(2008/10) Oct 2008

infant ctr
No choice, if have would have not put her liao.
Which mummy put ur bb same infant as mine? Need check w u something

beary
yr bb is nipple monster like my boy...;-p

they suck like pacifier... on off drinking some milk at the same time. glad you finally latch bb sucessfully..congrats

enya
isit ever too late to start to BF again? i stopped when bb was 2 weeks. now she is gng on 7 weeks, i wonder if i should try again. there is this fear in me though, that it will be pain all over again

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Rotavirus is the oral one. Dr Lilian will give the medicine to bryan during the visit. Is he going to take the pneumococal jab? According to the PD, this one will be a bit more painful as compared to other jabs.
Wenmin had her 1st pneumococal jab on last Fri. At first we thought she is going to tear down the clinic as she has very loud and sharp cries, but surprisingly she took it very well, only screamed for a few seconds and the moment I cuddled her tight tight, she stopped crying.

Diane
Not to worry. The percentage of having a fever after the jab is like 10-20%. So far my kids both are ok after the jabs. </font>

<font color="blue">on 6in1 jab:
next month i'll be going to my PD. i think by that time need to decide if we're getting the 6in1 jab from him. i think he is charging 133 per jab. a bit ex also. but if go poly i don't think i got the energy now to wait long q.

on breastfeeding:
haven't tried out my pre-preggie clothes yet. but i'm almost to my pre-preggie weight. except for my ugly tummy and my bigger than usual breasts. hopefully by jan everything will go back to normal (cross my fingers).

on confinement:
my confinement ending this week. so happy! can finally bathe and no longer need to eat those confinement foods (sick and tired of eating chicken now).
after confinement, want to do so many things (facial, massage, foot spa, hair spa, drink lots of ice cold coke, eat burgers, watch cinderella the musical, watch cats the broadway show....) but then reality hits... nobody to take care of baby when i go out.
so all those things cannot do.

hi mummies:

check with you all if u know of any guidelines to when to start TBF (direct feeding) bb with bottle training of ebm as to prevent nipple confusion?

Hi ribenali,

Saw ur posting on how to increase breast milk, can i check if u are saying 3 tablespoon per serving and need to take 3 cup per day for 3 days?

leeyiling
i learnt my lesson. start only after 6 weeks. if u need to do introduce a bottle before 6 weeks, pls do so once or twice a day. try spoon or syringe feeding instead for ur bb. dun end up like me. now my bb hates my breast

little_doggie
i think ribenali's recepie calls for 3 heap TABLESPOONs per serving 3 times a day

hi jellypurin:
thks. My no.1 i start bottle at 2months and found that he hated it very resistant lor thus for no.2 thoug of starting earlier but drag till now he is 6wks plus liao. Think better start soon but just very lazy and tired to do so. Need to express and bottle and have a one-one replacement. Siannnnnnnnnnnnnn

leeyiling,
Think I read somewhere can start to intro bottle once or twice a day at 3 weeks...my boy was intro-ed bottle on the 1st week and he hates my breast after that and I took great pains to get him to love my breast before intro-ing him the bottle again at 3rd week...now he's ok with bottle and breast...

<font color="blue">i started bottle and breast at 1st week. my baby seems to be fine with both. maybe it depends on the baby. but my SIL say don't drag too long otherwise they will refuse the bottle.</font>

<font color="blue">my bb seems so hungry/thirsty today. i think it's bec of the herbal stuffs my mum told me to drink during my confinement. i'm foreseeing another sleepless night for me again.

leeyiling
think every bb is diff... my ger dun want my breast anymore so i was v sad but now, i'm thinking of trying to BF her again.

enya
ya, my ss is quite pathetic lor... end of the day i usually pump up to 60ml only

xinying
i find drypers quite lousy in quality, esp the surface, like the surface will "qi mao" ... hehe

<font color="blue">jellypurin,
i'm using drypers now. so far ok. leak only once cause diaper too full. i forgot to check before feeding baby. but i agree with you regarding the surface. and i don't like the stickers. will always startle my baby everytime i remove. haven't tried mamy poko yet. my hubby say it's ex. he will always buy the cheapest one. i got no choice cause he is the one going to grocery now to buy stuffs. so far i've only tried pampers and drypers and i prefer pampers.

enya,
i've transferred the money to you already.

diane, icylemon
thanks for the information on the jabs. poor baby, got to take so many jabs! n poor mummy, i will be real broke man! the jabs are pretty ex! better pray my company dun start to cut pay like some companies are doing in the news

diane, enya
yah..i think our boys are all nipple monsters! hahaha
but i am real glad that my boy now at least still suckle, last time he reallie throw punches at my breasts when i offer him and refuse to latch! haha

jellypurin
you can try fenugreek, milktea, horlicks...
but the thing is you need to keep pumping...fully remove ALL milk. you know when it's empty cuz they will look like deflated balloon.

