(2008/10) Oct 2008

busybee,
Oooh, drool can destroy the phone? heeehee! Evil tots coming. I want a new phone. kekeke!

jolly,
Ashton's pics are soooo cute. Love the big teddy shot.

<font color="0000ff">Mint,

Yup, tht's insane, tht's why my hb said "You think I print $$ ah???" hahahaha lolx ;p

If I do enrol my boy in an international school (which is definitely not possible), I can forget about having no 2, dunnit to even think. -_-""

bluey

Wah u are one doting mummy.

Mint

Oh yah hor... Memory failing...

Barney

I think there's some sublimal msging going on there. Kids love him! Gonna try to expose kate to as little barney as possible hehe.

Lilbluey, yes yes I will try to catch up on rest while she naps. Feels like the confinement period all over again!! hahaha.

Mint, potty so cheap. I went kiddy palace to check it out and the cheapest was $20 plus and nothing special just a small container. I was still thinking just top up a bit more for a fancy one like HK potty on BP, or Rewards flush one. Now that u say its so cheap. I have to reconsider my options! Abt phone... apparently so. Not sure how long bb was left to play with phone tho! Hahaha

Schools...
I intend to send minibee to chatsworth kindergarten. Its a international school but still can use cda a/c cos its locally registered. But pri school and sec school sending to my alma mater. All mapped out liao. Of course if minibee violently objects then have to replan.

<font color="0000ff">Dimpletot,

All parents are doting when it comes to their kids, but tht idea is so far-fetched.

Busybee,

Got interesting BP on potty??? keke

Wah! U alrd plan ahead hahahaha ;p where's tis chatsworth kindergarten?

XY,

Like you, I'm keeping my boy away from those listed too

Lilbluey, chatsworth kindy is at jln kayu. As for the potty, its a Hello Kitty one from HK BP.

xy,
same as u.. keeping those listed from shawn but i do allow him to get close to mickey esp those in disney channels :p

busy bee,
u doing bp on potty? i wan one too

bluey,
local schools are pretty good, we're raising our standards and increasing awareness on age appropriate curriculum. I don't buy into the foreigners teach better english mentality although i do think they are better motivated in the field because internationa schools pay alot better, they have access to alot more resources, they have access to professionals to advise them and some of them don't need the money as expat wives to begin with. i know two who work in the schools to enrol their children with staff discount.

but hey, my motivation also the same. find work in childcare, enrol my girl in with staff discount. ehhehehe

springles,
little skoolhouse also run by NTUC but it's mid range. If i remember correctly, they told me curriculum is literacy approach, they plan currculum around book themes but you see, i feel that early childhood programs are generally standard, centers around routine, play (exploratory, practice and mastery), independent (self help, dressing, feeding, toileting) social skills (through games, peer conflict negotiation and resolution, routine, play). The only differences are the teachers (support, rapport, qualification, motivation), environment and amt of academic workload (you would expect it to increase towards k2 but shouldn't be tedious).don't be a kiasu parent, i know a parent who put both her k1 and k2 boys into kumon, they are p3 and p4 now and they are resistant towards maths.

Good to make a date with principal and go down to the centre and check it out.

mint,
i just read a press article off MOE on increasing support for homeschooled children. How long do you plan to homeschool regina?

potty
my mil bought the same one as mint. But some books says real potty training only effective when they can walk and pull down own pants. Hmmm.

phone
think not so good to expose kids to phone radiation? Esp not to lick or chew? Maybe I'll get kate one old one with no sim card haha.

Paints
think the mwl and daiso ones are not kid friendly. Chanced upon faber castell tiny ink pads at popular! 3 in a pack, states kid safe. Cheap too. $6.90.

<font color="aa00aa">Till today, my hubby still insist that my gal frequent poo poo is due to too much water which I have given her! Tried to tell him that there's nothing to do with water and furthermore, my gal only drinks about 100-150ml water everyday which I dont think it is too much! </font>

opps.

abby has watched barney, thomas and bob on tv.

cannot fight barney, thomas, bob. don't fight macdonalds either, unless you live in ulu country towns. i was so adamant on not letting her watch tv until she's 5 but well.. sigh. oh boo me.

don't fight it mommies.. this is popular culture. next time must organise bulk discount tickets for BARNEY ON ICE.

busybee: wow, you realli have all mapped out !!

XY/bluey/dimpletot: &amp; also Dora..was shopping for a gift for a galfren daughter and the shop assistant kept recommending Dora..seriously..i dun have any inclination towards all these toys..i still prefer the gd old smurfs, care bears and strawberry shortcake..so much more lovable !!

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Think I saw the HK potty before. Very nice leh. Recently we bought a piyo piyo one for my boy bcos hubby said it is more unisex and meimei can use it in a few months time.</font>

XY,
Me too not going to expose Dylan to those! I still prefer those 'traditional' characters from Winnie the Pooh &amp; co, Mickey Mouse &amp; co, Bugs Bunny &amp; etc...

