(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee, bbgoh
Thank, mummies. I guess the main reason is bcos I dont have enough sleep cos have been drinking about 1.5litres of lotus water everyday.

zeal
Welcome.
!</font>

hiyah sometimes I wonder why the older generation thinks everything happens becos bb is hungry. Cry means hungry, lick hand means hungry, got saliva means hungry, stick out tongue means hungry, suck mittens means hungry....

Parents and PIL first qn is 'is she hungry?'. If i feed bb everytime they diagnose that she's hungry she'd be eating all the time!

Now, Bb feeds regularly on 3 hr schedule and is growing well and at this stage we are past demand feeding right? Sigh. Guess that's why some of my friends want to look after their kid all by themselves. No interference, well meaning or otherwise.

Hi Mummy Zeal!! WELCOME!!! *waves*

Mummies Dog owners....can i ask what u feeding your dogs? Anyone DIY dog food? My Dogs on Timberwolf which is like $37 per 1.5kg bag and not easy to find. I tot of starting to make fresh food for them. More economical and fresher.

Next time my kitchen will become Dog food and Baby food factory cos I plan to make my own baby veg and fruit purees too!

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
One of my dogs is a 'vegetarian" due to meat allergy so we are giving him veggie dog food with supplement like brocoli, potatoes and carrots which was suggested by the vet. My other dogs are taking chicken breast meats besides their dog food. One of them is eating rice too.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
My gal will start to suck and lick her hands when she is hungry. She always play with her saliva to keep herself entertained. I guess most babies like to stick out tongue and suck their mittens bah. THey may not be hungry.</font>

thanks all mummies

xinying,
happy birthday to u too and guess both of us will be having a veri happi birthday with our darling

me going for mani and pedi then go over to my mum hse to pick my shawn coz ytd left him there so today can go shopping.. heehee :p

welcome zeal !!

dimpletot,
my fil is more funny loh, when bb crying he said bb is calling to play/ hungry or he ll look for pacifier for her.
when bb is sleeping in the room he ll find chance to go in calling/teasing her while i was not ard. as bb sleep with me so when i m there then he paisay to go in. but once i step out huh wah he ll walk in very fast loh *faint*

Morning mummies *YAWN*

Very tired.............having headache and blocked nose now....
... Can't imagine if I hv started work already and still hv to wake up at inhumane hours to pump.... Any mummies still doing that when back at work?

mousebb - Ss will not affected with the typical medication for flu/fever i think. I had fever and flu during the 2nd month. I took antibiotics and all, but still pump (yes, very tiring coz sick) to maintain supply. I threw away the EBM for 2 days, got scolding from LC. She said all the more must let bb drink so that she will not be infected by me.

I only wake up at most once to pump now, used to be twice when it's 3 hours apart. That night, I pumped at 1am, supposed to wake up at 5am but missed lor. Actually I am abit confused, hard breasts equals engorgement yah? Yes, that morning my breasts were super hard too with lumps when I pressed on it.

You are pumping at 3-hour interval still? Wah, from 10pm till 5am, that's 7 hours interval = confirmed hard breasts. I experienced it a few times, got scared already, so diligently woke up then. In fact, sometimes, there's a tingling sensation when the breasts harden and it woke me up to pump!

everafter - I thought you using the softfit shield? So you using the large size now? What speed you pumping now? Was it painful with softfit earlier? Try reducing the pump speed, or like that Rain says, stretch the interval and pump shorter duration. I am applying purelan generously now after each pump and also decreased my pump speed, think got to increase slowly for my case, can't go as fast as you ladies yet since been pumping at min speed all along. Are you also latching bb? can be stressful on nipples if latch and pump also.

dimpletot - I know what u mean
I had the same problem. They ended up feeding bb every 2 hours whenever she cries!!!! I kept saying maintain at 3 hours. Now ok already, just have to correct their perception lor.

Re: bb fussing before sleeping - Yes, mine too. Mine will fuss before sleep and sometimes before feed if we take too long to warm the EBM. Ok lar, just entertain her by humouring her... haha...

Surf, im using the lowest speed liao..previously im using the norm standard medela shields..I switched to the large size last night. now still sore
im already pumping at longer interval ever since i returned to work..norm abt 5-6hrs and pump 4-5time per day..if further reduce scared ss will further drop leh

Surf, seriously i didnt!! I dunno why sore also? Cant b my nipples suddenly grow bigger that caused the soreness right?? haha... :p

rains,
We're not entitled to the PHs.
Your girl is so adorable.

mousebb,
I stopped waking up in the middle of the night to pump liao. I 'trained' my body to let me sleep. So not I only pump at 8 plus in the morning after my girl finish latching.

tweety,
Yes, my girl has sweaty palms and feet. But I think it's because she inherit my genes cos i have sweaty palms and feet.

dimpletot,
Ya, my girl also will whine and cry till so pitiful before she falls asleep. I just cuddle her and let her whine till she sleeps. Heehee!

Karen,
Actually since your maternity leave not yet end, you can still change the dates and take your remaining 16 days.

busy bee, everafter,
DUN use cold cabbage on engorged breasts. It will work very well in relieving but your ss will drop like nobody's business.

xinying, cheerbear,
hapi burfdae! enjoy your special day ladies.

Xinying, Cheerbear, Hepi BDAY !!

Surf, 1 week before start to work i stop pumping at 3-4am. Now my last pump will be around 12 midnite then the next one will be 6.45 am. The breast will be hard in the morning bfr pump. First few times feel not so comfy when sleeping.. but after a while get used to it.

hmmm... call moe to ask if can change. If can, then call sch to inform them that moe say can. Not a nice way to do things but...

everafter - haha... u so funny... hey, it can happen you know... heard will change over time, that's why Medela invented so many different sizes for mummies. I am going to try out the standard shields next week (not softfit, coz it almost killed me) when they arrived from the spree.

