(2008/10) Oct 2008

Mosuebb
My gal is fussing alot these few evenings too..
Does your gal acrh her back or seems to be in pain? maybe it's just fussing? You wanna try gripe water?
I heard colic bb like to be hold upright, so over the shoulder will be a more comfortable postion for her.
as you mentioned Wenmin has skip her nite feed? and she fuss alot before she sleep I suppose? Could it be she s hungry and wan to store up for the nite? ususally after you feed more will she be more happy?
Oh another thing.. usually white noise can be soothing for bb, so you can try on the vacuum cleaner or hair dryer, might be able to calm her down to sleep.
Hope this help.

whitepaper
heehee.. you should take a photo for everafter to see. I read already also try to imagine your position :p

Mint
Ok.. think tonight I will drink Holick before I sleep, hopefully my midnite pump will be good result!! Thanks

Joanne
Yes changing position will help to burp bb.
SOmetimes after a long while still dun burp.. u can try to place bb down on the bed for a while and carry her to burp again usually will burp faster this way.

dimpletot
thats very encourgaing.. I'm waiting for my turn to come.. still stuck at 70ml le..
the 100ml is so near yet so far away

Re:water intoxication
Actually this Water intoxication do not happen only to babies.. It can happen to adult too. If adult drank TOO MUCH water we may have the same problem too except adult will know when is enough but for bb, they may not be able to tell us.
Juts be carefule ba.

cookie

take a photo for everafter??? hahahahahaha!!!!!~~

Yups water intoxication can happen to adults too, but I guess babies more susceptible. The website recommends 2 to 3 ounces a time (if you really wanna feed water) and only after a feed. So maybe give within this limits to prevent any mishaps.

Aiyah I don't have holicks at home leh!!! Tonight must go buy!

Hi whitepaper,

thanks for the info! I only allow my boy to take like 10-20ml water, after a feed when he makes a lot of noise and everything checked. Doesnt want to urine, no signs of shitting and already feed.

For colic, i understand they will make noise for 3-4 hours. So if not prolonged, then I suppose not colic.

And I WILL drink Horlicks and try. Today i only do a real full feed and pump 60ml x 2. Is that too little. I think FF really makes babies grow faster.

Also I read in the link to not go for infant swimming lessons, my boy is swimming at home with the float that binds at the neck. Share some photos with all mums... picasaweb.google.com/cczyan. Enjoy!

<font color="aa00aa">Cookie
Thanks for the tips! Last night she was crying from 6pm+ all the way to 11pm! Really no joke! Yup. I carried her over the shoulder, tried to feed her cos I also thought she is hungry but she refused to drink. I guess we will just wait until this Fri cos we are bringing her for her 1st jab and we can check with the PD. Maybe the next thing is to let her drink gripe water.</font>

One thing i dont understand is my boy always makes a lot of noise when sleeping, as if he is stretching. Throughout the whole sleep. He will go "eh..eh...ah...ah" in a sore throat tone. Anyone encounter this?

christina, my gal also like tat..
stretch n ee ee ah ah then shiok liao she sleep..
so i jus let her ee ee ah ah unless it leads to her attempt to tear my hse down..

holicks help ah?
i think i will get a bottle to try after CL leaves..
hopefully my ss will increase

Christina,
Yes, my gal also. All sorts of funny sounds. grunting, clear throat, etc. Basically very noisy sleeper. Heehee!

christina,
my baby also the same. will grunt all through the night and make funny sounds. result: couldn't sleep for me cause i worry and keep checking. last night i swaddle her tight tight instead of the normal loose one. much better. she's more quiet. will try again tonight. hopefully it's not a one time thing.

sometimes when he does this for longer time, my CL will try to burp him, and he does burp.... so maybe could be wind. Glad to know that stretching sound is normal. My CL also said that this is due to the baby growing (when they stretch). So I guess don't have to worry after all.

My boy also stretches and make lots of noise! Seems like most babies behaves in the same way
hehe..

Whitepaper, i sort of visualise what u mean, as i also do rest my arm on my thigh while feeding. Tried your method jus now, but hor my arm really short! haha...cannot reach his tummy leh :p

Mummies who let your bb slp on their tummies, does they open their mouth wide? Tried on my boy and his saliva drip all over his face! *faint*

yup my gal stretches a lot too! These days she sometimes hits her own head and face but doesn't seem to hurt ...

At night she stretch and make lots of grunting straining whining noises until I also scared she get sore throat from dry air but I observed most times her mouth is closed and next morn still sounds normal so we just let her charh.

everafter

hahaha... touch the sides of the tummy also can, no need to reach until the middle. Try to sense where the gushing sound can be felt

everafter

my boy don't open mouth when on tummy leh? This pic is taken before he turned one month. Will try to take an updated one today, see if he opens mouth or not

1891279.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
CH is very adorable lah!

everafter
Wenmin also opened her mouth (a little bit) when I placed her to sleep on her tummy.</font>

Christina
My girl too! Only further disturbed my sleep cos I am afraid she's crying for milk.

Sling
Tried putting my girl in one last night and she cried the moment I put her in. I was having high hopes of the sling! Was hoping to go shopping with baby using the sling. Will try again later.

Rocker
Any one using one? Wonder if I should get one?

baby acne
My girl has quite a lot, even on the eyelids.

