(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="#C24641"> JJmom
icic. thanks alot!!!

<font color="0000ff">Dumbo,
your 'buy lobster with "hei bi" price' statement make me laugh! Tat's a gd 1!

Btw I have checked, haven receive the socks yet. When did u say u mail them out? Mayb I wait awhile more if not, will have to check with the post office for my area liao</font>

jjmom,
haha i always say that abt some of my clients.. nowadays alot of ppl very unrealistic.

my PT maid posted for me on monday leh.. i check with her again when i c her tomorrow.

hihi Rebecca,

I meant to tell you this regarding Nicholas' eczema the other day but I couldn't post it becos the forum was under maintenance:

My elder kid used to have eczema when she was a few-months-old baby. I didn't know it was eczema and didn't know what to do. I could see that the patches were red and she was scratching badly. Out of ignorance, I held her hand to stop her from scratching her face and she screamed and cried.

Then I took her to a PD and the PD told me it's eczema. She gave me some steriod cream to apply on the baby's face and it went away within a few days - her skin became as good as new. She also gave me Cetaphil lotion to bathe the baby with.

When she was young, I didn't know I should apply moisturiser as prevention. Then one of the docs told me I shouldn't wait till eczema flare up then apply steriod or cream.

So I applied Cetaphil on her now and then but it wasn't the perfect solution. It still flares up from time to time. It went on until I came across one of the threads here recommending Gaia for eczema cases.

I went to buy one at Guardian Pharmacy and applied on my kid since 3 years ago and her eczema has not flared up since. Sometimes after swimming, her skin gets quite dry and her eczema seems to threaten to return but after applying, the symptoms disappear. Now, I don't even apply on her anymore and it doesn't come back.

I think when Nic's eczema flares up, you should keep him at home. Outside got dust and dirt and sun, so would make it worse. If he perspires, it would also aggravate the condition.

Re: wrist rattler
You can find some at kiddy palace causeway point or the cherie heart at Sun Plaza. But they are made of fabric and quite small. My baby likes to chew on it when I'm not looking. Got elephant and monkey or frog and chicken (they come in either pair).

Reb
on wrist rattle, I think the set I have is the frog and chicken. I always thot it was duck till saw rains post. Realizeust be chicken cos got the red things on the top of head haha.

<font color="0000ff">Rebecca,
my sis who had eczema also use Cetaphil lotion for bathing. But she has forgotten what cream she use but it's from national skin center, think most likely some steriod cream like what rain has mentioned.

Yup, like what rain said, my sis also tell me to apply lotion for my Nat when she found out i din use any. She said to apply even no problem, to prevent dry skin.</font>

Hi rains,
Thanks for your sharing. My boy has eczema too and I have been using california baby calendula cream so far. Find that it did help a bit but the effect is slow. He has two patches on his 2 legs, same spot some more.

PD told me it will go off when he reaches 6 mths or so but his eczema is still there so far leh.

allo mommies,

came across this article. it's old but i think the core arguments still stand.

http://www.vtaide.com/png/ERIC/Infant-Care.htm

lili,
If there are health concerns e.g. risk of scalding of infant's mouth with hot milk then this infant care centre is definitely not supporting you with peace of mind as a working mom. Even with a long waiting list at many places with ifc services, you are probably better off looking somewhere else and be placed on their waiting list. Meanwhile, you might want to consider a change of strategy with your approach towards staff and management (who obviously does not care or truly have the most appalling people skills). What you need now is to butt in and make yourself known - positively.

I have seen parents who empower themselves by volunteering themselves to e.g. sit on the board, excursions, birthdays, pot luck, festive celebrations, concerts, parent support groups, administration e.g. i had a parent who's in marketing help out with fund raising collaterals.

You might also need to take some time off to make friends e.g. teachers, director, admin as well as this most important group --> cleaner, cook, bitchy sahms (hahahahaha). In my exp, the last 3 groups often have alot of information to share and they are often the least discreet.

Having short informal chats with teachers frequently (particularly those who work with your bb) allows them to develop a sense of responsibility towards you. So load on the accidental snacks, tidbits, biscuits for staff and children 'to share'.

Showing your face around often to volunteer and to chat with staff and other parents also shows management that you're involved and can be involved positively and not just someone who comes in and randomly. Ask the teachers (after you know her name, number of kids, abit of background) what's the school policy on contacting teachers e.g. email addresses? (prob no personal contact numbers, no contact after hours are standard). What kind of infant curriculum do they do e.g. loosely translated as what sort of activities are planned for infants esp now that they're more active.

It was funny. Just the other week, i told my friend to cunningly check on what the teacher is doing with her boy by asking her, 'miss tan, my ah boy couldn't stop talking about the way you ..[insert bullcrap statement], could you show me how you do it or give me some tips, i want to try this with him at home. it seemed so fun!'

