(2008/10) Oct 2008

Cheer bear,
Ya, honey not suppose to meet with hot water. And I also heard that we should not use metal container/spoon to make honey water, best is use plastic one.

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

U are so farni, wanna throw WX into a bin kekeke :p

Kylie,

Try honey with lemon, it helps

Cheerbear,

Honey shd be prepared in slightly warm water, too hot will kill off the properties of it. Then always use a wooden/plastic spoon to scope up the honey from its bottle. Dun use a metal one.

<font color="aa00aa">Realised a few of my hubby's cousins are expecting an ox bb! When my sil told my fil about this on the other day, his reply was 2 kids is just nice! Better dont have a 3rd one! He was looking at me while he made this remark! Inside my heart I was thinking even if we are going to have another kid, it's between me and hubby! I dont need to get his consent! Furthermore, he is not helping us to look after the kids and why talk so much! I should have asked him why in that case, they want to have my hubby cos he is the 3rd child in the family!
He is so funny cos most parents would want their children to have as many kids as possible but my fil is telling us to stop at 2.</font>

honey - oh.. cant use metal spoon ah? din know that too.. anyway, i hv been doing honey drink with metal spoon and mix with hot water for yrs hahaha.. k will take note

mousebb,
dun say WX is a terrorist la.. he is so cute

Phtanus,
Thanks for sharing, its really tedious :p I will try out for a start. Btw, how long do u cook in the thermal cooker to get the cantonese porridge? I need to estimate when to cook in order to b ready for his lunch

<font color="0077aa">Kylie, phtanus, lilbluey
nvr noe drink honey need so much knowledge
my mil always use the steel spoon to scope &amp; stir the honey.

mousebb
lolx how is his respond when u said wanna throw him into a bin?

<font color="aa00aa">Bluey
This boy is really driving me crazy liao! I think he wants more attention so nowadays he is doing all sorts of funny things and nonsenses to irritate me! Then when I scolded him he would quickly run to me and cry in my arms! What should I do with him?</font>

<font color="0000ff">mousebb,</font>

I guess WX is doing all these to get more attention from u. btw, how old is WX?

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
He gave me that innocent look on his face and pretended that nothing has happened! Told my hubby about it and he laughed also! Really qi si wo! </font>

hi mommies

So many posts this morn! Oei mommies - no nd to work ah?! keke. Kidding

mousebb - so cute yr boy. Maybe gd time to get him to help spring clean since he is in the throwing-away mood
?! My gf taught her 2yo toddler how to do his laundry ie. drag his laundy basket to washing machine, load his clothes into the machine, and even add soap and switch on the machine.. so now he is a great help to her. VV cute. Am thinking of getting Vic do just that next time ..so toying w buying the Lil Tikes Shopping cart .hhaha

Porridge - It's exciting times for us moms now that our bb are taking porridge. Those still at cereal dun stress cos once they want porridge, we all become v bo eng .kekke. Vic now yells for real porridge for lunch n dinner n refuses her milk! Last nite, she whacked 1 whole rice bowl of porridge i addition to milk.

I just went to grab 1 pack of Organic baby cheddar cheese for her to snack on .. so ex!!

I'm new to this forum! My little girl is also 8 months old and getting more difficult to feed! Was quite worried initially until I read that she's not the only one. Hopefully it's a phase they go through.

My girl started taking porridge since she was 7 months old. She refuses to eat rice cereal but she'll happily open her mouth for porridge. *faint*

What I do is I grind the rice til it's very fine before hand and store it. Every night, I scoop about 3 scoops (i recycle those scoops in the milk tin) and soak with water. Next morning just put it in the slow cooker, top up abit more water, put in cod fish with chopped veg (broccoli or carrots or pumpkin etc) and let it cook til around 1130am when she has her lunch. (Learnt it from my confinement lady. hehe. The trick to making the porridge soft and goo-ey is to soak the rice overnight). Sometimes I use mince pork and dried scallop instead of fish. The trick with the mince pork is to get the butcher to mince it twice for you. =)

Oh and I found that gripe water helped my little girl to poo. But I try not to feed her that everyday coz I'm not sure if it's ok.

Val,

I read in books that we shouldn't introducing seasoning like salt, sugar, light sauce etc until baby turns 2...

bbgoh
i use shou rou... it's a lump. best to beat the meat so easier to grind as pork can get quite tough after cooking... just realised why i dun buy minced meat bcos the grindle is dirty although it is easier to mash later, but u can grind ur own meat lah

mousebb
WX happening leh... i think he just wants u to be with him...

