(2008/10) Oct 2008

Breastfeeding Mummies,

1. Are you all wearing normal wired bras or nursing bras to work/out?

2. My ebm looks very diluted...is it normal? If not, what shall I do to make it more 'concentrated'?

haha so seems most babies have tough skulls & thick skin...

Elch

I've stoppedcwearing underwired bras since pregnancy after reading that it might cause clogged ducts. even when going out either wear tube bra, non wired or nursing bras. Anyway all my old wired ones too small liao haha.

mousebb
dun be sad..dada is easier to say that mama.

my friend's daughter first word is pe pe...the name of my dog.

Morning mummies...

dimpletot,
My old wired bras are too small too so I thought of buying new bras for CNY, just that I don't know whether to get nursing/non-wired bras which I'll only be wearing for a few months or pretty wired ones which I can wear for years...

morning mmmies

re: thread
wow, so many postings yesterday. it was fast and furious man!

elch
you up so early! i dun wear underwired bras now adays. too painful! hehe

karen
honestly, i can't tell, but, for a long period, my ger's stools were really loose - watery. i chked with PD, she said it is really subjective, but bcos 3-4 straight days she headed to the loo so many times that i was suspecting she had diarrea. after seeing the PD and had her med, her stools are now like tomato paste consistency :p

re: studio loft
saw whitepaper *wave*, daisybuttons *wave* and mint *wave*

they all got their shots done i suppose but i din. had to head hm bcos bb was very cranky - not enough slp so noting to put up to show all of you.

re: hardknocks
the only time my ger cried was when she knocked on me accidentally in a sense. many times when she had "planned" to knock on me, she seemed okie. those knocks were really hard. u can hear a sound...

elchwong

Don't wear wired ones if your are BFing. They can really cause blocked ducts. My SIL went through hell and learnt it the hard way. She wore wired bras during pregnancy and had 4 times mastitis when BFing!!!

So no choice, have to spend some $ to buy non-wired ones. I'm wearing nursing bras only at home, coz easier for expressing. Outside I wear normal non-wired ones.

Swimming
Mummies who bought the pool - what do your babies wear in the pool? Or in the buff? Thinking if I should buy a pair of swim diapers.

My girl is a kicker.

Karen

My boy wears his swim diapers

Jellypurin,
Woke up early to express...hee...

Whitepaper,
When baby wears swim diapers means when he poos the diaper will 'catch' the poo even in water?

Bras:
Think I gotta get non-wired ones...haiz...don't like the lack of support they give...make my boobs look spaced out and droopy...

BM:
My ebm looks diluted...normal? If not, what can I eat/do to make it more 'milky'?

elch
mine looks diluted as well... guess we probably cant make it more "milky" but i think if you eat well, w will produce good milk

Jellypurin
I was asking you but I think you missed the post. How do you know your girl has diarrhoea?

whitepaper
Where did you get your swim diapers? Don't want to get online since the wait's long.

dreamy
I didn't buy. Hee, intend to let bb swim in bathtub.

Wind
I think my girl's discomfort is wind. Anyone letting their babies take anything oral like gripe water? Drugstore sells this Hyland Colic Tablets. Seems good. Feel like buying for my girl. Or anyone knows anything I can do to help my girl? Since letting her take something orally is my last resort. I tried Ru Yi Oil also not very useful. Any advice?

Breastfeeding for losing weight
I think breastfeeding does help in losing weight. On Monday, at my gynae's, I was put on the weighing machine and my weight was the same as 6 weeks ago. Nothing extraordinary, right? But I have been pigging out like no tomorrow. Milo, milk tea, chicken with skin and fats, chocolate, ice cream. Yet I am the same weight. Amazing, right? I reckon it must be breastfeeding. So if I cut down on fatty foods, I think I may drop some kilos afterall.

karen
try a warm towel put on her tummy, see can help or not.

bra ;
i just start wearing bk my underwired bra since last week. maybe my ss is not so good liao so far so good no milk duct block & it even help me to reduce the leaking. once i open the bra to express then it start leaking

Mummies whose expressing at work, u bring hand steriliser? I forgot to bring mine and office is dusty leh, no hand soap also. Hw to handle the pump parts like that?

elch
agree with you, nursing bras not very flattering. i like spring maternity best, reasonable price too. but it's usually normal sports bra for me. if you find a good nursing bra, let me know too.

karen
i used infacol for my boy when we suspected colic and wind, worked immediately. can get from watsons, guardian, ntuc pharmacy. http://www.infacol.co.uk/wind.cfm

swim diapers: can try disposable huggies little swimmers from any supermart. or i-play swim trunks from bumwear http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/catalog.htm?category=20

everafter
i din sterilise after express. i bring the btl liquid detergent to wash after tat then use hot water (dispenser) to rinse it.

<font color="aa00aa">elch, Jellypurin
Think eat more fish will help. I remember when I breastfed my boy, my bm was very diluted. I try to eat more fish this round and the bm looks quite thick le.

re:bras
Last month just bought a few wired ones (those lace ones w/o padding) with a bigger cup cutting. I went to robinsons to look for those w/o wired ones but not many choices. In the end, the sales girl suggested I get those wired bras with bigger cup to try out and I like it. No engorgement or blocked ducts even when I din pump for 6 hours. </font>

nursing bras
I like the ones from hotmilk. Can buy from zodee.com.au. They're super flattering. Plus have sizes even for big chested people like me. And what's more, they can provide lifts. You know, big = gravity so most nursing bras will make my breasts flat and doesn't help in lifting. The ones from Hot Milk are amazing!

