(2008/10) Oct 2008

cheerbear,
ya.. I'm following the rule of thumb.. But I'm thinking of giving him a break tomor and give pea (he tried before) tomor before cont on carrot again. As this is prepared daily by my nanny, so i don know if her little bit is how much.

Jelly,
U give alt food everyday on those that u alr tried? or evry new food??

carrot and nitrates:
mummies.. I read, don use the remaining water to thin the puree for carrot as it contains nitrate..

jjmom
if my rebby dun open her mouth for the food i am feeding her, i just stop n throw the food away. that's what i do lah...i dun mean u "force" force her lah... keke

JJmom,
I also scared my boy will have preference for sweet things thus I start him off with white rice cereal then brown rice cereal but I find him so silly to reject brown rice cereal leh because I find brown rice cereal much more tastier than the bland white rice cereal!

My mum has to 'cheat' my boy to open his mouth in order to feed him, so I'll say there's abit of force feeding.

Jelly,
I never follow the 4-day rule these days but I did follow initially when my boy is such a bliss to feed. Nowadays, I have to switch from 1 puree to the other to 'tempt' his tastebud.

<font color="0000ff">Trace, jelly,
so your bbs will auto open their mouth when u bring the spoon near their mouth? hmm...ok, mayb i try again this weekend.

sigh...was looking forward of Nat taking semi solid so tat her weight can go up &amp; also sleep better at nite lei

patient...patient</font>

tweety
ya, i just try give her diff food everyday...bcos she just said no to my carrots yesterday when she had carrots on monday
rebby is fussy eater!

jjmom,
feed bb have to be patient one.. esp sometimes they eat until really in a big big mess.
u give nat brown rice or brown rice cereal? i hv the EYS brown rice cereal at home which only tried once as he dun really like.. now plan to finish the heniz one then try again.

elch,
i also heartpain when i throw away the 3/4 stick of biscuit. so now i half it.
also, i find is too hard for him to grind using his gums so i soften abit for him and he like it.. maybe will stop soften for him when his teeth is out

jjmom
initially when i started solids for rebby when she is 5 months, i see that her swallowing ability is v poor. then i waited till she is 6mths, she imrpoved. now she is quite good! but still got a long way to go for her... even when rebby starts solid, i still dun hv a gd nite slp...

Trace, Jelly,
It's ok if our babies don't have any solids intake for a day at their current stage? It's not a must? I thought it's a must to have at least 1-2 solid meals at this stage since their iron levels would have deplete since birth...

elch,
it's really cute.. my bro saw him scratch his head with his dirty hand, he keeps on laughing...

Jjmom,
try to coax them.. use a toy to attract them.. u really needs patient with bb.. or carry them with some walk first..

eveafter,
u not lousy mum, preparing of food is depending on schedule.. u just move house so will be busy.. for steaming, u can use a pot with water to steam.. no need to be steamer but of course steamer is more convenience..

For fruits steam 6-10 mins will do.. try to cut it in small pcs then easier to steam..

elch/jjmom,
my bb prefer brown rice then plain one leh.. but now both is ok to him..

elch
for me cos bb on FM, iron level is sort of covered. so am not worried even if she misses some of her solid feeds... she is getting fat just drinking FM!

Trace, Jelly, JJmom,
My boy used to get excited and open his mouth like a goldfish when he sees his spoon and bowl but not anymore since I introduced brown rice cereal...think he hates it real bad...haha...

<font color="0000ff">everafter,
think we shd cut the food into small pcs then steam so juz steam awhile will do? advice from other mommies?

cheerbear,
my pil wash/sun/grind the brown rice into powder with si sheng fen then I add some milk to it. Think similar to the EYS brown rice cereal.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Can understand how you feel. I also have such feeling sometimes. Haha! Come to kids, we really have to be patient lah.
I give my gal brown rice cereal.

Tweety
I bought carrot puree on last weekend. Have not let xiaojie tried. Dont know how it taste like.</font>

jelly,
u dress rebby in nappy only during meal times?

tweety,
wat is nitrates? y cant mix the water to thin the puree? so far i have been doing this.. even with the rest of the veg.