That worked. because it played up on teacher's ego and made her feel like she was contributing to the child's learning. all teachers want to feel like that, esp childcare teachers. we hate people who make us feel like we're only here to play with your kids and clean up after them.

Once you're friends with your teacher, you'ld prob start feeling sympathetic towards her pathetically low pay and long hours but as a 'friend', you're also in the position to gently probe into staff matters (who's leaving), changes in management, curriculum changes and planning (changes in themes), child feedback, observation methods, recording, maybe that horrible director's deepest darkest secrets and most importantly, how your bb is doing.

you'ld need to make that time if you're staying put, lili. i don't know if it'ld work for you but if i were the teacher and not reading this right now, i wouldn't see it coming. so mommies with bbs in ifc, go on and make more friends.. most teachers hate management anyway.

Jelly,
how about try convincing mom that you'ld put rebby into ifc for a few hours each day, get her to pick rebby up, introduce her to most of everyone, let her make auntie friends to build her own sense of 'picking kid after school' community, then tell mom that this is the initial phase of introducing rebby into formal schooling so must start slow, tell mom that you have plans to put her in the full day eventually so she can get some rest. might be a strategy into delaying rebby's introduction into school but what reb needs now is a secure caregiver, if mom is tired.. it stresses the kid out as well. and you are very stressed out, kid senses it well.. then it's no fun for anyone. You might have difficulty finding a ifc who'ld give you a few hours, they'ld rather give your place to a full day enrolled child because of the money. how about a nanny? somewhere nearby? hard to find but you could work that against your mother in the way she eventually wants rebby to herself. hahaha...

oh no, sorry for laughing.. sigh. hope you'ld work things out jelly. -hug- come meet us soon.

gathering:

Thanks to mona and family! Jonathan is a miniature of his father! The playmat and bumbo also very thoughtful! good to throw the babies down on the mat.

reminds me of the time jill set up hot water for fm fed babies and a changing station for us to change our babies.

our mommies here are very thoughtful and forward thinking indeed ;) cannot wait for the next gathering!

Thanks eelyn for organising the food, mmmm popiah...

Hi Kym Kym
1st of all, a big THANK YOU for squeezing time to have Breanna's shots taken. Though she wasn't in the right mood on that day, we could see that you've tried your best to join us in cajoling her to smile, with the endless songs we sang to pacify her! Take those negative comments like a pinch of salt. Thank you again and GREAT JOB!

Rebecca
I caught the documentary about the elephants that went into labour...cried when one of them gave birth to a dead baby...really sad!

Vanilla
I'm in the same predicament as you, cracking my head how to keep my girl entertained. I'll do reading, tummy time with her and let her watch dvd. Other than that....we'll be staring at each other...

almond!

heyy... my fellow white armpit obsesser! hehehehehehehehehehe.

Vanilla, kiwi,
am out of ideas too. i have all these books on teaching, all these theories on child dvpt, the whole internet full of ideas but i cannot be arsed. i just want sleep.. sigh. along with a hair cut, a pedi, a mani, a facial, a massage, maybe a new pair of shoes.

i stare at my daughter alot too. sometimes i stare and she stare back then we both loll around on the bed and eventually doze off. DVDs dun work for me because i tried spirited away and my miyazaki dvd of classics but she got shit bored after a while. youtube works.. but i should practice some parental guidance right?

hey pildough, I have yet to whiten my armpit leh

Not bad leh, both of you can roll and doze off on the bed! I have to carry Ethan in my arm to sleep. Also he loves to go out for a walk. Got timing somemore. He seems to be able to tell the time when you have to bring him out or else he will scream

<font color="#C24641"> hi Rain!!
long time no 'see'!

i tried Cetaphil lotion for him. but it din help. so i stop it. tried a few products. another is Demaveen(shower gel). at first it help. but as time goes by, nope again.

i apply all sort of moisturise for him. QV, Aqueous Cream(given by KKH) etc etc etc.. but all of them din help much.

GAIA indeed help alot! i bought it frm kylie. been trying to look for the BP again but no more. sun plaza's guardian dun carry GAIA products. i dunno if the nearby shopping mall do so ant. might need to head down to either causeway point or northpoint.

yup i try to 'keep' him at home. n usually we will go out either early in the morning(sun not so strong) or in the late afternoon(sun not so strong too during sunset timing). coz of these reason, my mum even disturb me saying i hve a 'vampire' child. hehe...

THANKS FOR SHARING!!!

JJmom
apply moisturise for BB are good. use GAIA product la.. good leh... i tried so many moisturise n GAIA is the best!!!

Rains &amp; dimpletot
Erin got a big teether doll. she dun like it. dunno y. ex leh.. $20++ she dun like. she prefer to bite her fingers conver with cloth. the teether doll is made of cloth too lor... waste $$!!! </font>

almond,
i usually have to kiap her in place then she'ld sleep. she's getting too heavy to rock in my ergo and that habit makes it difficult for my hb and ils to put her to sleep.

i think bbs like to go out.. they look see look see then breeze hits and zzzzz.

