(2008/10) Oct 2008

hello mummies, long time never post here. been busy busy coping with bb, stress, depression... its really driving me insane for the first few weeks. haiz.

I engaged a LC to help me to solve my latching prob. Finally able to latch my boy on since monday. But due to sore nipples, i latch till 8pm then supplement by either ebm or fm. Let my breasts rest at nite. In the day, i dont really have time to express cos bb demand to be on breast often so no much bm to store. Really tired me out and my poor nipples ouch! i tried to pump once in the wee hours.

initially, my ss is really pathetic 40ml but just managed to pump out 90ml aft 40mins of pumping. What an achievement! Hopefully ss will continue to increase.

Horlicks + fenugreek work? i will try. Now taking fenugreek (a few caps) and nursing tea.

Whitepaper, read that your supply is really good. any tips? do you latch your bb? I wish to be able to stock up my bm to feed bb instead of using fm. bb is now into 3rd weeks old le. Can let me know how you schedule your pumping?

mummies, my bb appetite is really big... been latching him on almost every hour yesterday. Last evening latch him at 7pm, 8pm, he still seems not enough. No choice, we gave him 80ml ebm at 9pm. but he still not enough, then no choice succumb to formula and get add 40ml at 9:30. 10:30 he fuss again, we gave him another 100ml of fm. Still not enough, and my hb keep topping it up till 12 then he willing to sleep. Is it normal? Could it be he get not enough during the day and thus so demanding at nite? please advise... its driving us nuts with his milk demands. We scare we overfeed him.

Enya, i want one btl of fenugreek gnc. Pls advise how do i make payment to u as u dun accept PM.

Mummies, i gave Bryan 90ml FM last night at 9plus (normally his last feed for the day) and he only woke up at 4.45am!! Skipped his usual 2am+ feeding! Wondered if he's too tired thats y didnt wake up for milk. Shall try again tonight

Ribena, the adaptor is a gd idea! But then after that how/where to sterilise the accessories huh? maybe can only pump once then chiong hm again??

My baby is exactly 4 weeks old but my BM is still very little.I try to give as much as I can but mostly drinking FM.Anybody having the same problem? Shall I give up and change to total FM?

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Gd morning ladies....

What a nice weather to sleep in..but of cos sleep is a priviledge to all of us here... sobs.

Just wanna say that you should all check out the link Busy Bee posted yester. on baby sounds. It really works. Hv read abt this Dunstan thing, but never really matched her recommendations with my bb sounds. Yester, me and HB tried matching the sounds Victoria makes... and applied the necessary 'solutions' ie. clean her if pooped.... and she seems happier... n we are happier too!!

Here's a snapshot:

Neh - Hungry
Owh - Sleepy
Heh - Discomfort
Eair - Lower Gas
Eh - Burp

Try it! Thanks Busy Bee!!!!

Mommies with lil BM - You can try massaging yr breasts before pumping, drinks LOTS of water and take fenugreek. The nurses also taught me to pump after each feeding to stimulate milk supply. The ss will slowly but surely go up. Now I hv headache looking for space in my freezer compartment for my milk (I hve at least 30 bots, and 15 milk bags of human juice....). Even my maid shake her head and told me to sell.

ruffles
how can u tell?! i cant really make out the different sounds. but u n ur hubby really gd, can recognise what ur ger wants ...

enya
PMed u.

Jelly - Need to listen VVVV carefully. Our babies actually do make those sounds. It's amazing. Go listen to the U tube sounds many times (like I did), and then when your bb makes any sounds, try to mentally match it ..... I never knew Eair is gas... untill last evening. So much of struggling for the past 2mths cos we cld never really tell why she was crying at times....

dumbo, dreamy and angel r,

Its normal not to pump out a lot in the first few weeks. I was also in yr shoes. But if u do what ruffles mentioned ss will slowly but surely increase. Latch if u can. Pump if that's less stressful. Ultimately u must decide what's best for u and bb. No point latching on dd all the time and being a total physical and mental wreck. Bf is not easy and we all have different bodies.

