(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Last night wenmin nearly turned our whole house upside down! She refused to sleep just bcos she want another 10ml of milk. Before that she kept crying and we have already given the milk to her but she threw up. So we thought we must have overfed her and stopped feeding her. She kept crying for an hour and finally we gave in to her and gave her some more milk but she drank only 10ml before she fall asleep. Poor gal! After crying for so long and so hard, what she wants is just another 10ml of milk! *shake head*</font>

Morning &amp; happy weekend mummies
So so tired, hor? Cookie, how come can still wake up at 4am and still surf the net? All I want to do is turn over and continue sleeping. Hee. Wish I could be in bed, feed, sleep, feed, sleep whole day. I don't even have much appetite. Hate it when mum kept on bugging me to eat. Give me my sleep, dammit. LOL!

Experienced mummies
When will a routine/pattern finally emerge? Jo now can suckle for 5 minutes, sleep for 10, suckle another 5 minutes, not sleep, but look around, otherwise, getting grouchy. Sigh, no idea what they want. Very tiring, like that.

anybody encounter blister on baby's mouth? we noticed this morning that our baby got blister on her upper lip. don't know what caused this.

Mousebb, Bryan also weird pattern yesterday!! Fed him 80ml, cries so much, so gave another 20ml..then we're all ready to go out, but he screams again!! So we gave another 50ml! Finally hv 2hrs of peace aft that when we had dinner. But on our way hm, he starts again! 7plus drank 110ml FM, 8plus drank 50ml BM then 9plus drank 70ml!!

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Wow! Bryan is a good milk drinker! Wenmin's daily intake is still at 500ml++.</font>

cookie,
Does the soup that your MIL brew have dang gui in it? My CL told me it will cause ss to drop. Try drinking horlicks like Ribenali suggested. I tried and one morning managed to express 200ml. I'm also taking fenugreek. Think all helps. But I notice that I tend to have more milk immediately after a nap. So maybe rest will help increase ss.

babe99,
I usually take out my nipple from bb's mouth if she dun open big enough. Then when she scream I will quickly shuff it in. Haha! Mean hor...

Enya,
In that case, I'll just get it from Guardian. Thanks.

jellypurin,
Yes, I also have that. Massage already still like that.

Aiyoh, his appetite cannot predict manz..these few days kept screaming for milk! But when i give him some more then he cannot finish! *faint* I wonder how much he weigh now..i got no strength to bathe him leh..so far only bathe him once :p

<font color="aa00aa">mommies, did I remember some1 has swollen feet after delivery? I also kenna leh, dunno what cause tat since I totally don't have such problem thru out my pregnancy...

My BM also cannot meet my gal's demand, she totally cannot sleep coz of hunger during the 1st nite back home. We found out it after giving her FM, she finally managed to sleep the next morning. So poor thing, sigh...lousy mommy! Felt vy bad abt it but DH still vy supportive of me trying BF

<font color="ff0000">Qns : Can we keep the FM warm in hot water in thermos cup when bb cannot finish till next feed? My MIL said they used to do tat in their time lah. Say for how long can we do tat? </font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
I also bath wenmin once a day nia and every night before she sleep, my hubby would use a wet towel to wipe her body for her and change her into her PJ.

JJmom
I will not keep the milk when my gal cannot finish, no matter it is fm or ebm. Even though feel heartpain esp ebm, but no choice.</font>

mint, u know i was told dang gui n pig's liver will decrease ss when i question my CL she say no lah..
so she brought Dang Gui n boil soup for me cos i complain abt headaches..
she also cook pig liver for me..
dunno if the dang gui really decrease ss cos my ss now become more n more pathetic..
direct latching was gd but my pumping now is left only 60ml n max 80ml after 30mins of pumping so demoralise..
hopefully after CL leaves i latch more often n my ss can increase..
but wonder if so long liao still effective..

JJmom, i also kenna water retention after birth but according to my gynae its normal n it could b worst then during preg..
my swelling subside abt 1wk later..
sometimes wake up n my fingers r like hard n swollen esp in mornings but its normal

Any babies start flipping already? My gal has started many times trying to turn from lying on her back to her right. She is 7wks old. And I think she gave me her FIRST toothless GRIN / Smile this morn when I bathed her!!! So happy.

jasminetea
thanks for your comforting words...ya I'm trying and trying..and give FM at nite as supply is only sufficient for day.
In fact I'm on the motherlove product, but I'm taking the more milk plus. I have been taking a few days already but miracle din happen. Supply din increase also, I was looking fwd to the miracle as stated from review but not so much for me.

