(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">mona,
i also haven receive &amp; she is not returning my email &amp; sms too

think need to call her liao...</font>

<font color="ff0000">Yup agree with Ruffles. Even though i am happy with my maid, she is definitely not perfect, she does make some blur mistakes. But she is an adult so just need to talk to her firmly (well i am not that gentle when I am pissed off, ask my kids how i yell at them) Even though she is educated, papers and everything, there are times she does things that make me scatch my head..... like well her cooking style, she actually think it's okay to cook spaghetti bolognaise sauce with just BOILING the raw beef with tomatoe sauce!!!!! SIGHSSSS!!!!Yup times like that is when i take a very big pinch of salt.

scrapbooking mommies
any of you interested to swap or lelong your stash?

i have some i wanna lelong/swap out and am just wondering if you all are interested.

Pildough
I think you have the right beginning attitude.

(1) Be patient and very forgiving.

(2) Not to expect much. This is one of my biggest mistake. Just because she's only doing housework/cooking, I thought she would do those things well. So when I see oil stains still on the stove, I couldn't take it. I was expecting a better job than that.

(3) Think about the kinds of qualities you want from her. My husband actually expected mine to have lots of initiative (ie, when she sees my husband at the door with loads of stuff, she would come and help; mine doesn't despite many reminders). So when you interview her, can ask her questions to see how she would respond to such situations.

(4) Communication. Initially I thought it didn't matter but now I do. Despite nth times of telling her to ask if she doesn't understand, she fails to do so. For example, I wrote on the paper 1.5cups of water. She didn't understand what was .5 so she ignored the .5. Without bothering to ask me. Until I discovered. That to me, is also very important. Mine just didn't want to communicate with me. Or she is too shy, as she claimed. I find that a problem. My biggest peeve. Think about how you are ok with that or not. As it affects your choosing.

i think many of the mommies here are really generous to your maids
i find it very hard to come to balance about the maid/employer relationship

Jelly
I'm not. There are times when I'm in a better mood so I will be generous but my maid will always come and do some silly things to anger me.

My friend and I sincerely believe that teachers make the worst maid employers.

<font color="0000ff">maid :
i remember some mommies who used to write the bio data for maids right? so sometime it's really difficult to know if she has gd homekeeping, gd with kids etc juz by their bio data, look &amp; interview.</font>

<font color="0000ff">i believe for mommies, our main &amp; most impt requirement of a gd maid is for her to take gd care of our bbs
hsework &amp; cooking, we can close 1 eye.

my limit is when this requirement is not meet then she must go, no qns abt it anymore.</font>

jjmom
then u r really like my family. we fired so many of them becos they could not work up to minimum expectation. remind them many times still make the same mistakes.

<font color="0000ff">sigh...my previous maid can juz totally leave the bb alone while she read newspp @_@''

when she c tat my mom is caring for the bb, she will go take afternoon nap in her room...

so many more lah...we r juz speechless

oh but i must admit, she is really gd at hsework, my hse has nv been cleaner but it's the caring of bb tat is my top requirement so tata to her

<font color="0000ff">Jelly,

We only tried 2 &amp; gave up liao

We nv scold any of them, i think it's no pt to. &amp; we also don't dare to, worried they may harm our bb.</font>

I feel that I'm quite lucky. My maid seems ok for me. She can do all the basic thing to take care of the baby. My hubby not really happy about her, he said that she dun have initiative. But again I always remain my hubby to lower his expectation. Maybe I'm indonesian, so i more understand her and know where she is come from. So my expectation more realistic.

jjmom
My maid is not expected to take care of bb. Unless we go out and she's entertaining bb in the car seat. I passed her the bib to wash and she already didn't wash properly. Don't expect her to do a good job of looking after the bb.

<font color="#C24641"> talking abt maids
seriously, we realy got to be VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY forgiving. aft all, we employ them to work as a domestic helper. not those BKL(Bao Ka Liao). we cnt expect them to do housework n look aft kids at the same time. this will tired them out n also bring harm to our little ones. saw a few maids actually scold their employer's kids. guess their employer either are working parents or they left their little ones with the maid. got lotsa pros n cons la.. just need to balance it n sometimes we really got to stand in their shoes n think so we can understand them more.

<font color="#C24641"> bbgoh
oh dear!!! hope she gets well soon. u got to be extra careful coz it can spread to u. n if u fall sick. u cnt take care of her. </font>

Rebecca
I was wondering where you were the whole day today :p I agree with you though. Like the one who was in the infamous video. I mean, when you have two bratty kids (as all kids are) and tons of housework to do, it's very hard not to get frustrated. Especially when they will be scolded if the housework is not done. Not like us. We can care for our kids and just ignore the housework, but I'm sure they will be reprimanded if they ignore the housework. And since they can't get frustrated at the employers or anyone else, they can only let it out at the kids. Even the kindest of them will have one of those moments. Even US, as mummies, have one of those moments. Right? Just that love usually overtook us before we do anything drastic. Can't say the same for the maids. Though the acts were unforgiveable, I can understand the mindset behind the acts. Anger knows no boundaries.

bbgoh
Ooooh dear. Hope she gets well soon!

Busybee
I *think* I have received the sac too. Just that mine got to the PO because I didn't answer the intercom. Will collect it tomorrow or Thursday. Thanks!!

busy bee
got my snack sac - thanks! The font was kirsten in the end rite?