My views are to supplement w fm if necc, and give as much bm as u can. Don't give up before a month is up. My friend told me that most bf problems sort themselves out within 4-6 weeks. Hang in there and at least u know u tried.

If yr bb seems to want to drink a lot more than u can ss, I would say supplement in the interim and wait for yr ss to increase by pumping regularly.

Take care and all the best!

yes.. agree with dimpletot... i also wanted to give up cos ss not good and expressing was tiring... even more stressful when bb cries admist expressing... but realli after the 4th week and persistent pumping at a 3-hr interval.. ss realli went up... hang in there!!!!

dimpletot, thanks for the advise. Will try to be patient. Yup, i'm stressing myself trying to provide whats best for the bb which is bf. i try to tell myself to relax and provide whatever i can but comments from insensitive people will push me back to the stress pits. Everytime i express and take to the fridge to store, my mil will say 'wow so little!' and tell me how much her daughters can express out. So sad.

Do you direct latch or pump? can let me know how many times should i pump now to slowly establish my ss? now my worry is i only pump once after 8pm to 10am the next morning, dont know will it decrease my ss. But im really tired and sleep deprived that i couldnt wake up to pump. Maybe i will try to up the pumping starting from tonight to make it 2x. i will try to pump after feed too.

dreamjyo... in order to increase ss, u hv to empty ur breasts each time u express... i hv to man handle and squeeze till every last drop is out then stop... then ur body will get the signal to make more milk.. my last pump is 1130 and first pump is 8ish.. i find sleep v impt so am lazy to wake up to express.. some mommies here v hardworking.. they do wake up in the mid of the night to express... that is better lahz... but dun beat urself up abt it... i understand how u feel... last time at the beginning, got visitors coming to see bb, after i pump i bring out so little milk i also paiseh... but perservere... now if they see my milk after each pump they will laff and say i am a cow lohz... u'll get there!!! ganbatte!!!

dreamyjo, i'm like u as sometimes i pump ard 8plus then come 11plus im so tired to pump then i tot to myself nvm when i feed my bb next time i will pump. But ended up im always too tired and went bk to slp. Unfortunately it will decrease your ss leh..if u cant pump every 3hrs, at least pump once in the wee hrs? Sometimes 1 pump i hv miserable amt only like 100ml, so i combine 2 pumpin into 1 to get 260ml and that makes me happier ;P I tried my best liao..hehe..

Ignore what ur MIL says..breastfeeding is nv easy and like what dimpletot said everyone hv different bodies

Hi All...good morning. The weather so shiok, I just want to curl up in bed. Had to drag myself out for bb's feeds. :-(

Ruffles...no problem. Really worked for me too, now I can recognise why she is crying and attend to her accordingly. Dunno if its my imagination but i think she has become a happier bb since!

Diane...I am keen, but my husband is uncomfortable with taking over the can of enfalac AR. He doesn't even allow me to buy formula from medical halls even tho its cheaper. No offence ok? nothing personal just my husband very anal abt such things. hope u understand.

Sales....any mummy going for JnJ or Mattel sale?

dreamyjo

I agree with the other mommies, don't give up!

For me, my supply is not fantastic considering how much my boy drinks. He drinks 140-150ml every 2.5 to 3hrs, and I express about 180-190ml every 3hrs. So just nice for him.

I seldom latch him on, much even lesser after my CL left. I express diligently every 3-4hrs, whether day or night. Sometimes baby cry when I'm pumping, and I just let him be. Pumping is important.

I'm taking fenugreek too.

everafter

Congrats! Bryan starting to sleep through the night le! CH still cannot leh... he can sleep for 5-6hours straight, but that's usually after his 7pm feed... then he'll wake up only at 1am...