Jill
Ooooh thanks! I did read about Infacol. Maybe I'll get one from Watson's later. Oh thanks on the info. about swim diapers. Will go grab some later. Hee. Can't wait to play water with bb.

BBgoh
Tried a hot herbal thingy on her but not working well.

Bras:
My nursing bras all have underwire. Got them from Wacoal. Have been wearing them since delivered. So far ok, no block ducts.

sterilise pump:
i wash with tollyjoy then fill water in my lock and lock and pop in mircowave for 3min. So far ok.

karen
honestly, i can't tell, but, for a long period, my ger's stools were really loose - watery. i chked with PD, she said it is really subjective, but bcos 3-4 straight days she headed to the loo so many times that i was suspecting she had diahrrea. after seeing the PD and had her med, her stools are now like tomato paste consistency :p

oh, i mean if no hand soap, then u all jus wash hands with water, will it be clean? sorry i sound like clean freak, but am going to xpress in storeroom in office leh..very dusty wor

xinying
wacoal nursing bra can remove strap? hvent figured out what to wear under tube top. somehow bandeau bra doesnt work for me

karen
wowowow, will check out hotmilk..hahah what a brand name for nursing bras

everafter

i only wash hand with water. if u worry then just use the btl detergent wash ur hand loh..
storeroom dusty huh but i thk if no fan blowing then the dust wont flying bah heehee

i Xpress in toilet even worse loh but i ll cover it fastly when take out from breast. then bring to pantry room pour out &amp; keep in frigde

karen,

my gal is on gripe water. i oso apply ru yi oil on her.

u an try infacol (currently oss in most places) &amp; the other one is rid wind.

jll
i bought the iplay from bumwear for my gal. i dun really like it though. my gal usually came up water with a huge heavy diaper.

morning mummies

studioloft
i actually wanted to go..but my kids are pretty cranky and also had togo post office.
perhaps next walk in on friday then.

karen
i used ridwind, or gripwater. prefer gripewater.
i also used ruyi oil every diaper change. my son's cond has improved. :)

Jill,
Dun think there are any nuring bras in the market that can remove straps. I've been searching, but none.

I wearing normal strapless bra or bandeau with my tube tops. Try getting the bandeau from Marks &amp; Spencer. I like.

yeah noticed infacol nowadays harder to find, but recommended by my paed so i stuck to it. got my bottle recently from ntuc pharmacy to standby.

enya
hvent tried i-play diapers before, so bad huh. no bulky problem with huggies little swimmers. heard also that naturally kids wont pee or poo in the pool because of water pressure, see many parents let their babies swim without diaper.
karen, can email huggies to ask for sample swim diaper to try out.

mummies who latch

How long do yr bbs latch for each feed? I feel that most of the milk flows in the first ten mins but still let bb comfort suck for another 20 mins each side. Towards the end sometimes got another let down. But is a 45 min - one hour feeding session each time too long?

There are times when in a rush and I latch for 10-15 mins each side only but not sure if bb got all she wanted. Do u wait till bb unlatches or use finger to unlatch after say 10 mins?

Huggies Little Swimmers
Hmm, both the Prime &amp; Shop/Save at my place doesn't sell it. Bleah. Will email them.

Enya
The Ru Yi Oil must be applied so often? Ha, I only applied at night, before her bedtime.

dimpletot
I let baby have free access. Although I think this is bad habit. That means she will latch until she doesn't want. But she has the bad habit of latch and unlatch, when she's not really hungry.

dimpletot,

My bb latch for about 10mins+ for each feed n each time only one breast n 'tong' for 2 hrs.....wanna to offer her another breast but she refuse to latch liao.....so I have to latch her every two hrs......but if she takes fm 90ml she can tong for 3hrs!

Hi Lili,

How your Clair @ infant care? Hope she can adapt well.
what do u need to bring to infant care everyday?

ppp
so far, she's ok.
sets of clothing, mitten, bootie, towel, bedsheet, bib, face cloth...

when you putting your bb?

Karen,
Forgot to tell you just now that I also apply ru yi oil on her after her bath in the morning. Then also apply some on her soles of her feet.

whitepaper,
You didn't see me at Studio Loft yesterday ah? Think you were too busy choosing photos liao. But I saw your hubby carrying CH. Heehee!

daisybuttons,
You asked me for something... what was it ah? my memory getting from bad to worse. Sigh!

Jellypurin,
Can go again next week.
I should have taken your slot then no need to wait. Regina was so 'stoned' from all the waiting that she didn't smile much. Maybe also good lah, save $$ for me. heehee!

dreamy,
I bought my pool from Kian also.

elch,
If bm looks diluted means not enough fish in diet.

jill, xinying,
The strapless nursing bras from perfect mum has underwires.

Hi Lili,
I'm putting mine @ Zion BB. Initially wanted to enrol to Cherie Hearts Harbourfront but was told I'll put on waitlist and slot will not be available till March 09.

I was told to bring 4 sets of clothings.
Do we really need that much ?

mousebb
dun worry. MY elder boy aslo call dad dad (daddy) 1st even though he prefer me to his daddy. he only call me when he feels like it...he dun really say mommy...he call me "mi mi". now as he gets older, he prefer his daddy to me cos he likes car n he looks up to his daddy who drive car to work everyday. now he will say "no like mi mi". i know he desnt mean it cos he always ask me to hug n carry him...n when i ask him if he loikes me , he will say yes. other time when he try to be funni...he will say "no like mi mi...beat mi mi cry cry...mi mi sad sad"....hahhaha