Just now.. when Hb din feed finish the BM.. left a few ml so I told him, he should feed finish and he got upset.. say next time he wun do the feeding.
I was sooo upset too.. I told him How I wish I can just say next time I dun pump but I can't and I'm not having fun pumping the milk out.
and I cry and cry for a while..
think I'm too stressed up.

Jen
I was hoping after confinement ss will be better without those herbal stuff that might suspect to decrease ss.

Mint
thanks.. ya my MIL once brew a POWER dong quai soup and since that nite my ss seems to drop a bit. I already told MIL dun make dong quai anymore.
I also KS after reading Rebinali post ask HB to buy Holick back but I never drink 3 times a day maybe 2times before I pump.
when u drink holick? U mean drink at nite then sleep and wake up with good result?

<font color="0000ff">Thanks mousebb
Tat's what I think so too, have to convince her but I will b vy firm with it =P

How did other mommies manage to go TBF when bb is still vy hungry after feed &amp; keep crying for more huh? We tried but bb totally cannot sleep &amp; keep crying for milk leh...heartache!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jen, thanks for the infor
at least, I feel safe to know tat it's normal. My mom is vy worried, ask me go c TCM even when she super against gng out during confinement 1.

U only kenna water retention on the fingers, not on your legs &amp; feets? Now tat u mention, my fingers looks a little swollen too

My swelling started yesterday (on my 3rd day after delivery) &amp; it seems to be getting worse today, even my calf &amp; thighs r feeling hard &amp; swollen.</font>

jjmom, my feet n legs also kenna but not to the swollen till cannot walk.. jus look a bit swollen but my fingers is instant feel it..
cos the tips like hard hard n swollen..
same as u me during preg also not much water retention but close to delivery n post delivery i kenna

<font color="0000ff">Jen,
Oic, we r directly opposite then, my legs &amp; feets r vy badly swollen, fingers slightly. Dunno when mine will subside leh...so uncomfortable wor

ruffles,
yup my gal tries to flip when she's put on her tummy for exercise tummy time. But not strong enough so just lots of squirming and grunting. Btw, we decided to go hanabi in the end. Botan and ember not open this sun. Considered garibaldi but too exp lah, gotta save money ; milk powder v exp these days! Haha.

On swelling, think I've been spared most of it. Can't wait for fingers to shrink back so I can wear rings. Yesterday ngeh ngeh squeeze in wedding band, later almost cannot take out- whole finger red!!
On cranky bbs,
mine was v cranky last night too. Maybe the planets were not aligned right last night.

Cookie,
don't stress... I'm like u, feed fm at night. We give what we can. I grew up on fm and turned out all right. What I tell meself is no point stressing so much to tbf until get pnd magi worse.

Jen,
hope yr CL is due to leave real soon.

<font color="0000ff">Jen,
What happen with your CL? U hope 4 her to leave sooner? Having bad time with her?

Cookie, I also have to feed FM after latching for most of the feed...sigh! Vy sad too but nvmind, we must jia you &amp; do our best bah
Don't stress over it thou

Hi Enya,

Just replied ur email. So sorry for the late reply, have not been logging in rcently.

JJmom, how are u? I have not been on TBF too cos sometimes baby seems not to hv enuff. So I supplement with FM.

dimpletots, mixed feelings.. 1 hand worry dunno if i can cope w/o CL n esp when hb is often away like this today 12noon he is off to work n will only b back on fri nite which is jus b4 my gals full mth celebration..
on the other hand i so badly wanna spend time with my bb n i really do "enjoy" watching my gal suckle away knowing tat she is getting as much nutrients as she can get from mummy's milk..

these 2 days tried to shower my gal but still very worried cos i not as fast n keep feeling very scare will drop my gal into the water..
hb 1st attempt this mronignwas gd.. even my CL also say hb can shower bb better then me *sobx*

<font color="0000ff">Hi littlealmond,
not really great leh, having pain from my tear &amp; cut wound. Yest, my legs &amp; feets r swollen from water retention

my bb girl have blocked nose which is my biggest worry now

my 6days old girl after a direct latch on, (sometime also another 30ml EBM) then still take 60ml FM, wonder is it a bit too much?

What abt u? How r u coping so far?

Tummy Time
Hmm, is it too early to start tummy time? Since our babies still can't control their necks? I'm thinking of starting when she can control her neck, around 2 months old.