Anyone knows how do I adjust this 6hours straight sleep to a more "nightly" hour, like 11pm to 5am????????? wake him up for a feed at 11pm?

help help... I'm sleep deprived... actually more of my hubby is sleep deprived... coz he does the graveyard shift...

dreamyjo - err.. princessemma is right- u need to pump n empty yr breasts each time. 1-2 times is not enuff esp when u r starting to get your ss right. If direct latch n pumping is too much, do pump then feed yr bb ebm. When I started, I always pumped after bf bb. Then when ss is gd, I slow down and increase the time for pumping. All the v best! U can do it.

Busy bee - what does the J &amp; J sale have do you know? For Mattel, guess am only interested in the FP items ... u going??

whitepaper - I feed Vicky at 11pm - 12am as the last feed to last her the entire nite. You lucky to have a HB that does nite feeds! Mine only does 1 feed at 7pm... the rest of the day is poor me..

You can try ... not sure if he will yell. I usually tell Vicky 'milk-milk' while patting her ... and she will happily let me pick her up ... think you gotta try a few times before CH knows its a routine. Having said that, sometimes she still wakes at 3pm to feed

Vicky now understands the following:
- when I say 'milk-milk', it's milk time;
- when I say 'wait', she has to wait a while for me to warm the ebm;
- when I place a bib or small face towel under her chin, she's getting her milk.
- when I open the pack of bb wipes &amp; undo her bottom trousers, it's cleanig poop time so she quieten down;

gals!

Ntuc got diaper offer! Nepia two packs for 28.95! I saw got L and M but no S advertised. Most of yr babies on S right? Recall that cutting is big. Hmm wondering should get two M or get two S if the shops got sell S.

Ruffles,

J n J sale... Johnson Baby, Johnson, Nutrogena, Stayfree and listerine on sale. Read in another thread that the 750ml bath wash was $3 in last yr's sale and wipes $8 for 3....

Mattel sale...I'm also keen on FP stuff only, maybe sesames street as well. I will try to go since hubs on leave next week. Actually the sale falls on our anniversary!

In fact the following there is also a borders sale at expo....sigh so tempting.

About dream feed, Mikayla not so keen on dream feed. Sometimes she just wants to sleep. Now she only drinks 6 feeds of 120ml and sleeps thru from 9-ish to 5 plus. PD said not to leave her w/o a feed for too long a stretch but she is simply too sleepy to drink.

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Wow! You are so lucky that your hubby is helping you out with the night feeds. Initially my hubby also helped me but nowadays, dont know is it bcos he is too tired or what, no matter how loud wenmin cried, he still can sleep very soundly. So I bo bian, every day have to wake up to do the feeding, 1 am &amp; 4 am to express milk and around 5.30-6am to feed wenmin. Haiz! Me too, am sleep deprived!</font>

mousebb

i used to rotate night shift with hubby. but we realised i need to sleep at night. i'm the kind who cant sleep in the day.

so hubby takes over all graveyard shifts. He'll sleep when he comes back from work and then takeover, while I sleep at takeover at 6am. But i still wake up to pump lah.

Whitepaper, it could be bryan was too tired yesterday as he didnt nap much in the noon. My hb was worried as he asked 7hrs w/o milk izit ok? i told him nite time we feed on demand mah..i think u should wake CH up and try to increase his last feeding for the nite as u still givin BM and that makes him more hungry mah

the busy bee

no worries at all !!..in fact I myself also never buy stuff from chinese medical halls or those Econ minimarts...heheee..there was once my MIL bought woodwards gripe water from the medical hall and I refused to let Ethan drink...we would buy from either NTUC, other supermarkets or Guardian...

The tin of Enfalac AR is from NTUC..too bad my husband the doink lost the receipt otherwise we can exchange for the normal enfalac..or maybe I shld be thick skin and just ask them if can exchange without receipt hor?.really dun know wat to do with the milk..so wasted.

Dimpletot

I also never see NTUC has S size Nepia..always M, L and those training pants...yea Nepia cutting is bigger..bigger than Mamy Poko etc..or maybe u get 2 M to keep first lor since its cheap.Normal price is $15 per pack if I am not wrong.