Dimpletot. Really!! I must get my hands on the ink pads.... Abt phones i agree. The My first purse toy i got while out wt u guys at vivo the last time has a small toy mobile phone. Will let her play wt that. Not sure why my sil allowed my niece to play wt the phone.

Lilbluey, yeah not suitable!

Mousebb, could it be due to any new food u introduced to her diet?

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Chatsworth got another one in Orchard right?

Wait till my hb sees the charges hahahaha ;p

Pildough,

Never doubt local school, just that the education system in SG is very stressful -_-""

When I looked at those textbook tis days of a Pri 1 I was primarily stunned at the kind of stuff that they are exposed too.

My hb always say that a child in SG has hardly any childhood these days.

Jolly,

I agree, prefer the old version of strawberry shortcakes, carebears, smurfs hahahaha ;p

I absolutely detest the abovementioned earlier on argh!! *keeping fingers crossed*

mousebb, nice right? Wanted to show hubs yesterday but we busy pacifiying minibee no time. But potty I tot each child should have their own potty? Correct me if I am wrong. Thought so cos when I watched Jon &amp; Kate plus 8, they actually have 6 potties (1 for each of their sextuplets!)

Jolly, haha.... yeah my hubs say i drama!!! He was looking at some property ads and I will say no no cannot too far for her to travel to school next time! hahaha.

mousebb,
ya i also think nothing to do with the water... i think they're at an age where the stomach is accomodating new foods as well as a result of them putting things in their mouths, bearing in mind they're crawling about and touching everything. you think?

Haha! Thanks for telling me! I can tell hubby to get the HK one for wenmin then! So happy!!! Have good excuse to get one more le!

I din intro any new food to her leh. Just dont understand why???</font>

<font color="aa00aa">pildough
Think you are right bcos PD mentioned that to us the last time when wenmin was sick. Will tell hubby about this tonight. So sian! He blames me for giving too much water to his darling!!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Just realised we might not be able to hold a 1st birthday party for wenmin. Her birthday is on 1 Oct which happen to fall on Wed/thur. If we want to hold a party, we have to do it on the weekend before 1 Oct but then hubby needs to work on that weekend bcos of F1!!!! How? Feel so disappointed wor! </font>

<font color="0077aa">wah biang, i think i am the most slack mummy here leh! i hv not even thought about schooling for Cate; just play! LOL! I am just a bit more pro towards home schooling because of the fact that I am exposed to someone who does it and I think it has been a positive move lor...

Mint: she did not mention how they got it but she just told me that they wrote in for exemption, thats all. If there had been a medical reason behind it, I think she would have mentioned to me lah. If u intend to do homeschooling, just start first lor. Even if BB has to be sent to primary school later, at least u have some foundation years already.

Pooooooty
Wow you mummies are fast. I haven't bought mine yet. I also thought like Dimpletot. That like solids, baby will show when they're ready to be trained. Definitely not now. I read there must be some sort of independence before can train potty or they may be adversed to it. Anyway, I'm going so sloooooooooooooooowly in everything! Bad mummy. LOL!

Homeschool
Actually the definition can be very broad, no? If you spend a regular 1-2 hours every day with your bub, reading, playing, that's a form of homeschooling, no? Unless you mean replacing their primary school education. Then you need to get CE from MOE. So ley chey. Plus I doubt they will permit under normal circumstances.

potty: my fren got ashton the musical one from FP for his 1st month pressie..hee, looking forward for a musical fanfare when it's time for his first potty experience..hee..so drama =p

Bday BAsh : anymore mummies wanna join ? shall we fix it on 12th Sept ? any other suggestions ?

<font color="0077aa">potty
i m also thking of get 1 soon, saw at NTUC got 1 not bad only $4.50 got cover de

jolly
i prefer 12th sept too, for venue i m anythg </font>

HAha... we like smurfs, winnie the pooh, strawberry shortcake etc coz these are our times cartoons.

Anyway... i think out time cartoons much much better than these silly huge puppets. Dunnoe what they are doing.

Especially hated tellytubbies when they were the rage like 10years ago! Again again...what's up with that? Repeat and repeat!

re: best type of school

i've been thinking. i think it depends on which school and i think it also depends on us parents.

unfortunately alot of local schools these days water down their curriculum e.g. p1 do abit of p2, p2 do abit of p3. finish workbook 2A by the 6th week of term to prepare for exams. do page 2 to 12 at home with your parent, school teachers concentrate on teaching, parent's responsibility to assist in homework. schools do alot to try and keep their rankings up. When my last job turned too academic and lost it's social focus, i had to resign myself to forcing my boys to do maths, understanding content up to a certain point but abstract concepts difficult to model so i didn't want to stay, cannot agree.

but there are also schools with principals who are open and keen to new pedagogies, the ones that i know and heard of give their teachers a certain amt of freedom to explore methods to engage the class, alot of time for extended project work (not just do page 2 and 3 but be involved in sustainable projects for weeks), there should be research done on this but these same principals are also open to including children with intellectual disabilities in their schools and with the exception of one mission school, these schools are neighbourhood schools. There are changes slow changes that may or may not work that they are putting into place, mint and karen may be able to clarify on this, is moe having all schools to put exams off till p2? is this optional?

but maybe it's not due to society or mainstream schools to give them a childhood. Maybe it has to be up to us to give them a childhood? maybe we have to be the ones who ask ourselves how to make learning intrinsically motivated? Ok maybe if we don't push our ah boy or ah girl, they may not do well enough to have good enough grades to get into a so called good enough school and that might ruin her chances to get into a good enough jc then onto local uni.