Maids
I hope I never have to hire one... Too complex. I sometimes wonder how come almost every sgp household has one when in Europe and the US all the mums manage on their own... Their house usually bigger and harder to clean/ maintain somemore.

any mummies wanna meet up this fri?
MIL gonna bao ba zhang so i taking care of kyra myself..
so i can offer my tiny place if not alot of ppl since my hse is small

Dimpletot
Guess they are less fussy? They are ok with a not so clean house? They are good in prioritizing?

I want to go to the po tomm to collect my sac! Everyone already got theirs!

Dimpletot
Guess they are less fussy? They are ok with a not so clean house? They are good in prioritizing?

I want to go to the po tomm to collect my sac! Everyone already got theirs!

Jen
I can meet.

<font color="0000ff">Karen,
we din really expect her to take care of the bb, my mom does most of the bathing &amp; etc. She help to look out when my mom needs bath or something which mayb y she think tat the moment my mom is back, she can auto go back to her room &amp; nap...

She is more like doing the washing of bb's clothes &amp; stuff at home.

I dunno but i think our expectation already vy low lei, she don't even need to wash car &amp; hardly cook coz she super lousy tat we don't eat, we juz ta bao even for her too.</font>

<font color="0000ff">bbgoh,
oh dear, poor seline, hope she gets well soon.
So how? u need to stay at home to take care of her these few days? U must take care too *hugz*

keep us update on seline when u can.</font>

Karen,
Hahaha! I totally agree with you on the part that teachers make the worst maid employer... knowing myself well enough, it's good enough reason for not having a maid. A part-time one is to keep me sane.

Hello Mummies

Any mummies who bf experience a drop in milk ss during the time of the month? As my ss is not abundant to begin with, it had dropped tremendously for the past 2 days...rather worrying.

Mint
Same as you, I'm dying to go for a short but good break! Have not had my passport stamped since last year and this is the longest period that I've ever stayed in Singapore in years! But the thought of travelling with my girl seems challenging, with so many of her stuff to pack and the consideration of going to a child friendly place. May start off by bringing her on cruise. Waiting for good promotion.

Mona/JJ mom
It'll be better if you try calling Kym instead of texting her.

bbgoh
Hope that your darling gets well soon.

sorry to interrupt, did u have any spare BN Medela PIS Advanced TUBING to sell?
need it urgent...if yes, pls PM me...thanks.

Wow, the website is down for 2 days?

Hi Mummies~
How is everyone?

Please kindly let me know if anyone's not gotten their CDS yet, i got calls and smses from at least 4 mums saying that their CDs have not reached them, and have re-sent them, pardon me, i have been extremely busy now that my house is under proper reno and am still rushing to and fro from my day job, thanks and cheers, Kym!

And if i did not reply your sms in time, thats because i have 2 phones, one personal and one work, may not have gotten to them in time, sorry bout that!

Kiwifruit
It happens but supply should come back up. Just keep on latching. I read that taking calcium magnesium supplements helps too.

bbgoh
hope Seline will recover fast...

I've told IFC to stop giving Clare brown rice cereal yesterday, so far poo twice - 1 watery, 1 normal. Could that be the cause??
but still give her medicine ... will stop brown rice cereal today..

If Clare can't take HT brown rice, what brand to give? intend plain rice cereal now..advice?

morning mommies

bbgoh
i hope seline becomes better and you must take care too as i understand that hfmd for adult is more painful compared to the kid...

lili
ya, i just did. i dun mind ordering again as long as:
1. i have more than US$100 of orders
2. you do not need the item soon
3. discount code available!

chris
i did... u chk ur email... hehe... be asking for payment for the item first

class is fun but we did not manged to finish the many LOs... there was 7 to be done, but we did 5 as instructor not very mindful about time... but i like the stuff that i created! i was annoyed by the lady sitting beside me... she gave me many "opinions" about my LOs

this sunday, remember to bring camera in case u can't finish and need to finish the LOs at home

Morning mummies..
My head spinning.. not enough sleep as my bb keep crying at night.. don know what happen.. btw, is it normal for bb to drink too much milk?? Varner drink 180ml at 9.30pm, then at 11pm he drinks another 150ml then he still crying so I make another 60ml to him.. He finished all of them but still cant last till morning.. 5am wake up again..

bbgoh,
poor Seline.. She must be v manja now.. U got to take care too ya...

hhahaha,

too tired this few days to check email..
Ashton keep waking up in the middle of the nite due to teething...haizzz... I am like panda now... my dark circle and eyebag is getting worse....

btw, Ashton body is full of rashes.. how ah.. is it due to the medication ?

Good Morning Mummies!!

Dimpletot, yeah sent you an email about the font? As Curly Q was not available but they did have Curlz font which turned out badly on a bag they previously did for another customer. Thus Kristen Font was used. I hope u like it!

Karen, why dun you call PO to re-deliver the Snack Sac to you, Saving you a trip down to the PO.

Jelly, you guys ordered toys for Babymallonline? I'm keen for your next spree. But I would like to know if shipping costs will be very high since items are bulky?

chris
ashton's body food of rashes... what sort of rash, can u describe?

you got time u chk and revert :p

busy bee
i will advise not to buy bulky items like crib sets, but generally, if it is just clothes and toys... they are quite light. each item u may end up paying between $3-5 for shipping minus base charge if we ship via VPOST