but haven frame it up yet. Bought a big frame from Ikea, gng to hang it in Nat's room

Those new papers tat i got from mwl r so cute &amp; the hands &amp; foots prints r vy nice with the washable ink pad from popular

Thanks for helping dear

dimple
my parents home - fang yuan wu ba li only 1 primary school - ai tong - that is nearest to my sch. 5mins dr. how can i not want to parent volunteer? they also h an excellent chinese program... maybe i should go join in the hui guan as well affliated to ai tong! wahaha.. but i got no $ to join hui guan

mummies, you all very steady le.

Today i only mentioned preschool, all of you think so far already.

You all more kiasu and stress than me le.

I haven even think of pri school yet. ha ah

haha so funny
but primary sch must think earlier haha else next time must shift house even more headache! all becoz of the 2km thingy hai...

Jjmom,
Same here, still never think of school for my MX yet. Only thinking abt next swimming session..haha..

Anyone in west got good recommendation in school?

<font color="ff6000">dimple,
i know tat, it's juz a joke lah

my gal is scratching everywhere lei, it's worrying me coz there r scars on the back of her neck, arms &amp; forehead
i pray it's not eczema</font>

Dimpletot,
No idea where yet. Think Mint also free.

JJmom,
Haha... think the scary part is Primary 1 registeration. Then the rest will fall into place nicely.

Monday lunch date
1. XinYing
2. Dimpletot
3. Mint

<font color="ff6000">jelly,
i got quite a big 1, much bigger than the paper, 50x50 coz i like the look
think it's $29.</font>

bbgoh,
Need to do voluntary work for the school if you want your kid to go in to school of your choice and especially when you don't fall into the 2km criteria and not affiliated...

mummies, just wan to check, does that mean if i stay within 2km near the school, im guaranteed a seat in P1 registration, or shld i still volunteer to be grassroot leader / school volunteer to enhance my chance to get into that school?

<font color="ff6000">XY,
ok, will upload after i take some pics of it but cannot laugh at my low standard artwork hor...heehee</font>

<font color="ff6000">ginapy,
within 2km does NOT guarantee a seat.

If all seats r taken up at earlier stages or more kids apply than the available seats then u still have to ballot.

Seriously, does volunteering really guarantee a seat? The school will always say no it doesn't leh. stressss ah...</font>

jjmom
I also got that big big one for my parents' and PiL wedding anniversary gift last yr. Put their pak tor pix, wedding pix and now pix. Was fun! Both of them hang in their house.

Ginapy
there is no guarantee. Stay near also must volunteer. My director so busy also move house and volunteer all sorts of things so her two girls can go SCGS. Some schools like nanyang pri u volunteer for a few yrs also can ballot then dun get. U considering Tao nan?

p.s. i've found work, will either go with pcf or ntuc. ;) hur hur hur.. see liddat i must walk the talk right? how can i advocate for quality heartland care services but yet send my daughter somewhere else?

Good Primary Schools,
like kindies and preschools, good schools depend on teachers and the amt of support teachers get from management shape their motivation. Teachers do request to be moved out and principals will change.

mousebb,
friso soy for bb (ok not exactly dao huey jiu) ya.. your own space healthier for your sanity too. ppl also saying now i don't let abby eat that's why she's losing her rolls but truth is we don't dare to give her so much now, dunno what she is intolerant too. think started porridge and all that too fast.. now taking it slow. i'm leaving it to my mil,rushing my report, going for interviews, second interviews, applying maid, gathering documentation for maid, squeezing in housework. thankfully nowadays mil checks with me before she does or gives abby anything, for times like these, i appreciate my mil.

Jelly,
is goat's milk very goaty?

XY,
haiya.. now i feel so bad discontinuing breastfeeding early.

dimple,
will log in later to see katie's pics! btw what was that thing you did with your in laws pics? Both my inlaws birthdays this week, havent had time to go out of the house and get something for them.

jelly
good that there's gd sch near home... Wah, I din know join hui guan also need to pay a lot? I thot they quite desperate for youngsters to join?

dimple
nanyang, if u gor moolah, it will do most of the job. one of my relative is a budget airline ceo and they paid something like 5-10k for each of their kids to be enrolled in nanyang years ago

<font color="0077aa">wah really stress ah
then wat kind of volunteer to do? no idea ler
my current hse near by got 2 Pri school, they r may flower &amp; anderson both r queit top one ler </font>

pil
congrats! U go reform whichever place u join, then I send katie there. If I volunteer read books teach music got discount boh? I last time got win storytelling competition one dun play play. Rofl.

dimple,
they might send me to Jurong.. keke..

u may as volunteer read books and teach music at st anthony's, more productive use of time. hehehe

jelly
wah liao. Single income no way gonna spend that kind of money. Anyway will be sending kate to nearby school la. If she power then can travel to good sch herself for sec sch. Haha.

huh? Jurong?! I thot u get to choose!!

Actually i think I'd rather scrapbook with the time, rather than volunteer. I want my me time back when she goes to nursery! Even if it's three measly hours.

Oh what I did for PIL was a 12x12 inch layout with three photos. Stick pretty paper, some wordings, some flowers.

Oh wow, you mummies sure are kiasu. Talking about primary school already.

I for one might not enrol her in a playgroup. From my own experience with my first kid, the benefits of a playgroup are not very obvious except for the cute artworks she brought back. There wasn't much interaction among the kids as the kids at that age are not exactly linguistic and they are still quite self-centred. But Nursery is quite crucial becos by then the kids would be very aware of their surrounding and people.

Juz Us,
I'm not sure about PCF now, but when I enrolled my first kid in PCF for nursery 5 years ago, she had a hard time there. She didn't have friends there because the kids there either speak Mandarin or Malay and she was quite ostracised. I tried to make her friends like her by celebrating her birthday there but she ended up eating her cake at one corner, alone.

The teachers' English was on the low side and I was shocked that my kid was picking up some weird sentences and she told me that was what her teacher said.

The following year, I transferred her out to a missionary kindy and she was much happier there, and learnt more things there.

dimpletot, yes, Tao nan is less than 1km away fr my hse. n this makes it easier for my mum to fetch him over.

So i guess its either Tao Nan or Ngee Ann pri