JJmom
yeah we have to jai you together,.. I'm coming to end of confinement.. I hope without those herbal perhaps supply will increase but so far I'm still pumping and see how things goes..no choice lo must supplment with FM.

Re:fussy baby
Hi anyone bb is esp fussy or more fussy in the evening?? my bb is starting this phase liao.. from 7-10pm she will not nap well and keep crying wan to be carried. I know this is a phase.. cos my 1st 2 also same pattern.. but it's driving the dad crazy..heehee.. at this hr I will be pumping so he has to take care of the bb...

Joanne
the blister is on the center of the upper lip right?? Those are called the sucking pad, when bb suckle much the sucking pad will appear. it will come and go come and go...it's normal

Karen
Aiyo I wake up for pumping at 4am la.. where got so free to wake up surf net hee.. my pump is at the PC I always surf net when pump to take my mind off the pumping

dimpletot
Just now my mum was telling me last time she also couldnt BF cos her nipple was bleeding..yeah I also grew up on FM
and during my mum time worst no breast pump.
SO I think maybe I'm like my mum gene, bleeding nipple kind

cookie,
yup, it's on the center of the upper lip. thanks so much! i really thought i did something that's why it suddenly appeared. how long will this last?

hi cookie,

Yes, my boy have some fussy hours during the day, usually about 7-10pm as well. Some times, carry carry also still cry, sigh.... but it's just a phase which we have to tie through lor. With my no. 1, we're so gan-cheong. Now with no.2, we more relaxed about it when he's crying. sometimes just leave him to cry lor.... at least there's a chance he might fall asleep when tired of crying.

Littlealmond
dun worry, i understand. i've been very busy too :)

Jen
about bathing baby, dun worry, practice makes perfect. my friend dropped her son in the water too. you've to be careful,that's all. my son always struggles and scratches when i bath him.

Karen
you can start tummy time now starting with a few seconds..then slowly increase.

sorry, i miss any of your posts here for spree requests. You've to email me, otherwise, i only do a speed scroll down the webpage. The milk tea, calendula cream, desitin, gnc fenugreek are here. however, the price has increased slightly due to US exchange rate, it's now 1.54-1.55 depending on which shipment.

cookie
my son is fussy at noon and in the evening. at noon, i'll bath him, feed and rock him to sleep on my lap in front of tv. in the evening, hv to pouch him and bring him out for a walk. otherwise, he can scream for along time.

jjmom
my feet were badly swollen after delivery like twice the size. my fingers still hv a bit water retention.

xinying, i only know wat dong quai n star anise is.. the rest of the herbs too chim

enya, my gal nv struggle with me but i still scare i slip her

if you are worried, there is thse bathtub with support whereby you can let her rest on top while you wash her head. i used that when i had no1. now dun need for no. 2

Are there any shopping sprees here? I am Oct mum, boy out on 24th, coming one month next week.

I just read the news this morning that maternity is back to 3 months for those born on and after 31st Oct. Anyone affected?

JJmom:
My water retention also worsen after delivery. My legs swelled tremendously. Like pig trotters! I couldnt fit into my shoes, I had fat knees.. and chunky thighs! Very very bad. My fingers as well.. they looked stunted. But it is normal. Gynae gave me some pills to rid the retention. You have to drink lots of water and the pill will help you pee. Unfortunately I cannot remember what the pill is called. It is very cheap. I think 5 pills only $2.00.

I took this pill for 3 days while in hospital. But I was still swollen. Was prescribed another 5 pills at my first consultation with gynae post delivery. After 4 days I was back to my original size.

xinying
why Markus wake up so early? awake for 4 hrs is long hrs for little bb

Enya
my gal is esp cranky this evening.. she scream and cry for straight 2 hrs from 9-11 plus tonight, can carrying and feeding make her better.
I dunno whats wrong le...hope tomorrow will be better...haizz
and I dun think it's colic

Marcus got weird sleeping routine. I can play/tickle/irritate him all day (10am to 4pm) he can still sleep soundly, only cry for milk. Even when suckling, eyes also closed. Only pom pom time he'll wake up and play for a while.
But come 4am... eyes big big, refuse to sleep. Sigh...

good morning mommies

any bbs of urs still experiencing bad regurgitation or vommitting after feeding/burping? my ger now 6 weeks old din seem to recover from this problem.

experience mommies
will it ever stop or go away?