(2008/10) Oct 2008

Cheer Bear,
Haha...my son's record is 10days before introducing solids! He used to poo once a week too when he was on TBM, PD said as long as his poo is soft, asked her not to worry wor. After introducing solids, so far so good, he poo everyday or every other day, and stools also soft de. Sigh...but yesterday, constipated and cried until very cham, me so heartpain, and worst is dunno what's wrong with his diet? Have you tried to give him barley water?

<font color="0077aa">cheer bear
oic. shawn on porridge? if yes, why u still puree vege? can just cook with porridge everyday.

u can just plan puree it on weekend so u not so tired during weekday as we got to work.
i use ziplock bag to trasnfer &amp; keep the freezed puree then i can use back the cubez so can keep more variety &amp; stock more when i m free </font>

Jellypurin,
U mean u chopped the food user the grater?

Littledoggie,
Is your carrot puree in puree form? My carrots not exactly "mashed" leh..

Cheerbear,
Even if u dont like to see your ils, but if i were u, i still would go. Cos if u dont go, then your hb cannot pacify shawn and worse when your mil carry and he keep crying??!!?? ENDURE!!

Koala baby:
I'm so pleased with my play yard! Although i must stay inside with him, but i let him play himself while i try nap (not exactly sound aslp lah)

everafter
grind it

<font color="0000ff">Phtanus,

Really? Hmm, oh ya I think they are closed on Sun, paisei forgot to tell you ;p

Little Doggie,

Wah! We stayed pretty close to one another, Phtanus oso stay ard in the area

Cheerbear,

I agreed it's better to have fresh food for our little tots although it's more time-consuming and we've to spend more effort but it's worthwhile.

For me, I dun even freeze any puree, everything is freshly made and consume immediately. My mum told me no point I made and freeze them -_-""

We as DIL just hv to close one eye sometimes, even there's things that we can't see eye to eye oso mus try to 'ren' else later we will be branded as "unfillial" :S

Try to give Shawn sips of water on/off during the day, my boy will have his intake of gripe water before his morning nap, water feeds during the day and 2 serving of fruits after each meal.

Phtanus,

Read that u use thermal cooker to cook porridge? How long did u cook? The porridge should be cantonese porridge right? I used the thermal cooker to cook porridge but its like teochew porridge leh. Do i need to blend it?

<font color="0000ff">Updates from Enya regarding the Mod Bags

For those who order them from EY, she wants me to inform all that the items had been shipped on 26/5/09 but till tdy no sight of it as yet and the worst thing is supplier has never revert to her as well -_-""

Therefore, the waiting game continues, once it's here she will update again

lili,
similac heaty? hmmm then wat brand not heaty?

bluey,
thanks but near my hse no giant leh.. unless i go all the way to tampines giant.

phtanus,
ya tried barley liao but i mix with his FM as my mum say jus pure barley is very 'liang'. even i mix, he also cant take it. after one bottle of milk nia he will cough liao

bbgoh,
yes he is on porridge. wat i do is chop pumpkin and carrots into very fine pcs (using the machine chopper) then my mum will mix into the porridge and cook. then sometime i give spinach instead.. but like very boring leh.. any other things he can eat??

everafter,
yes in puree form....i do the same for pork.

can check for spinach do u all still steam it first then puree or put inside the slow cooker to cook then puree?

Lilbluey, really...hehe i staying at blk 673B...u leh?

<font color="aa00aa">These few days my gal has watery stool and my hubby said bcos I have given her too much water! *faint* </font>

Cheerbear,

i heard from the chinese medical hall auntie that too much barley will result in phglem too...once a week is good enuff.

everafter,
guess i really hv to endure for shawn sake.

wow u can sleep inside the play yard.. gd leh at least can rest abit

oh cold storage got sell ah? thanks i will go find.

bluey,
my mum used to make them fresh and serve immediate but shawn now like to cling on her which make her harder to do stuff so i hv to do in adv and freeze. i also give shawn 2 serving of fruits everyday jus that he dun like water!!

<font color="aa00aa">My gal is tired of eating cereal liao. Think from next week onwards, I will start to give her porridge once everyday follow by one cereal meal.

Din go to the motherhood exhibition cos hubbg said nothing much to buy and we still have a few packs of diapers at home.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

I think it depends on individual baby's body constitution. My boy is ok with Similac so far so gd.

If you are giving Similac, then maybe worth the trip to grab a few tins.