Hi all... morning!

Whenever my baby is near me, he will open mouth. Nanny says cos he recognize our smell, esp when we are breastfeeding. That is the smell of comfort and FOOD. Mine open mouth and get agitated sometimes and start to suck everywhere for food...

I think for those trying on the sling or putting on the tummy for the first time, it is normal for baby to cry cos they are not used to it. The first time I let my baby crawl, swim, step, bath he also cry but after that not that much and getting lesser already cos now he knows how to associate things.

everafter
as long as bb is on tummy.. it's tummy time ba..

Karen/Pilough
I hardly put bb in sling when they are so young..
I usually use the sling when they are 3 mths or so and more study and the are usually ok.
I find bb maybe happier in up right position rather than cradle position.
Dun give up the sling/pounch yet, keep trying..or try again when they are older.

<font color="aa00aa">Mspiggy
Nat knows how to pose for camera? So cute!

As long as the kids dont cry together, I can still manage but have no time for myself le. The moment the 2 of them cry together, they really driving me crazy lor!

How about you? Anyone helping you with the kids?</font>

<font face="tahoma"> I can imagine if 2 cries together! My elder one still abit jealous of mei mei always ask me dont carry her. so if she cries and am alone with them... i really lost!

Luckily my mum still helping me alot with my elder one. He's still sleeping over there most of the time. </font>

morn all
Now my bb only take 6 feed (morn till next day).
And night time always after evening feed will sleep 12/ 1am before she wants milk, then 5am+ another feed.
Still pumping .. Vy tired.
how about u??

hi mummies:

Long time since i update in this website. I remember the last time was i was resting at home during the 1st trimester. Now,,,,,,,,, bb already 1mth plus (born 09Oct).

Want to chat with TBF mummies here!!!

hope to chat with some of you soon.

whitepaper,

your boy has a very strong neck! Perfect candidate for sleeping on the tummy (of cos, only if you're comfortable to try la....). My boy's neck is still not so strong but getting stronger cos he wants to turn from left to right while sleeping on tummy, so he's training himself, ha!

Hi lili,

my bb is also on 6 feeds, but his last feed is formula. Sometimes in the late afternoon, i may top up a bit of expressed breastmilk if i feel that my ss is low in the late afternoon and bb's fussing way before 3 hours is up. Me latch on most of the time, so probably less tiring cos don't need to keep washing the pump.

Next week my hubby will be going back to work after taking 1 whole month off to help me with my elder one. Now think about it, a bit scary to handle 2 kids next week. But guess things will just fall into place by then.

Yup, 2hrs feed interval. Im going bk on 6-Jan, taking full 3mths ML. No 4th mth for me

Mummies using Medela PIS, what milk btls u using?

all the babies so cute... know how to pose on camera ler.. not like my girl so lazy to open her eyes

lili
my girl also ll go infant on 2 Jan, i ll let her try 2 days on next mth b4 go work so i can stay there see how they look after her

my bb on 8feeds/day total abt 960ml (incld 2xFM)

horlick >> really help to increase ss huh?? i must try too

mspiggy
ur kids both have so fair skin ler..

mousebb
AGREED!.. when my 3 bb cry together, tell you.. I super pek chek. My elder gal was never felt "threaten" when my #2 came along. but now with #3 here, she is also fussing alot and cry for nothing. Sometimes really get on my nerve..but my HB remind it's becos she felt left out thats why she is seeking attention, then I become more calm and cuddler her more..
else when they cry for no reason really make me crazy and pek chek

everafter
your company confirmed do not allow you to take the 4th month ML?? eventho they can claim back from GOvt? Is there anywhere to "report" them? too much le. How can they forfeit the 4th just like that? How about flexible taking the ML? I feel so unfair for you.

lili

my boy going for his 1st 6 in 1 jab tomorrow...hope he will be alright...

anyone leting baby take those optional jabs like pneumococal, rotavirus etc? I cannot make up my mind...because this means every mth have to take one injection...scared bb cannot take it...

<font color="aa00aa">Diane
My gal is taking the pneumococal and rotavirus iab on this Fri together with her 1st 6 in 1 jabs. My son had those jabs also.

re: number of feeds per day
At least most mummies know the number of feeds your bb taking every day. I cannot predict mine. My gal is taking about 9 feeds every day or some times more than that cos each time she is only able to finish 50-70ml hence she needs to be fed more often. Sigh! Really hope that she can increase her intake soon and I dont need to feed her so often.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mspiggy
So lucky of you! At least your son is sleeping at your mum's place for most of the time and this allows you to have more time with Nat. Some times I really feel sorry for my gal cos I have no time to bond with her. My son is super jealous with his meimei. When meimei cries, he would cry even louder to get my attention. So when both of them cry for milk together, I would feed my son first since he is drinking faster whereas my gal is like a da xiao jie, taking her own sweet time to finish her milk. She can take up to 20-25mins to finish about 70ml of milk. Really buay tahan!

Cookie
My boy already felt 'threaten' by his meimei on the first day when meimei come home!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Diane
Each time after my son took his jab, I would let him take the fever medicine as a preventive measure cos I scared he would get fever. PD said it is alright to do so. So far, my son is alright after each jab *touchwood*.</font>