Jelly,
Oh no, my boy's on total bm and he hasn't been taking his solids as often as he should, now I wonder if I should give him FM...

elch
see lah.. all those DHA that we take... makes our kids so smart... knows how to choose their food... sigh... i wasted alot of $ just buying purees for her to try and also on cereals...

Jelly,
some bb really fussy eater.. so no choice.. I'm a bad mummy that I keep training varner to eat those non tasty food first before tasty one.. lol...

JJmom,
when we steam right, there will be some remaining water under the food.. for carrot those are no good but others is ok..

cheerbear,
U tried moonrabbit brand?? I find it smells nice.. Maybe u can buy 1 to try.. It's not ex.. Initially varner don like Heinz cereal.. so I bought bellamy also same.. then I try this brown rice, he loves it.. and i switch back to normal one, he ok wor..

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Dr Lilian said for infant up to 18months toddlers, their main source of nutrients still come from milk

<font color="0000ff">mousebb,
sigh...vy sianz lei, c all other bbs so excited over their food. My Nat notti leh
spoiled mama's fun in preparing the food...hahaha</font>

if we steam fruits will the vitamin be gone?

so far i havent try fruits puree, only tried veg puree and my son love it. but i boil one leh.. not steam. so same right?

mousebb,
I don kow how it taste, but i guess sweet?? coz carrot supposed to be sweet...

cheerbear,
I'm rushing home, tomor I go search and post here k??? For pear or apple is ok but not for carrot..

Jelly,
u so cute.. I really think bb here so smart..

gtg.. bye mummies..

<font color="0000ff">cheerbear,
I read tat steam is better than boil but mayb if u use vy little water to boil is ok bah

<font color="aa00aa">Tweety
At least varner still guai guai finished the non-tasty food. If I try that on wenmin, sure 'fight' with her again! She will sure spit out every mouth I feed her.</font>

Tweety,
I tried Moon Rabbit brand and my boy don't like it...weird boy!

mousebb,
Visited Dr. Lilian on Mon and she says my boy should be taking 2 meals a day already but he's not cooperating leh...now I wonder if I should worry as long as he's taking BM as normal since main source of nutrients is still from milk...but my only worry is iron...I don't want him to look as white as a sheet since he's already so fair...

jjmom,
oh.. din know steam is better but i boil with very little water coz i go buy a tiny pot jus to cook his food.

tweety,
dun think i wan to buy the moon rabbit brand although is cheap coz i scare later waste $.. the EYS one still got one whole bottle and is not cheap

elch,
lack of iron will become white? my son become whiter and lots of pple has already comment on this but he is on both FM and BM leh.

<font color="aa00aa">elch
My son only starts his solid food at 7months+ and he din like to eat solid food so on some days, i only gave him one solid meal. There was a period when I completely stopped giving him cos he only eat 1-2 spoon and spit out the food again. Dr Lilian said as long as he is still drinking his milk well, we dont have to worry.</font>

Hi Mummies, been busy with my article that I did'nt log in. So many posts...

Dimpletot
Blue patch=Mongolian patch, its a sort of birtmark which fades with age. So nothing to worry abt. Minibee has the mongolian patch on her bum too.

Weaning... So far minibee eats most things offered to her. For finger food, she has tried Bellamy's toothiepegs and MaMa Jap milk biscuits. I also gave her some rockmelon cut into a strip (like toothiepeg) for her.

Brown rice, does any one know where to get ground version for making bb porridge?

Have a weird question.... for mums who take bb out on their own if u need to use the loo , what do u do?

Busybee,
Just use the handicap loo. It's big enuff to push the stroller in. Or else, i just connecta Marcus and go. No choice. However, i must say, i have trained my bladder very well. Can hold on till i reach home. Wahaha...

loo - i look for those large handicap ones n we both go in. If dun hv, once i put her in the stroller outside my unlocked loo cubicle n rush my pee.. once i ask pp help jaga her. Actually the latter 2 methods r really scary. I try not to do tat n tahan my pee.