Joanne
I'll check latr and post to you.

beary
yeah, mine always pushed my breasts away.

hi mummies, a few days nv login liao..
totally shag out..
finally bye to confinement n welcome to sleepless nites..
sat had my bb shower n bb got grouchy cos wasn't able to nap..
then sun brought my gal to MIL place to pray n then comes my nitemare..
left bb @ MIL place so i can deliver cakes to my ofc..
but MIL keeps carrying my gal the moment she crys or whines n at nite it was a ttoal disaster!!
my gal refuse to sleep after i clean n change her! keep wanting to b carried n rocked.. tehn come mon refuse to nap.. at nite super tired n slept till she miss 1 feed n next thing she refuse to sleep after her midnite feed..
hb gotta rock n carry her ard n pat but she jus seems uncomfortable n kept crying..
struggled for a gd 3hrs b4 she slept again at 5 then ard 8 she woke up again n then after i bathe her n feed her she refuse to nap.. afternoon also refuse to nap only manage to keep her in deep sleep for 1 hr max.
can anyone help me?
how to make my gal sleep at nite?

joanne
now ntuc got promo, grab a pack and try

enya
i dunno why i am always able to empty one and not the other and my breasts takes turn to have block ducts. i always hv 1 lazy breast and 1 hardworking one ...

i wonder if i can increase fenu's intake by another 2? now a days, hot drinks before pumping seems to work for me.

do you have mother's milk tea? if you hv, maybe 1 wanna get a pack and try

Hi mummies... my confinement also finish, but cos I still at home, my mum still cook those confinement food for me. Will they be too heaty? Heard from mum its 40 days instead of a month actually.

for diapers, so far I have tried these brands for NB: Pureen, Drypers, Huggies, Pampers and Fitti. So kiasu right? So please ask your family members not to buy for u, then you wont have all the diff brands. These are my thoughts on them.
Pureen: So far ok, but the sticker is very sticky, can wake baby up.
Drypers: Sticker not good. After one or 2 openings, cant stick anymore.
Huggies: Small cutting and short
Pampers: light and so far the best, but expensive
Fitti: Not too bad. No complains so far
I think I will try Petpet and Nepia since they are the cheaper range. Any others have any comments on other brands?

Jen, for me, my baby slept too much during the day then at night pretty awake and keep wanting to suckle to sleep, else he will make noise. So I put him to swim in the day, then he will be very tired and sleep better at night. But he make a lot of stretching noise.

By the way, Im also looking for a good stroller. Anyone can recommend? Of cos cheap and good, but I know cant have the best of both worlds. I'm thinking of buying Combi; lightweight, nice design and easy to use.

christina, my problem is bb don sleep in afternoon n nite also don sleep..
i scare i panda eues bb also panda eyes buit i jus dunno wat is wrong..
i pat her, carry her, rock her,feed her, burp her, change her but still she don stay asleep for long..
now she sleeping.. but wat i am worried is she will "eyes big big" with me after the feed then its another nitemare

diane, so wats ur solution?
CL only away for 3days n i oredi panda..
does using a sarong help?
i'm desperate n today i cry when bb cried yet again n i seriously dunno wat to do..

Jen, Diane,
'Eyes BIG BIG' looks very familiar to me. Haha....
Today I tried to let my boy sleeps on his tummy...... finally I have 3hours to myself!

Jen

I have no solution..i alsp use sarong leh..but he only fall asleep for maybe abt 20 mins then eye big big again...duh...my panda eyes are really bad.

pinkimum

really ah? I tried to let my boy sleep on tummy but he keeps struggling then keep wanting to look up, like cannot settle down leh...!!

diane, at first place on rocker ok.. but now bb seems to hate it..so thinking if sarong works better..
pinkimum, initial my gal like the tummy down but now i put her tummy down she struggle n look up like diane's boy..

now i'm oredi worrying.. cos bb past her nite feed liao.. if like yst after midnite feed don sleep i'm so dead..
*sobx*
i'm so going crazy liao

Jen

u have someone to help u at nite? I can understand how u feel...i nearly went crazy also so I got my mum to come over and help me..

