(2008/10) Oct 2008

found some stuff on baby centre that we were talking about previously...

The dark color of the linea nigra will gradually fade over a year, but that too may not completely disappear.

How long will it take for my belly to shrink back to normal?

For most women it takes months to get rid of the "pregnancy pouch" — and sometimes it never goes away.

Patience is key. It took nine months for your abdomen to stretch to accommodate a full-term baby, so it makes sense that it would take that long or longer to tighten back up.

The speed and degree of this transition depends largely on your normal body size, how much weight you gained during pregnancy, how active you are, and your genes. Women who gained less than 30 pounds and exercised regularly during pregnancy, who breastfeed, and who have had only one child are more likely to slim down quickly.

Some baby bulges require more effort. A low-calorie diet can help you lose weight, but give nature and exercise time to work first. Wait at least six weeks (preferably several months, especially if you're nursing) before cutting back on calories. Dieting too soon after giving birth may reduce your milk supply and can make you feel more fatigued.

And don't go on a strict diet — women need a minimum of 1,200 calories a day to stay healthy, and most women need much more than that — between 1,800 and 2,200 calories a day — to keep up their energy and mood.

More from here:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_your-post-baby-belly-why-its-changed-and-how-to-tone-it_1152349.bc?showAll=true

<font color="0000ff">Morning Mummies

Am back in office tdy to do some stuff!

<font color="0000ff">RE: Training Bb to sleep at night..

At present, my boy will have his last feed at around 10-11 pm, after that he would wake up oni at 5-5.30am for his next feed. But of coz, there are oso times when he's cranky and he will wake up at 2.30 am or so. I will check whether he's really hungry or wet first before deciding to give him the bottle. Sometimes, all he needs is some cuddle and he's fast sleep soon.

At times, he doesn't even take a full feed when he wakes up at 5 am ++ is that normal?

<font color="0000ff">Does taking longer naps in the day result in a more wakeful bb at night?

I read somewhere about overtired babies who find it hard to settle down at night esp if they nap too long during the day or they are overstimulated.

<font color="0000ff">Diane,

I was oso thinking if I shd get those playmats! muhahaha ;p

Seems like I am always buying things on the sly since bb is born *oops*</font>

hi littlebluey, i gave regine last feed at abt 11.30 or 12. she will wake up ard 7 - 7.30. sometimes 9+.

regine is still on 125ml since 2 weeks old until now. i dun know when to increase the amt.

KK nurses told me when bb is ard 12 weeks old can drink up to 180ml. i nearly faint. tat is alot. i scare overfeed.

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R's mummy
For the past 2 weeks, my gal has been sleeping thru the night le. The earliest which she would wake up for milk is around 5am plus. Her last night feed is around 11.30pm on fm.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Maybe I shd check with you on yr schedule agst mine and see how is it.

Can pick up 1-2 tips from you
keke

<font color="green">hi leeyiling,
sometimes my bb will wake up after 1.5hrs to feed again. i think that happened when she was at her 3rd week. read somewhere that it might be growth spurts. now she's back to after 2-3hrs feeds.</font>

littlebluey, me still learning leh. though a mummy of 2 but still blur. kekeke...

lili, is really up to u. to me i started regine when she was 1 mth old. now i dun have sleepless nights le. kekeke...

but last time i started rachel when she was ard 4 mths old. took her at least 3 weeks to attempt.

for regine very fast within a week she can sleep thru the whole nite.

rachel
now, my girl sleeping pattern is like evening feed, wake up 12/ 1am for milk, then till 5/6am for milk... is it consider?

icylemon

How u train bb to sleep thru the nite?
My boy still wake up 2-3 hrly for feed, day and nite leh. He is now in wk 8 liao.

Sleeping through the night
Wow, almost all your babies are sleeping through the nite. Are all your babies on FM? Mine still wakes up a few times through the night. Also, how old are your babies?

<font color="aa00aa">Littlebluey
We give her 90ml fm during her last night feed bur most of time she would not finish it cos she is a 'small drinker'.</font>

lili,
is ok. my gal every sleep for 9 hours w/o milk. when she wake up she has 2 feeds within 2 hours. hahaha...

babe99,
starting abit tough. i always give her last nite feed ard 11.30 or 12. then starting she will still wake up for milk ard 3am or 4am. then slowly she will drag the timing abit longer. oso when she starts to make noise abit i will give her pacifier &amp; pat her back to sleep. slowly slowly she got use to it within a week.

icylemon

i see... so its giving her pacifier to see if she can go back to sleep instead of giving milk..
i will try on my boy.

babe99,
u can oso give water. if u bu ren xin to let ur child sleep thru for the nite at this age. u can try later. no harm.

rachel
so far, she can finished up... and ask milk 3hr (sometime 1/2hr later or 4hr later)

mousebb
o... mine just passed 8wk (23 Nov)

<font color="green">my baby usually will eat at arnd 11pm then at 2am and 5am. she's still at 3hrs interval feed. but she's only 4wks old. should i start training her to sleep through the night? when is the earliest time to start on FM? my hubby still prefers that i give breastmilk to baby le. if like that sure she will wake up every 3hrs or so.

lili_fc,
read that baby's got growth spurts around 2-3weeks, 4-6weeks, 3months and 6months if i remember correctly. it is when baby suddenly eats a lot.