But it is ok because we have to accept that everyone even our children might take different paths to success. Maybe we'ld have to put aside money to make plans to send him to an overseas uni. Maybe she doesn't want to do uni, he might want to get a tech education from ite, move onto poly or he might want to get an internship someway make a decision to further his education in another field? Maybe he might want to work for a few years then get a bonded scholarship. But at the end of the day, if my child does not bum around at home until he is 40, has a sustainable job, interests, good health, maybe family, faith, maybe i did ok as a parent. Ok my child is not a coe, herworld woman of the year, not an inventor, scientist or doctor but he/she is happy in what he does or he/she may not be but is actively looking for options to change his/her circumstances then i've done ok.

I'm getting ahead of myself here. My point is if it has to start somewhere this change in mindset and it may as well start with us right? Moving away from the traditional path of education exploring options like international schools, overseas education, homeschooling requires more than those physical changes in environments, it involves us as main decision makers esp in the beginning. Many times the most difficult about teaching from preschool, primary, sec isn't the curriculum nor the students, it is the area of managing parental expectations and parents form the bulk of immediate society that has the biggest impact on shaping school expectations and policy.

It has been proven. We will be our children's main source of motivation for the first few years of life and the early years of school. Our approval and disapproval either gives them motivation, confidence and strength or disillusion, dispair and stress. While we will swing between different modes of thinking, different styles of parenting, what we say or do influences our children in how they take on challenges, the motivation to resolve problems, the ability to know when to ask for help. They learn it from us, how we live day to day, how we handle our own problems, talk about them and resolve them or do we just resign ourselves to being victims of social circumstances.

Which is why there is also research that attributes academic and future success to life to family influences and expectations, you can google a study done on the progress of offspring of 1st and 2nd generation asian migrants in western societies. Where parents are often poor and uneducated in English so they could not dictate what their children would learn or place to study but there is an importance placed on being motivated to work and learn independently and resilence in the face of adversity, poverty and being second class for the children to want to succeed and continue to do so after graduating from school.

We can expect success but we should also allow ourselves to accomodate individual differences and paths for our children.

wah hey, so lor sor. ok time to pat her to sleep and go back to my paper.

mint,
agree with Karen on moe's stringent rules on CE but i think because you're a moe accreditated, you might have a better case?

tellytubbies,
do u know POE is cantonese? she goes fai di fai di fai di (faster) when scooting up the hill and goes man di man di man di (slower) when going downhill.

potties,
who's organising bp on this one? hahahahaha my mil also asking me to buy because abby's pooing time in the morning getting quite routine.

Pildough!! I love electric company, so funny to watch Morgan Freeman in serious roles nowadays. To think he was Spidey on electric company! Feel like getting the dvd when minibee is older to watch. Poe the teletubby is which colour? I only know the purple one is gay thus the handbag?

Lilbluey, yeah but i think Kindergarten only at jln kayu

Jolly, not sure yet. Will let u know when nearer.

Cartoons...
My Little Pony and Rainbow Brite too!!! But Smurfs, carebears and strawberry shortcake(old version) are real classics!

<font color="0077aa">i also dun like tellytubbies, dora, bob, thomas &amp; trains.
i like strawberry cakes, winnie the pooh, mickey mouse, snoopy, donald duck

i dunno lei,

he seem to be a handful... doing stunt by reserving him down the bed... trying to stand up, crawl crawl there. non stoping acting. turning in his cot and sarong...

Finally i have some peace. Minibee, still in pain. Rejecting her solids.... So i gave her nice cold yoghurt with some peach puree. She LOVES it. Thank goodness. As she has been eating and drinking less cos of the 2 front teeth. Now she is busy gnawing away on her combi "ice cream" teether.

Lilbluey, Wow!!! so nice u ladies can lunch together. I miss those days. What did u have? I managed to secure my PS appt. Hopefully hubs can take leave.

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

At least minibee is kept busy for now

So which date did you pick?

We went to Thai Express then we headed to MWL hahahaha :p *ooops* Jolly introduce me to the world of scrapbooking! Such an expensive hobby ;p

Oh dear! Poor mini bee. Must be hard for you too!
I always have no peace cos my monster is not sleeping!!! She has lots of energy to crawl everywhere and scream loudly is she is unhappy! </font>

Lilbluey, I chose 10th July morning. She is most cheerful in the morning so hoping she will enjoy the shoot more if scheduled for morning. wow u gals travelled to PS for lunch. Marvel at how u do it! I am just one step away to joining the darkside too!! hahaha. I was just browsing the spotlight sale catalogues on scrap and craft stuff.