Diane,
thanks for checking the pneumo query with your doc
about sleeping on tummy, abby will attempt to push herself up to look at the world so i need to pat her to sleep (on me) first (not too much of a prob esp after burping, the patting becomes therapeutic) then when she's sleepy, i put her down, roll her onto her tummy.. sometimes she will squirm but usually if she's full and sleepy enough, she will plonk down. i rotate her head every 45 min to an hour (no scientific basis for this i guess, i scared her neck cramp. ehehhehe)

sometimes right.. when she's sleepy but dun want to sleep.. i pop a pacifier in.

must watch lor.. i caught her face down a few times but babies are smart, she'ld either make alot of ruckus or she'ld try and turn to the other side. but i really watch her even if she's in the cot or on my bed, i walk by and check on her.

dimple,
i sent u a pm but no response leh. meet u next week if u can wait?

enya,
got your text. will text u ref number when transaction is done.. prob tm night when i have someone to watch baby, i'ld make my way down to atm.

pinki,
got your mail. all of us are panda eyes.. where's almond? i want to tell her our armpits may have darkened but our undereye circles have darkened even more. i heard from mummy friends that eventually you get used to 'chicken sleeping', sleep abit, wake up, sleep abit, wake up and you get immune to the effects of having very little sleep.

i have to say, i've turned from damn num lua to damn efficient. morning boil water for her bath, wash and sterilise bottles and pump equipment, do laundry, wash her nappies, make milo, eat bread, get ready change of clothes, undress, bathe her, change her, bfeed her, burp her, change her, pat her to sleep, hang up laundry and nappies, bathe, have lunch, get some work done, feed her, burp her, pat her, change her ... and the cycle continues. i feel so.. productive. but i'ld still def pale in comparison to the more seasoned mommies juggling more than one.

the only thing i miss is long leisurely mornings of waking up to channel news asia and mtv, reading the papers and taking my time with breakfast.

i've been told that the older they are, they might sleep longer at night but they also sleep less in the day and they demand more stimulation and attention and time from us. GAH. SOB. STABS SELF.

diane, i'm alone n on my own n lucky these few days b happen to b off..
but after tml i'm so dead cos i will b alone..
praying day n nite that bb will b gd n sleep well after every feed

jen
hmm, one suggestion i have for u, if you have this option. pop by one of ur relative's place or something and have someone look after ur little one and catch up on some winks.

alternatively like what pildough say, we catch sleep when we can ... honestly, u get use to it and dun fret... cos there is nothing much we can do abt it until our bb falls into a routine. i went crazy from my dotter's wk 2- 4 as i dunno why she doesn't slp and she kept crying
but later, i just got immuned to it

my rebby ger can sleep 5hrs straight now if she is super duper full at her last feed before 12am. recently, i deprive her of afternoon nap and she sleeps thru the nite, but then hor, got problem with this method - she will fuss very badly from 6-10pm.

pildough
u v kiang lah! i dun do much housework but all the baby stuff, i do and most of the time i spent on is carrying my bb!

i think u mummies r so power!!
i spend most of the time coaxing my bb to sleep/ nap..
jelly, my gal these 2days hardly nap at max she doze 20min or max 1 hr then she fuss ard 7-8pm n sleeps for 5-6hrs even past her feeding time * i wonder if i shd wake her up for milk*
but after she crys for milk she refuse to go back to sleep after feeding n changing

jen
hmm, worth a try leh to wake her up for milk
she may not like it and will fuss, but at least, u can catch some winks if u wake her up for a feed.

btw, i spend most of my time feeding and coaxing my ger to slp in the day as well. we are in the same boat!

Anyone of u staying in the east side can recommend me a good PD? I wanna bring my bb to see a PD tomorrow morning urgently as he is vomitting excessively today and it seems like he got phlegm also. Feel so worried. Dun tink can sleep tonight already cos worry he will choke if he vomits or suffocated when he is lying down.

diapers: So far I've used MamyPoko, Pampers, Drypers and Nepia. Mamypoko too ex for me. Pampers got as gifts so no comments on price but it's good. Drypers I use for daytime. Dun like the sticky tape. Nepia is cheap and good. My hubby likes Nepia and Pampers best.

Fussy baby: My baby now sleeps on her tummy and she can sleep for 3 to 4 hours in a row. For the night feed (last one before we sleep), I express out and my hubby will bottle feed her with it cos I find that she's like a koala bear during that time and I really can't go to bed. It's really better when we do this but I cannot talk or go near her also cos if she hears my voice or smells me, then she will 'wayang'.

Diane,
Dun buy the playmat. If you want, I can give you. I have 3 of those from friends.

pildough,
your routine sounds so familiar... sigh!

Gd morn mousebb!! U're early as usual..im waiting for Bryan to wait up for his feed..usually im still snoozing like pig right nw and will only wake up when he cries for milk :p

good morning all
how's everyone today?