You try pump 15min max, and then apply purelan generously after that. You bought nipple shields? I bought and quite ok, no abrasion with bra, but if bra too tight, can be uncomfy coz it presses on the breasts. See if it improve over the next few days. My soreness became slightly better now after 2 days. Hopefully will go away soon.....

monyetnakal / Mint - Did your ss drop after you drop the wee morning hours pump? Coz I read somewhere to increase and maintain ss, this early morning pump is important, something to do with our body hormones........

Karen,
But if it's 28 days then sch shd rightfully give you. How can the sch forfeit the 8 days? Doesn't make sense.

surf,
No, my ss didn't drop.

pumping >>
why u all can skip 1 session &amp; no leak only feel hard. my left side leak very bad after 3hr, so at most i can drag up to 5hr else the pad cant absorb anymore le tats y i MUST wake up to pump in the midnite. so far i have used up abt 5box of pad liao ler..

Mint
They didn't ah. But they won't allow me to postpone my 4th month now that I have applied. Nevermind la. Don't want to talk about it.

Another thing. Connect Plan. If you apply until end of the year, your connect plan payout will be deferred. Till end of next year. However, if you apply until end Nov, then you will get your payout this year, or latest Jan next year (not sure if it will be pro-rated). Thought you might want to take note of this.

Mint, my ss drop after skipping that pump leh.. When my bb didn't drink milk after 10pm feed till morning, me also didnt wake up.. after that my ss drops alot... no engorgement and no swollen even after 12 hrs... faint...

bbgoh.. my breast used to leak and engorge after 2 hrs.. now no more coz low ss liao..

<font color="aa00aa">Mint, Surf
I ever tried to have my last pump of the day at 11.30pm and then wake up at 3.30am to pump again so that I only need to wake up once in the middle of the night but my ss dropped like mad. How do you 'train' you body to sleep? Teach me leh. I want also otherwise have to wake up twice a night is a torture to me!

bbgoh
Since given birth till now, I have already used up dont know how many boxes of breast pads liao. I told hubby bf can help him to save the milk power money but on the other hand, need to spend money on milk bags, breastpads, supplements like fengreeks and fish oil capsules and other nutritious food.</font>

mousebb
me too. I have been using a lot of the Pigeon disposable breast pads. And they're not cheap le! How come it never stops leaking. I hate it when my breasts are full and first time feeding baby from the breast, the milk squirts everywhere! So irritating!

Xinying/Cheerbear
Happy Birthday! So Cheerbear is linda

mousebb
jiu shi loh. sometime when use the breastpad i ll feel wasted ler haha. yst just get the avent pad washable one to try. hope can use till i stop BF

i pump b4 sleep abt 10pm then 2.30am &amp; 6am so tired, nw i m sooo sleepy

tweety
i leak only but supply still can maintain :p

kare
pigeon one so ex ler, i only bought 1box at indo there more cheaper but compare to tollyjoy, its really good loh

Borrowing Karen, u are right.
Talking abt breast pads, i also use alot. Started of using pigeon, good, but ex. So i alternate between pigeon and lucky baby. Haha... lucky baby ones are cheap.

ask u a serious question huh
bb seline has a queit serious eyes discharges since abt 1mth old till nw and its sticky &amp; yellowish.
last injection ask the polyclinic doctor, she said her eyes no problem. most ppl said due to heatness. how do u thk? any baby have same problem? i m queit worry abt it, each time look her eyes like tat i m so heartpain.
i start to give her barley (china) since this morning, ll give her twice a week, advice given by physician. hope ll gone away.

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
When wenxuan was born, he also has this problem and PD said it would take about a year to clear. Wenxuan was given some eyedrop and finally it was cleared when wenxuan was 7 months old.</font>

mousebb
icic. so really take time huh. thanks. ur reply make me relief at least i noe tats not a serious problem.

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
That time I was very worried when wenxuan has this problem and many pple were saying bcos I never give him drink enough water.</font>

mousebb
yah yah they all said must give water, while i said NB no need water altot i got give a bit only. somemore she is on TBF.
so recently i ask caregiver give her water in between feed.

bbgoh.. u can try lucky baby one.. v cheap..but of coz not so comfortable like pigeon one...

xinying.. I remb I saw tollyjoy breastpad at NTUC too..

Talking about eyes discharge, my bb got alot of nose shit which will cause blockage too.. is it normal??

Breastpads
Okay, I'm switching to Tollyjoy also. Almost cheaper by Pigeon by $2 per box! I tried using non-disposable ones but they don't absorb as well.

Call me Karen la. Borrowing Karen so funny. Going to change back. Hee.

Tweety
My girl too. Every once in a while, I'll annoy her by trying to get the shit out. Sometimes, I'll try to suck when she's in a good mood. But I feel she's feeling uncomfy due to the stuff in her nose.

Lucky baby breast pad also cheap. Got from Carrefour. 3 x 20/box at only $10. Wahaha...

Digging Gold from nose:
i also always dig for Marcus using my very long nails. Haha...

xinying,

huh? u used yr long nails??? b careful leh..cos bb's nose their membrane very thin only...i starts using seawater spray..if not use pigeon cotten bud n slowly dig it out...

<font color="aa00aa">Xinying
Eversince I have kids, I never keep long nails liao cos I scared my long nails would hurt their soft soft skin.</font>