Dun give those 'chinese barley' they are more 'cooling' can boil those 'english barley' &amp; give in moderation.

Little Doggies,

Think we stayed just opposite across the road keke :D

Mousebb,

Water won't give watery stools leh hmmm </font>

gaint promo for similac until when? if i go this wkend too late?

bluey,
wat is english barley? din know barley got 2 types leh.

morning mummies =)

me jus intro tofu and egg yolk yest...ash loves it..

my fren jus passed me 3 boxes of samples of Nestle Rice Cereal, expiry Oct 09, any mummies wan, i can pass to you..meet at Raffles Place / Compasspoint.

Everafter,
I blended the brown rice before cooking them into porridge, took me 10 mins on the stove, it almost become cantonese porridge le. Then I transfer the pot into thermal cooker, serve only after 30mins or more. Normal rice, think u can try bluey suggestion, soak before cooking. Hope this helps!

Ya, I like my playard too, my son naps, drinks and plays inside it, like his room! A great investment to us, and he enjoyed playing the toys intact! He can stay alone inside for quite sometime, no problem for me to leave him there while working in the kitchen, as long as we throw the toys with him!

<font color="ff6000">morning all,

cheerbear, *hugz*...i also vy fed up with my pil over the wkends.

My fil always like to walk pass to 'play' with my gal when i m trying to make her sleep then comment tat her eyes open big big, she notti don't wanna sleep lah. Really feels like boxing him!

Then my mil will then proudly said tat my gal guai guai went to sleep in less than 5min when she put her to bed in the afternoon.

Of course lah, no 1 else is at home when she put my gal to nap in the afternoon, so fil &amp; sil din 'disturb' her sleep mah.

Then they like to let her sleep right infront of the tv coz they r watching then said she not sleeping well! With the loud tv on &amp; their nv ending discussion, how they expect my gal to sleep?</font>

Bluey &amp; mousebb,
My hubby said Isaac constipated coz I gave him brown rice! *concuss* Tot Brown rice is significantly higher in fibre than white rice?!

Littlebluey,
I thou is the english barley tat is more cooling compared to the 'chinese barley'....my mum told me...correct me if i m wrong...

Phtanus,
The brown rice is in grain form? When u blend do u add water or jus the rice (the uncooked one?) Although Bryan cannot be left alone inside the play yard, but better than nothing. Cos when i let him sit beside me at the sofa, he kept wanting to crawl and climb out!

Forest,
Which area house u looking at? Did u give your agent specific details on ur budget, facing, level etc? HOuse hunting is a chore. i remember my time, i saw over 100 places and changed 3 agents. The last agent was the best. She understand and i bought after viewing just 3 houses she showed me.

hi ruffles,

Thanks! I didn't know that Chamelon is an Ah Lian shop. I'm buying it for photo-taking purpose and maybe sometimes can wear it for fun for a short while, so it should be alright.

phtanus
yes, brown rice can cause constipation... my ger has this prob... so not all bubs will be able to take it

re: porridge
i have begun to serve textured porridge to my bub and had given her rice on certain occassions as well..

jolly
am going to try egg yokes this week... and toast w unsalted butter! i hope she likes it

<font color="0077aa">lilbluey
the medical hall staff told me dun give english but is chinese barley ler, they said english more cooling @_@ not sure ler

cheerbear
can try cauliflower, broccoli, peas.
for me as seline eat her lunch at ifc so i only cook her dinner &amp; weekend only.
during weekdays i will see wat vege mil pre for our dinner then i just take a bit add into porridge, if those she cant eat one eg bai chai or cabbage then i got standby frozen peas &amp; baby carrot in my fridge. for meat i just give her pork everyday.

<font color="ff6000">sorry need to vent another complaint abt my mil too :

She loves to say tat nat bully her, always want her to carry.

I was feeding nat laying on the bed &amp; she snatch the bot from me to take over, ok fine, then half way, she carry her up. Tat make nat fuss a lot &amp; ended up din finish her milk.

Vy angry abt tat so i purposely scolded loudly saying : 'Qiao lah u! Hao hao laying down to eat, y u want to carry then din finish the milk!