Does your bb smile alot? When Bryan vomits and make a whole mess he'll smile innocently when i looked and talked to him. When he poo, he smiled and looked at me also. I was wondering is he happy that i need to clear his shit?!!??

mousebb/everafter - hee. Am adopting Pavlov theory of conditioning ... haha.

busy bee - Both sales are soo far away; I might just give it a miss; bot enuff wipes and bb liq detergent / wash from the recent Tollyjoy sale to last me for a yr alrdy.

hi mummies..
tks for all the comments on bf.. my gal is 6 wks already..
really wonder if there's any possibility to increase my supply at all, or will it continue to dwindle..
she's drinking 120 every 3 hrs..
im only pumping 20-50ml..
urghhh.. *fingers crossed*

busybee : thanks for sharing the link, i shall go try &amp; figure out my bb's cries..hopefully will succeed then it will make both of us happy !

ruffles: vicky is so adorable !! can understand..for mine, when i say 'wait', he cries louder..mmmm..he is impatient..

pumping after bf : i used to do that, but its so tiring (latch + pump right after), then have to sterilise the pump..only pump like twice a day, the rest is latch on..mmm, now slowly stocking up the EBM in the freezer..so that bb can still have BM when back to work..
just checking, for the milk bags, do you combine the milk for like 2 diff pumping sessions ? ( cos me latch most of the time, by the time, i pump, may nt able to fill 1 bag..abit wasted)..

<font color="green">enya,
ok. no problem.

whitepaper,
wow! your hubby so nice. help you out at night. for me i try not to wake him up cause he works. lately he says he is always sleepy during meetings. poor him. also no choice cause i don't have ebm stored for him to feed baby. the only thing he can help with is changing the diapers but i watch him clean baby's butt cannot take it. you should see his expression when he sees baby's poo and how he cleans.. so slow and like lady one, so careful. the diaper wipes just graze over baby's butt. he says he is afraid later he hurt baby but like that not clean.. i just laugh at him and take over.. so end up i do everything myself..

busybee,
thanks for the link. so far i can only tell the neh and the eair sound. my baby likes to make the eair sound a lot. didn't know that it's because of lower gas. so this morning i heard it, i quickly massage her tummy and she farted a lot!!! hehe..

so happy! confinement ending in 3 days! can finally bathe. lately i have this huge urge to clean the whole house. everything so messy. but cannot do yet cause i cannot take a bath yet (lousy confinement rules). so have to wait til confinement over.

baby stays awake longer now. don't know if that's normal. she'll be 4wks tom. any of you mums encounter that? yesterday she woke up at 4pm to eat then refuses to sleep until 8pm. mornings she will refuse to sleep also after her feed.

next week die die liao. my MIL and SIL will be leaving. so i'll be alone the whole week until my mum comes over. don't know if i'll be able to take it.

i haven't started pumping after feeding baby. too lazy to keep sterilizing. maybe i should start now. how long does it usually take for the supply to increase?</font>

everafter : bb ashton slept for 7 hours once (when he was on tummy time)..i was pretty worried that he's hungry but @ the same time happy that he is sleeping soundly &amp; not fussing...keke...&amp; yesh, he smiles when we clean his butt after he poos..the very satisfied kinda smile..i like that smile..makes cleaning his butt more enjoyable..hahaa c",)

<font color="ff6000">Diane

normal price for Nepia is $17 per pack. If home delivery is $15 per pack, but must order at least 4 packs. So figured 2 packs is a good amount to buy for a start. heh heh, maybe kiasu go and buy M first lor.

busy bee,

i think u are so lucky that Mikayla can sleep through the night!! no need to wake her up i think. she's more than a month old right? should have enough stores to last. so many of us are trying all ways and means to get bb to sleep longer at night!

everafter,
that's so cute! heh heh. not so cute if I'm the one cleaning up lah, but i wish kate smiled more! smiling everytime bryan poos means he smiles quite regularly lah! kate smiled at me twice this morning when i sang to her. so schweet.