Had bread &amp; milk (for bf mum) for bfast.

do you gals still take neurogain &amp; calcium pill as supplement? i'm still taking &amp; will till end dec as will stop BF.

Now, my bb seldom cry for milk, i give her based on 3hrly (sometime 3.5hr). Not sure, if i'm giving her too much or not time for milk.. how about you? anyone's bb same as mine?

diapers
still have S size PetPet (12 pcs) left, trying to clear during daytime. Will grap M size MamyPoko before the promotion ends. Still have S size (new pack) at IL's pl and 1/2 pack here... still looking around for cheap &amp; good diapers for her to use during daytime &amp; infant.

me on the one hand type as i carry kate on the other...

pildough,

don't have PM from u leh...nvm, i just sent PM to u.

lynnzee,

there's kinder clinic at eastshore hospital. My PD Dr Lim is only there on tues and thurs nights but there are other docs there during the day...i think they are all not bad. hope yr bb gets well soon...

gals,
my bb kinda slept thru the nite yesterday! last feed at 1130 and didn't wake up till 5am! hooray!

dimpletot
wow so good... my bb last feed at 1.30am, and woke up 4.45am for milk.. but evening feed at 7pm slept till 1.30am for milk...

how much your bb drinking now? mine still at 140ml

jen,
if she sleeps past her feeding time, i'ld wake her up after 4 hours. dun feel it's so good to keep her hungry leh.. that's during the day. at night, let her sleep until she cries. alot of times we anticipated but she never wake up, even when stir awake, also never drink, damn wasted so now night feeds, i let her take formula so she doesn't waste my milk then about 3-5 a.m., she can have a bottle of ebm.

Jelly,
i also find that evening to midnight are the witching hours. she will fuss and fuss and fuss.. seems like it might be common. worse if she doesn't get much sleep in the day. also dunno what to do, we take turns to carry, have dinner, do our things (my mil, my fil, my sis in law, my husband and myself), no choice.

Lynnzee,
how's baby? i'm not seeing a pd but i'm seeing a gp downstairs at chai chee, she sees quite a number of children but she's not pro medication though. my number is 91818326 if you'ld like her contact. Otherwise sorry, heard of a pd at marine parade and i know there's a family clinic at siglap but dunno anywhere else liao. Take care.

lili,
i'm also spacing out her feeds in 3 hour intervals. when she has her down days, she wants to feed every hour if not two, i sometimes let her if she's not too stressed out. i know even gp ask me to latch on demand but i like to keep her hungry then at 3 hours so she doesn't suka suka snack on my tits because the reality is, i won't have the luxury of time to get her into a routine when i get back to work. two more months left to go back to work, need to at least get into a feeding routine. so when she fusses and cries, i let her cry for a while to wake her up so that she's really hungry and she latch at one go and eat for sure but not until she's red in the face, lips quivering or really angry lah. sounds cruel? the good thing is she's beginning to sleep 4-5 hours after a formula feed, bringing down night feeds to 2 until i see her in the morning (but it's formula). for night, i tend to alternate formula then ebm then formula but nowadays she only has one formula feed per day. any mommies also trying to put bbs on a schedule?

mommies,
today i declare off. really need to get my assignment in by today if not end of the week because i'm missing baby so much, don't want to waste anymore time. like mint, baby will wayang when she see/smell/hears me so i've been avoiding her since last night, ask my MIL to take over for today, i'm fortunate to have some help. So today she cry and cry and cry after her morning feed, dunno whether it's because she's used to her morning latch - Breakfast with MOMMY! or rather, Breastfast ON mommy. ;) So today, after doing chores, i pumped out my milk and am now sitting down to the forum for a few minutes before moving onto my readings. wish me luck. sigh. miss bb so much even though she's just outside the room. miss her suckling, her smile, her pinches, her big big smiles only reserved for mommy, her cooing. Alright, getting obsessive. get over it mel and finish up the crap assignment. sigh..

lili

wow the evening feed sleep is quite long too!

my bb drinking 90-100 ml each time. sometimes she will still root for more, but we don't give. cos when we give usually she will throw up. so we figured she's just a little greedy and if we give more will be overfeeding.

also keeping her intake to 90ml helps me match her needs by pumping and latching... yesterday she only had one formula feed... which is a big accomplishment for me.

my cousin's kid only started drinking 80ml in his third month (he's 2 yrs old now). So she was saying that my bb drinking 90ml at 4 weeks was a lot. So I tried to keep her at 90ml till now (7 weeks).
But I guess every bb is different...