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
Nowadays I'm getting him involved in taking care of meimei. When I change her diaper, I would tell the boy to throw away the dirty one for me. When I change her clothes, he would help me throw the dirty ones into the laundry basket and after I fed meimei, he would help me bring the milk bottle to put on the table. I can tell that he is enjoying doing these things for me cos he would show me his smiley face.</font>

<font color="0077aa">steph
u buy the minched pork directly from the butcher? normally the minched pork got fat de ler

wondering if we can buy the fillet &amp; ask them to minch it.

mousebb
my FIL ever ask me to stop. he said one is enuf -_- my hb is the only son, he only has 1 sister. </font>

mousebb
actually if u think about it, i think he knows u hv 2 look after WM and he is happy participating in the chores with you. maybe to keep him "busy", u could get him to runmore "errands" for u! mayb keep WM occupied while u do other stuff... but of course, safely lah...

i know how u feel too when i lash out at rebby at times, but the kids dunno anything de... so we just have to learn to refrain
parenting is about knowing you and your kid as well

mousebb - wx is so sweet! I think the trick is to get him involved as much as possible so he feels he is still loved and wanted by mommy. You are doing great!!!

Jelly - I got them from Carrefour, PS. The brand is Organic Valley from USA. 6 cheddar cheese sticks for $13.95. You can go grab them tmr at PS. I think I will chop into smaller pieces for her snacking. Yoghurt - I bot Baby Yogplait. I don't think it's organic though. And nope .. I resisted going into MwL for the very 1st time. Hee.

mousebb/bbgoh
my mom asked me to stop as well at ONE. i feel sad about it as i really wanted 2 or more kids, but i can't handle it at all now... hv 2 wait but before i turn 35... i feel that rebekah will be so sad and lonely as an only child... sibling rivalry will do some kids good... esp mine!

bbgoh - You can select choice lean meat from Cold Storage and get them to mince for you. That way, there is no fats ...

ruffles
haha, gd for u... only going to MWL to make payment for my class and off i go...meeting jjmom tmr at lunch... say the same brand at NTUC finest... think i will go get it and if rebby does not like, i'll just eat it on my own

Hi bbgoh,

I don't buy the pre-grinded mince pork. I specify the part I want to the butcher, get him to cut out all the fat, then grind for me. =) But I find my girl prefers fish to pork, so I use fish most of the time. Anyway her PD says it's better to give fish coz it's rich in DHA and babies need it now for brain development. I use cod mostly but thinking of introducing salmon soon.

mousebb,
see.. he is so sweet, runs to hug u.. think he jus wan attention la.. coz he sees u follow meimei ard and not him mah..

minced meat - never buy mince meat from butcher coz they will mix all the parts and some parts r not gd. buy the lean meat and grind urself if u can, if not then bo bian lor ask butcher to help.

steph
my ger likes fish and pork... dun dare to give chicken ... but am tempted to get the organic ones... no hormones... btw, does anyone know if bbs can now take fish like salmon?

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

My boy is on codfish fillet as well as pork, no chicken till he's much older

Jellypurin,

My mum told me chicken invites phelgm. I tried giving my girl mince chicken porridge once and she developed a cough! *faint* Dunno if it's a coincidence or what! Anyway, I stopped giving chicken after, but am thinking of reintroducing soon.

<font color="0077aa">i buy pork fillet from my boss directly. i work at pork supplier company.
i dun dare to ask them grind as i also worry the hygiene matter.

Steph
i only give her salmon fish nvr try cod. recently she has fish everyday mon-fri at IFC so i give her more pork </font>

bluey
think alot of mommies giving codfish... i dun... i give ikan kurau as my mom says it is good ... but am thinking of either salmon or trout soon... and will try chix only if organic

jas,
my MIL's remedy, gargle with salt and lemon juice diluted with some water then drink the rest. worked wonders for all of us.

JTS,
got ready stocks for some really beautiful slings n wraps. so nice i kept one for myself. even though i think i have one too many le! hubby nag again.. kaitlyn used to hate slings thats why i sold mine and got carriers.. but now she likes both! so i have fun with my carriers n slings

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2520140.html?1244433338

organic stuff,
they're really ex in sg.. in aust they're so much cheaper. even the price diff btw non organic and organic is not so big. in sg its almost twice the cost. i will help mummies take orders when im in perth.. can stock up anyway such things can keep for some time. but sorry not so soon.. am going only late jul and will be there all the way till sep.. but just fyi la..

my mom is coming 15 july.. can buy some stuff for first. anyone keen on bellamy's and healthy times? cap orders at AUD$200? they're quite readily available in the supermarkets there. for eg, bellamy's rice cereal is AUD$3.99 compared to SGD$6.90 in sg.. can send requests to [email protected] or just PM me. can do price check for u.

aiyo,

Suddenly felt that I'm so lazy. Your baby meal so 丰富.

My gal still on cereal and I only started to intro pumpkin to her yesterday.

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

My mum oso buy ikan kurau (those 'balai' type) heard tis are the ones that dun hv the fishy smell, these days, ikan kurau comes from many places and most of it got that fishy smell, only those 'balai' type dun hv but oso more ex and diff to find.

I'm so excited to start Bryan on porridge this weekend! He's been rejecting milk and sometimes my hb gets so irritated that he asked me not to feed him! Am so pissed with him manz!

pinkimum

U can join Karen and I at vivo! Considered mini gathering bah...
anyone else free this fri can join too. Say around 1230pm?