whitepaper,

my hubby and i rotate. he used to feed the 10pm, then I'd feed the 2 or 3am and pump after that. and then he'd feed the 6am. but quite siong for him also cos he has to work. i guess siong for us cos we face bb 24/7 for the rest of the time. hiyah SIONG for everybody jiu4 shi4 le4. we just need to do what works for each of us.

my hubby spends almost all of his time after work with bb... sometimes i wonder if I'd be able to cope with the same. travel with the crowd to work, handle work stress, then come back feed bb, play with her, and do one night shift, then play with her again before going to work... but hubby really enjoys playing with kate so that's nice lah.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter, whitepaper
Wenmin smiles a lot too! I kept telling my hubby wenmin has very sweet smile but he said I'm bluffing him cos wenmin never smile at him before. Last Sat while I went for gynae appt and left the kids with him, wenmin smiled at him while he was changing her diaper and at that moment, his heart was melted. Think her smile works! Cos from that day onwards, my hubby din scold wenmin so much le!</font>

Ruffles...totally agree with u abt conditioning; that's how we trained Mikayla to sleep thru the night.

Dimpledot...We give Mikayla sleep signals like swaddle her, tuck her in, bedtime stories or lullabye then turn off the light. Bedtime is at 8 every night, even when we are out we just lay her to sleep in her pram. Not sure if its the signals or Mikayla is just a sleepyhead. she actually slept thru a friend's b'day dinner and the place was real noisy!

Mummies...glad the link is useful. Let me know if it works for u, it will be interesting to hear your stories!

Diane, thanks for understanding. Actually you might want to try the AR fm. We decided to try it as Mikayla was spitting up after taking s26 which i think is oily. since changing she hasn't had spit ups or merlion at all (touchwood!!). It is actually the same as enfalac just that it incorporates rice cereal in the fm as a thickener so easier to digest for bb.

Dunstan
I actually have the DVD set. Listened to it before I popped. Now, I don't touch it. I find my baby is only making the air sound lei.

Jollyhoppy, Ashon slpt thru 7hrs is daytime?? Maybe he's jus too tired lah, but surely free u alot of time to do your stuffs hor

Whitepaper, mousebb, dimpletot, these little fellows surely knw how to capture our hearts!

This morn 2 feedings, one feed his diaper leaks and he shit on me! The other time he pee when i chg his diaper! Both times he smile so heartily!!

elchwong,
my boy stopped swaddling and no mittens and booties from first day. Cl says this which I feel is quite true. "let him scratch himself, he will soon learn pain and not scratch himself anymore."

I have a pack of milkbags for sale. Medela brand. Please sms me if interested. 91158251

cheezel,
your baby seems to be on very good schedule, the night feeds I think will soon be gone and you can have a good night's sleep.

dumbo,
dont have to worry. FM is just as good. Dont have to feel stressed over not being able to breastfeed, ok? relax and enjoy the process. it is more impt to understand the baby rather than being stressed over the feeding.
For me my schedule for yesterday was 12am FM, 3am latch, 3.30 40mlBM from fridge, 4.30am FM, 7.30am FM, 10.30am BM. I think giving Bm screw up the schedule. So I will now pump and feed from bottle, but has been too lazy cos hand very tired.

everafter,
what did you let your baby do that he is so tired? I only tried swimming. But he sleeps inside most of the time.

dimpletot, thanks for the advice!my little is veeery little if i squeeze i can see the milk but if i try pumping almost nothing. now 4 weeks has past and i was about to give up. even the baby latches on for 20 min, after that he starts crying and if i offer FM he will drink it up.when you had very little BM how long did you pump each time??

dumbo,i know how you feel!!when you are trying so hard the people around you stress you up....like my maid also, every time baby cries "milk mam??" as if she knows i will never be able to BF. I read that when you are stressed all the more cannot produce BM.By the way what FM are you using?

<font color="0000ff">Jollyhoppy,Mint,Little bluey, Joanne
Your order had been sent out today at Takashimaya post office via normal post</font>

<font color="ff0000">Purebliss: RR621093899SG
Pildough: RR6211093896SG
Your order had been sent out via registered mail at Taka Post Office</font>