Dunno if mil really dunno i m actually scolding her anot but mil then said : 'Oh...c lah, mama scold u liao' *piangz*</font>

how much water does your baby drink? kaitlyn doesnt drink water at all.. she gives me a disgusted look and will scream and wail. so my MIL makes "soup" for her.. giving her ard 1-2oz of chicken stock or pork stock depending on what she cooks for her. is it ok or not ah? i just assume it is cos she's more experienced.. but sounds weird rite? she still poos normally though so should i be worried she's not drinking water?

eelyn
dunno abt soup but should be ok. Maybe she's already getting enough liquids from porridge. If poo is ok then not to worry I guess!

Karen
how abt vivo lunch on Friday?

<font color="ff6000">english vs chinese barley :

hmm...i was also taught english barley more cooling than chinese 1s. &amp; was also taught too much english barley cause phglem, any 1 hear of this?

another thing, was told, to cook herbs longer if u don't want it to be too cooling.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

Not too sure leh, the promo came out in the papers on Fri I think, maybe oni a week bah, if can maybe go earlier or give them a call

The "Cock Brand" tin barley are the "english ones" hahahaha..and they taste nicer oso.

Mousebb,

Tell yr hb drink more water won't result in loose stools lar, maybe your gal intake of fibre more so result in softer/watery stools

Everafter,

U can soak half an hour to one hour prior to cooking, easier &amp; lesser time to cook softer porridge
however, if u are cooking brown rice porridge, then best to soak overnight

Phtanus,

Like you, I oso put my boy on his playmat while we do our own activities hahahaha ;p then only when he cried/fuss then we attend to him. Normally, he's self contented with his toys ^_^

Brown rice divided into 2 categories, the cargo rice &amp; brown rice. Those that are very red (brown) are those unhusked ones (not sure if I term it correctly), those are more heaty as compare to those that has been husked. Therefore, when I grind the powder, I make sure I dun get those red cargo rice.

Little Doggie,

Chinese Barley is more cooling leh, maybe can check with the medical hall again??

Bbgoh,

Argh! so contradicting but nevertheless just dun give in excess shd be fine

dumbo
rebby does not drink water as well, always "pui" the water out... now, i just feed ger w a spoon and i got her a pigeon fruit juice bottle which has a "chewy" teat just to make her drink water...

my dad recommends i give porridge water as well... say gd for digestion wor... so i guess soup is fine lah... but will it be oily?

everafter,
usually i soak the rice grain for at least 30min.

jolly,
i also thot of intro tofu but dunno can mah. btw egg yolk can only start at 1yo. the nestle is rice or brown rice? i dun mind take a few pkt from u

jjmom,
ya lor.. with tv on how to sleep? even we adults also cant sleep leh.

bbgoh,
peas as in snow peas?
oh bb cant eat bai chai and cabbage? i din know that.. btw how to give pork?

Marcus also dun really like water. So we trick him by feeding with spoon. Haha... from sippy cup, he dun like.

After taking brown rice si shen fen, marcus poo is better. But still abit on the hard side.

Jelly,
Huh? Really? But I have given him brown rice for almost a month le, last time dun have constipation problem lay until recently. Oh no, shall I continue him with brown rice, still thinking to get some with si shen fen for him!

Everafter,
Yes, I normally wash, dry, grind the brown rice and keep it in the fridge for use. The purpose is to shorten the cooking time, easier for me and my nanny. So whn we need to prepare the porridge, we just add some water to ground brown rice and cook lo. We can easily get the cantonese porridge in <30mins time by normal cooking. Hee...but after reading bluey's post on grinding brown rice in medical hall, gonna to try it lay!

jjmom
omg, u read my mind! i need to go PS tmr lah! hahaha... what time ah?

cheerbear
my mom usually buy the pork with the leanest cut and trim away all the FATS ... then we put into vege and cook it with water... i grind the pork using my pigeon feeder bowl, so the consistency is quite good and easy to mix w porridge...i dun blend vege/meat bcos i dun hv 1...

mommies who wants to buy organic chicken
heard from my mom NTUC have leh and it's the whole chicken...$12 each... also saw organic yogurt at $12.50 for 6!

dimpletot, jelly,
tks

i bought her a sippy cup. but she simply chews on the teat.. and then the water flow all over her chest.. n she gets all wet!

btw, kaitlyn has these 2 weird looking spots of rash.. its like an oval shape and it looks like a reddish/pinkish dry patch of skin.. anyone know wat it is?
doesnt seem like its bothering her.. nor does it look harmful.. have been putting calendula cream on it.. so see how..

eelyn
does it look like a ring and does she scratch on it? if it does, sounds like fugus
how many days liao? maybe u wld like to call your PD to chk it out!