I have also given Marcus rock melon. He likes it. Haha... Oh, and Marcus shows a strong preference to fish as compared to other meat. He's just like his dad and the pertanal side. FIL was a fisherman. SO hubby's whole family very into fish. I'm a 4-legged meat lover.

For me i trained my bladder, but everytime when i reach home wah i feel my bladder abt to burst!! Thus I throw the question to all.... yeah i guess besides handicapped toilet no other choice.

Ruffles, wow mthd 2 &amp; 3 scary man!!

XY, fish good for Marcus, extra DHA!!

Yea. Method 2 was used in a tot empty toilet, top floor where nobody goes, at Paragon. So I left my cubicle door slightly ajar.

<font color="#C24641"> sianz... that Nicholas is driving me to grave! went to open the fridge by himself n eat sweets without my permission! gve him 20 strokes! this is not the first time!!! urgh!!!!!!! seriously feel like strangle him!!</font>

Elch
I read that it's not true bm does not contain enough iron for baby until 1 to 2 years old. There was an article. I will try to look for it and post here. As far as what I read and am following, bm and or fm should be the baby's main nutrient in baby's first year. So if baby does not take to solids well, there's nothing to be worried if you continue to feed the two milks on demand. Solids are to add texture and fun, not nutrients. I am in no hurry to push solids to my girl. Some days, I don't even feed her solids. And when she cant finish the foods I give her, I also am fine with it. She is still playful, still alert.

cheer bear

Don't worry, enjoy the process. They grow up too fast anyway! My katie doesn't even like crawling or being on her tummy for too long... She enjoys sitting but cannot sit up on her own from a lying position... But that's ok.

I was out buying food and saw a baby being carried and couldn't help wondering that soon we won't be carrying our babies anymore and before we know it they'd be teenagers and we'd really miss the times when they were cuddly and learning to crawl...

on solids

Today I bought sweet peas. Shelled the peas painstakingly. Two big packets only got so few peas in the end! Boiled in v little water and pureed. Only got one bb cube's worth! Divided into half and mixed with oat cereal. Kate didn't like the taste...
but she ate half the bowl. I tasted the peas, so much nicer than brocolli and spinach neat. oh well.

Thanks mummies for sharing on the butt marks.

Star biscuits
wow really expensive ah... These manufacturers are really profitting.

on loo

Raffles city basement 'parents'/ handicapp/ family toilet is the best ive seen in Sgp. Got this bb seat on a stand where bb can sit , got kiddy size toilet bowl etc. V nice.

Cheer Bear,
When I say 'white' I mean pale...from what I know, lack of iron means will have lack of red blood cells or something like that thus will make a person looks pale...my boy is fair by nature so if he looks pale then he'll really look scary!

mousebb, Karen,
Thanks for the info! Shall not force feed my boy from now on when he refuse his solids...before I intro brown rice cereal he prefers solid than BM, but now that I intro brown rice cereal, he'll 'signal' for BM and drink more than before introducing solids...he really got a mind of his own! My mind's more at ease now that I know he's well-fed with or without solids as long as he's drinking milk!

Guess everyone's gone home or logged off.

Today I was sorting pics to be developed for Vic's special bday gift (brag book) for her grandparents, and aunt and for daddy &amp; mommy and I was really amazed at how much she has grown, how much she has changed in looks. Then I look at her now, she has become such a cute lil girl! In fact, a 'big' girl compared to the pics .. if you all know what I mean.

I mean everyday I remind myself to cherish her every laughter, smile, puke, pee &amp; poo, cries and each time she manages to swack food onto herself, myself - to smile, the going through of all the pics from day 1 reminds me again &amp; again how we have to treasure each day with our baby, becos they will never be like what they were even the day before! So, here's cheers to how far our bubs have gone, cheers to us mommies (it really is a feat getting pregnant, delivering, and now caring for our lil ones!)!!

Soon we will be celebrating their 1yo birthday! Fast.