leeyiling,
maybe your baby wasn't able to drink the hindmilk that's why he/she still thinks that he/she is hungry? or maybe your baby just likes to eat or suckle for comfort like mine. (i think that mine is using me as a pacifier sometimes...)</font>

mummies who did natural birth. do u feel tat ur bladder like abit loose. i mean u cant control ur urine now. like always got an urge to pee cannot wait.

pildough: your routine sounds so familier ! 'fussing'over bb's needs &amp; housework..hee..tiring indeed..but not complaining..i used to snooze my alarm..but now, will automatically wake up @ around 6am &amp; the whole routine begins....i miss eating my bfast while reading papers &amp; watching CNA too..now, i latch my bb..so i'm getting him into the 'habit' of 'drinking' his bfast while listening to CNA..

night feed : bb will wake up in abt 4 hr interval..guess i will start him on FM tonight, &amp; hope it last him longer..&amp; oso to use up the FM..hee..else i dun think i can finish the tin in a month..duhz..

diapers: using pet2 in the day (so far, no leakage..bb is always awake when i change him thus din hav any case of him frightened by the 'zapping' sound..) for night time, using MP (luv e poo pocket!). was insistent of using cloth nappies initially..but cos bb on bm, the frequent peeing &amp; watery poo..+ all the washing jus changed my mind =p

<font color="green">wow, you guys so good. got routine already. i still don't have mine yet. most of the time spent on feeding baby, putting baby to sleep, changing diapers and sleep when baby is asleep. now i'm worried when my MIL leaves on sunday. nobody to cook for me liao and have to do everything myself cause hubby is at work.

jollyhoppy,
when i attended the ante-natal class they say do pelvic exercise to strengthen the muscle there and avoid this.</font>

Hello mummies! How are all of u? Haven log in for quite a while liao.

Hi pildough, I'm having dark eye rings too + pimples leh but armpits seems to lighten a bit but I still have my old pigmentation leh... sianz

Brought bb for his 6-in-1 on Mon, then he got slight fever. Want to be carried all the time.

Does any mummies facing the problem of having one big and one small boobs? Real obvious difference one.....

Wow... I like bbs who can sleep thru the night after their night feed. *muakz* love them.... too bad my boy dun do that. Also like to be cranky when he wakes up for his feed in the night. Wanna eat, also wanna sleep.... then will start his tantrum... also dun know wat he wants.

Lili, how much to put bb in infant center? What is their hours like?

wow! envious of mommies with babies who can sleep thru the nite! Mine still wakes up at 3-4 hr intervals. But I don't think I wanna give FM coz my fridge is really bursting now with my BM... I have like 10 bottles of 140ml feeds ready for him at any moment in time... and not thinking of freezing now, so gotta give full BM for him to finish all. Supply really increase after fenugreek + holicks!

And wanna announce that I'm a cheapo mommy when it comes to diapers! My boy used Mamypoko when he was a newborn, after that I switched to S sized huggies and drypers, which both worked well for me. Today I lagi cheapo, I bought a pack of NTUC housebrand diapers to try!!! my colleague swears by it... actually my favourite is huggies, not too exp and good.

Thanks for the link lili. It is so exp to put bb in infant center! $1250...

Envy u whitepaper, can have so much BM. Sometimes I cun even meet the demand of my boy and need to supplement with FM.

Seems like mamypoko is quite popular too.... hmm... I think I shd try it out too cos Pampers too exp liao. Somemore I dun use the cloth diapers after Cl left... too much to wash. Need to look for alternatives... hehe... economy not good too.

Hey Joanne, the link is good.... at least I know better why bb are so fussy at times. Thanks.

little_doggie:
Jelly is right!! 3 full tablespoons of Horlicks and 3 times a day n u will see the results!!

Mummies:
Had a very tough day on monday and tues. My car is spolit and i send to repair at workshop last week then later got to know that its covered by warranty. So monday, send my car to repair at Leng kee Borneo. Yesterday i went to collect and after collecting, went to sin ming coz my hubby's car kena accident and send to repair. It has been such a long time since i last i drove a car, so tiring.... been driven ard seems much better.

RE: B/fing
This sat i'm attending a close fren's wedding dinner. BB wun be gg coz its gg to end late. Wat do u tink? Is it funny to bring along my breast pump there to pump? if not, i'm gg to have hard and leaky breasts. The longest i can endure is 3 hrs and breasts will start to leak.

RibenaLi

I think you no choice gotta bring pump to pump... if not engorgement how??? hmmm... come to think of it... I don't get engorgement even if I don't pump for 8hrs!!! hmmmmmmmm wonder why???

wah whitepaper. i super envy u ah! i'm also thinkin of using the ntuc diapers... but my get still can fit most S size diapers and i think the ntuc ones starts from size M rite?

jellypurin

yah NTUC starts from M size. Now got promo leh... $11.15 for 60 pcs... and got extra 5% discount on NTUC housebrands now...

my boy fat fat (especially the tighs!) so can fit M size... I'll try today... if it works well, then I can save $$$ by using NTUC diapers le!!!

<font color="green">lili_fc,
no problem.

littlealmond,
need to research a lot cause cannot keep calling my PD everytime something happens. heheh..

ribenali,
better pump. otherwise if breast very full it will leak and not nice to have the front of your dress wet cause sometimes breast pads not good enough.

on breastfeeding:
my supply just enough for my baby. asked sister kang on how to increase supply. she say pump immediately after every feed. will try soon. hopefully my supply will increase and can store for when i go back to work.</font>