(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="#C25283"> wu~hoo~.... just back frm the show!!!

forest
hehe... 2-3hrs ar? let her be lor.. hehe.. let her suckle until she is FULLY satisfy.

dumbo
hmm.. i dun hve the swell feelin. still ok leh..

kylie
sad to say. today it din work well for me. she is so alert. in fact she is staying WIDE awake lor!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Trace
Hope arielle will recover from the bacteria infection soon. Luckily you brought the medicine along to show to the other PD.</font>

ntuc
Oooops. I mean I want to check out NTUC Finest. And it's available at Bukit Timah Plaza. Kylie, I'll go visit you and shop there!

karen,

come lah..come tomorrow or thursday better cos' my bosses not in haha..
finest at BTP is very nice to shop, u will love it!

lili

I'm collecting my jar next week... no time lar

Oh and your talk on weaning... Dr EK Ong is CH's PD!!! He gave me a "booklet" on weaning... it's a useful guide.

YOu girls want me to type the essence here? I'll try to do that later k...

I think I no need to go to the talk liao lor, can just ask my PD when I see him next week

Essence of weaning guide from my PD, Dr Ek Ong from SBCC (TMC):

1. By 6 months, most babies will be ready for solids
2. Don't over feed or under feed, let baby's appetite be your guide
3. Do not give baby foods, such as cereal thinned with milk, from a bottle

- The first feed
1. Rice cereal is a good first food
2. mix 1 teaspoon of cereal with 3-4 teaspoons of liquid (EBM, FM or water)
3. introduce at breakfast or lunch time
4. initially, can give some milk before first spoon feeding
5. start with little food on baby-sized spoon. put spoon between baby's lips, so he can suck. don't force spoon down his throat.
6. baby only needs about 1-2 teaspoons before you resume the rest of his milk feed

- Full 6 months
1. food should be bland, smooth and easy to swallow
2. make rice cereal thin for the first few feeds
3. once baby i used to spoon feeding, may thicken cereal and increase amount gradually over the next 2 weeks until it replaced a milk feed
4. 3-4 tablespoon of cereal to 150ml of milk is sufficient for most babies. you may use other cereals for variety
5. next, intro fruits and veges one at a time
6. start with tablespoon of soft scrapped fruits (papaya, apple, banana) or pureed veges (carrot, spinach, pumpkin, potato). Don't steam the fruits as this can destroy Vit C. Add these to cereal of serve separately.
7. inrto fruit juices 1-2 oz diluted with equal amount of water. Barley water is ok too.
8. end of the month, baby will be on 1 cereal feed, one fruit/vege dessert and 3-5 bottles of milk

- Full 7 months
1. baby is ready for home-cooked porridge
2. porridge must contain a vege and a protein food
3. Nvr use chicken/beefk broth to make porridge. they are only good for taste, the nutrient is in the meat itself.
4. vege such as carrot/pumpkin may be minced and cooked with porridge. greens such as spinach have to be pre-cooked, pureed and added to the porridge
5. steam a small piece of fish or 1 tablespoon of minced meat separately and mash or sieve into the porridge when ready to eat
6. do not add meat or fish into porridge and cook for long time. Overcooked meat/fish are tough and tasteless
7. end of the month, baby will have 1 cereal meal in the morning, 1 porridge meal in the evening, 1-2 servings of fruits for dessert and 2-3 milk feeds.

- Full 8 months
1. increase solid meals gradually to 3 times a day. he'll continue with 1-3 milk feeds
2. a greater variety of food can be intro. fully cooked egg yolk can be used.
3. instead of pureed foods, you can give soft foods, either mashed or finely minced
4. it is not necc to mix all foods into the cereal or sice porridge. give some foods indiv, this helps baby develop taste for the different foods
5. finger food, such as toasted bread or teething rusks should be given only after 8 months when teething comes on. Keep an eye on them in case they choke

Ok that's the summary, hope it helps for those mommies who are clueless when it comes to weaning

Enya

The made-to-order designs have no discount right? 55pounds?

ahahahahaha your pig head very cute! dun mind finding one at my door

kate had her first feed of solids! She finished 2 tablespoons of rice cereal! She took to swallowing really well.
ok now for our turn, going for buffet yay.

hi EY - can we front carry the baby w the connecta? ie. baby face out? If so, am keen to get it too...just that the designs this time round seems a bit limited and not my cup of tea. Any idea if the supplier has other designs??