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
Haha! Bcos we let wenxuan wore a pink colour bib and some pple said he look like a gal! </font>

sigh, got bogged down by work these days...

kym,
keep up your good work! $25 is dirt cheap for what you are offering lor. And I love Jayden and MX's pictures - some of them v classic!

i sure am looking forward to the shoot this Sat!

eh ok then i bring my own props ah.. hahaa..

hmm Gaia better than California Baby?

Izzy has this rash on her neck that wont go away. It is not red skin but like small goosebumps. i dunno how to describe. Any ideas how? I am bringing her to the gynae if it doesnt improve soon!

kiwi,
yea try enya. I am also looking for her website. I wanna buy the petite cubes!

<font color="#C24641"> kiwi
sad hor... i nearly cry. the BB is premature de. n if the BB din 'born' out, it can harm the mother. n vet in the zoo said that there is no way for them to go for C-sect!! n aft hearing it, i got more kan chiong for the mother!! that's y when the BB elephant is so skinny n small size.

<font color="#C24641"> essanna
actually both GAIA n California Baby contains celendula. wat i mention abt is GAIA moisturiser.
i dunno California carry moisturise ant. u can ask EY. she sell CB products.

Littlealmond/Pildough/Essanna
Thanks mummy, I'll PM her if I don't see her before I log off later.

Rebecca
Yah, especially it's the baby that the mummy elephant carried for nearly 2 years! The mummy elephant must have been devastated, the part where she wanted to break the amniotic fluid, but didn't do so because she knew that her baby was dead was so heartbreaking!

Just bought my girl to the PD, at 6mths and wk, she's 8.5kg and 70cm. Doc told me to watch her weight...hmm...wonder how to. Put her on a low-fat milk diet?

<font color="#C24641"> kiwi
ya. she is devasted! she seems like dunno wat to do.
the vet n her keeper said that she need time to recover frm her emo. but hveu notice that whn the moment she 'deliver' out her angel child, there is this elephant reach out her trunk to communicate with the mummy? they said is her family member n is givin her moral support!! so heart warming!! sad but at the same time heart warming lor.. </font>

mousebb : that's a good one..hee

pildough : i agree with you on the points
(1) make friends with other mummies etc - being v talkative, i will always kaypo chat w the other mummies while waiting for the teachers to bring bb out..esp good to know new mummies (cos they get to visit the IFC and can see how the teachers handle your child / others etc..usually once you are in,you have to wait outside the gate and not allowed to be in the centre..also good to seive out infor if there is any sick bb in the centre..was asking 1 mummy why i din see her for the past few days..then realised that her bb was sick..now still having abit of flu..of cos..i was like.."oh..hope he/she gets well soon"..in my mind, i have to decide if i wanna take leave to take care of bb so as not to be infected etc ( things like if the other bbs having cough/flu, the teachers wun usually tell you)

(2) boost the teacher's ego - praise and ask how the teacher do something (e.g. feed your child with xxx) from there, suggest and more often than not, realise that we work together for the benefit of the child..at times, i will act blur and ask "what do you think if i xxx?" and when the teacher rattle off some suggestions etc, i will reply "ooo, that's a good idea"..hee..
i have frens who's working in IFC and she told me that there's this parent who insisted on a whole long list of things..and always complain..in the end, the teachers kinda have a lil resentment towards the child..
having said that, i'm not saying we have to 'por' the teachers, but more of making frens with time and work together hand in hand.

Kym : dun bother too much about all those negative comments..i've seen some of your works..and you did a GREAT job !! hugs..like what the other mummies say..we Oct mummies support you ! Jia You ! i'm looking fwd to mine on sat !!

and here's a pic of my connecta..(my latest and Last addition to my carrier &amp; sling collection..wahhh)
2378084.jpg

Rebecca : he looks like saying "mummy spend $$ AGAIN..when will she ever stop ? i have to keep adapting to new sling/carrier..." heee

initially, i was trying to figure out how to do the buckle and all that..kept adjusting..and when i finally done, i look at him and he gave a LOUD SIGH..dunno if it's coincidental or not..but it was very funny..=p

<font color="#C24641"> jolly
LOL!!! promise ar(asking on behalf of ur boy boy). keke...

guess if he can talk, he might tell u. 'mummy, can u please dun buy so many sling, carrier or pouch? i now u sayang me but i always need to adapt new tins leh...' keke....</font>

Nite mommies..

M really keen to get KymKym to take my girl's photos.. is she still taking in more slots? willing to wait for a slot..

anyone has her email add?

<font color="0000ff">dumbo,
i saw it too...heehee but i think the bag will end up be too low for me (shortie)</font>