Whitepaper
Haaa, thou shalt not resist.

Ruffles
Cannot. I quote, "The Connecta is designed to support the baby in a well seated anatomically correct position, with knees level with or higher than the bottom. It is not possible to achieve this when the baby is facing away from the wearer."

hihi!

karen,
for 9k.. unless i have ALOT of disposable income, then i think its ok to get a bag.. if not i'll def get a watch. 9k can get me a nice cartier. bag got no resale value.. watch have.. and.. im not a bag fanatic wat.. heh..

kylie,
confessions of a shopaholic is fine with me!

haiz..y all the bubs love solid food except arielle? till nw she still refuse to hv it..n will scream the moment the spoon is near her..*sad*

mousebb,
thks!
she is better though still a bit blocked..need time..having real hard time feeding her med..

hi trace - give arielle some time. Maybe becos she is not feeling too great, introducing solids now may not be a good time. Try again when she is better ya? Don't feel bad. Vic also refused her cereals when she had drippy nose. Only today did she whallop her maiden pumpkin puree. I tasted it - it was superb. No wonder she loved it too!

Did u try her in the connecta? Did she like it?

Karen - tx for the review and quote
And btw, the Birkin is lovely .. and timeless... so the 9k tho extremely ex, is a nice wonderful luxury ....

Mommies - any gd carriers that allow the baby to face forward. AM keen to get the connecta but it cant do what I want leh... thot the bb can then see the world....

whitepaper
yeah, no discount at all. waiting time is 2-4 weeks.

thanks. next time if you buy anything from me and dun pay, i'll put the pig head at your door

jellypurin
unfortauntely, yes. the moq is 10 pcs excluding made-to-order ones

Ruffles
connecta is juz like ergo and beco. cant face out

springles
how come you dun call and ask them to resend to you?

Ruffles
actually it's good to get those carriers with sitting position instead of groin hanging ones. though bb cant face front, but better for the spine.

currently, i hv jolly's order. (made to order)
if any mummies want tailor made, can submit together, so can save a few pounds on shipping and insurance.

Price will be 55 pounds + 7.50 (toddler hood if applicable), plus shipping+ insurance.

Trace,
The nurse n pd also nv tell me that nasal can't use after 5 days le.. Can we stop then use again???

Enya,
I'M so tempted to get the connecta.. How???

Japan:
Any good things to buy there?? My hb may need to go there for work..

Dumbo,
Paiseh ya.. Only can pass to u on Monday..

Rebecca,
Finaaly saw the wipes at metro, thks ya..

tweety
for yourself or for bb? talk abt japan, all i can think of is limited editions agnes b, LV and burberry blue label bags

EY
okie, let me have a think again...sigh, so tempted!

trace
rebby also dun like solids yet, but let's not give up trying!

Jelly,
For me n bb.. Hee.. But I guess will be ex..
U also tempted on. Connecta??? I will buy if my client win the bid, but now they lose so I scare kena retrenchment as market is bad now.. Hope the project will grant to us..

tweety,
Tik dat nasal drop aft 5 days hv to discard liao. Cannot stop then use..total discard it. I hv dumped mine at the clinic..hehe..

Jelly,
Yeah, like wad ruffles mentioned..probably i'll wait till she gets better..n try it again. nw my hub keep letting her hold her own spoon..so dat she wun b fearful..haha..

Ruffles,
Thks for yr advise!

Whitepaper,
Thks for yr time in typing out those advise frm PD. Its helps alot...

Trace,
Ok.. I will throw away later..
Varner always can't finish 2 teaspoons of cereal leh..

Whitepaper,
Purée supposed to be mix with cereal n feed bb??

sofie the giraffee teether,
hv u gals seen it? it's $33!! and so many pple is buying it!!

karen,
i just saw your post about maryann. attitude again lar..

Enya,
just emailed you. If ok, I go to collect the Connecta from your place tomorrow? If anyone still havent collect, I can collect for you too?

tweety,
Yup..throw n dun use liao.
At least yr varner eating it leh..mine totally shut her mouth tightly.

Karen,
Is this maryann attitude lady? Saw a few negative post on her b4..